Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the fire in ember

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
There might be areas in our life, issues that we have to deal with individually that need work, such as a trust issue, or maybe a difficulty to accept love. Or to open up to another person enough to be in a relationship with them.
Now there are a million self-helf books out there you can read and be confused by to your heart's content. You can also choose to read a story instead, a story that deals with some of the things that are troubling you, but not through talking. Through showing. Through living.
That's why I loved this book.
It is a deeply romantic novel set in the time of cowboys and girls with bonnets, and the main characters are a family of a wodowed mother raising five sons. And Bert, of course, our heroine.
First of all there is the whole girl-in-boy's-clothes thing, that personally is a theme that I only need to hear about and by that alone I want to read the book. It was very elegantly done, I have to say.
The characters in this book are well-fleshed and complex. I particularly liked how each of the brothers had his own personal coming-of-age story, and how they were disinguished from each other, since they were completely different characters. And then we have John and Bert.
Bert with her fear, and her emotional scars and her trust issues.
And John, who can't even let himself laugh, so much does he feel the weight of responsibility of his brothers and the ranch.
They are brought together, each with the herculean tast of rescuing the other, loving and being loved by each other.
The romance was slow-building and I was able to savor it. But it wasn't the main plot point of the novel.
Its focus was God and how He is the only One who can held and rescue and restore.
I liked this book because I learned a lot about myself from reading it, and about how God works with broken, fragile people who need Him.
It amazed me to see how the author portrayed His love for each and every character, shown in a different way for everyone, according to their needs and character.
I completely recommend this book.
Rating: 4/5
I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
blog
bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not the best I've read from this author, I really enjoyed her first book A woman named Sage much better. I struggled with finding the fire in Ember, as well as the lack of chemistry between John and Ember. I felt there was so much more that could have been done with Ember posing as a boy and that was revealed to early on.
On the other side I really enjoyed Leah's character. She was wise and had self control and was such a loving person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Solid Historical Romance from DiAnn Mills

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Bert is captured by Deputy John Timmons as a horse thief, he pays the debt for the horse with the expectation that the scrawny lad in front of him will work on his family ranch to pay off the debt. As the oldest of five brothers, John feels responsible for caring for his widowed mother, his brothers, the ranch, and now this additional mouth to feed. What John hadn’t bargained on was the scrawny lad scrubbing up into a pretty young woman who catches his eye and his emotions - and the eye of one of his brothers.
Ever since the death of her older brother, Bert has been physically and emotionally abused by her remaining three brothers, cattle rustlers and horse thieves. She has never known a family like the Timmons’s, who work together, look after strangers and go to Church on Sunday. Even in this safe place, her fear of her brothers remains, meaning she is unable to trust John and his family with her secrets. But the past always catches up with people, and before long, local ranchers find they are missing cattle, and Bert’s secrecy about her name and her past makes her a suspected accomplice. She must learn to trust John and his family, and to work with them to clear her name, catch the cattle rustlers, and find out who is behind all the troubles in their small Colorado town.
The Fire in Ember is the sequel to A Woman Named Sage, but can easily be read as a stand-alone historical romance novel. It contains DiAnn Mills’ trademark style, a fun quick read with a group of believable and likeable characters, some romance, an underlying Christian theme that prefers to practice Christianity rather than preach (and an underlying plot device that she has used several times before, and that I really wish she would abandon. To say anything else would be a spoiler). However, The Fire in Ember remains an enjoyable 4-star read from a popular author, one of the few who can write convincing historical romance and contemporary romantic suspense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read for historical romance fans!

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With The Fire in Ember, DiAnn Mills has crafted a fast-paced historical romance her readers are sure to enjoy. John Timmons isn’t perfect, but he’s the perfect romantic hero—noble, manly, responsible, and endearingly flustered by his gentler emotions. And Bert Farrar is a true survivor who doesn’t realize what a strong and admirable woman she’s become as a result of her family struggles. When these two people cross paths on the ranch lands of 1880’s northern Colorado and face increasingly dangerous circumstances together, the reader will be hard pressed to find a place to stop reading and put the book down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorado never looked better!!!

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All Christ needs is for one ember to burn for His light to shine. Family, faith, and over coming great obstacles is what the Timmons family is all about. John is the oldest brother who has taken over the family ranch, in Colorado, after the death of their father. Having younger brothers is not always easy, especially if love for the same girl comes between them. Out of no where, Bert, shows up. Beaten, bruised, and ready to hang. After being saved, Bert, comes to live with the Timmons and quickly understands the real meaning of family. Something, Bert, never had. There is much to Bert. Throughout the story we gather more and more. I must say, I had a hard time keeping this book out of the hands of my husband, long enough for me to read it for review!
This Historical/Romance is so much more. It is has adventure, as cattle rustlers are up to no good and all people are not quite what they seem, even if we attend church together. Going to church does not make one a Christian.
One of my favorite characters is Leah, the mother, of all these boys. What an honorable woman. A woman full of wisdom and laughter. A woman serving the Lord in all she does. She takes, Bert, under her wing and leads this young person to believe there are good in others.
I cannot wait for DiAnn's next book, A Woman Called Sage, to come out. DiAnn makes the 1800's look adventurous and her attention to detail brings us to know and understand the heart of each character. I absolutely loved this book!!
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was great book; I would highly recommend this.

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lacy
Location:Rayville, Louisiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this adventurous book. It's about a girl who learns the meaning of love and finds faith in God. This book has a positive view with christian values and morals.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Addition to the Western Genre

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first line of this book is a dynamite opening “A hanging is no place for a lady”, what an attention grabber. And there were other great lines waiting to be mined from “The Fire in Ember”. There was one particular description that made me stop and read it twice, just for the sake of reading it again. About the rocks jutting out like “old man’s knees”. There were some attention grabbers, descriptions or bits of dialogue that were fun things to find in this book.
The story itself is a good fit for those that read the western genre. The age old concept of bad guy verses good guy set in the old west. I like the characters that play out on the tapestry of the story. Ember “Bert” is extremely likeable and her story adds a deep layer to the overall plot. Waiting for bits of her story to be unearthed was worth waiting for.
Overall I thought the book is a good addition to its genre. The characters have a good arc through the story, the romance is enjoyable and the story moves at a good pace. It’s a story you can read slowly or quickly, either way I think readers of historical westerns will enjoy it.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another exciting historical by DiAnn Mills

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy L
Location:Mansfield, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiAnn is one of the best writers of Christian historical fiction. She keeps you spellbound from page to page. This book was very hard to put down and DiAnn's works always leave me wanting more!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from Mills

Date:February 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trying to right a wrong by her ruthless brothers, Ember attempts to return their stolen horse. Her good deed repays her with accusation of horse thieving and she is about to be hanged. Deputy John Timmons disrupts the hanging, rescues who he’s told is a young boy named Bert. John takes Bert home to his mother and four brothers, tells Bert he must work on their farm four months for her horse stealing. When the boys prepare for their weekly bath in the creek, Bert must confess that she’s a seventeen-year-old girl, which causes John emotions he’s never experienced. John’s mother takes Bert under her protective wing, knowing there must be more to Bert than Bert is willing to share. When cattle rustlers invade the area, Bert is suspected to be involved because of the secrecy she holds within her. Bert, whose real name is Ember, and the Timmons family reel from twists and turns until the end of the book. Especially when two of the Timmons boys fall for her. Strong characters and plausible plot. Another winner from Mills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Fire in Ember by Diann Mills-Great Book

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zondervan Publishing has Provided Me with A Complimentary Copy of this Book.
When responsible rancher John Timmons rescues "Bert" Farrar from being hanged as a horse thief, he takes the boy home to work off the debt. But what will John do when he finds out that Bert is really a girl? And will Ember Farrar repay his kindness by stealing his cattle---or his heart?
This book is one of the best books I have read by Diann Mills. From the beginning of the story, the characters in this book make you feel like you are there.
Bert (Ember) is saved from hanging from a hangman’s noose by John Timmons and he thinks that Ember is a boy but actually is a girl. I loved from the start how Leah (John Timmons mother) just helped Bert along, she is a very good Christian and you can tell that also. I loved the part also where she accepted Jesus as her savior. As the story goes, Evan and John fall for Ember but she only loves one of them.
I would definitely suggest this book to everyone, especially if you like the West in which I do. I just thoroughly loved it and didn’t want it to end. Thank you, Diann Mills for another GREAT book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Fire in Ember: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFire in Ember.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Typical DiAnn Mills' book.

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another outstanding book by DiAnn Mills. I like the characters and what she does with them page after page. I love the West and there isn't anyone better in writing about the old West. I look forward to reading more about the characters in her next book, which, I hope is soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.