Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover

Thomas Nelson The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover

Aidan Thomas is miserable. And it's much more than the strange nightmares he's been having. Just when life seemed to be coming together for Aidan, his parents suddenly move the family across the country to take care of his wheelchair-bound grandfather. When strange events begin to occur, Aidan is drawn into his grandfather's basement where he discovers three ancient scrolls and an invitation to another world.

No longer confined to the realm of his own imagination, Aidan embarks on an adventure where he meets knights, warriors, kings and mysterious Glimpses who can travel between worlds. Aidan joins them in the struggle between good and evil. With the fate of two worlds hanging in the balance, Aidan faces Paragory, the eternal enemy. Will Aidan be willing to risk everything and trust the unseen hand of the one true King? Recommended for ages 10 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Review 1 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fantasy Winner

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gillian
The story: It’s been two weeks since they moved to Colorado to look after Grampin, and Aidan Thomas just wants to go back to Maryland. He left his best friend behind, and he’s not looking forward to trying to fit into a new school. With no friends and nowhere to go, Aidan’s expecting the most boring summer of his life. That is, until he finds three ancient scrolls in Grampin’s basement – scrolls that summon him to a different world. A world at war.
Aidan finds himself caught up in the conflict between the knights of Alleble and the evil knights of Paragory. Chosen as the Twelfth Knight on an important mission, Aidan takes a crash course in knightliness through a week long boot camp under the intimidating Captain Valithor. Faced with enemy knights, dragons, and the strange creatures and customs of a strange world, Aidan’s found a little more adventure than he anticipated!
My thoughts:
This was one of the first “modern” fantasy books I ever read, so naturally, it has a special place in my heart. I grew up on the Lord of the Rings and Narnia, but I didn’t discover the wonderful world of newer fantasy out there until a friend gave me The Door Within as a birthday present several years ago.
And I was hooked.
In The Door Within, Wayne Thomas Batson pens a great novel full of adventure, excitement, and fantastical creatures. I was sucked in from the first page. Great characters including the archer twins Nock and Bolt, the hammer wielding Mallik, and the swordmaiden Gwenne – not to mention the inimitable Captain Valithor – simply beg you to read more!
Add to that the mysteries of the Realm and the Glimpses who live there, a great plot full of imaginative twists and turns, battles that you can practically see, and the fearsome depths of Falon’s Labyrinth and you’ve got a winner! Recommended to any fan of fantasy ages 10+.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book that launched me into christian Fantasy!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
JaydenCrow
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I read this book in 4th Grade I sped through small chapter-books that were in the more 'elementary' side of my school library. I was never satisfied, reading every book I could get my hands on, but I was getting bored of "The Magic Treehouse" and other such books. Then one day my school librarian showed me this book. I was hesitant at first because I had never really been in to Fantasy, because most Fantasy I had been exposed to was more like fairy tales; Damsels in Distress, fairies, etc. But I started to read this book (which at the time was huge for me) and was immediately drawn in to a captivating story of a teenage kid named Aiden.
Aiden had been living in Maryland. He seemed to never fit in...until he met Robby Pierson. Robby was an Athletic kid, much the opposite of Aiden, but accepted Aiden as he was. Being friends with Robby gained Aiden popularity. Things seemed to be going well for Aiden, but then unexpectedly he had to move out west to take care of his ailing Grandfather. It was the summer, and Aiden didn't know any kids in the neighborhood, had exhausted his supply of video games, and had nothing to do. He was mad at his parents, his Grandfather, and was bored out of his mind. But then one day Aiden makes a startling discovery in his Grandfathers basement that launches him into a world of dragons and knights!
This book is an excellent example of good, clean Christian literature that supports good values while having a good and exciting storyline. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of ten. It is fairly long and may be a bit too scary for most kids under that age, for it does have some violent battle scenes. But if you are 10 or older, this book is a must read!
As far as I am concerned, this series is amazing! It is one of the top five best I have ever read! My hat is off to you, Sir Batson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a wonderful adventure!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bunnymiller
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was curious about this book for my middle school and teenage children and within the first few pages I found myself drawn into the world of the principle character, Aiden, and fully invested in his life and the wonderful adventure he finds himself on. Batson is a talented writer with a gift for creating intrigue and curiosity about his characters that beckons you to join in the adventure right through to the end. My children and I have now read the entire trilogy and cannot get enough of Mr. Batson's books! I highly recommend these to anyone with children middle-school aged and older or anyone longing for a fantastic sense of adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST read for ALL ages!!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Winterbane
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for an adventure to take you and your kids on? Then check out The Door Within. This is an epic tale of a young boy named Aidan Thomas who, with the help of his grandfather, enters a world only known as "The Realm". Grand battles, Dragons, Hammer Wielding Warriors, Mighty Kings, and a Lord of Evil await Aidan. Will he rise to the challenges that are ahead of him? Will he face his fears and realize that he is never alone? Only time shall tell. Wayne Thomas Batson delivers an excellent literary adventure that will captivate the imagination! The Door Within is the first book in this highly anticipated trilogy of fantasy adventures. These books are great no matter what age! Why should kids have all the fun??
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Series

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeEduMom
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased all three books in this Trilogy for my 10 and 11-year-old avid readers. Not only did they LOVE them, they have read them several times. The books include a lot of sword fighting action and a good story line that keeps boys engaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Silverlake
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started reading this book, I thought it would be dumb and boring. Now it is one of my top five Favorite books!! The plot is intriguing, the characters realistic, and the world Wayne Thomas Batson creates is incredible. I read this book in just a few days because I could not put it down! The way Batson writes makes you feel as if you were really in the story! I would recommend this book for everyone!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Door Within: A great book!

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Superstars111
Posted 12/12/10: When Aidan moves across the country, he has no idea how many adventures he'll find. After finding some scrolls in his grampin's basement, he travels to an amazing land full of people called glimpses. He learns about King Eliam and evil Paragor, and becomes a knight. His mission, to travel to Mithegarde and save the king. But Paragor wants the king to join his cause, and goes to stop Aidan and his friends. Will Aidan stop Paragor and save the day, or will he be defeated? This amazing fantasy story by Whayne Thomas Batson has drawn in readers of all ages. To find out what happens, and go on an amazing adventure, you'll just have to read the book yourself.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story Good for all Ages, Both Young and Old

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vrenith Sylversmith
Location:KS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strange things start happening to Aiden, including nightmares, strange shadows, and ancient scrolls found in his Grampin’s basement in Colorado. Aiden reads the scrolls, opening up a whole new world. His parents don’t believe him, but Grampin seems to know what is going on. He helps Aiden to see the truth about the scrolls, throwing him into an adventure full of courage, peril, truth, and friends. Wayne Thomas Batson spins an exciting tale that readers can’t put down till their finished.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teenage Writer
Life was getting better for Aiden, until his parents suddenly move the family across the country to take care of his sick grandfather. In a flurry of strange events, Aiden wanders down into his grandfather's basement, where he discovers strange, ancient scrolls. When he reads the fateful words, 'Believe and Enter', his world is turned upside down forever. Through the scrolls, Aiden enters a strange world called the Realm, where he embarks on an adventure as the Twelfth Knight on a mission to Mithegard, whose king is in danger of allying himself with the evil and traitorous Paragor. With the destiny of the two worlds--his own, and the Realm--hanging in balance, Aidan faces Paragory, the ultimate enemy. Will Aidan be willing to risk everything he ever knew to trust in the one true King? If I would sum this entire book up into one sentence, it would be this; Amazing. Simply amazing. There are plenty of bits and pieces that could've been changed here or there, but the essence of the story is a marvelous picture. Batson manages to weave humor, courage, and allegory all into one book. And this was his first novel! Every debut book has faults. The Door Within was no exception. But the story was strangely moving. You may point out all the faults in contempt, but in the end, you are moved almost to tears at the wondrous self-sacrifice in The Door Within. Bravo, Mr. Batson.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth
A serious issue for teens: Youre a thirteen year old, youve never been able to fit in, and just when you start to feel like youre getting more popular, more friends, all that jazz, it is torn away from you. This is the situation of Aiden Thomas. He has to move with his family to another state to have to take care of his annoying grandfather. However, things soon take a soon for the better. While bored on a summer day, he looks in the mysterious old basement of the house. Surprised to find ancient scrolls with a story on them too real to be possible. After coming to reality that the scrolls actually were true, and an amazing story is waiting for him, Aiden enters the door within and finds himself in another realm, full of knights, swords, and dragons. Soon he sets out on a mission of life and death.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
CrisisCloud
Written by Wayne Thomas Batson, The Door Within is the first book in a Christian fantasy adventure trilogy. (The other two books being The Rise of the Wyrm Lord and The Final Storm) The main character is Aidan, a teenager struggling to adjust to a new home and the loss of his only real friend. One day, he finds a set of scrolls documenting the history of another world completely different than his own, but linked together at the same time. Through his belief in the scrolls and The Story, he enters The Door Within and finds himself in the other realm and in the service of the One True King.Aidan becomes the twelfth knight in a band of twelve knights in service of the King, and they are sent out on a quest in which the lives of thousands hang in the balance. Through his adventures, Aidan finds friendship in others, true strength, courage, and more. You will witness betrayal, gripping action, a fantasy land in the vein of the Dragon Keeper or Chronicles of Narnia series, and an epic tale told in incredible page-turning fashion. Batsons writing is inspirational and has an excellent message for people of all ages, although it is directed toward youth specifically.Never Alone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Silver Angel
In this epic beginning to an epic series, Aidan Thomas must learn to accept what is happening to him. When he moves away from his friends and everything he knows, he is torn. Until he finds another world told about in some scrolls he finds the basement. Scrolls that will change his life, forever. Come along and meet new friends that will forever remain in your memories. Like King Eliam, Nock, Bolt, among many others :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alastrina of SwiftStorm
The Door Within is an awesome story! It is a book that captures your attention and takes you to the land of Alleble where you follow Aiden as he fights evil enemies and learns to respect his family more. I loved this book and I couldnt put it down! Making a movie out of The Door Within would be epic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rushingwaters
The Door Within by Wayne Thomas Batson is about an unpopular teenager named Aidan Thomas. Aidan is forced to move away from his friends, school, and ultimately his life as he knows it when his Dad's job is transferred several states away. Adian is shocked and confused when he finds scrolls in the creepy basement of his new house. These scrolls tell of King Eliam and the mysterious Realm. This book is an intriguing beginning to an excellent series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Otterman
A very fun book. Entertaining, action-packed. It may not be on my list of favorites, but I think if Id read it while at the age of the targeted audience, it would have been.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
bunnylover03
I like the Door Within because Aidan, the main character of the story, travels to a world full of creatures like unicorns and dragons. I love the fantasy animals in the books, especially when Falon the mortiwraith is introduced. This is a really good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christian Miles
The Door Within by Wayne Thomas Batson is one of the first Christian Fantasy books that popped up after the long sabbatical between the time of Tolkien and now. The story is simple enough: Young Aidan is sent to a fantasy realm to save the world. We've seen it a hundred times, so the question is "Did Wayne make it unique?"Whether he did or didn't, it's easy to see that the author had a great time writing this book. His infectious enthusiasm is glued to every page of this book, and that in itself was enough to carry me to the end.I don't particularly like allegory, and it was fairly black and white throughout The Door Within. Just because that isn't my cup of tea won't affect my rating, though. Also, Mr. Batson drew heavily from Narnia and Middle-Earth, with the latter being more obvious. I would've enjoyed something more original, yet I know how hard that can be. The overall craftsmanship was mediocre.What I enjoyed the most were Batson's own creations, particularly the Mortiwraith. I really enjoyed the scene in the Labyrinth.The Door Within managed to snag my interest enough to make me pick up Rise of the Wyrm Lord. I'd say it's worth a read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel K.
This book is the powerful opening to the Door Within Trilogy by Wayne Thomas Batson. It's incredible how it draws the reader into the Realm of Alleble alongside the main character, Aidan. I'm currently re-reading it because the first time I sped through it, wanting to know what happened next! Now I can savor the writing, the worldbuilding, and the characters as well as the intriguing plot. It's a great book to give to a kid who likes fantasy, but isn't quite ready to read more ambitious works like The Lord of the Rings. It's also great for those of us who are not quite kids anymore, but still love a rousing yarn about a parallel world, dragons, knights, and fighting evil. The author is full of enthusiasm for serving the King, and it shows in his work. Thank you, Mr. Batson, for introducing us to Alleble!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adele
Warning, there's spoilers ahead! Imagine that you are ... Aidan, a teenage boy who has just left his best friend and gone to live in Colorado. You discover in your Grampin's basement (you are staying in his house) something quite unusual; 'blue electricity' which is actually breathing and which leaves behind scrolls in pots! Whew! The scrolls are so cool, you hurry to tell your parents when they come home, because an incredible, fantastic story is illuminated across the thick parchment. Unfortunately, you cannot find the pots the scrolls came in, and your parents conclude you just found a cool handwritten 'original draft' of a popular story which, they assure you, is common enough and in bookstores across the country!So, what do you do? Read the scrolls and Enter the Door Within ... and you will go places you never dreamed existed, and meet King Eliam, who is in control of everything and who you must learn to trust. Because Adventures begin with the Unexpected and make you tread narrow paths. You will be saved by a friendly dragon, meet an enchanting lady named Gwenne, learn to be a knight, and become best buddies with moonrascals, little cute creatureswho burrow underground, and last but not least learn a lesson from glowing spiders... you also, of course, must evade capture by Paragor, the arch villain who is intent on disrupting King Eliam's rule of peace and goodness. And don't ever forget, King Eliam is with you: you are never alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Door Within Trilogy #1: The Door Within, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leighton
Another book by Wayne Thomas Batson! This is the first book of the first series he wrote. And guess what? It is the best.Aiden is 14 year old failure, hes out of shape, hes not cool, and now he left behind in Maryland his only friend Robby. Why? His grandfather lives in Colorado, and has reached the point in life where he cant take care of himself properly. So Aidens parents have decided to move to Colorado and take care of Aidens grandfather.To sum up, Aiden finds some strange scrolls in his Grandfathers basement that present the key to unlock something that will change Aidens life permanently, and direct the course of the futureWow, there are so many things I can say about this book, but it would be idk HOW many pages long. Oh, well. Let me try to give a short list of things I liked:The map, the characters, the creatures (Especially the Mortiwraiths ), the plot, the message. Great Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.