Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover

Thomas Nelson ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover

The International Children's Bible is the Bible children can read and understand.

Most children don't understand adult words like "atonement", "redeem", or "oracle". Dozens of such difficult words are commonly found in the modern versions of the Bible. In this proven translation of the complete Bible, the words have been carefully selected just for children. Recommended for ages 7 to 11.

Helpful Features:

  • Simplified footnotes explain Bible names, customs, and phrases
  • Colorful maps show key cities and lands
  • Presentation page
  • "My Church Record" page for baptism, class promotions, church membership, and other memorable occasions
  • "My Family History" page
  • Blank pages for personal notes
  • Dictionary
  • "Where Do I Find It?"
  • "What God Promises About…"
  • "Memory Verses For My Life"
  • 9-point text size
  • 8.75" x 5.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 out of 2889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Review 1 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mas Reg
Location:Scarborough, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture on the front made me think that there was pictures inside, there was none. The print was not "kid-friendly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible on the Market

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Harold
Location:Central AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this easy to read Bible. Children love it they can read and understand, What is being talked about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peooplelover
Location:East TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The first grade boy I am reading the Bible with can read this version with little trouble. He is reading on the third grade level. Since his hands are small, he cannot handle it well yet but will grow into that. The price was excellent and it arrived in good time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent translation for elementary ages

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mobie
Location:Manitoba Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This translation is very good for children to use on their own, or for anyone involved in children's ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Baptism Gift

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katherine
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this for a baptism gift for an eight year old. She was delighted with it and is very busy reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Pittsburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his bible. It is easy for hom to read and understand and that gives him the confidence that will allow him to learn who God is on his own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought for Childrens sunday school

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeM
Location:Bloomfield, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these bibles for my church's children's Sunday School class. They are easy to read & understand. The children love them as well as the teacher. I have been buying from CB for quite some time & I feel they have great products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
bingo
Location:Mongolia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my friend, and she loves it.
Thank you very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Product

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
First Baptist Church
Location:Laramie, WY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing! I love all the extra's that are included and the vibrate colors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Piper
Location:NC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would have rated a 5, however cover for this bible has changed. It use to come with a more "waxy type" paper cover, which proved more durable for children.
Otherwise a good bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Adults who need ICB and large print.

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible as a gift for a neighbor who needed a large print and easy reading Bible. She is reading her Bible daily now. It would be nice if this Bible were published in an edition with a more Adult cover, for adults with reading problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for children

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen H
Location:Ameliasburgh, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
We have been using and handing out this particular translation for several years now, in our mid week children's program. Many of the children who attend are from unchurched families, so they are not familiar with the church jargon. In addition, some of them struggle with reading. The simple words and clear language are therefore very helpful as we try to convey to them who God is and what He offers them. Many of the children are eager to read it for themselves. We love being able to send this clear and economical edition home with them, both for their benefit and in the hopes that the rest of their family will be introduced to the word of God as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Gettysburg, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was presented to children going into the Third grade this year at our church. It was perfect for them and met every expectation we had. So easy to read and understand and the extras in the back are awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VBS Excellent

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arelly
Location:Rosemead, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this product for our 2011 VBS, when we received the bible's there were more than we had expected, as soon as the kids opened to read there fully understood what they were reading. It was perfect not only for our regular children but also for our Visitor some of which have never read a Bible! we are so pleased with the out come of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
librarian
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is not quite the Bible that I am looking for. I will use it some, but just not want I wanted at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
German Shepherd
Location:Lachine, QC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Bible for children - we have used it in our Sunday school in Manitoba where we had 100 children. I will continue to recommend it at any opportunity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for young readers

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
nanniebuck
Location:Orangeburg SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these Bibles for two young men in my Sunday School Class. They are ten years old, and just could not read the regular King James Version of the Bible and understand what they read.They love to read from these Bibles Will order more as needed.
Thank you for the prompt shipping of these also.
Thank you
Nancy B buck
Orangeburg SC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
macky
Location:Trinidad
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these Bible for my great nieces and nephew and they love them. Now in church they can also look up the bible reading and understand what is being read. Now I do not have to tell them to read, they are always reading the bible and loving every moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No frills, amazing price, great for missions!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine Tincher
Location:Southern Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were asked to teach a group of Hispanic children while their parents attend a Spanish Bible study. We decided that it was important that the kids each have a Bible that they could take home and read. This Bible isn't fancy. There is no way I could afford to buy Bibles for 10 kids at $30 each! The Big Red Bible is an easy translation for children to read themselves. We have our kids read the Bible aloud from the Big Red Bible. They were so excited to be presented a Bible of their very own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings it to a level that is very understandable

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nanaw
Location:Little Rock, AR.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this book for my Bible studies for quite awhile and wanted to share it with my friends.
Even adults like me can use the help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.