Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Riven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Riven

Raised in a dingy trailer park, Brady Wayne Darby has only a death sentence to show for his sad, sorry life. But when weary man of God Thomas Carey meets this no-account with nothing left to lose, the seismic wave of rebirth and redemption will shake a state---and the nation---to the core! 350 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Riven
Review 1 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You MUST read this book...

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:Linden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Jerry Jenkins is a wonderful story-teller. The stories of these two characters in "Riven" were so very real. And, even though I figured out where the book was headed early on, I kept wishing and hoping that Brady would make some good choices or come to his senses; and I was moved to tears several times. I have only read one other book that ever caused me to feel such empathy for fictional characters ("The Visitation" by Frank Peretti).
I understand the people who were put off by the crucifixion at the end of the book. It was strange for me, too.... however, let's remember that it is a work of FICTION. Why debate the morality of the death of a fictional character? The question as to whether modern judicial systems would allow such an execution really takes away from the beauty of the whole story. It is what it is - let's not make mountains out of molehills. The point was the redemption of the two characters. How far did Brady go to show his love for Christ, and Christ's love for us?
READ THIS BOOK, and be ready to weep. Thank God for His unbelievable grace that can save any sinner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth S
I always have a book with me; I probably read book a week. With the exception of the Bible, I now have three special books I've read. One book challenge me to make a much needed change in my life (The Fisherman, by Huntsberger), one book changed me without me even realized it till later (The Shack), and well, Riven, it is just the best book I have yet to read. It filled my heart. I'll never forget Jesus in the lives of Brady and Thomas! There is truly absolutely nothing God can't do! His salvation reaching to the highest heights, and lowest placed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Riven
This review is fromRiven, Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Zach Spurlock
The most profound and addictive book I have ever read. A absolute masterpiece! Tusha Jerry B. Jenkins, Tusha!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mariah
I couldnt put this down. I laughed and sobbed, felt pain, disappointment, hope, and love. Id be surprised if theres anyone whos read it and didnt find someone or something to relate to. I was convicted to examine my own dedication and faith! The characters are rich and complex, the story absolutely plausible and the resulting climax beyond POWERFUL! I find it interesting that someone who reviewed the book on here said that this ending couldnt or shouldn't happen in this age. I say, I feel sorry for you! You missed the ENTIRE point!! If you think this couldnt happen then you have no faith and you probably better hit your knees! Our God is an AWESOME and POWERFUL God! If he so desired, it would happen JUST THIS WAY!! That was the POINT! God is in and can take control and use even the most unlikely people! He can redeem even the most seemingly unworthy life and reward dedication in a MAJOR way! None of mans rules can stop him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anita
Very disappointed in Jerry Jenkins with this book. I have read all his others, this was not up to his standard. Very slow, If the book just stayed with the Brady Darby and not gone into Thomas Carey life, It would have been alot better and faster moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Weaver
This book was so good I could not put it down.I think this is Jerry Jenkins best book by far. You will find yourself rooting for both the downtrodden preacher and the petty criminal turned murderer though their lives are very different. It is certainly a book of hope no matter where you find yourself in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betty Maurer
This is Jerry Jenkins at his best -- a wonderful read, heart-warming, great characters, super plot development. This is a must read for believers, especially those interested in jail/prison ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
carrol
This started out to be a book I couldn't put down. There was times it was rather dull but overall was good until the final chapters dealing with death row and choice of death. I was very very disturbed that Jerry Jenkins chose to include the crucifixion. I do not believe for one minute in this day and age any prison in the world would allow this to happen and to televise it too. Im very disappointed in this ending and have discussed it with many christian friends and they were also shocked at this ending. My Lord and Savior died this way and I don't want to read where it happened now. The end was not well written I don't think over all. Prisons do not televise death row at all or prisoners death...okay its a novel but not for me for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara J. Robinson
Riven is a novel that makes you care about the characters, even the one from the wrong side of the tracks, Brad Wayne Darby, who grows up with an alcoholic mother and lives in a run-down trailer park with his younger brother. After discovering a taste of the stage in a high-school play, Darbys one important goal in life is to act. His academics get him kicked out of the high-school play, his one success in life. The one person in life he cares about besides himself is his brother. Darby loses the one thing he cares about, acting, and the one person he cares about, Peter. He ends up in prison, then a halfway house, where he meets Katie, who plays him like fine tuning an instrument. He falls hopelessly in love with her, and his life spirals out of control when he ends up in prison on death row. Brady is a man of conviction, even from a death-row prison cell. The conflicts are personal and unrelenting, and Jenkins was not afraid to hurt his characters. Reverend Thomas Carey, a preacher who feels hes been unsuccessful in converting souls for Gods kingdom, lands his last job in a prison. Ironically, he reaches more souls for God in the prison that he could ever reach in church. A loser and condemned man in life, Brady is converted and uses his death to reach out to others for Gods kingdom and changes the lives of his death-row inmates. Brady repents of his sins and comes to love Jesus, spending the last days of his life immersed in Gods Word and spreading it to others. Lives intersect to make a difference for God and illustrate Gods master plan. Through the story of life, Gods plan works out to touch the hearts and lives of many others, demonstrating its never too late to live for Jesus and make a difference in the world, such as Brady from death row.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
One of the best books I've read in a long, long, long time! You won't be sorry if you purchase this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Riven is the story of two men a sinner and a saint. Thomas Carey is a devoted man of God. Brady Wayne Darby is the archetypal bad boy. While the contrast of these two lives may seem contrived within the context of a review, it is anything but. The characters of these two men are developed over the course of hundreds of pages. We follow each of them through their struggles, their difficulties and their crises. We become first hand witnesses of their lives; we come to know them as personally as a friend or relative.I know these men as I have known few other characters I will never forget them. Thomas, so stubbornly faithful, clings to the rock though he lacks a fruitful ministry. Brady slips deeper into darkness, the burden of his sin mounting, and no hope in sight. I came to love them both. I have never developed such a heart for an unsaved character. Brady must have been difficult for Jenkins, a believer, to write. Once a man is saved it is difficult to remember the burden, the despair, being lost. Jenkins captures it all, magnificently. Thomas and Brady need each other, and when they finally meet the world is shaken for Jesus.Im surprised that controversy hasnt arisen over this title. The entire premise, particularly the conclusion, is sensational, unbelievable. I was swept away in an emotional maelstrom that had me weeping throughout the last 100 pages. It is easy to suspend disbelief when you can hardly see through your tears. Read with Kleenex at hand is my cautionary warning.I was not at all expecting what this book offered me: a graphic reminder of what Jesus has done for me, a story of radical redemption, the promise of hope, and something more than these three added together, something elusive and hard to define that exists in the melding of these elements.Riven is a treasure to share, not only amongst believers, but also for those who dont realize that what Jesus did on the cross was for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Belden
This is a fun, must read novel with complex and contradictory characters. The story lines and sub-plots are stirring and compelling; offering insight to our own lives. Jerry Jenkins,a provocative and perceptive best selling author, has hit a home run with Riven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Chester Bly
Two seeming dead-end livesplayed out from a single-wide trailer park and trying to make a difference in a maximum security state penitentiary. Welcome to hell, Thomas, Chaplain Russ said. A hell on earth vividly portrayed in death row. This story of Jenkins that he always wanted to write, I believe is a novel with staying power. There are allusions at times to themes and styles of authors such as Fyodor Dostoevsky (Crime and Punishment) or John Steinbeck (Tortilla Flat and Cannery Row). The complex characters are thoroughly diced, dissected and developeda bad, bad man who mostly liked movies that arent afraid to be quiet and a frustrated, depressed man of God who had once had a deep burden for the mens souls under his care. But now he could talk to one man at a time, and then only at the mans request. And to Thomass knowledge, not one con had come to faith under his influence. This is a story about the poverty of bad choices and the spiritual power of dogged perseverance. But mostly its about the mystery of outrageous grace, as portrayed in the old hymn, Rock of Ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
noname
The book is very slow paced, especially in the first half. There should have been less focus on the Carey character, he was not avery likable character. The pace picks up in the last half but there's a bit too much bible quoting, sometimes several pages..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lovetta Marquis
A slow starter. Then a riveting page turner. I was very touched by the story line, and the characters in the book. It was inspiring, and heart touching. I give it five stars. I would recommend it to any Christian or anyone seeking to know who God really is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sylvester Mancl
Very well written, and the story shows how God can use us regardless of our circumstances. that no matter how full of sin our lives are, he can use us for his honor and glory. I thought that the ending was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cassandra K
WOW. All I can say is- Wow. Okay, maybe not all! I really didn't know what this book was about or if I really wanted to read it. But within the first few chapters- I WAS HOOKED! It is an amazing story with an even more amazing point. This is my new "must read" to recommend to friends and even strangers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rose Hunking
Oh my goodness - if this book doesn't touch your heart, I don't know what will!! Incredible book!! I will definitely be letting my friends know that they need to read this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jaime Kines
OUTSTANDING!!! A must read book. I have never read anything like this before. I truly enjoyed every page of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Hooray for keeping the main thing the main thing! One of the best books I have ever read. Yes the plot is somewhat predictable, HOWEVER if you think this book is not Biblical, READ YOUR BIBLE! I couldn't put it down. The point of the book is the point of the BOOK! It is fiction and written to unfold the key to of Christianity. Truly a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>