Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Beauty to Die For - eBook

B&H Books Beauty to Die For - eBook

Juliette Taylor walked away from her career as a supermodel twenty-five years ago. Now approaching fifty - an emotionally complex milestone -- she co-owns a beauty supply company that makes skincare products for salons and spas. Her niche is pampering Christian women who usually spend more time caring for others than for themselves under the slogan:"Isn't it time someone took care of YOU for a change?"

When Juliette arrives at the Palm Grotto Spa to host a spiritual retreat, she runs into an old modeling colleague, Raven, who had always been disliked in the industry for many reasons. She isn't there for the retreat; in fact, her presence at the spa is somewhat mysterious.

Not long after Raven makes a cryptic threat to Juliette, the unsympatheticback-then beauty is found dead, poisoned by something in the green clayof a chai soy wrap. The following morning, a banner for the retreat hasbeen unceremoniously altered:

It's your turn to be nurtured, to be restored . . . to be murdered.

Suspicion is directed at Juliette who has history with Raven and certainlyknows how to use beauty products. But for murder?! Now she must findthe real killer before the police really take care of her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beauty to Die For - eBook
Review 1 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Ending Changed Everything

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beauty to Die For
Kim Alexis and Mindy Starns Clark
Book Summary: Juliette Taylor walked away from her career as a supermodel twenty-five years ago. Now approaching fifty - an emotionally complex milestone -- she co-owns a beauty supply company that makes skincare products for salons and spas. Her niche is pampering Christian women who usually spend more time caring for others than for themselves under the slogan: Isn't it time someone took care of YOU for a change? When Juliette arrives at the Palm Grotto Spa to host a spiritual retreat, she runs into an old modeling colleague, Raven, who had always been disliked in the industry for many reasons. She isn't there for the retreat; in fact, her presence at the spa is somewhat mysterious. Not long after Raven makes a cryptic threat to Juliette, the unsympathetic back-then beauty is found dead, poisoned by something in the green clay of a chai soy wrap. The following morning, a banner for the retreat has been unceremoniously altered: It's your turn to be nurtured, to be restored . . . to be murdered. Suspicion is directed at Juliette who has history with Raven and certainly knows how to use beauty products. But for murder?! Now she must find the real killer before the police really take care of her.
Review: I found some the beginning to be slow. There was much background that merged with the present. That was nicely done overall. I found the mystery to be small in comparison to the romance. The mystery was actually well woven into the story. I thought that the suspense of the mystery could have been increased to make it a page turner. The ending was great and made reading the entire book fantastic. I found Marcus to be a little too good to be true. Didi, Crystal and the Stone family were great. They helped move the story along and were extremely believable. I am looking forward to the next book in the series with great anticipation of how the characters will continue in their relationships with each other, especially Didi and Marcus. While I would like more suspense I do think the way it was written is the way real mysteries unfold with little suspense and a lot of timing. I did guess who did it but more out of pure guessing than sleuthing. The ending brought me to tears and totally changed how I viewed the entire book.
I would like to thank Net Galley and B & H Publishing Group for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Murder Mystery Thriller

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fun read has much more depth than I was expecting. I enjoyed it a lot. Not only is it entertaining, it is also thought-provoking. The setting is a beautiful and plush, high-dollar spa in the Southwest. The main characters are realistic and I found myself thinking, “What would I do in that situation?” There is a large cast of minor characters with various quirks and interesting personalities. The main plot has many twists, turns, and sub-plots—definitely not a quick “who-done-it”. If you like a good romance mixed with a suspenseful murder mystery, I recommend Beauty to Die For.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light & Fun Mystery

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Beauty to Die for is a fun mystery that sweeps readers behind the scenes into the world of beauty products and counterfeit goods. When Juliette Taylor walked away from her life as a supermodel, she created a new life as the queen of a line of beauty products. Her life is good, but she still longs for the man who got away. Recently her company has been targeted by counterfeit goods. Now she's at a spa for a retreat, and a former friend and supermodel is killed. Juliette finds herself tangling with a complex web as she tries to uncover what happened to her former friend and rival. There's a strong love interest. My favorite part though was the spiritual thread that highlighted the challenge many women have of letting go of their mounds of service and letting others give to them. All in all I enjoyed this book and look forward to another by this duo.
It reminds me of Mindy's the Trouble with Tulip series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BEAUTY AND INTRIGUE!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
BEAUTY TO DIE FOR by Kim Alexis & Mindy Starns Clark is an interesting and intriguing christian mystery. It is chunked full of madness,mystery,a murder or two,faith,healing,forgiveness,a health resort,rivalry,a bit of mayhem,twists and turns and of course "the one ghat got away". When a murder occurs Juliette Taylor,who walked away from a supermodel career finds herself a suspect and must find the real killer,before they strike again. Enter Marcus Stone, "the one who got away",now Juliette must come to terms with her emotions,find a killer before she becomes the next victim. Fast paced,filled with emotions and a bit of humor at times. A not to miss,"Beauty To Die For" will have you turning pages and will steal your heart as these characters find healing,forgiveness,and love. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media. Details can be found at B & H Books, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product keeps you reading.

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gree
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very good. I enjoyed it very much. My reading group is enjoying it before we put it in our church library for others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looking forward to more in this series

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. It was a great combination of a murder mystery, a romance, and inspirational reading all in one. I especially enjoyed the mystery part, and couldn't put the book down until I found out who committed the crimes. I look forward to reading more books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cool Cover, Inside… Not so Much

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Juliette Taylor is visiting the Palm Grotto Resort and Spa in Cahuilla Springs, California, to lead a Christian retreat weekend. The ex-supermodel has a brand of exclusive skincare products, JT Lady, and Palm Grotto is one of her main customers. However, an internal investigation suggests that products are being counterfeited.
Also on his way to Palm Grotto is Marcus, an expert in disaster prevention and recovery. He met Juliette decades ago when she was at the height of her fame, and fell hard for her. Marcus has been working with the FBI on a counterfeiting case, and it seems that Juliette's business has been targeted by the criminals, which gives him an excuse to reconnect.
Another spa guest is Raven, an ex-supermodel with a reputation for diva behaviour and temper tantrums, and a difficult past. Raven's presence is a puzzle that turns into a mystery when she is found to have died during a routine beauty treatment. Juliette joins up with Marcus to protect the reputation of her products by finding the real culprit.
Beauty to Die For didn’t really work for me, despite the cool cover and the catchy title. In the beginning, Juliette and Raven have a mini-showdown in the airport before arising at the resort. As a reader, I thought Juliette was totally misinterpreting what Raven said to her, and I couldn’t understand why. I still don’t, as it turns out that my immediate interpretation of Raven’s comment was, in fact, correct. But it took Juliette most of the book to work that out, even though she’s supposed to be this switched-on businesswoman.
We are told early in the book that people don’t really understand how difficult modelling is. Well, this isn’t really a statement that is going to gain sympathy from many readers, because it just seems to show how out of touch with reality the fashion industry is (many jobs in life are difficult. Supermodels have the advantage of having found a high-paying difficult job, not a minimum-wage difficult job). Later (much later) in the book, Juliette is remembering a photo shoot, and we are actually shown the difficulties she alluded to. This scene gave me a much better understanding of the issues, and made Juliette seem a lot more likeable. But it should have come earlier. As readers, we want to like our fictional heroines and heroes, so we need to be given reasons to like them.
I also got annoyed by the supposed incompetence of the police investigating Raven’s death. They didn’t actually feature in the story, except to get things wrong or to not look at vital evidence. Instead, Juliette was all over the resort, listening in on conversations and finding all the missing links. This also seemed odd – no one questioned that a guest (albeit an important guest) kept nosing around staff-only areas? And the counterfeiting seemed to be set up to be a major plot point, but really was just a device to get Marcus in the picture. There was potential, but aspects of the plot were too unbelievable, even for fiction.
It’s not to say I didn’t like the book at all. I thought the action scenes were well done, the ending was lovely, and I really liked the way the spa weekend was aimed at Christian women who spend too much time giving to others was great (sign me up!). But the second half of the book was not strong enough to make up for the weak first half.
Thanks to B&H Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beauty to Die For - eBook
This review is fromBeauty to Die For.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Murder Mystery Thriller, Romance And A Spa

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Alexis and Mindy Starns Clark in their new book, “Beauty to Die For” Book One in A Spa Mystery Series published by B&H Publishing Group introduces us to Juliette Taylor and Marcus Stone.
From the Back Cover: Twenty-five years ago, Juliette Taylor walked away from her career as a supermodel after a chance encounter with a handsome stranger. She’s never regretted that decision–and never forgotten the man who gave her the courage to change her life.
These days Juliette’s ministry is providing encouragement to women who spend their time caring for and nurturing others. She uses her successful skin care line and spa retreats to rejuvenate these “servers”.
Isn’t it time someone took care of YOU for a change?
That’s the theme for this weekend’s retreat. Juliette can’t wait.
But as she heads for the retreat at the world-renowned Palm Grotto Resort and Spa, she runs into Raven, a fellow supermodel from back in the day known for her fiery red hair and equally fiery temper. Within minutes Raven flies into a rage and threatens to kill Juliette.
Two hours later Raven is dead.
Filled with guilt and sadness, at first Juliette doesn’t even notice the arrival of TOTGA–The One That Got Away. Now she must sort out her feelings for this man from her past, as well as try to learn who killed her old modeling rival and why–before she becomes the prime suspect.
Or the next victim.
Kim Alexis has had experience being a supermodel. Mindy Starns Clark is a superb writer of murder mysteries. Together these two talented ladies have come up with a great beginning to, what promises to be, a wonderful series. We go to Spas and retreats to relax and to be pampered. Some of us like mud baths and avocado facials; all of us enjoy a good massage. Raven is at the Spa for none of these things and her presence there is actually quite mysterious.
Once Raven dies primary suspicion falls on Juliette, after all the two women had fought and Raven had threatened her. Entering into this is Marcus Stone who co-owns a disaster prevention company and is a FBI consultant. He is also the great love from twenty-five years ago. Now these two team up to solve a murder and prevent another one–Juliette’s.
I have to say this is a great mystery, a great start to a new series and a great romance. This is a thriller as Juliette’s life is in great danger as she is trying to find the murderer who does not want to be found and will kill again to stay that way. I enjoyed the theme of resolving the past and making up for past mistakes. Both Raven and Marcus are individuals from Juliette’s past that return to her present so that issues can be resolved. “Beauty to Die For” is an exciting book. If you enjoy a good suspenseful, murder mystery thriller then this is the book for you. I thoroughly enjoyed “Beauty to Die For” and am already looking forward to the next collaboration between these two talented ladies.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.