Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories

Tommy Nelson Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories

Created by a grandmother seeking to find an exciting Bible storybook for children, the big and bright Read and Share Bible is filled with lots of page-turning learning about the Word of God! Children will love the interactive format while parents can trust in the solid Bible teaching. It has over 200 simple retellings of favorite Scripture stories, quick activities, and more than 400 eye-catching pictures. It's the perfect way to share the amazing joy and wonder of God's Word with the children in your life! Recommended for ages 7 and under.

Features Include:
  • More than 200 beloved Bible stories, including time-honored favorites like Adam and Eve, Noah and the Rainbow, Joseph's Dreams, Jonah and the Big Fish, Baby Jesus and much more.
  • Bold, bright illustrations that will capture a child's imagination.
  • Discussion starter with each story designed to encourage deeper understanding.
  • Well-know children's author Gwen Ellis retells stories based on the International Children's Bible
  • translation.
  • Text and art carefully evaluated to attain the highest level of accurate and age appropriateness.
  • Ideal for guided learning with parents, caregivers and teachers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Review 1 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for.

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucita
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what I've been looking for, for my children to read to them at bedtime. And they love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Option

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kangaroo
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this children's Bible is the best one I have found in my research to properly educate my toddlers, it's not always accurate. My three year old loves the pictures and stories. This Bible is his favorite version as well. We have only read through it twice in the last year but it's good. I bought this one for my nephew for Christmas this year and I would choose this one again if helping someone else to invest in their children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Story Bible for Toddlers and Preschoolers

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our family has a ‘thing’ for Bble storybooks. With four children in the family eight and under, we have collected a number of Bible storybooks over the years as we seek to teach our children the major landmarks and meanings of God’s Word. In the youngest years it has proven most fruitful to focus on people, places, and events – the typical fare found in Bible storybooks. Children of the youngest ages – toddlers through preschool – need concrete facts to remember and latch onto as mental pegs for adding more detailed information and doctrine to in their later years.
The Read and Share Bible from Thomas Nelson includes more than two hundred simple, two-page, brightly illustrated stories that have been simply retold by Gwen Ellis for little ones. Many of them are the common stories that you would expect to find included – creation, the exodus from Egypt, Daniel and the lion’s den, Jonah, Samson, many stories from the life of Christ, and many more. There are also quite a few unusual stories included – losing the Ark of the Covenant, Gideon, Solomon judging between the two women and the baby, and more.
All of the stories are presented in chronological order, and with Bible references and discussion questions included. The Table of Contents is excellent, with the stories listed by name, with the verse reference, and the page number. This is really great, particularly if you want to find an illustrated story to go along with your family’s devotional readings from God’s Word Itself. Sometimes the discussion questions go too deep for the intended age group – asking ‘why’ questions better left for older children with higher levels of thinking abilities. I skipped and modified quite a few of these as appropriate for my children and to avoid frustration.
My three-year-old particularly loved this story Bible, and my five-year-old has also really enjoyed it. We read through it in its entirety together at bedtimes and they were always eager to hear more than one story. The Read and Share Bible is very gentle throughout and respectful of the deep emotional sensibilities of preschoolers. Jesus’ death – for instance – is dealt with gently for small children – the three crosses are shown at a distance.
Though I’m not too keen on Steve Smallman’s illustrations (everyone has such big noses!) but I do appreciate that they are bright and kept my children fully engaged. This is a very solid first book of Bible stories for two through five-year-olds (I even had my eight-year-old asking to see pictures and joining in the discussions at bedtime). We have all enjoyed reading this Bible together!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product!

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Handprints Early Ed Cntr
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Preschool gave a copy of this Bible to each of our children as a Christmas Gift. Our teachers read out of it daily during circle time. The children love the bright pictures and the simple text conveys the stories easily. It is interactive and asks questions so that the children can relate to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Toddlers

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
CM from TEC
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is perfect for children 1-3 years old. The stories are short & sweet, the pictures are bright & the talking points at the end of each story give opportunity for discussion, making each time reading the Bible a new experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love the colorful illustrations!

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Read and Share Bible contains over 200 Bible stories. Each story is told in 2 brief pages, with an illustration on each page. The story ends with a simple discussion question to use with your young children. The short lesson format and bright illustrations are perfect for children ages five and under. Many of the longer stories are broken down into smaller segments. For instance, the story of Noah is broken down into five shorter sections.
I realize that some families take issue with Bible story books, but I'm not one of them. I appreciate books that simplify Bible stories for my young children. I want them to learn the stories from God's Word in a way they can understand and enjoy. We have enjoyed reading it to our younger children, and they've enjoyed being read to. My seven year old has taken it to bed with him, to practice his reading at night, and my four year old has taken it to bed to enjoy the pictures before falling asleep. The bright illustrations and discussion question are my favorite parts of this story Bible.
We definitely recommend the Read and Share Bible for families, churches, and Christian daycares. Though it can be read by my seven year old, I feel the content is more appropriate for children ages 1-5.
(This product was given to me free in exchange for an honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Children's First Bible

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Rhonda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read & Share Bible
Excellent first bible to read with your child.
Compiled in chronological order makes it easier to follow and comprehend.
Long stories are appropriately broken down into smaller stories.
Prompt boxes encourage some reflection time with parent and child.
Illustrations are very appealing to young children.
Some of the stories are too complicated for intended audience.
Some vocabulary words require a higher level of learning than that of intended audience.
Marketed as a Pre-kinder / Kindergarten level; it is better targeted for first grade level reader, who have their eyes on the text to improve vocabulary and ability to comprehend what is being read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebekah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were given one for our 5 year old son and he LOVES it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Childrens church

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Caballero
Location:Sanger, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Read and Share Bible for children is perfect for my students in my childrens church class. I teach ages 5 - 7 and they love learning thier new Bible. I recommend all teachers to get this book and I also recommend the DVD as well. I been searching for the perfect book for a year now and I finally found it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

By far the most comprehensive children's Bible!

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jose Echevarria
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been searching for a children's Bible for quite some time now. This Bible is by far the most comprehensive with over 200+ bible stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly Harper
I bought this for my 4 year old son (along with the Read & Share Bible DVDs) and he loves it ALL! We read his Bible every night!! He's really learning a LOT!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brook
Our five year old loves his Bible. The writing, illustrations and questions/comments at the great are very helpful for our shy guy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Read and Share Bible: Over 200 Best-Loved Bible Stories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
House Of Faith Christian Ctr
It's great for story time at the church for children's ministry. And my granddaughter loves it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.