Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Witness

Tyndale House The Witness

Eight years ago, Amanda Griffin witnessed a horrific crime, and she's been running ever since. Her sisters believe she's dead. But recently exposed family secrets have placed Amanda's siblings in the spotlight---and in peril. Can Amanda protect them without exposing herself? And does pressing danger mean police chief Luke Granger is running out of time? 375 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Witness
Review 1 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: I really enjoyed the plot. From page one, you are thrown into conflict and it doesn't end until the last chapter. There are so many twists and turns that when something begins to seem predictable, the story goes in another direction.
Characters: It was hard to identify with the characters in this book. I understand that some of the characters needed to have their identities more shaded, but I felt that all of them were portrayed in this way. I didn't feel that there was enough personal qualities to really understand them. The characters were seen at work and in their relationships, but they were rarely alone and described personally.
Themes: The main theme in this story is trust. The characters have to learn to trust each other through everything that is happening around them. There is also a focus on trusting in God in all of life's circumstances, good or bad. The author does an excellent job of allowing the characters to grow in trust from the very begging.
Emotion: There was not a lot of emotional entanglement with this book. I read it and moved on. There wasn't a lot left to contemplate. There were times in the book when I was shocked or surprised, but overall, it was pretty dry.
Overall: There were many times, while reading this book, that I had to re-read parts because they didn't seem to make sense. Many times, even after going back, those parts still didn't make a lot of sense. I feel as if this book as a whole needs some editing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grammie
Location:SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy Dee Henderson's writings. This one was a little slow, but still enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Very Good

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
Location:FL
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the first 3/4 of the book, it was really interesting. The rest of it seemed as if the writer was in a hurry to get through, and some of it made no sense. A big disappointment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just okay

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
maya
Location:NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first time reading Dee Henderson book and I'm extremely disappointed. This story did not focus on the main important characters and the story is all over the place that some of it digress from the main point. The characters of the story were not introduced well at all so it is kind of hanging and way out flat. As a result, it is so hard to be engrossed in the book as I keep skipping all the time. I just wished that Marsh will have his own story since the ending is so sad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Witness
This review is fromThe Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Suspense story

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrew Wapakala
Location:Nairobi, Kenya
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The suspense in this book is great and keeps you reading to find out what is happening next.
However, towards the end, the book becomes a bit flat. The message about God and His work isn't that well woven into the story and comes out more towards the end of the book. No one's faith comes out too clearly.
Otherwise, it is a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Witness
This review is fromThe Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book.

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a great book but I felt it fell a little flat at the end.
Over all though I really enjoyed it and would definetly recomend it to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Witness
This review is fromThe Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Christian Suspense Author!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
oktobeme
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cannot put this book down until you have finished reading it. Very Good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Witness
This review is fromThe Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
shortcake
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very engaging book. It held my attention throughout the whole book. It is also refreshing to read a book that has a Christian element.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Witness
This review is fromThe Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, satisfying read.

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
InJoy
Location:Seattle
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author has written a compelling thriller with good taste and Christian values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Toccoa, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm never disappointed in Dee's stories. I've read them all at least 3x in the last 5 years, and each time I enjoy them immensley(sp?). I look forward to many more from her in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pattie S. Hewitt
The teenage girls at our church school like the story line, adventure and characters of the Dee Henderson books. They ask for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
kindermate
I have always liked this author but have not read her in a while. This book was a true thriller and contained stronger scenes than several of the "cozy" mystery books out there today. I did get lost in a few places. I would like to see the characters further developed in another book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Dee Henderson has done it again! This book is Great! This book is more like real life people go thru hard times, and there are deaths in our family. This book shows we can still go on. I know this book is stand alone but I hope she writes another one as sort of Closure for the sisters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebeca J
This book is a great Christian novel for all mystery or thriller lovers. Her words keep you captivated and she keeps you guessing until the end. This book was the first of Dee Henderson's that I have read, and since I have read EVERY other book that she has written. I recommend this book for non-believers, teens, and all Christians that love a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christie Cooper
What a great gift God has given this author!Once again, Dee Henderson has introduced us to characters with serious issues and managed to make us aware of God's faithfulness. Amanda's problems aren't solved and her life isn't anywhere close to perfect at the end of the story, but we trust that she will triumph because of her relationship with the Lord. I'm looking forward to my next Dee Henderson adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Vogel
I loved this book, it was different. Than her other books which made it unique. I liked her change of pace in The Witness. This book dealt with the cruel way that life can be. Dee deals with the real world and let's us know that no matter what we can lean on Jesus to get us thru it all. Thank You Dee!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
nwanne
I was sooooooooooo disappointed with the witness.I had to turn the cover to make sure it was dee henderson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
tanya
i was a little disappointed with this book. Dee Henderson is still my favorite author, but i didn't like THE WITNESS as much as the O'MALLEY SERIES because i don't think the plot was as developed and it was definitely harder to get into. (i also didn't see the tradgedy coming and that was a huge shock!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
malley
the story line of this book gets a 2 but because its Dee Henderson i gave it a 3.5, i was sooo dissapointed when the story took that nasty turn. for those who have not read the book i wont specify, i had to go back and reread that part to make sure i didnt misunderstand something! i didnt. it was soo sad! and the part about the cat was waaay to gruesome for me. when i read the book a second time (yes i reread it, i just cant stay away from her books) i skipped over that little phrase, ick! that was the only part i thought was a little to gruesome. but even still i have bought every one of Dee's books except her first two, and i will continue to buy them without hesitation.....and as far as having "grammatical mistakes" i never noticed, i have to do grammar in school all week! so when i sit down to a book, i just read it, i dont analyze its "sentence structure" and whatever else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Witness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Barclay
Dee Henderson books are always great. There is actually something surpising that happens.But, I didn't like it as well as some of her other books I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.