Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Before I Wake

Tyndale House Before I Wake

Female visitors to Justice, Illinois, are being quietly murdered in their sleep---tourists in nice hotels, their money and jewelry left behind. And the sheriff isn't pleased to find a private detective named Rae Gabriella working the case. Rae's staying in the same hotel as one of the victims---could she be targeted next? 350 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
3.371 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
12
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Before I Wake
Review 1 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense Story

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like all of Dee Henderson's stories this book was designed to captivate the audience right from the beginning and make it hard to put down. The story follows Rae Gabriella into town and dwells on her, her new partner, the town sheriff and the problems the town is facing. The story line stayed moving throughout the book but the ending was a little disappointing because it left too many unanswered questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Recommendable, but

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My review has been sitting with the book for a while because I hated to go for only about 3 1/2 stars. Stringing along two guys? NOT. Who is the behind-the-scenes-evil-string-puller? A coward for sure. I am not sure I want to find out too much more about 'the rest of the story'. I paired up ... na, no sense spoiling it.
As in Before I Wake (and partly in Kidnapped / True Courage) I have an issue with gratuitous gore and violence. Having said that, I am glad the language is clean.
For the fun of it I read some of the reviews. Perhaps we have put Dee on a bit of a pedestal and want her to give us a perfect story every time. I think, once the O'Malley and the Courage series were done, it WAS time to move on?
I do hope for more good reads from Dee, but that hangs on whether the Lord puts further good story ideas in her head, right?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad ending

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
janjan
Location:birmingham,alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this book was such a disappointment from all her other books. the ending was just cut off, i thought what happen did some of the pages get cut off. i then looked for the next book and there is not a continuation.
i would not buy this book it just leaves u hanging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I've been robbed!

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovetoteach4
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What happened to the rest of the story. I feel like I should get half my money back. There were so many parts unfinished. How can a publisher sell half a story. It is completely missing a few chapters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Widsith
This is a great story. It started a little slow, but I was hooked by chapter two, and shortly thereafter the suspense kept the book glued to my hands. I couldn't wait to know what clues (or bodies) would turn up next. Dee Henderson also opened my eyes to the politics of labour negotiations, the cutthroat business of illicit drugs, and the thankless job of fighting crime. I was a fascinated student from beginning to end. They say conflict keeps a story moving, but it was Rae, Bruce and Nathan's gentle friendships, with relaxed dialogue and realistically-paced personal growth, that drew me in. Dee fashioned the characters as normal people with challenging relationships, troubled pasts, and tough questions about God, making the story reminiscent of real life without feeling mundane. Some of the book's spiritual questions are leftopen, allowing readers to pursue their own answers about God'ssovereigntyin the midst oftragic circumstances. Some questions are too complex to ask and answer in a single book, and I'mgrateful when Christian fiction acknowledges this.The only point on which I'm left wanting is the romantic tension between Rae and the two men. Attraction is clearly alluded to throughout the novel, but the characters seem slightly too passive and the story-telling feels too ambiguous on this dimension. I also wonder why Nathan's parents aren't more involved in the conflict between him and his grandfather, but that's a minor point. Overall, I felt inspired by the characters' relationships.Some people like ratings, so I'll give Before I Wake a solid 4 out of 5, and I gladly recommend it.Note: This review is not part of a blog review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara
I love Dee Henderson's books. I can't wait until the sequel to this one comes out. Please hurry, Dee!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi
I thought this book was very entertaining but was so disappointed that there was no closure. When I got to the end I thought - what a waste if it really ends right here. I hope there is a sequel. If there is - then I would rate the book much higher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle Jones
I Really Really Hope that there is a sequel to this book! To many questions was left unanswered. I loved the suspense that it brought. But I could not see the romance that this one was supposed to have. There is some romance but not like the rest of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
glynna scott
I am totally disappointed in this book. It didn't leave the town a way to survive, the characters with any hope, their belief and witness to their faith in God was not clearly defined as it usually is in your books. I think your subject/s/ were just too broad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy
I have read almost all of Dee Henderson's books. This one left me with the questions: "Who is the drug developer?" and "What happened between the three main characters?" Is Dee going to make a series ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Master
Very disappointing ending to this story! Took a long time to get to the end and then the ending was to say the least, the worst I have ever read. Hope there is a sequel soon so I can find out all the rest of the details, like who were the drug makers??? What happens to Rae and Bruce and Nathan????? Lots of unanswered questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Feldman Lane
I believe I have read every book written by Dee Henderson and usually await the next book with great anticipation. While a good read, this book was somewhat of a letdown. I felt a little left out of Rae's character development. Was there a previous book that I missed? Also, the editing was fairly bad. Wrong word tense and dangling participles all over the place. Like: "Where is the book at?", bad. It made the reading a little irritating at times. Not what I expected from Dee Henderson. I love everything else she has written and look forward to reading her next one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Esther
Well it takes a long time to get the story going so that is rather boring. Then there are alot of long dry boring spots in the middle of the story. I doubt Ill read it again. It also is not finished the story is not complete. She doesn't catch the bad guys or even tell who exactly they are. It is deffintly a book that keeps you reading or does if you dont know the story doesnt end. Deffintly needs a sequal to finish the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Because I enjoy the intrigue, I will probably read the next in the series. But the relationship development between the three main characters was rather flat. The love triangle idea is intriguing, but neither hero is so enticing that I would choose either of them at this point. However, I wouldn't mind spending some time to get to know them both better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
My least favorite book yet. I had a hard time even maintaining the motivation to read into the next chapter because the storyline was so incredibly slow. Also, I did not find myself identifying with any of the characters as I normally do with her other characters. The worst part was making myself read to the end and find myself left hanging, just as the story was becoming interesting. There must be a sequel or I will be very disappointed in Ms. Henderson. I love her books very much but am not really sure what she was thinking with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Currin
I loved this book....only if there is another to explain where all the characters are going.There needs to be an end with the three characters and we need to know who Rae chooses to marry if she does. Come on and write a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah Z.
I loved this book! The gritty technical aspects in the forensics, the drug ops, and even the ER, were absolutely incredible. I especially loved the way Rae cleaned up that sports car. As for the lack of an ending, unfortunately evil doesn't always get resolved and punished and wrapped up in a nice little package in real life. This is one of Henderson's best books yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cora
I just finished this book and I was, frankly, ticked with the ending! I felt the story was rather slow and too many open ends throughout. I tended to skip through a lot of the unnecessary dialogue that seemed to lead to nowhere. If there is a sequel, I would appreciate knowing that at the end of the book. I actually got online to see if there is going to be one and found that most people are as frustrated as I am. Again, did I miss something? Apparently not because everyone else missed it too. I'm too annoyed to even care if there is a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chelsea G.
I LOVED this book! I highly recommend it! Its a real page turner, I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Before I Wake
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Before I Wake was an overall disappointment. The book's unfinished business left me feeling dissatisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.