Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede

Tyndale House Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede

The New Living Translation - Compact Edition is handy enough to fit in a purse, coat pocket, or book bag. Take this convenient Bible with you and you'll always be ready to read, study or share Scripture - anywhere, anytime!

Features:


  • Presentation, Special Memories & Favorite Verses Pages
  • Readable 6 point type
  • Two-column format
  • Section headings
  • Footnotes
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Great Stories of the Bible index
  • Great Chapters of the Bible index
  • Great Verses of the Bible index
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Thin, compact 4 3/8" x 6 1/2" x 7/8" size
  • Fashionable Pink & Gray Suede TuTone Leatherlike® (imitation leather) design
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Review 1 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
flashy
Location:Winter Park FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the translation. However, in the description in didn't give text size but said it was bolder so it was easier to read. But I can't read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exquisite Find

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tezria
Location:Jackson, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a handy complete OT-NT bible that I could read during those resting/waiting moments when I'm out of the house, but as it turned out this wonderful bible became my steady companion for bible study when I'm in the house! I love that it's lightweight, and as I do a lot of verse comparisons from one book to another, flipping through the pages is a breeze! The black leather cover and gilded pages gives it a hint of sophistication and seriousness and I love the feel of this book in my hands. The small typeface enables me to have a glance at the bigger picture of the story surrounding the verses, actually a challenge with large print bibles. Font's all in black, which is soothing to my eyes and the ribbon marker is a plus (though I don't need it- where's the "2 full-color maps?"). Best of all, it's the translation, the price and the shipping. With NLT I can get straight through to studying the context and meaning of what I read without having to struggle with words. And AS ALWAYS with my experience, CBD shipped it to me fast and for a price that's hard to beat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect size

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elma
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I notice that quite a few people I know are using this translation lately, it helps them because it's a more modern version. So since the sale price was very good, I said let me get one. I myself favor the KJV, but I do have other translations that I use when I want to compare the wording of different versions, or get a clearer understanding of a particular passage. This little Bible is very easy to carry in a bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirley Stiemann
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I think this is an excellent NT with helps in the back and
also how one can come to know Jesus as Savior. It is
something inexpensive and that you can give to someone
else whom you are seeking to reach. Have them on hand
so you may do just that at the opportune time.
Thank you for suggesting these when I was on the phone
about another order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I was looking for

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
laurenlacorte
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is the perfect Bible if you are looking for one to read straight through. It is compact, so it doesn't include all the extra study things, but it is easy to read, you can keep it in your purse (it's not tiny, but it will fit) and it's beautiful. This Bible is written in a way that motivates me to read more because I can understand it, without needing all the study tips.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible.

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
pngj
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It's very easy to read.,,,,,,,,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NLT Compact Gift Bible-Bonded Leather, Black

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
RWH III
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a copy of the NLT that I could take with me in my backpack, to and from work, etc. This is simply a great compact Bible that fits the bill perfectly. Great quality, great price! Font is small (but very readable) however that is expected when buying a small compact Bible. VERY satisfied with this purchase!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product for a teenager...

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ty Ty
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 17 year old sister and she has a better understanding of The Word and she has been ministering to her friends and to our family more. I love how it has helped her open more to God and reach out to those who hunger after God and don't know how to reach out to Him. I love it. Thank God for CBD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the imprinting...

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ty Ty
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The imprint was actually bigger than I expected. Most companies imprint on items are very small. However, the size and style was awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Buy But Missing Features

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
PinkPeonies
Location:New York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, I am happy with my purchase. I bought this Bible as my travel Bible, and it's the perfect size--not too big to carry everywhere I go and not too small to read the text. The feel of the faux leather is nice and soft, and the size seems to fit perfectly in my hands. The feel of the brocade-print fabric isn't soft, but I like the look. I like the fact that this Bible has a ribbon marker, but I'm not crazy about the color of it; it's a light pastel purple and doesn't quite go with the chicness of the cover (not a big deal, but I'm a designer so I can't help but notice things like that).
I am disappointed that the following features are missing: Special Memories & Favorite Verses Pages; Great Stories of the Bible index; Great Chapters of the Bible index; and the Great Verses of the Bible index. It's really odd that these listed features are missing, and I wonder if I got a flawed one or if it's just misinformation on the site . . . At the end of the Bible, there are 5 blank white pages. Perhaps the missing features were supposed to be on these pages. If I'm just overlooking it, please let me know, but I think I looked quite thoroughly. Even with these missing features, I think this Bible is a good buy (it'd be a GREAT buy if it had the features).
I was quite impressed with how quickly I received my order. I got it in just 3 days after I placed my order, and the shipping was relatively cheap! I would definitely consider buying more items from this site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Craig
Excellent value. Yes, the print is small, but it's a compact bible that fits in your pocket. And if that's what you're looking for, you can't do better. Bonded leather, sewn binding, minimal bleed through, and 10 bucks! Plus, a very readable translation, which is perfect for those quiet moments at lunch, or on the train, or in the park when you wish to simply READ the Word, rather than STUDY the word. For study, order a big ol' ESV or NASB. But for a favorite, carry along friend, this is an outstanding choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy F
I wanted a NLT, but this version of the "Gift Bible", regardless of which binding you choose, is not "crafted with care." The text is bound too close to the spine, making it difficult to read, much less mark the Bible. I cannot open the Bible flat enough to comfortably read it. I'm returning it and getting another NLT. From what I see, this problem does not exist in just this particular binding, but is in all of this particular "Gift Bible" versions. If you want it for more than being a dust collector, try another selection... (Sorry, no offense, but I'd hate for someone to purchase an essentially unreadable Bible...)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clinton Adams
This Bible is the Best. I have been looking for a small Bible that I can carry with me and I finally found it. You cannot go wrong with this one. I brought 4 of them for my Bible study class. Now everyone in the class want one. I will be buying about 10 more. The Bible is easy to read and even the children understand this Bible. Its very easy to read. Again you cannot go wrong with this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rafal Rusilowicz
This is a great bible. I have the TuTone Burgandy/Tan Compact version (NLT) with Christ's word in red, and THAT is my absolute #1 favorite version/translation. But the size of these are perfect for opening up and holding open in one hand while reading out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Mcnatt
It has small print which is always a drawback, but I love the size. I can carry it with me wherever I go and always have it at hand to read, to teach and to instruct. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Dauterive
NLT is great, the only thing I didn't notice before i purchased was that there was no red lettering for the words of Christ, though all scriptures are God breathed, it would have been nice to have it in the gospels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gina Sibold
I love this Bible. It's the perfect size to pack in my purse. The one thing missing is the 2 maps they said are in it. I can't find them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
bigtea
Exactly what I hoped it would be; seems well constructed and is very handy to carry everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
I just LOVE this Bible as I have a young daughter and go out on a daily basis, it's great to take a Bible that'll fit in my bag now!! With my name on the front of it, it makes it even more personal and attracts attention (good for witnessing) of others.I am one for getting into God's Word anytime, anyplace and this Bible is great for just that when I'm outdoors. However, it loses a star as it does NOT have the words of our Saviour in red. A feature that exists in my current full-size Bible.Strongly reccommend this Bible to anyone who needs a Bible for outdoors (better than carrying my Life Application Study Bible around) Christianbook.com is my favourite Christian book website and I love how helpful & great the staff are too. <
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Imitation leather, Grey/Pink Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terrence Sealy
Bought as a gift to my nephew, a recent convert; his mother grabbed it for herself and now I have to get another one!!Perfect as a portable Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>