Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook

Zondervan Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook

Written by Chuck Colson and his daughter Emily Colson Boehme, Dancing With Max is the true story of Emily's 19-year-old autistic son, Max, and the personal battles they fought to find a pathway through to unexpected beauty. A single mother for most of her son's life, Emily and grandfather Chuck Colson share their discovery that Max's disability reveals who they are more than it defines who he is. Jacketed hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Review 1 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book and have shared it with others!

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kokomo, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read Dancing with Max a year or so ago and appreciated it so much that I sent it to a friend whose nephew also has a severe case of autism Recently, I was talking to Mom about the book, and she sounded interested. I purchased the book for her, and she could hardly lay it down. Thank you for a very inspirational must-read that's making the rounds through my circle of friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vincent
Location:Alamogordo, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Of all the books I have ever read, this has to be by far one of the most touching and powerful examples of unselfish love I ever seen written. I even told my wife that I would love to see this book made into a motion picture. Very inspiring and moving. It looks at the personal side of Autism and how it affects everyone involved. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dancing with Max is a beautiful story of life!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
drrr
Location:usa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dancing with Max is a story of a mom and her son who has autism who open the door to the amazing mysteries of life and its purpose.
Emily has had a tough row to hoe, yet she trusts God to give her strength for the daily challenges she faces. In the daily struggles of her life, she learns the beauty God has in ashes. She catches flashes of heaven.
Max is a sweet baby who cries and throws tantrums and never really seems to "grow out of it." He has severe anxiety in public places. Like a human GPS, Max has a photographic memory when it comes to road signs, bridges, and cars. His compassionate heart sees beyond what the eye can see and flashes of heaven can be shown to the patient eye watching him. As he grows up in this story, Max grows in all the hearts who are fortunate to know him.
This story is a beautiful weaving of life: full of ups and downs, disappointments and victories, joy and pain. The story is also about the Story Maker, God. God created Max and He has plans for him. The dance that God has is full of purpose and reason even when we may not understand or know all the answers. We see Max and his struggles with the simplest things, yet how caring for another hurting person turns a faucet on pouring out all his strengths.
As January is the Celebration of the Sanctity of Life Month, reading this book reminds me again how close God is to those with disabilities. And that in one way or another, we all have disabilities. From conception to death, God is the One in control of our lives. He loves us and wants us to know that.
Job 10:10-12
New Living Translation (NLT)
10 You guided my conception
and formed me in the womb.[a]
11 You clothed me with skin and flesh,
and you knit my bones and sinews together.
12 You gave me life and showed me your unfailing love.
My life was preserved by your care.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good reader

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
rach
Location:Indianapolis, In
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an Awesome heart aching book. So much of this is my two boys. I really wish there was a movie of this book. I read this book in a day I was unable to put it down it was a good reader. Thanks for writing this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is execelent so far !

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marcus
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not finished the book yet but it is great so far !!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Shue
Location:Statesboro, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this as a gift. The book is so encouraging! I could not put it down! I loved her sense of humor as well. I would highly recommend it to any mom with a special needs child or even a child who has problems with tantrums. I was inspired by Emily and even got a few ideas to try with my son.
What a blessing this book is!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
redshoes
Location:Ottawa, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful story of a very special young man and a devoted mother. One who laid down her life for her son. Max is very special. I wish I could have met him. This book made me laugh, cry and rejoice with Max and his family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Klaas
Location:Leeuwarden, Netherlands
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives an excellent vieuw on children with mental disabilities and shows how God has given them special gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

life changing

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is about autism and so much more. It is a wonderful story of how a mother brought out her son's best and about the lessons she taught him and learned from him. It provides insight into the life of someone affected by autism, and it also helps us all have the right attitude as we face ANY type of challenge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic self help book for special parents....

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maur
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Beautifully written with heart/soul. Honest, helpful,loving and courageous for anyone to read with anyone with trials as well as special needs family members....thank you we need more of these books:)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone Should Read this

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
A House Reviews
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love loved this book! I highly recommend it to everyone. Yes, you heard me right, EVERYONE.
It is a story of a single mom who’s son has autism, so that is the target audience. That is why I wanted to review it. But I think it is a good book for everyone to read for a variety of reasons.
You will not be reading a story about a family that found alternative therapies that helped lessen the effects of autism, or even cured them. That is not what this family experiences, but instead you will gain perspective on God’s love and gifts He gives in the trials of life.
This beautiful story gives anyone who struggles with difficult children, or really any difficult situation in life, a renewed hope.
Hope that God does see what is going on. He is in control and He created these special children in our lives. They are gifts. Often no one can see the gift in “difficult” children. But they are gifts none the less.
And for those who have children on the autistic spectrum, this book will encourage you to hang in there, to not lose hope and to see life through different glasses. It will give you the courage to break free from allowing a diagnosis ruling your lives.
But the book is so much more too. As I said, it is a book that everyone should read. Autism aside, no one can walk away from this book without thinking twice about judging children of all ages and their parents. We don’t know what a particular parent is struggling with, nor do we always know why children do what they do.
For example: have you ever been in the grocery store and watched a child melt down and then see the parent reach out and grab a snack and hand it to the child? All the while, thinking to yourself, “I’d never give my child what they wanted when they are acting like that”.
So sometimes, okay lots of times, parents give into behavior like this. But I'd like to offer another point of view.
It is quite possible that children are struggling to just get out to the car because they are overwhelmed with the environment they are in. It is possible that “giving into” that child is keeping things from getting worse. Do we know why that child is really acting that way? Who said that the child is just being stubborn and manipulative?
Is it possible that the child’s biological system is so overloaded, or is in desperate need of some sugar to bring blood sugar levels up? Any number of other things could be happening that we know nothing about?
Dancing With Max...this is not the reason she wrote the book, to get everyone to see this point of view, but it is something I think everyone reading can learn from the book. They can gain a new perspective on the children (and parents) they see everywhere they go. So, now I’ll get off that soapbox.
It’s beautiful. Go out and get yourself a copy or two and pass it around to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could totally relate to the book!

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita
Location:Upland, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally heard a radio segment with Chuck and Emily Olson and could hardly wait for the book to arrive. I could totally relate with their struggles in raising a child who is not like all the other children. I have a wonderful support system with my husband and grandparents, so I could only imagine how it was so much pressure for Emily as a single mom. Thank goodness for grandparents. I am about 3/4 done with the book and have already dog-eared several pages in which I will be referring to to remind me there is hope!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
dairymade
Location:W.V.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such good information for our family and a book we can share with others. It is much less stressful to hand someone a book than to try to explain why our children act the way they do. We serve a Wonderful God and He shows his love to His children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Russell
I loved reading Dancing with Max. Emily's perspective on autism is not that it steals our dreams, but that it builds our character and gives our lives purpose. She views her son Max as a precious gift to be loved. She vows to "grab onto joy" regardless of circumstances. I found her story touching and refreshing.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dancing with Max: A Mother and Son Who Broke Free - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joel D. Holtz
This is one of the best books I've read all year.Emily Colson, daughter of well known author Chuck Colson, has written a book that documents her struggles raising an austic son. She writes with clarity, honesty and an amazing sense of humor.Two of the best chapters in the book are GRIEVING THE DREAM and ORDER FROM CHAOS. The story within the story, however, is how the author writes about her ongoing relationship with her well-known father, and how her autistic son has changed him as well.One of my favorite quotes from the book is this: "Max is not a burden; he is my greatest gift. I'm not about to give up. I'm just not sure I can keep going."But you know she will. And the lessons we can all learn from this book are invaluable.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.