Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover

Thomas Nelson ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover

The International Children's Bible is the Bible children can read and understand.

Most children don't understand adult words like "atonement", "redeem", or "oracle". Dozens of such difficult words are commonly found in the modern versions of the Bible. In this proven translation of the complete Bible, the words have been carefully selected just for children. Recommended for ages 7 to 11.

Helpful Features:

  • Simplified footnotes explain Bible names, customs, and phrases
  • Colorful maps show key cities and lands
  • Presentation page
  • "My Church Record" page for baptism, class promotions, church membership, and other memorable occasions
  • "My Family History" page
  • Blank pages for personal notes
  • Dictionary
  • "Where Do I Find It?"
  • "What God Promises About…"
  • "Memory Verses For My Life"
  • 9-point text size
  • 8.75" x 5.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Review 1 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent translation for elementary ages

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mobie
Location:Manitoba Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This translation is very good for children to use on their own, or for anyone involved in children's ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Baptism Gift

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katherine
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this for a baptism gift for an eight year old. She was delighted with it and is very busy reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Pittsburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his bible. It is easy for hom to read and understand and that gives him the confidence that will allow him to learn who God is on his own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Product

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
First Baptist Church
Location:Laramie, WY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing! I love all the extra's that are included and the vibrate colors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
M. Matthews
When our granddaughter started 1st grade this year, a Bible was on her list of things she needed for the year. Her teacher recommended the International Children's Bible as the best one to get because it is the easiest for a child to understand. Our granddaughter was thrilled when we gave it to her and her parents and we are all happy with this special gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Murphy
This is exactly what we were looking for. We can teach the children using an accurate translation of the bible on their level. It will encourage them to read the bible on their own, as well. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy Olson
A great bible for our 3rd-6th grade students to read and understand!For only a few more dollars than the softcover version, these hardcovers bibles last (for our catechists) for years!!!A really good buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Monica Sparling
I love this Bible as an award Bible for children starting school. The price is great and the hard back cover holds up well. The words are easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Franke
I bought this Bible for our church secretary who had earlier remarked that she has difficulty understanding words in the Bible. She has thanked me twice in two weeks for getting this one for her. She and her family read it every day and her 2nd grade son reads a page from it each night. The stepfather is a second language learner and had only previously read a Spanish Bible. He now enjoys reading this one! I bought myself one to help with the Children Sermons that I give each week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Andrew
Just the right Bible for a young reader who needs the full text. The maps are easily understood. The dictionary is a real plus to helping the young reader in the learning process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly Langley
This is a great Bible for young readers. It is easy for children to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane Stebela
I purchased 6 copies of the softcovered version of this Bible for my Sunday School class and found they don't hold up well even with careful use by children. The hardcovered version is MUCH better! The kids really love the readability level of this Bible and want to own a copy! Our lesson material uses the standard NIV for the scripture reference and it is usually over their heads. They love rereading the text using this Bible as it makes more sense to them. The added features are very helpful and I use them frequently to teach my students how to use other reference tools available to them for Bible study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Villafane
Love this Bible for my kids, sometimes I sneak a peek at it for a clearer understanding of a passage or verse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ICB Big Red Bible Revised, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mciver
Since this Bible is obviously for children, it would be nice if it contained some pictures in order to help a child see the context of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.