Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD

Tommy Nelson Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD

Meet Milo, the praying mantis. Only, Milo won't pray! Then a big storm destroys his Snack Shack, and he doesn't know what to do--he doesn't even know how to talk to God about it. Milo thinks he has to get God's attention in order for God to hear him, but when he finally learns how to pray, he realizes that God has been helping him all along. The garden gang leans an important lesson about how to trust God after praying, and that His answers come in many different forms. You'll also enjoy the cartoon short "Buzby's Beach Blanket Bug Bash"! Features the voices of Tim Conway, Melissa Disney, and Richard Kind as Milo. Recommended for ages 4 to 10. Running time: Approximately 60 minutes, including bonus features.

Special Features:
  • "Just Can't Pray" Sing Along Song
  • Subtitles
  • Closed Captioned
  • Coloring Pages
  • "Making of" Featurette
  • "To Share or Nut to Share" Read Along Audio Storybook
  • Trivia Game/Quiz
  • Easter Eggs
  • Computer Wallpapers
  • Dolby 5.1 Surround Sound
  • Widescreen/Fullscreen
  • Auto-start: Kids can watch by simply inserting DVD
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Review 1 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hannah Hall
Bought this for our 3 year old to complete his series. He enjoyed it! I enjoyed it also! Max Lucado has done a great job with his Hermie series.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Nippard
I bought this dvd for my 10 and 12 yr old sons and its their favorite. It helps kids learn how to pray and teaches them how the Lord responds to prayer in His time. I happen to watch it with them and, I found it was also a good reminder for me, as a parent, about patience and waiting on the Lords answer to my prayers.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth Lakey
I used this for the children's lesson during our churchwide prayer conference. They seemed to really enjoy it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Hester
I am not a fan of television viewing by my children, but this video is wonderful and is so redeeming! The Hermie series in general supports me as a parent in teaching my young children biblical truths. What a blessing! My kids absolutely love the whole cast of bugs and animals! They ask to watch daily!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
R Grey
Well written, original material. Very appealing to children and teaches christian values. Already have 4 DVDs and intend to get the rest.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Rice
Milo, the mantis who wouldn't pray was another great Hermie video. I have purchase all the Hermie videos for my grandchildren and they love them.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
MIchelle Craft
My children really enjoyed this video. It really helps little one to understand how to pray!Thank you for creating videos that will enhance the way "we" teach our children!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patti Irvine
My granddaughter is 2 and she loves all of the Max Lucado films. There is never anything offensive - the characters are wonderful - it is bright and colorful and happy. There is always a good basic moral to each story. This is another great addition to the Hermine and Friends collection :-)
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tania Salgado
I loved the story and the way it presents all about prayer and how God answers. I think it covers all sorts of situations one could go through while learning to pray, waiting for God's answer and trusting in Him. Very good video!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hermie and Friends Series #8: Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Sue Lloyd
I love these DVDs. They are so wonderful, and my children watch them over and over. Not much will keep a child's attention these days, but these stories they just love. These are good messages delivered in a fun way that kids will understand and appreciate. Excellent, and I would love to own them all! God Bless!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.