Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible

Tyndale House Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible

Learning about God and learning how to read have never been so much fun for kids ages 4 to 7. Encourage the young readers in your home to start developing a love for God's Word by picking up this Bible and reading one story each day. Created by educator Karyn Henley - author of the well-loved Beginner's Bible - the Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible fits the unique needs of children just learning to read. Its stories are not too long . . . but not too short either. Children will be encouraged by the easy Day-By-Day format as well as the "I did it!" star that rewards them for completing a story.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Review 1 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for early readers

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaTo0608
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What it isn't:
If you're looking for a comprehensive Bible storybook to read aloud to your preschooler, this isn't it. The Eager Reader Bible was perfect for that - four page stories simply told with great pictures and a question on each page to help with understanding and listening comprehension. I did that one with my son when he was four as a bedtime story/early devotional habit and now am using that book with my daughter.
What it is:
A great 5 day a week, 52 week chronological Bible story book written on a high kindergarten through first grade reading level. As a second grade teacher, I think this book would work well for that age too. We'd use the weekend to catch up on any nights we missed while on vacation or whatnot (we finished in 55 weeks). Every night he'd read and then we'd date the "I did it!" Star at the end of each story. I started with my son when he turned five and in the beginning we'd read the majority of the words and he'd sound out the short vowel words. We progressed to reading every other sentence and helping with the names and "hard words.". By the end of the year, our son could read the entire passage aloud to us independently.
I love that my son learned how to read by reading God's word and developed a great habit of reading the bible nightly for himself. That said, he's an advanced reader anyway, so I waited until my Goddaughter was half way into kindergarten to buy her a copy for Christmas because I want her to be successful reading the Bible and not dread it. Each day has a colorful illustration and each story is a page to two pages long - perfect for 10-15 minutes for beginners just sounding things out. If you just want a read aloud, see my above recommendation. If you want a bible for early readers - this is the perfect choice!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great starter Bible.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hope4kids
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our church purchased these for our 1st graders. They have great illustrations, and the stories are just the right length for a beginner reader. Great buy for the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Deal

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
servantofgod4
Location:Campbellsort, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is in kindergarten and just turned 6 in May.
She has been reading this whole school year. I bought this bible because she has such a love for Jesus, and now she reads and reads and reads her own bible. She loves it! It's a great thing for a child to be able to read the bible at their level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leonardo
Great Bible for kids, specially for those 5 to 7 years old who are beginning readers. My kids love it. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darcey Stevenson
My daughter loves this bible. I have it to her for Easter. She is 6 years old. We read the Easter story out of it before church that morning and it deepened hers and her brothers understanding tremendously. It is well written at a level that she can understand. She requests to have it read most nights. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
AC
It's exactly what I expected from reading the description. It is a good choice as a child's first bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leonardo
What a wonderful Bible for kids!! Specially for those who are in their first steps as readers. My daughter loves it. I recommend it 100% if you have a kid between between 4 and 7 years old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mina Makar
My daughter is 5 years old. She loves to read from it daily to check "I did it". It is also covering the whole year and the whole events in the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doria Smith
This is a great beginner bible. We love it. God bless! Our son enjoys learning to read and listening to these great bible stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Little
This is a good way to train children in daily Bible reading. It is more like reading the Bible than reading a Bible story book. I'm glad to have Bible stories on a level that my 4-yr. old granddaughter can understand and will be able to read herself as she begins school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Forte
All products,this order,and others, provide spiritual growth from age 3-teen. All our Sun.School Classes have been enhanced,attendance increased,spiritual enrichment is reachng the adult classes,and chlidren are EAGER to HEAR about the Books of the BIBLE.Characters of the Bible such as Noah,Moses,David,Joseph,Daniel,Ester,Jonah,JESUS,and his Disciples, have encouraged their hearts tolearn about GOD,sharing,reading,and hands oncrafts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Edward Fugee- Jr
My wife and I teach kindergarten Sunday School and find this bible very enjoyable for our children. Most of them need it read to them, but they really love receiving it. I still have my first bible and have always treasured It. We feel this is an excellent Bible to get them interested in God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Day by Day Begin-to-Read Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Buesing
An excellant Bible for our 1st grade daughter to read each morning!!! She is so pleased to now read God's Word by herself!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.