Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook

Zondervan The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
Review 1 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spellbinding read!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grumpy
Location:New Palestine, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is hard to put down. Brown's style and character development shines brightly in this book. Brings a relatively unknown area of the world right onto the worldwide stage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Boyce
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I've read the Navy Justice series and followed the characters of Zack Brewer and Diane Colcernian. I enjoyed those books very much but was disappointed with The Malacca Conspiracy.
First, at the beginning of the book, author Don Brown mentioned a significant rift in the relationship between Zack and Diane. She wouldn't return his calls or even speak to him. Yet, when the two characters meet again, it's as if that rift didn't even exist. Nothing is ever mentioned of Zack and Diane working through the issue to achieve an understanding.
**SPOILER WARNING** - Secondly, after a nuclear weapon was detonated in the city of Philadelphia, there were no automatic procedures taken to protect President Mack Williams by transferring him to a secure location. No precautionary measures at all to protect the President of the United States from an imminent nuclear threat?!?!
The main plot seemed very realistic and illustrated just how easy it probably is to transport contraband materials into the US. I did like the last scene in the Rose Garden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carole Skeen
As with his other books, I could not put it down. His books make you feel like you are reading in a current newspaper. He is up to date and to the minute on current affairs. Looking forward to the next one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodie Roach
I could not put this one down! The perfect ending for Zach and Dianne - (if you've read the Navy Justice series which I would also reccomend) but still an excellent story. I would reccomend it to anyone who enjoys action, drama and romance all in one and has a keen interest in law, politics and defence forces. I loved it and I can't wait for more books by Don Brown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andy Caldwell
The Malacca Conspiracy is my first book I have read by Don Brown. Politics and religion aside, I enjoyed getting lost in the story with the characters. The flow of the story was good enough to keep me running back to the book to read before bed. I also realized that there are other books with the main characters in which I would like to read in the near future. I would highly recommend this book as a great weekend or vacation read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
getinak
I've just finished reading the Malacca Conspiracy -- what a great read! You'll be on the edge of your seat, the twists and turns keeps you turning the pages. This book has it all...suspense, action, mystery and definite sexual tension between Zack Brewer and Diane Cocernian. I can't wait for the next one! High Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
LWC Alum
This was the first Don Brown book I've read and I was pleasantly surprised with the plausibility of this geo-political thriller. In light of the pirate attacks around Somalia, an event like this might not be out of the question. The plot was well developed though at times predictable, the characters were interesting although not all the situations were believable enough for my liking. I did however, have difficulty putting it down which is my ultimate litmus test of whether or not I enjoy a book. I plan to go back and read earlier books from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
D.C.
Don Brown spins interesting, entertaining and credible yarns. This one is particular compelling given the incredible events of 9/11/2001, the recent gulf oil spill and the impending arming of Iran with a nuclear capability. Anyone who doesnt shake in his boots after reading this novel must have spent his recent years incommunicado. Dons plots are exceptional and surprising. The reader has to be taken to Gag Island before he has the wits necessary to figure why this remote island has any bearing whatsoever on the authors tale.The plot of Malacca Conspiracy, like the authors earlier works, is tightly wound and slowly developed using a style that features plot input data from a variety of accurately described geographic locations. As a travel enthusiast, an added element of entertainment from reading the book was visiting, via internet, the various sites the author describes in Singapore, Jakarta, Karachi, and even Gag Island , West Papua, Indonesia. Warning - I think St Stephens catholic church in Jakarta is a figment of the authors imagination!The authors main characters, Zack and Diane, have been rode too hard and put up wet too many times during the course of this series. They put a real strain on character credibility by their too good looks, their unreal ability to travel with the SEALS, and their unrealistic relationships with higher authority. They should be blown away at the earliest opportunity and replaced with character(s) who have more potential for development.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
The back flap of the book misleads you to think the story will focus on Zack Brewer and Diane Colcerniantwo JAG officers from Don Browns Previous Navy Justice Series. I almost believed this book would come from two points of view, possibly three if you count the enemy, but the book is unique in that it focuses almost totally on The Malacca Conspiracy and less on the personal lives of Zack and Diane. It does not follow along the lines of some formula type stories and the book is well researched.Don Brown served five years in the U.S. Navy as an officer in the Judge Advocate Generals (JAG) Corps. He served as an action officer to the Pentagon and left active duty in 1992 to pursue private practice. He remained on inactive status through 1999 and rose to the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He wrote The Navy Justice Series (Treason, Hostage, Defiance, and Black Sea Affair; the last book apparently predicted the 2008 shooting war between Russia and Georgia).The book is broken up by chapter and written in a time line. Several points of view might confuse some, but the time line makes it easy to transition from one point of view to another characters point of view without causing a pause in the action. This book keeps your heart pumping and at times you hold your breath in anticipation or fear. It is believable and possibly conceivable. You fear you might actually see this happen in our time. There are maps, and the conspiracy itself is well thought out. Zack and Dianes story is peppered in between as a subplot. You dont mind that their story is only a subplot because the action does not disappoint. I sat back after reading the last page and could only mutter, Wow.Book Provided by Zondervan For Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ben Green
This was a fun book to read, it has many interesting plot lines that often bring a surprise on every page. The descriptions in the book were vivid and well written. Anyone who enjoys reading Tom Clancy novels, or Robert Ludlum will most likely enjoy the writing style of Don Brown.I personally appreciate the Christian themes in this book. They made for a clean read and was an excellent example of a well written Christian novel.I occasionally felt that some of the scenes were protracted over too long a period. I sometimes find that a sequential chronological order is easier to read than having to "go back in time" even for a couple of hours to pick up the slack of another scene.All in all a good book with plenty of action and thrill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Henry Morris
Don Brown has the uncanny ability to tell a story which, even though it is fiction, is filled with facts about real geography, real politics, real governments, war, weapons, science, human nature and world religions woven together with such finesse that one learns pertinent details about these varied areas while just reading an awesomely exciting mystery novel. The daring travels of Navy JAG officers, Zack Brewer and Diane Colcernian, continue throughout the US and the world. The gripping and spell-binding adventures have you turning the pages faster than a speed reader because you want to get to the next ship, the next embassy, the next action or reaction of the US President, or another Rambo-type exploit by the Navy SEALS. It is explosive action from page one to page 349. One must surmise that Don Brown during his five years as a young Navy JAG Officer had a pressing desire to run away with a squad of Navy SEALS for a two-month action packed summer vacation on a group of tropical islands in the South Pacific. What an imagination! The book is educational in another important area. Learn about Jesus and our relationship with Him as you attempt to guess the next twist this tale will take. Even if the next twist is not the way you wanted it to be you will see that God can cause good to come from even very bad situations. Bravo! Great job with the Malacca Conspiracy, Don!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
This Christian fiction action-packed novel is intense, dramatic, with scenes switching from various points in Indonesia, to ships at sea, to major US cities, to the White House. If there were a newspaper story about the plot, the headline would read, "Extremist Muslims use nuclear power to control the world." Pitting an extreme example of an evangelical United States President against an equally over-the-top member of the Islamic faith creates a tension that could make fiction come to life.Characters Zack Brewer and Diane Cocernian provide romance that adds to the appeal. Fans of the author's earlier series will be pleased to read about their ongoing attraction.Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Zondervan for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne Lang
I just finished this book, it is my favorite so far. Lots of plot twists and turns. Great adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roses62
I did love this book! It is packed full of action, faith, mystery and once you start it, you do not want to put it down. Don brings back the beloved charactors, Zack and Diane from his former books, "Treason", "Hostage" and "Defiance"! Everything Mr Brown writes will keep yours attention and each chapter draws you to the next chapter. The end brought tears to my eyes and chills at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
Every time I order a new Don Brown book I think 'he just can't top his last one' and he always does! The Malacca Conspiracy is brilliantly written and made all the more thrilling by the possibility that what is here as fiction could very well be fact tomorrow. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and the suspense has begun again...waiting for the next book he will write.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Malacca Conspiracy - eBook
This review is fromThe Malacca Conspiracy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn L Mesch
As usual, Don Brown writes a suspenseful story, filled with Navy detail and possible scenarios for our world. I like JAG officer Zach Brewer's story continuing throughout the series. It is sometimes difficult to keep all the characters and places straight, but realize there have to be that many for what is happening in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.