Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1

Tyndale House True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1

Kelly Jacobs has already paid the ultimate price of loving a warrior; she has the folded flag and the grateful thanks of a nation to prove it. Navy SEAL Joe (Bear) Baker cannot ask her to accept that risk again--even though he loves her. But the man responsible for her husband's death is back; closer than either of them realize. Kelly is in danger, and Joe may not get there in time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Review 1 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't go wrong with Dee Henderson!

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a dangerous thing to read a book by Dee Henderson. Once you start, you can't seem to stop. Now I know a lot of people who seem to like her older books better, but in my opinion, she just gets better with time. So that being said, I prefer her newer novels, but this one was still wonderful.
Kelly and Joe are excellent characters. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them, and I wasn't a bit disappointed in the plot. It was realistic and not overly dramatic.
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a great read filled with romance, suspense and a look a the life of a Navy SEAL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
kell
Location:Milwaukee Wi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee Henderson does a great job. She keeps you interested from the first page & makes you develop a personal interest in her characters.
Thanks Dee for another page turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Macy
Location:Sumner, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book in a series by Dee Henderson that was written several years ago. I really enjoyed reading them, and decided to purchase the series for my local library, so other patrons can enjoy them as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Liesa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Dee Henderson's books, and this one will not disappoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
krickman
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kept me interested. A bit predictable but I love the way each character emotions and thoughts are shared. Great ending. I am definitely reading the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MegS
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this book! An interesting story, with the seamless integration of the spiritual message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanma
Location:Perth Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book, I didn't want it to end as the characters were very believable. This book took us behind the scenes of the Seals and what they and their families have to sacrifice to keep this world safe. This was for both the main characters a journey to finally find God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as good the second time

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
goingsenile
Location:Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I have read this book and it was just as good as the first!
I love Dee Hendersons books and just wish there were more of them. I love the depth of characters and how she develops the story with twists and turns
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Devotion

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynelle
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the story. Once I started I could not put it down. From page one to the last page it kept me captivated. Faith and hope was the two elements that stood out the most. To believe and trust even if the path is difficult. To open yourself and look pass the obvious what truly makes you happy. The plot was well written and you can see that the author did some good research on both the Navy seals and rescue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book by a Great Autor

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:DFW, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read almost all of Dee Henderson's books and she does not disappoint you. I had previously bought True Valor in paperback and was thrilled to get it as an e-book to add to my collection. The book has a great story line with plenty of mystery, romance and Godly testimony.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
This review is fromTrue Devotion - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Takes joy in reading
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Read it twice already and will save it to read again later. Will definitely be buying more books written by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable and suspenseful.

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mooney
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Dee Henderson and this was one of my favorites. I didn't have this one figured out until very close to the end, and even then wanted to keep reading to make sure I had it right. I stayed up late reading as I didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartfelt and Driven

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tia Marie
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pace of the book was fantastic. Henderson is truly gifted in this genre of romantic suspense. I fell in love with the characters, storyline, and the dramatic build-up to the finish. I would highly recommend this amazing book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another start of a great series

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read The O'Malley Series & the Uncommon Heroes Series. Both are excellent reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Reading

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marsj99
Location:Sahuarita, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dee Henderson has done her homework and does well at portraying the military family (albeit a SEAL). She was able to demonstrate accuratley the hardships families at home endure while family members are deployed, often times to a place they cannot tell for a period of time no one really knows. Very good reading and through all of it, showing how a Christian Military man and a Christian family copes with the difficulties relationships and war.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Bellinger
This book is inspirational for those who have lost a spouse whether in combat or in training. It shows that no matter how angry or upset you get with God, He is always there. That one day, that person who lost someone will learn to love again. Believe, have faith, and trust in God and everything works out according to His plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karine Kohli
I am not really into army thing but this book was well written. However, I must admit that I can't understand the idea of sacrificing one's family for the sake of an army career. My opinion is that when someone has a family, he should seek another career less risky and leave the risky work for single people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Crews
A friend loaned me this book to read. After reading it had to purchase the other 3 in the series as well as purchasing book 1 so that I now have the whole series to read again and to share. All 4 books were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leigh
This book captured my attention on the very first page and held it until the very last one. It's one of my favorites, and I highly recommend it. Dee Henderson did a good job of mixing romance with suspense, creating an intriguing novel that made me hold my breath from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for True Devotion, Uncommon Heroes Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
When Kelly says a delirious "I love you" to her deceased husband's best friend and Navy SEAL Commander, Bear, neither of them can ignore the words to avoid the consequences. Kelly wakes up in the hospital after Bear rescues her from drowning only to realize what a horrible mistake she's made in revealing her feelings. Neither character seems anxious to acknowledge Kelly's declaration because they don't want to hurt the friendship they have. Bear's active duty status doesn't help matters, either. But what else can you do when you are both so crazy for each other? This novel contains the best, most extravagant first date I have ever heard of! There are also flashbacks of military operations that add depth to the story. The suspense plotline is very well prepared. But the true gems that warm your heart are displayed in less flamboyant sequences where everyday life happens: painting the kitchen, SEALs coming home to a fridge with food in it. This is a superb book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>