Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather

Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather

The Life Application Study Bible is today's #1 selling study Bible because it helps people see how the Scriptures are relevant to today's issues. Updated and expanded with hundreds of new notes and features.

Features

  • Thousands of Life Application notes help explain God's Word and challenge readers to apply the truth of Scripture to life
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help readers understand the message of each book
  • In-text thumbnail maps highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts explaining difficult concepts and relationships
  • "A Christian Worker's Resource" section including:
    • How to Become a Christian
    • How to Follow Up With a New Believer
    • Mining the Treasures of the Life Application Study Bible
    • So You've Been Asked to Speak...
    • Taking the Step to Application
    • Side-column cross references
  • Harmony of the Gospels built right into the text of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Words of Jesus in red letter
  • 365-day reading plan
  • Additional features:
    • Single Column Format
    • Index to Notes, charts, maps, and Personality Profiles
    • Dictionary/Concordance
    • 16 pages of color maps & diagrams
    • Gold page edges
    • Ribbon marker
    • Presentation Page
    • Family records section
    • Scripture: 10-point text size
    • Notes: 8-point text size
    • 9.75" x 6.75" x 2.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Review 1 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study bible

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanshew
Location:Northwest Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This translation is great to use in a bible study class. It makes The Word easier to apply to today's life. The larger type font is a big help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
mydad
Location:greenville
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bible was of good quality and meet all my expentations very good notes and comments
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love all of the great features!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Florida Panhandle
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of the notes, character studies, detailed introductions, charts, maps & Christian Worker's Resource supplement! I love how the New Living Translation is put in a way that I can understand & get the meaning of what I read! I like the daily reading plan, also! I know I will enjoy using this new Bible for many years!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Couldn't Ask For Better

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
XCalburLdy
Location:North Creek, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NLT is my favorite version of the bible. My old one was falling apart and I decided I would treat myself to a new one. I had been using a NKJV Study Bible that I was given to help understand the NKJV version better as I got the Word of Promise Dramatized Audio Bible on CD as a gift and had to keep pausing it to look up words I did not understand or something that I was unfamiliar with, so a neighbor of mine got me the NKJV Study Bible (since it has all the helps on the bottom) and told me that it should help me out with the CDS. It did. But for my reading and devotions I was still not that comfortable with the NKJV and wanted to use my NLT. When I was in HS someone gave me a NIV Life Application Bible for Students which also had several helps and topics and study resources but it was at a teen level, but I remember liking the format very much and that it made things clear and made me think on how to apply bible time principles to modern life, so I decided on the Life Application Version of the NLT, and got it indexed so I didn't have to sit and tab yet another bible in my collection (yes lazy) and at the time the choices were hardcover and bonded leather. I chose the bonded leather and had the cover imprinted with my name. (Only later to find out that it came in the soft leather look, which I would have much more preferred) When it arrived and I took it out of the box I was really excited. I thought that the imprint was a little small, but I didn't like the bumpy texture of the bonded leather, but I figured I'd get over because I knew I would eventually buy a case for it anyway. I got the large print version since my eyes aren't the greatest even with bi-focals but found the print nice and easy to read. I love the whole set-up, the extra helps that are included and the character profiles and most of all the commentary which runs along underneath the text. Top half is bible bottom half is commentary. I wish the type on the commentary was a little larger though. But that is what makes the bible so awesome. At times I found myself reading more of the commentary than the actual bible. Not only does it explain difficult terms and ideas, it makes you think about how to apply it to today's modern world. Asks you questions that make you think how it effects your life and walk with God, your witness to others, the whole picture. Its a bible, a commentary, study guide all in one. It has maps in text and in the back, charts, a harmony of the gospels, how to become a christian, how to witness, how to follow up with a witness, how to prepare speeches, and how to get the best use out of all the features it has. I have never found a bible I have like better or one that is more complete. Only downside is due to the large print format it is very large and VERY HEAVY, but well worth the investment. As a side note even though 95% of it is the same after receiving and using this bible I also purchased the Life Application NLT CHRONOLOGICAL Bible, which has all the same feature and some more along timelines and archeology finds and little things like that and it is in full color. Would recommend to everyone. I was truly blessed when I found this one and have been raving to everyone since I got it. It is being well used and getting noticed since I like to highlight important scripture verses. So they are in Pink and I have even highlighted a good portion of the commentary so that's Green. And I got the Red Letter Edition so it's gonna look like a rainbow when I am done but am elated over my purchase. Thank you God for leading me to pick out this one!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
SteveE
Location:LaGrange, Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great explanation of the Bible & easy to read and understand, a truly great purchase. Thanks you!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great study bible

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia E. Koch
Location:Strongsville, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the New Living translation that I was using but it was not a study bible. This new bible has everything I need to do the lessons for the bible study class that I lead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful beginning for a new believer friend

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy S
Location:Pueblo West, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I helped a new friend in my church choose a Bible that would meet his needs/wants: large print, red-letter words of Christ, NLT translation and Life Application study notes for understanding, and his name imprinted on the front. It's a beautiful book, and I pray that it will help him know and grow in our beautiful Savior, Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Location:Chesterfield County, Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have about every version of the bible and different kinds. This one has everything I want rolled into one. And the large print is what I need now days. I spend more time reading the Word now because I dont have to look thru other bibles. Its truly a blessing to me. I also purchased one for my daughter as a gift (she fell in love with mine) and gave my old Life Application bible to my sister-in-law because it was in smaller print. And I was now able to give several other bibles away to people who needed them. I would recommend to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding product at an outstanding price!

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Starbaby
Location:Austin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased with this superb Bible. The large print is sooooooooooo easy on the eyes. The study notes explain and interpret the sometimes difficult to understand aspects of the bible and put everything in context with the culture and lifestyle of the times. It's the best and most readable Bible I have every owned. I love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will love this !!

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanapuck
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great . Study notes are wonderful. You can really tie everything together . Great helps for study . Love God's word . You will cherish this learning experience .
Helps greatly with sunday school lessons !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Delaware
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted!! Received in a timely fashion as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bible that finally meets all my needs!

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scott
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large print, Red Letter and Indexed . I could always find 2 of these needs met, but never all three in any Devotional Bible. I have been using a Life Application Study Bible, with regular print for over 20 years, but as my eyes aged I needed the larger print. I could never find the perfect Bible until now, the Bonded Leather is an extra perk. I will be with My Lord before I'll ever have to look for a personal Bible again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Study Bible

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cameron
Location:Santa Ana CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My father gave me a copy of this bible many years ago and I have never found a more clear and direct version along with the comintary this is by far the most useful Bible I have every owned and I give these away to family and friends whenever I get a chance. My father is now with our heavenly father but I still have the word they left us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is great!!!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pwcountryboy
Location:Columbia Cross Roads, Pa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this Bible!! It's so easy to read and understand for me compared to other translations. (I grew up reading KJV) So yeah I really like the foot notes and introductions to the different books etc. the only thing to consider maybe for you is this is a big thick heavy Bible so you might not wanna tote it to church every Sunday, but it's great to study at home. It's bigger and heavier than I thought it would be, but it's cuz it's got so much amazing stuff in it!! But just so readers have a more honest detailed review, I thought I should mention the weight. But I think the overall quality is great and there is so much to learn!! Makes reading very much more interesting!! I do also enjoy the reading plan it has in the back which reads through all the highlights of the Bible in one year. (i started on New Years) Which is nice cuz it's not trying to make you read every single chapter and verse in one yr as most reading plans which can be overwhelming. (it's good to read the whole Bible through, but I would recommend taking longer so you remember more and don't just rush through it. It took me a yr and a half atleast I think doing a chapter in the Old and New Testament a day and starting over in the New again cuz the Old takes so much longer.) anyways just sharing my thoughts on that take it for what it's worth. But I highly recommend this Bible and the is the best price around anywhere that I found!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best explanatory bible out there in my opinion...

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trudy
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read a few bibles in my day, but feel getting all the scholars together and their commentaries are phenomenal, and its perfect for this day and age!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Curt
Location:Parma, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic study Bible - well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new update.

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Chugiak, Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using the basic Living Bible sence the early 70's, I really enjoy the NLT Life Application version, good updated version with much more study info. and way to aply the Word to my life, thank you for all the hard work that has gone into this virsion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got exactly what I was looking for

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
TC ISU NYJ
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really liked shopping on Christianbook site and being able to see all the options for a particular Bible edition and being able to easilly pick what I wanted (eg. cover material, cover color, red letter edition or not, std vs. large print, indexed or not, etc.) From reading the other reviews I knew what to expect--the pages are thin and you can sometimes see print from the reverse side due to that, but I was prepared to accept that in order to have a large print study Bible. This is a big book! My only problem with it is trying to find a case/cover that I like that will fit so it's protected and portable. If I can't find something, I may just leave this one at home and use that money toward a compact Bible I can take with me to Bible study, church, etc. As for the content and context, it is very easy to read (vs. my prior KJV) and the notes provide great background and everyday life application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan
Location:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NLT is easy to read and understand. The Large print makes a big difference for older eyes to read longer before getting tired. The Life Application notes are excellent and bring the Word to your present day life for application. I am very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Large Print Burgundy Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding bible to own.

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
neese
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the bible wholeheartedly. The notes at the bottom are handy without having to flip to another page, and are so helpful when I am not exactly sure if I understood the scripture fully. There are so many things about this bible that are unique. I own so many different bibles and various translations and the New Living Translation is my favorite. I would have given this bible 5 stars but I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the leather. I hoped for a smooth leather and this one is the bumpy finish and in my opinion it isn't as nice. But the important thing is the contents inside are absolutely wonderful and I highly recommend it to everyone who wants to study God's word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.