Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Last Operative, Hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House The Last Operative, Hardcover

Jordan Kirkwood wants to go quietly into the sunset. His career as an NSA intelligence officer has taken a significant toll. His two adult children are little more than distant acquaintances. His wife has been patient and supportive, but he knows she has deserved better. That was part of the reason they were going to London. He wanted her to see Europe like a tourist. But that was before he was given intelligence information during the recent mission to Germany. The threat is grave-bigger than 9/11. And the risk is compounded by the fact that someone inside the NSA is involved. The most hidden place in Kirkwood's past will have to be unmasked in order to meet the challenges of this mission.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Operative, Hardcover
Review 1 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Last Operative

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! It was very easy to read and entertaining. I had a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this to everyone loving inspirational suspense/thrillers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Copson
Location:Cape May NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Great book, lots of action, I couldn't put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good international spy thriller!

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While making a 6-hour ride out of state last week, I read a really good international spy thriller -- The Last Operative by Jerry Jenkins. Of course, Jerry Jenkins is well known as a co-author of the Left Behind series, but he has written many other excellent books, including this one.
According to an author's note in the front of the book, this is a re-write of Jerry's first stand-alone novel, written over twenty years ago. Through a little on-line research, I found that it was the publisher who suggested this re-write, and Jenkins made several changes in technology, the enemy, and even the main character's last name to come up with this up-to-date story of intrigue and faith.
Jordan Kirkwood is an operative with the National Security Agency, thinking seriously about leaving behind the kind of life that has kept him on the go and away from his family for so many years. As he waits for his wife to join him in Europe for a long-deserved vacation, he receives information that draws him reluctantly into another case. By the end of the first chapter, he has suffered horrible personal tragedy and found himself caught up in something much bigger than he imagined. In fact, as is stated on the cover of the book, "The fate of America lies in the hands of one man," -- and Jordan Kirkwood is that one man.
The book is a real page-turner, with lots of twists and turns in plot and characters. Who are the good guys, who are the bad guys, where will Jordan go, what disaster will strike next -- these questions and others have unpredictable answers that keep you wanting to read more. To the espionage, add in the elements of complicated family dynamics, romance, and struggles with faith, and you find an excellent read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a huge fan of Jerry Jenkins! The Last Operative proved to be a page-turner, with twists and turns that were unexpected. What I found a bit difficult to follow was the sheer number of characters that were a mere flash before they were gone. The ending was abrupt and somewhat anti-climactic but otherwise an interesting read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
CARRIE
Location:OSHAWA, ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED JENKINS BOOKS AND THIS ONE WAS NO EXCEPTION!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Espionage and how it affects individuals

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Stephens
Location:Northern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little disappointed that right off the bat there was death of a loved one. Otherwise the book was well written and pulls the reader in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie
Jordon Kirkwood is a husband, a father and a brilliant NSA intelligence operative. His job requires so much from Jordon he is missing out on his family. To give his wife some much needed time with him, he makes the decision to take her on a trip to London for vacation. He finds out disturbing news prior to the trip. There is a threat to his country. Even worse it may be someone within the NSA. It is now in Jordons hands to find out who he can trust and who he can not. How he will save his country and pull his family back together? The last operative is a non-stop action packed trip across the world. Jerry B. Jenkins does not let his readers down. The Last Operative was a edge of your seat ride. I couldnt put the book down and it left me wanting more. This book is a retelling of Jerry Jenkins first stand a lone novel The Operative, which he wrote some twenty years ago. The dialogue was done differently in this book and I really loved it. I actually prefer this style. I think it works great and it makes you feel more involved. For anyone who loves a good international spy novel this is a must. But even if this is not what you normally read I do suggest to give it a try. **I received this book complementary from Tyndale House/Jerry Jenkins from a promotion they ran. I am not required to write a positive review. All of the opinions expressed above are my own. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great writing

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Maurer
Location:Montgomery, A:
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Mr.Jenkins excels in character development, story line, action! Excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
I so enjoyed reading this book. Jerry Jenkins has a way of making his reader feel involved in the story and rooting for the good guys, even if its not easy figuring out who the good guys are! This story will keep you up at night reading. The twists and turns in this book are unexpected. Does not turn out like you think it will. I heartily recommend this book (or any other Jenkins book) with two thumbs up! This book left me wanting more. Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
I have never met a Jerry Jenkins book I didnt like. I normally prefer a happy, family, everythings merry kind of Christian novel, but when I read his books, I get excited. The Last Operative was no different. Jordan Kirkwood is an NSA intelligence operative who is entrusted with very secretive information that he is uncertain what to do with. The book takes an early and shocking turn as a traumatic event happens in Jordans immediate family. Feeling that someone with whom he works may be behind this huge threat to not only his family, but also the United States, he becomes even more unsure about whom to trust. I so enjoyed reading this book. Jerry Jenkins has a way of making his reader feel involved in the story and rooting for the good guys, even if its not easy figuring out who the good guys are! I heartily recommend this book (or any Jenkins book) with two thumbs up!Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Post
I was kind of leery about opening the cover of the novel "The Last Operative" by Jerry Jenkins. I am not your typical fan of any kind of spy type or mystery story or even movie for that matter. But I figured that I would give it a chance, after all the author is Jerry Jenkins, surely he would not disappoint!Soon after I read the first chapter of this book, I found myself wrapped up in traveling the world with character Jordan Kirkwood on a mission to save his country, while he healed the deep pain within his own heart. Jerry Jenkins did a splendid job on keeping me on the edge of my seat as to the mystery of who Jordan could trust ultimately with his life, and the life of his family.This is a fabulous summer read. I highly recommend this book as a sit out on your front porch kick back and relax kind of novel. I would love to see even more of the life of Jordan Kirkwood and other character's of this novel come alive in future novels. Any plans for that in the future Jerry? Hint, hint.Splendid job Jerry Jenkins, you changed my outlook on this genre on writing! Fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
J D Hughes
A story to keep you up at night reading. Twists and turns are unexpected. Does not turn out like you think it will. No guessing on this book. Very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
this book was good. Jenkins is an awsome writer. I look forward to more of him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie
Rosemary and Uncle Dex had been the only people outside the NSA who even knew the name of the agency for which Jordan worked. And not even Rosemary (Jordans wife) knew precisely what he did, except that he used disguises. She had never known about Cydya either. Dex Lee had. (p. 168)This spy thriller has a strong main characterJordan Kirkwood, an intelligence operative. I was riveted by the dynamics of his life: having to constantly keep his head together when one wrong move or misjudgment could be fatal while, at the same time, regrets, conflicts, and secrets churned relentlessly in his soul. His job demanded he trust no one, which ultimately took a toll on his family and his faith in God. His real-life struggles are deep and honest, drawing in the reader. Jenkins used his imagination and did his research to make this a plausible scenario in our post 9/11 world. The page-turner chapter endings and startling twists made me want to jump to the last page more than once, but I resisted. Instead, I let the story take me there and I am glad I waited. Men and women readers will enjoy the action and mystery, relationships and love. From a writers point of view, the book has strong narrative. The characters are recognizable without having to say Jordan said The narrative makes it an easy read and one that the author shows not tells. Rather than Jenkins telling the story, he moves out of the way to let the characters develop the plot themselves. This is such a well-written book that it should be used as a model in Jenkins Writers Guild courses. My only criticism is that it ended rather abruptly the climactic threat to the world was resolved quickly and with little detail. The loose ends in the personal relationships were tied together in a way that lent itself to a they lived happily ever after end. I closed the book wanting more, which is good if a sequel is in the works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Baze
VERY GOOD!! Hated to put it down. Mysteries don't have to be dirty to be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Jerry B. Jenkins new novel, The Last Operative is a spy-thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. A re-write of his first novel, The Operative, the new novel tells the story of NSA intelligence operative Jordan Kirkwood, a man with deep secrets even from his own family.Filled with intrigue, excitement and romance, The Last Operative will introduce you to our new world of terrorism. You will hang on every word until the very end. In addition, Jenkins proves that writers can write up-to-date thrillers without using profanity and sex in order to gain interest. In the Authors Note, Jenkins explains a new technique in his attribution of dialogue. Even though there were several occasions where I had to re-read a section to find out who was speaking, the new technique was well employed with little confusion. The almost 400-page book looks daunting, but its a quick read and highly recommended.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Jordan Kirkwood has been faithfully working for the NSA for 20 years and finally felt like it was time to settle down. He is finishing up one small mission before he plans to meet his wife in London for a much needed time of rest and reconnecting. But just before he finishes his mission he receives intel of a serious terrorist threat to the US and he can't trust anyone - someone is working from inside the NSA itself!When an attempt on his life is made, Jordan is forced to face secrets from his past in order to stop the threat in the future. He has to find whoever is involved inside the NSA without them knowing, while stopping a terrible attack from happening with very few people to help. Will he be able to figure it out on time?This book was a nice change of pace for me. I enjoyed the fact the the protagonist was older and very human - the down sides of working in intelligence are well portrayed. It had a good bit of excitement but the details were not too gorey which I appreciated. The only disappointment for me was that the climax seemed to happen all at once and very quickly. I liked the general idea of the ending but it too seemed to be a bit short and choppy. Still it was a good read - I'll probably read it some time again in the future. Thanks to Tyndale Publishers for a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
The Last OperativeWhen I received this book from Tyndale Publishing I thought I was getting a new book by Jerry Jenkins. I found out this was a retelling of his standalone book. I did go in with an open mind and what I found in reading this book went from intiguing to boring back to intriguing and back to wanting to skim the pages to get to the end but I actually did finish it. The story deals with Jordan Kirkwood as an NSA inteleligence operative. He is an absentee dad and husband but that is about to change. He is meeting his wife in London for a time away when the stakes have changed. The threat to the USA is grave and who can Jordan trust since someone seems to a mole in this mission. He is on his own to try and find out who and what is behind the terrorism. Tack on a love interest from his earlier carreer who he never got over and still wants to find her and can she even be trusted.It is one of those books that I enjoyed, but didn't, if that makes sense. I usually love the endings especially of suspense books but this one left me thinking it was just finally over and that made me glad. Suspense is my favorite and this did not live up to a page turner and can't wait to read. Not what I expected from a well know author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Last Operative, Hardcover
This review is fromThe Last Operative.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tamera Lynn Kraft
I have always loved spy novels. The suspense, the adventure, the danger, and stakes that involve the survival of civilization make them exciting reads. This novel by the Left Behind Series author has all that and more. This operative is a Christian. And that changes the dynamics in a good way. Jordan Kirkwood is not as close to God as he once was. He loves his wife and adult children but knows he has not given them the time they deserve because of his job as a NSA operative. He also knows he's allowed his job to affect his relationship with God and caused him to become cynical. But everything is about to be challenged in a new way when he discovers a plot by terrorists that will make 9/11 look tame in comparison. And someone in the NSA is involved. While he tries to make amends with his family and sort out mistakes of his past, he must contend with the greatest threat he has ever faced as an NSA operative. But he doesn't know who he can trust. I highly recommend this novel. I hope there's a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.