Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather

Tyndale House KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather

KJV was first published in 1611, bringing accessibility to God's Word, literary quality, and poetic beauty to the reader in the common English of its day. The New Living Trasnlation, with its living language and precise scholarship, does the same for readers tody. Reading these two translations side-by-side delivers a rich contrast in literary style while yielding new insights into the meaning of even the best know verses. These two translations in one volume makes the People's Parallel Bible one of today's most popular parallel Bibles.
  • 8 point text
  • Double-column format
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Stained gold edges
  • Imitation Leather Burgundy
  • 6 1/4" x 9 1/4" x 1 1/2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1788%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Review 1 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Versatile

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a parallel Bible to take to church. I love the language of the KJV but also love the contemporary language of the NLT....having these two together is perfect. I do wish it had been a red letter edition. I love the red letter but do not find any in a parallel Bible. I will keep looking for one and maybe you will have it soon....hint hint. Love CBD I have been a customer a long time and will continue. Everyone always so nice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like a lot of folks, I was raised on the KJV. While the KJV is still my favorite, I now enjoy reading more modern translations like the NLT. This bible meets my needs perfectly, I now have my two favorite translations in one bible. Even though this is two bibles in one, the print size is still very readable, and the overall size of the bible is not too big like some parallels...it's still a good carry size. I love all the helps like the Tyndale Bible Verse Finder, the Index to Bible Promises, and the Table of Weights and Measures. These are features not found in my other bibles and I believe they will prove very helpful. I would like to see this bible offered in a genuine leather cover...then I would have the perfect bible that would last for many years to come. But for now I am very happy with my hardcover, because it's not about the cover...it's all about the content. Thanks Tyndale :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn
Location:Clear Lake, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what we expected. Beautiful workmanship. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use and easy to read

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
pati k
Location:Bristol, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a great way to read God's word and gain a new understanding and insight into God's word that wasn't available before. Having the King James version available side by side allows you to keep track of what was really said in the 'original text' and compare it to today's language. Just to keep you on your toes and make sure the translations come across correctly. It's been a great read so far. I love it! It makes it more interesting, easier to read, and easier to retain and share with others.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
family
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thank you, i am recommend this product to my church family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Content Poor Cover

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
PKMdotCOM
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Content is good (as far as layout, as we know the content is good). I would like to have had at least the NKJ red letter. The cover is poor but I use it as a reference and not an everyday bible. I tried to find a leather version but this is the best out there that I could find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
rwsouthwood
Location:Hazard KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was excellent, the only thing that I regret is that I didnt request red letter and concordance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product and great service

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Godsgirl
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were in a hurry to get this as a gift for someone who was moving from our congregation. The customer service as CBD was excellent. We got the product in time and it was just as described. After receiving the product, I think I would have rather ordered a genuine leather one instead of the bonded leather, but it looked nice and the parallel treatment of KJV and NLT was excellent and use friendly. Thanks CBD - great job once again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
BIGGIRL53
Location:Bessemer, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one of the best bibles I've owned. This is my second one, I love it and I'm sure you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Bible is nice except for the cover...

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
chris
Location:mahaffey pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Bible has a VERY cheap cover...other than that is is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
KBeall
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new bible, since I ordered mine I have ordered four more for gifts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love, love, love it!!!!!!!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly Taylor
Location:Mississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had gotten this bible several years ago as a gift in hardback and I used it so much that my pages were falling out so I decided to get another one only in imitation leather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
siggy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. If I get stumped with some of the KJV scripture I just look over to the NLT and it makes it very simple to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Urbana, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not realize how much I would enjoy a parallel bible. Is is good for me as I learned the Bible as a child using KJV but now use the NLT. Now I have them side by side. It makes reading scripture more enjoyable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reasonable price for a parallel Bible.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
sscott918
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a good price for a parallel Bible, as were all of the Bibles on this site, but I wish I had paid the extra and gone with the two-tone or bonded leather. I've looked at imitation leather in stores and not noticed a big difference, but this cover felt cheaply made when we got it and I wonder how it will hold up. We had our son's name put on it, so no way to return it. The company is great to do business with, but just make sure you know what you are willing to live with when you make those $$ decisions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
KeaKeaP
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent bible. It helps me to better understand the message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deal
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
One of my favorite bibles. I wore 1 out this one I ordered is replacing my old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Etta Gilbert
This bible was given as a gift. It was well received, and she loves it. Thank you for making your prices affordable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gwendolyn Lawrence
I love my Bible. I love the service at Christian Book, I tell everybody about how I order from your company for my church bookstore.Keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV/NLT People's Parallel Bible Burgundy Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dedra Padgett
I received this as a gift last Christmas, and my daughter liked it so much, she wanted one this year. The cover is not so great but I put it in a bible cover anyway so that doesn't matter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>