Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather

Sanctuary is a beautiful daily devotional Bible for women with devotions by contributors such as Anne Graham Lotz, Elisabeth Elliot, Jill Briscoe, Rebecca St. James, and Teresa of Avila. It includes daily and weekend devotions on topics like prayer, worship, hymns, women in the Bible, and much more. Book introductions and highlighted verses focus on the theme of Sanctuary and intimacy with God. Attractive design elements include two-color interiors, ribbon marker, and gilded edges.

Features:
  • Well-known Christian writers such as Anne Graham Lotz, Elisabeth Elliot, Jill Briscoe, and Rebecca St. James
  • Daily and weekend devotions
  • "Finding Your Sanctuary" User's Guide
  • Two-Color interior design
  • Highlighted key verses
  • Book introductions
  • Topical index
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Dictionary/Concordance
  • Presentation page
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Review 1 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Love, Love!

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
knightstoni
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is truly a great gift. I own one and bought it for two friends (different age groups) and they both love it. The daily readings [and prayers] are such an inspiration, but my personal favorite feature will have to be the stories of the hymns. My feelings about this Bible can be summed up in one word - LOVE. This is one Bible every woman should have; as the name implies, it really provides a sanctuary for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible Inside and Out

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brittney
Location:Illinois
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! Being rased in church, I have owned a Bible or two (or six) in my lifetime. This one is one of a kind and by far my favorite! The color of the text is so easy to read and almost calming in a way - but that could just be the content ;) I find that the teal is actually easier on the eyes rather than black print. I never feel like my eyes need a break when I'm reading, even for extended periods of time. The name of the Bible fits it very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most beautiful, useable bible I've ever owned!

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryColleen
Location:Island Pond, VT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can state without a doubt that the NLT Sanctuary Women’s Devotional Bible is the most beautiful, and useable bible I’ve ever owned.
Physically, it is simply lovely. The pictures really don’t do it justice. I purchased the dark chocolate bonded leather version. The cover is smooth, soft bonded leather and feels very nice in your hands. The edges are silver gilt which gleam when the bible is closed, and sparkle when it is open. The ribbon marker is a beautiful turquoise blue which matches the turquoise paper lining the covers. The blue font is extremely peaceful and soothing to read, and, for myself, does not strain my eyes at all. I have a very strong prescription for glasses and have bifocals, but even so, I do not find this bible difficult to read. Other features I am delighted with are that the titles of the books and the page numbers are listed on the edges of each page rather than at the top or bottom, so it is very easy to find a particular book or page number by flipping the pages with your thumb. Also, each page has a pretty little decorative design along the edge by the page number (no function to that – but it is a small detail that adds to the overall beauty of the bible.)
The only physical details that I feel could be improved are that it does not appear to be a smyth sewn bible, so it does not lay completely flat when opened at the front or the back of the bible. I suspect it is a hybrid binding – partially sewn and partially glued. It does lay flat when opened in the middle and with some bending, will flex and lay mostly flat when reading towards the beginning or end. It is definitely not “just glued”, but some type of sewn/glued hybrid; I have bent mine totally backwards to underline and write in it and those pages are not coming out! The other feature that is a bit lacking are the end papers (the papers lining the front and back covers). While they are a beautiful blue, they are not glued in very firmly at the corners, and seem like they may peel away quite easily. However, for the price of this Bible, these two details are extremely minor and don’t bother me at all, but I felt I should mention them. They have not affected my rating of 5 stars.
In regards to content (rather that physical features), I have to say that the NLT translation is a delight. This is my first NLT bible. I was hesitant at first as I normally read the KJV and NIV translations; I worried that the beauty of some of the language would be lost with the NLT. However, I’m finding that the ease of understanding and the clarity of meaning that are coming through outweigh any concerns. I am simply devouring this bible! I have never spent so much time with God’s Word than I have since I’ve started with the NLT translation. In addition, the devotionals in the Sanctuary Women’s Devotional Bible are brilliant. They are pertinent to any woman’s life, regardless of age. Another great feature is that each devotional that references a passage in another location in the bible gives the page number of that passage along with the reference; I have not found this feature in other devotional bibles, and find it very helpful. The introductions to each book are short, but give an overview of the book, along with a clear understanding of the themes of the book.
All in all, I highly recommend the NLT Sanctuary Women’s Devotional Bible to any woman, of any age, in any stage of her spiritual journey. You will not be disappointed with this bible!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
LindaF
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! I bought it for myself as a Christmas present and was very impressed. It's so lady-like and that makes it fun to read. I immediately ordered one as a gift for a far-off friend and she loves it, too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
BamaGirl
Location:Birmingham, AL.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item just as described. It is the most beautiful Bible I have ever seen! Brown leather is beautiful and the Teal wording is calming. GREAT devotions. I do wish I had my name added, though. Remember that they do monogram!!! LOVE this site. Prices are right and quality unmatched.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Fountain Inn, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! Devotions relate to all areas of a woman's life. I've bought six just this year for my girl friends. Price fits my budget and they have absolutely loved them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it...easy on eyes and color is just beautiful

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
smiles4miles
Location:Benicia, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the inspirational devotions, and especially the lettering and teal color of the font. VERY easy on the eyes and to me it does allow to help relax you as you read. I work in Psychology and I wonder if these folks used the studies that have been done on color affects on human moods...the teal is just perfect. LOL.
A Sanctuary is a place of rest where you can relax the mind and soul...and this Bible is just that.
thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds Expectations

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Fujimori
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is by far the best one I have ever owned. Not only is it BEAUTIFUL, but it is also accessible, easy to understand, and easy to navigate.
Here are some of the best things about this Bible:
1. The introduction to each book who the author was and what the main point of the book is. It's great if you're really trying to delve deeper into the Bible.
2. The devotions and prayers are beautiful and really help to guide you if you're trying to establish a reading routine.
3. It is just beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. It is a dark chocolate brown smooth leather with gorgeous silver page edging. I got mine monogrammed and it matches the color of the page edges. The text is actually an aqua color and the font size is not too small or too large.
If you are searching for a Bible specially designed for a woman that can be both a devotional and study Bible, this is a great option for you. I definitely would recommend this to any woman.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
regtho10
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read many translations of the bible and this is the best so far. Plus all the commentaries and words of wisdom add to the effectiveness of reading this bible. Great gift to a family member or friend or even for yourself!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Birthday Gift

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
kayleejc
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My parents gave this Bible to me for my 18th birthday, and I use it on a daily basis. The leather is beautiful and rich, and the binding seems to be high quality. The only complaint I have is that the teal text, while fun at first, gets a little annoying after awhile (especially since I like to highlight and the print color can look strange with some highlighters).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angelica Smith
Oh my,,It's wonderful. I'm so glad i ordered it. Not only is it a beautiful Bible( loving the cover and style) But the devotionals are great . I'd have to say that its my favorite Bible of all the many Bibles ive used over the past two decades.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn R
If you enjoy the NLT translation and would like a good women's devotional Bible than this is for you. I bought the chocolate bonded leather edition which has silver gilt edges and dark teal text. The text is pretty, but distracting from reading. It is easy on the eyes. The bonded edition will allow you to get it inscribed with your name later if you choose to do so. This Bible is so nice looking that I almost didn't want to mark in it, but I finally eased up and "made it my own" with my marks (highlighted verses, penciled in notes, etc). Buy this for yourself or as a gift. It is a wonderful Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie
I am thrilled with this Bible.. I lost the Bible my father gave me in High school.. I had it for 25 years.. I was heart broken. I have been looking for a Bible to replace it for a couple of years. I LOVE this Bible.. the leather is soft, the colors are beautiful. I really like the NLT and have really enjoyed reading it and making my marks in it. I am going to get a couple more to give as gifts. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natalie Hieb
This is a very beautiful Bible and the devotions are awesome! I definitely recommend this as a nice gift for a female friend or relative or for yourself. I love the color of the binding and print. It is a great tool for your quiet time with the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stefania Kohut
The NLT Sanctuary Women's Devotional Bible is wonderful and I'd recommend it to all my women friends.My only negative remark is that now that I wear glasses for reading, I don't like the "blue turquoise print". The print would have been much better in black. Would have been much easier on the eyes.Thank you for the wonderful devotional bible.sk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Breanna
Its a really good bible for women of all ages the daily bible studies are nice although it would be really nice if it had study notes. all in all its a really awesome bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bree
This is a beautiful Bible. Soft chocolate leather cover, beautifully decorated pages and devotions written especially for women. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I am so pleased with what I received. It is beautiful and inspiring. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Sanctuary - Women's Devotional Bible Dark Chocolate Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Brittany
This devotional Bible is amazing! When I began looking for a good devotional Bible, many of the ones I found couldn't really relate to me because I am only 20. This Bible, however, can be related to by young (17 yrs+) and older women. I work at our local Christian bookstore, and for any woman looking for a good Bible, I recommend this!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.