Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3

Tyndale House The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3

As the youngest bureau chief and head of the Chicago Police Department's Major Case Squad, Boone Drake seems to have it all under control. Only those closest to him know that just a few short years ago, he lost everything that mattered to him in a tragic accident. After years of healing, his life is back on track. He recently married a wonderful woman named Haeley, adopted her son, bought a beautiful home, and rediscovered his faith. But Boone can't fight the feeling that something is about to go terribly wrong . . . again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Review 1 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
yogi
Location:Washington state
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously read this series and purchased as a gift for my son in law. I loved this series of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific mystery involving human trafficking

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Jenkins created a great police mystery involving a kidnapped child, human trafficking, and an almost deadly brain injury story that makes you drop everything to keep reading. This is my first novel by Jerry Jenkins since I raced through his Left Behind series and I can’t wait to read more. The book began with Boone Drake, a police chief rejoicing in how well things were going, especially since his wife Haeley received a huge settlement from a law suit involving a false arrest. She had wanted to give the money away, but Boone and her attorney persuaded her to keep what she didn’t need to pay the attorney to set up a college fund for her son Max. She insisted that money was also to go to her current church as well as money to her former church. Problems started when a strange car near their house had a license belonging to DeWayne Mannock, a man Haeley knew who wanted money. Within a week’s time it seemed to Boone that if it could go wrong, it did. The wonderful barbecue with friends ended abruptly when Haeley fell, hitting her head on concrete, breaking her skull, bleeding profusely. Haeley’s son Max who had been left with elderly Aunt Flo met a friendly man, Alfonso, who persuaded them that he was Haeley’s brother and a man just back for Afghanistan. He said he just wanted to meet Max and had gotten the address from Haeley’s pastor. He seemed so friendly and kind, taking pictures, playing with Max, giving him treats. Before long Aunt Flo let Max play outside with Alfonso. However, in a game of tag, they ran toward Alfonso’s car, Alfonso put Max in it, and went off, saying they were going for ice cream. It was some time before Aunt Flo became worried and much more before the police were notified. Once the police knew what had happened, it was like being on wild roller coaster ride with numerous people working together with incredible ingenuity to find out where Max was and get him back before Haeley recovered enough to want to see him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful, Full of Action, Danger

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took some time for me to get involved in the plot at first, because the main character seemed to have a vague background. However, his current plight soon seemed to override his past and I did care about him and his family. I was glad it was noted up front that this is the third in a series. I should have read books one and two first, because I would have known more about his past and been connected sooner. The suspense was done quite well. There was tragedy, hope, intrigue, and crime drama, but I do not wish to spoil the story for anyone by being specific. I was worried for the characters and wanted to cheer them on. The secondary characters were very supportive, admirable for any church family. Even though I felt for a few moments that the book was a platform for the author’s views, he did effectively give a view of the very devastating possibilities in crimes against children. I wondered if the plot was just a bit too full of dramatic turns, but in all, it really got me involved and it was a satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thriller Novel

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boone's perfectly put back together life takes a horrible twist when his wife has a horrific accident and then when things can't get any worse they do only he doesn't know it all yet. His adopted son is kidnapped and by the time all the puzzle pieces are put back together he has been taken out of the country.
I loved this book and look forward to going back and reading the first two books in the Precinct 11 series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to get into at first, but worth it!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a riveting novel! This book was a little hard to get into at the beginning because it is assumed that one has read the previous novels, which I hadn’t. The book starts with an abduction (which as it played out I kept wanting to shout, “no – watch out!”), but turns quickly into a human trafficking nightmare. But after the first chapter I found it impossible to put it down until the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I loved this book! The plot was interesting and the characters were well-developed. Although I started it rather reluctantly, I now want to read the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average, predictable, hardly thrilling "thriller"

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meh... Honestly, that's what comes to mind as I write this review. Its not that "The Breakthrough" is a horrible book by any means, its just that its very "middling." Unlike the previous books in the "Precinct 11" series, I found this to be very slow paced and predictable. There's really not much I can offer that other reviewers haven't mentioned, so I won't bore you with details other than do NOT read the synopsis on the back, it gives away the only "twist" in the book and comes just a few chapters before the end. So if you, like me, read that, there was not one surprise to be had in the book. :/
However, I know there's definitely a market for this kind of story, and I know there will be those who will enjoy it. And, if you've been following the story of Boone Drake and want to know how he's doing, you probably do want to read "The Breakthrough" just to stay up to date. ;-)
All in all, not my favorite book of Jerry Jenkins, but not a bad way to pass a few hours. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

riveting

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the Precinct 11 Novels like they were short stories.
The Breakthrough is the final book of the series and it did not fail to deliver!! The story kept me wanting to read more when my body said to sleep. The twists and turns of the story kept me trying to figure out what’s going to happen before I would read it.
Boone Drake’s personal story throughout the books is heart wrenching!! At least in the end his life finally resembles some sense of normalcy again. Even though Boone Drake is fictional, it gives the reader a sense of ‘keeping the faith’ with all that he has been through. I don’t know if I would have been as strong as Boone if this would have been my life, but I pray for that strength and thank Mr. Jenkins for presenting such a strong character in this book.
I HIGHLY recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

couldn't get into the story

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I’ve been reading books on Tyndale’s Summer Reading Program list. The Breakthrough had such great reviews I decided to try it, even though it isn’t normally my kind of book. But I just couldn’t get into it. It has so much dialog, and I found the dialog uninteresting. The beginning was so predictable. He has a feeling life is going to get bad, his wife feels ill, she falls and get hurts, his son gets kidnapped…the author throws it all to you at once. I tried skimming a few chapters to see if I could get into the story later on, but I just never could. I didn’t read the whole book, but from what I tried to read, this book was very disappointing to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book with Twists and Turns

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Breakthrough is a story that will keep you intrigued until the last page. Boone Drake has a great career as a police officer, a loving wife, and young son. All seems to be going well for Boone until his wife has an accident leaving her fighting for her life and that of her unborn child. While Boone is in the hospital waiting to hear from the doctor about his wife’s prognosis, his son, Max, has gone missing after his “uncle” took him for a drive around the town. When Max doesn’t return for hours, it becomes apparent to the boy’s babysitter that he has been kidnapped. When Boone is told of Max’s kidnapping, he leaves his gravely injured wife’s side to find Max and bring him home. While investigating Max’s disappearance, Boone discovers that the boy is just a part in a web of deceit and illegal adoption placement. Jerry Jenkins weaved a great thriller with many twists and turns that is sure to captivate any reader’s attention and looking forward to reading a continuation in the Boon Drake series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Breakthrough is the 3rd book in the Precinct 11 Series by Jerry B. Jenkins. Boone Drake is the youngest bureau chief and head of the Chicago PD's Major Case Squad. He is recently married and adopted his new wife's son. He is worried that since everything is going so well and wonderful that something is going to go terribly wrong.
I had a really difficult time getting into this book. The characters are nice but I just couldn't relate to any of them. I don't know if it was the fact that it was the third book in the series and I had read the others or what. With all of that in mind, I didn't dislike the book. I would say give it a try if you like this sort of thing. It was well written but apparently just not my thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wilkie
Location:South Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Was fast-paced and drew me in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boone Drake is back, and is now a bureau chief in the Chicago Police Department. His life is going well at work and home. But then tragedy strikes and he must decide between taking care of his wife or working a personal case.
I thought this book was great. The story moved at a good pace and kept the reader wanting to know what would happen next. I felt sorry for Boone and his constant troubles, but all was well in the end. I hope there will be a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good Read

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reds8
Location:Pikesville, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Jenkins is one of my favorite authors, after read this book I am going back and read the first 2 in the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Breakthrough

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This was another great novel from Jerry Jenkins. This novel had me hooked from the very beginning. This novel continues with Drake Boone and his new family. I don't want to give it away but there is an incident that happens within the family that he must try to solve. It really keeps your attention. Jerry Jenkins is a very gifted author and I have never read a book by him that I didn't love! I would definitely recommend this book to everyone out there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intrigueing

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prayer Warrior
Location:Kansas City, mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 3rd in the series, am reading it now and it is not disappointing! Can't wait to finish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is book 3 in the Precinct 11 Trilogy. Even though it stands alone well, reading the first 2 books (The Brotherhood and The Betrayal) will enhance the reading of this one. Like the first two, this was a page-turner. I did not understand the why of what happened to Haeley (you have to read to find out), and thought it could have been left out. The tension and suspense builds up and then is tied up a bit too quickly for me. I really like Boone and hope he makes a return appearance. The character's faith is explored but it not too preachy. Overall I enjoyed this book despite a couple of issues I had with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy K
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like getting lost in a book, this is another book and series that will do that. It is full of suspense, twist and turns, real life emotions that pull at your heart. This book made me feel like this was or could be playing out in real life, not some far fetched plot that all or parts of it just couldn't happen in real life. Weaving in how some of the characters went to the Lord for help, or how others were learning about a faith in Christ, etc. was great. Love reading Jerry's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action, Adventure, Suspenseful Thriller

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry B. Jenkins in his new book “The Breakthrough” Book Three in the Precinct 11 series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us back into the life of Boone Drake and the Chicago Police Department.
From the back cover: After years of turmoil, Boone Drake seems to be back on track. He is the youngest bureau chief in Chicago Police Department history, he heads the city’s Major Case Squad, he has a new family, and his relationship with God has never been better. Still, Boone can’t fight the feeling that something is about to go terribly wrong . . . again.
When disaster strikes, it seems Boone is destined to repeat the past, as tragedy threatens those closest to him. And when his own family’s safety is at stake, Boone is forced to make a difficult choice: stay with his wife, Haeley, who desperately needs him, or pursue a human trafficking ring from the narrow streets, alleys, and hovels of the famed hutong district in Beijing, China, to the ancient city of Tianjin. The stakes have never been higher for Boone as the all-too-personal case grows increasingly dangerous . . . and time is running out.
The action doesn’t stop as Boone Drake travels from Chicago to China dealing with a human trafficking ring. “The Breakthrough” is a page-flipping thriller where not only is his life in danger but the lives of his new family as well. Mr. Jenkins great skill is not only in creating suspenseful plots but in his marvelous characterizations. From Boone all the way down to minor characters they all come to life and we sit on the edge of our seats and we root for them to succeed in the face of what seems like overwhelming odds. “The Breakthrough” is a great read with Mr. Jenkins making us flip the pages as fast as we can because we want to know what happens with Boone and see if he survive and put the bad guys out of business. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to, hopefully, more books in this series.
If you missed the interview for “The Brotherhood” book one in this series, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Breakthrough, Precinct 11 Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Breakthrough

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boone Drake is on top of the world. After suffering the loss a few years ago of pretty much everything that mattered in his life -- including his wife and son -- he is enjoying life much more than he ever expected. He has married again, has gained an adopted son, is chief of the Chicago Police Department Major Case Squad, has the car and house of his dreams, and has found his way back to a faith in God that had gone missing after so much tragedy in his life. So why does he have the feeling that his world is about to fall apart again?
And fall apart it does! Boone suffers not one, but two tragedies. He feels a desperate need to stay with his wife Haeley after she suffers a serious accident. But another case hits too close to home and pulls him into a dangerous situation in a far away location. Boone is not sure if his skills and his faith will be enough to get him through these latest challenges.
In The Breakthrough, the third novel in his Precinct 11 series, Jerry Jenkins continues the stories of Boone and Haeley Drake, Jack Keller, and other characters introduced in The Brotherhood and The Betrayal. As in the previous books, the characters are faced with major crises that test their faith.
I enjoyed The Breakthrough, but it was not my favorite Jerry Jenkins book. Even though the plot is full of suspense and includes many twists and turns that keep you guessing, I felt like it sometimes fell a little flat and some of the elements were resolved too abruptly. All in all, though, it was well worth the time I spent reading it. This book could work well as a stand-alone, but I think it is much better read after the first two in the series.
(I was provided a free copy of this book by Tyndale House in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>