Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life

Tyndale House Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life

Leading the Indianapolis Colts to win Super Bowl XLI, Tony Dungy made history as the first African American coach to take home the Super Bowl trophy. He has overcome many obstacles to achieve success in life, both on and off the football field. In his memoir, Dungy shares the secrets to his unique leadership style. Find out the principles, practices, and priorities Dungy lives by in Quiet Strength.
Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Review 1 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even for non-football fans

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I am not a football fan. I watch it only because I have two people in my life who do love football. The only time I even showed any interest in football was when I lived in the Tampa Bay area. I remember when Tony Dungy took over as their head coach, and I remember how impressed I was and how the team changed. I was horrified when he was fired, and then we he became the Colts coach, I was somewhat interested. I remember how my heart broke when I heard of his son's suicide. The constant for me with Tony Dungy was that he is a Christian, and he never yelled at the officials and the players like the other coaches did.
I was not looking forward to reading this book because I figured it would be filled with football stuff. I was pleasantly surprised as I read the story of Dungy's life, and on almost every page, his faith showed forth in a very simple manner. I was so inspired, and more than once he almost had me in tears. To have the faith that he demonstrated throughout the book! Goodness, he puts me to shame! He gave all glory to God for everything, and he learned to trust Him in all things.
Indeed, this is the best Christian book I have read in ages. I highly recommend this book to anyone who would like to deepen their walk with the Lord. It is autobiographical, but it is first and foremost a book of faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gretch
Location:Selah, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written, thought it might be another sports book but, I was surprised. I am enjoying very much. We are using it in our church small study group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Virginia Winder
We bought this for our son who is a P.E. teacher and a coach. He was very pleased with this gift. Again a very nice book at a very good price. Praying it will encourage our son in his life as a teacher and a coach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Goff
Really powerful information with an easy to follow organization of ideas. Great for leadership! My son-in-law admires Tony Dungy and sees him as a great inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cory Rudorf
Quiet Strength is not totally a recollection of the football career of Tony Dungy. Rather, along with his career and the things he went through his entire life to get where he is at, he explains his methods of doing things, and that starts with one thing; God.Many people do not put their religion before anything else, and that is what is so unique about Tony Dungy, as a coach and as a person. His philosophy is first religion, then family, then friends, then football. I found that very great about him, and I think it is easy to see he is a decent person.Tony Dungy started out playing sports at a very young age, and he started playing football with his father by playing catch with his father at Michigan when he was getting his P.h.D. Somehow his father had time for him, even while going through this stressful time.Dungy played basketball and football in high school, and he actually liked basketball more at the time. He played quarterback in high school, and became a team captain. While this occurred, one of the receivers that was one of his friends did not get captain, and this made Tony angry. So he decided to quit the team in order to show the coach that he would not play with this.But, Tony realized that the decision was not his, and he decided he wanted to play that year. So he had to apologize to the coach to get back on, which made him mad, but he did anyway. This is one of the examples of the life lessons Tony learned that helped him become a better person; Sometimes things are out of your hands, and you just have to deal with it. Overall, this book is a great read, and is great inspiration for those who want to obtain good values. There is a reason this is the only sports autobiography ever to become a best-seller, and thats because you get so much out of it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Brothers
I have been reading this book and find it very interesting. He shows it is possible to be a Christian in any walk of life. You have to listen to what God tells you and do what he wants. I would recommend this book to any one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patti Soares
What an inspiration! Being from the Tampa Bay Area and a member of the same church family, I truly felt a familaraitly and that his knowledge of the bible is really inspiring for others to follow...what a leader of the word...both in his words and in his works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Piggott
I loved this book. Tony Dungy is such a role model for men everywhere. He has come through tremendous adversity and still gives God praise and glory through it all without bitterness or resentment, he is an inspiration and true leader. Great will be his reward in heaven!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Hensley
This book was the most inspirational book I have ever read. It was a wonderful testimony from Tony Dungy. He is a wonderful example of a True Christian. I recommend this book to everyone. I have very high respect for Tony and his family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev Ron Venters
This is a great book that inspires and motivates you to win the right way. I gave both of my grandsons a copy, 13 and 16 years old. Both are jocks and need to know real Christians glorify God. They love the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
V, J. Sanchez
I purchased this book for my son who is in need of restoration with God. With it being a book written by a football coach, I felt he would read it. When I gave the book to him, he was excited and said he had heard about the book and was wanting to read it.Praise God for Christian athletes who are willing to shaare their testimony with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bob Maynard
Coach Dungy just confirmed all of the thoughts that I have had about him as a coach and a man. What a tremendous testimony! It is a perfect handbook for those in my profession of coaching. If you take the biblical principles he has outlined in this book you will never coach/live the same way again. Praise the Lord and may God continue to bless and Keep Coach Dungy and all of his family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elinor Snell
I ordered this for my son for Christmas. He is finishing his Bachelor's Degree and will be teaching Math in High School. I expect he will be coaching somewhere along the way. I am in hopes that he will gain much personally and have great principles to instill in his teams. Just the introduction and foreward were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sue Efant
I like this book. It proves what I have always known, but so many people in this world miss. You can have godly standards and be a nice person, and still achieve your goals in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beverly Bellamy
This is the best book I have read in a long time. I currently undergoing chemo for colon cancer and this book gave me strength and encouragement. My husband and I have always been a fan and knew that Coach Dungy was a good role model but this book just reinforces that issue. We are also missionaries to the youth in group home and detention centers and often use Coach Dungy as an example of what you can do if you listen to the still small voice of God. I highly recommend this book to everyone whether a football fan or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
This is a wonderful book! Tony Dungy is an inspiration and a strong role model. It is inspiring to hear someone who can listen to God's whispering and follow where He leads! I highly recommend this book to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charles Beckett
An outstanding read. Dungy's testimony is more than just encouraging, it is a model for the church of the 21st century. How do we impact a post-Christian culture? Try "Quiet Strength."Charles Beckett, Knoxville, TN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
L Kimmy
This book is fantastic. I always liked Coach Dungy simply from watching him on TV. I have such great respect and admiration for him since I have read his book. The book made me laugh and cry - it's a must read for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna Stokes
I have not completed this book yet, but the courage and faith of Tony Dungy is evident throughout the book. He brings out the best in all his players and coaches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Quiet Strength: The Principles, Practices & Priorities of a Winning Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joleen
THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE!! I have decided to give this book for all my business and personal Christmas gifts. Tony Dungy is certainly a Christ-led individual. Thank you Tony for sharing your life with us in an easy-to-read, can't-put-down format that will allow me to witness to others especially my business clients.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>