Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Riven

Tyndale House Riven

Raised in a dingy trailer park, Brady Wayne Darby has only a death sentence to show for his sad, sorry life. But when weary man of God Thomas Carey meets this no-account with nothing left to lose, the seismic wave of rebirth and redemption will shake a state---and the nation---to the core! 544 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Riven
Review 1 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
kdfw61
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was highly recommended to me by my sister and bro-in-law. The author, Jerry Jenkins, takes his time developing the story, allowing you to get well acquainted the main characters. I never was bored or felt the story moved too slowly. By about halfway thru the book, I was really hooked. I usually judge a book by whether it makes me want to blow off all the stuff I'm supposed to be doing to read it, which this book eventually did. It's not a story I will soon forget. No matter how much you've blown it or how much of a failure you think you are, God's love and grace are exceedingly, abundantly, more than you can imagine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This may be Jerry Jenkins best book yet...

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
martha3
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our choices have consequences, good or bad and this book really drives that home. It draws you in and does not let go. This should be a manditory read for all high schoolers. You can't help but carry this book with you long after you have finished it. I want all my grandchildren to read this. Bravo Mr. Jenkins and thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ernie
Location:Ferguson , NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good book so far...bounces back and forth between 2 lives but very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
dean
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Jerry Jenkins has allowed the Spirit of God to to lead and guide him in composing this novel. The way he bought all of the characters together to deliver a message of forgiveness, repentenace and faith kept me riveted. The message of God's nature of mercy, grace and redemption filled my heart with unspeakable joy . I look forward to the next novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

riveting

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ratladynh
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a slow starter but then I could not put it down. I have shared it with many friends and they all say the same. It is an amazing story of God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne
Really enjoyed the first 475 pages of this book but was very disappointed by where the author took the story in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deedee
A compelling, emotionally wrenching book, unlike any other. Perseverance, suffering, trials, dead end living--and the glorious grace of God magnified. A wonderfulinspiring book--a call to reach out to those who seem hopeless with the Hope of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruthie Wienke
I didn't read this when I got it since the print was small. When I started it, I couldn't put it down. It is an excellent read.Ruthie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kansas
I have never, ever, EVER in my life read a more gripping, heart rendering, riveting book than Riven. It just...tears you apart in so many ways. Grief, anger, remorse, guilt, and so many other emotions well up inside you whether you are an emotional person or not. I wish it were slightly cleaner, but it is still amazing. I look forward to not having to borrow it from the library, and owning it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rowena
This book has changed my life. I read the Description many times before I bought the book. I could not put it down and cried at the end. The Holy Spirit really worked on me throughout this book and I am a changed person! Everyone should read Riven. The characters really touch your heart and feel real. Wow! I now want to read each and every book Jerry B. Jenkins has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Barrick
I read this book through in 2 days. Then I loaned it to a friend who read it in 1 1/2 days. Just from my one copy, word has spread like wildfire about this book, and I've already loaned it to a 2nd person, and a 3rd has asked to borrow it next. A really good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marvin Hatcher
Excellent book, a book that you don't want to put down once you start reading. A must read book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn M. DesJardin
There was no decision to make on how to rate Riven. If anyone had asked me how many pages in this book, I would have guessed maybe 300, ah, but it's well over 500! The characters are so believable that from the start I wanted to help and encourage them. The story is incredibly sad and wonderful and amazing. God must have had His hand in it! Thank you God, Thank you Jerry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Jerry B. Jenkins has blown my mind! Riven is a carefully woven tale of life and faith from both ends of the human condition. Brady, a man who has lived the hard knock life, is now reaping the fruit of his decisions as a resident of death row. Timothy is a preacher who has lived for Christ the best he can, but has been continually beaten down and rejected by the people he has tried to serve. It is when these two men meet and begin to develop a friendship that the reader can see God at work in the midst of this story.This book is intimidating in size, but the pages turn themselves as the reader becomes so invested in what brought these men to the place they are in at the present time. Riven is a finely crafted read that can be digested easily regardless of the intense subject matter due to the frequent breaks within the chapters as the story oscillates between the characters. There were even a few chuckles in this intensely emotional tale. It is a thoroughly satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Riven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gail Temples
The holy spirit has really worked through Jerry Jenkins in this book!! This book is a tool to break people hearts/spirits for God. It broke my heart for the unsaved. It changed my life. I pray others will read it and buy it for thier unsaved loved ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.