Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook

Miriam Lapp, who left the Amish community in Pennsylvania three years ago, is heartbroken when her sister calls to reveal that her mother has died suddenly. Traveling home to Pennsylvania, she is forced to face the heartache from her past, including her rift from her family and the break up of her engagement with Timothy Kauffman. Her past emotional wounds are reopened when her family rejects her once again and she finds out that Timothy is in a relationship with someone else. Miriam discovers that the rumors that broke them up three years ago were all lies. However, when Timothy proposes to his girlfriend and Miriam's father disowns her, Miriam returns to Indiana with her heart in shambles. When Miriam's father has a stroke, Miriam returns to Pennsylvania, and her world begins to fall apart, leaving her to question her place in the Amish community and her faith in God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Place of Peace

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Place of Peace is the third book in Amy's Kauffman Amish Bakery series. Timothy Kauffman and Miriam Lapp were set to marry, until rumors drove them apart, and Miriam's family rejected her. The story moved slowly, despite tons of twists and turns. I also noticed some phrases being used excessively. Still, it was an enjoyable way to pass the car rides over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Out of Every Tragedy comes Triumph

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: A Place of Peace- Amy Clipston- December 2010
Miriam Lapp is about to get the next month of a lifetime filled with tragedy, triumph, sadness , hope and forgiveness - get ready for a jampacked month with Miriam. Our novel starts with us meeting Miriam and discovering that she had left the Amish faith four years ago to go to nursing college and live as an Englischer with her cousin Abigail also from the same community. When Miriam left , her family shunned her . Four years later , Miriam recieves a phone call from her older sister Hannah, their mother has passed away. Rushing back home for the funeral , Miriam and Abby come home to stay with Abby's Aenti as Miriam must face the disownment of her family towards her . Will she ever be able to get them to forgive her ? Four years ago, Miriam was set to marry Timothy Kauffman and was babysitting Jeremy Henderson, when Jeremy passed away from SIDS. Everyone blamed Miriam . It seems though that neither Miriam or Timothy have moved on and we start to see the spark between them is still well and alive. Though Timothy is in the process of courting someone and we see them get engaged , has Miriam lost her chance at happiness with Timothy, or has God got a plan up his sleeve? When Miriam's father contracts a stroke, this may be her chance at recieving forgiveness and a welcome back home as Miriam discovers that maybe the Amish life is for her. Find out what happens when we see Timothy become engaged to Naomi and discover the true reasons behind the betrayals of Timothy and Miriam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved both books

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
reading grandma
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed these books. Hope there are more in the series coming out or more of the same kind of book from her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Caudle
Location:Hampton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't wait for the next installment. Excellent story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clipston knows her readers!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Another great read from author Amy Clipston. You fall in love with Miriam from the beginning. You hurt for her, cheer for her, all around feel for her throughout the third book in this wonderful series.
I love the Kauffman family. I wish I could somehow be adopted by them. I want to work in the bakery, dine at their family meal times, and be part of the love that they so willingly bestow on those around them.
This whole series should not be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hooked On Reading
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just as good as the first two in the series. I have enjoyed reading the entire series and find that once I get started in one of these books, it is very hard to put it down until I have finished it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rejection is hard to take

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This third book in the series shows us the rejection that
those who leave the faith have to face when they must
come back for a death. This story enables us to see healing
happen and forgiveness and love come forth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the message of the Amish books, faith in God.

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Glenda Rossignol
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two people who come to the will of God to overcome the challenges thats given to them through the hardships of death and predjudice.To give these challenges over to God and to bring friendship and love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Amish story!

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Place of Peace is the third book in Amy Clipston's Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, and I hope it's not the last. It was fun to re-visit characters from the other stories and meet some new ones as well. (And there are surely more stories to be written about those characters.)
Miriam Lapp left her Amish community four years earlier and returns home when she learns of her mother's death. Her visit home -- which she hopes will be an opportunity to mend some relationships -- just seems to create more hurt and confusion for Miriam and some of her friends and family. She returns to her "English" way of life in Indiana but is torn more than ever about where she really belongs. When she is called back home again for another family emergency, she learns more about the power of forgiveness and how important it is to untangle lies, separate out the truth, and make important decisions -- no matter how difficult. Forgiveness and reconciliation shine through as important themes in this story.
As in the earlier books in the series, Amy shares several Amish recipes. I can personally recommend the Apple Butter Pie on page 201!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

about forgivness!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book #3. Great read about forgiving yourself and others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an interesting story, I would sit down to read every chance I had. Amy Clipson is a very talented author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was a great book went with the series very well

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy Younce
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The more books in the series the better they were I really liked "A Gift of Grace" I couldn't put "A Promise of Hope" down, then I read "A Place of Peace" it was excellent and I am wanting more from this Author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always love Amy Clipston's books. I wait anxiously for each one to be available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read for all bookworms out there!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never judge a book by its cover... but this one can be! A great read with a great cover design, quality, and value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love the recipes and the bakery

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene Dye
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I this was a very good book with a very emotional story to it.I love amish bakery books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC A MUST READ

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this series it is just wonderful I can hardly wait for book 4, The story line is great and it gets you into the book on the very first page, I also loved all of the recipes, Amy you are FANTASTIC. The Amish are so interesting and so hard working, and I really do believe in the power of Prayer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a good book to read.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Waldorf, Md
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading about the Amish and their life style. This was the 3rd book in the series and it picked right up where the 2nd book ended. I would love to see book #4 come along.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
rufunny
Location:Steinbach, MB
I really enjoyed this book and I hope there is another book to this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Book

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zondervan Publishing has Provided Me with A Complimentary Copy of this Book
Miriam Lapp, who left the Amish community in Pennsylvania three years ago, is heartbroken when her sister calls to reveal that her mother has died suddenly. Traveling home to Pennsylvania, she is forced to face the heartache from her past, including her rift from her family and the break up of her engagement with Timothy Kauffman. Her past emotional wounds are reopened when her family rejects her once again and she finds out that Timothy is in a relationship with someone else. Miriam discovers that the rumors that broke them up three years ago were all lies. However, when Timothy proposes to his girlfriend and Miriam's father disowns her, Miriam returns to Indiana with her heart in shambles. When Miriam's father has a stroke, Miriam returns to Pennsylvania, and her world begins to fall apart, leaving her to question her place in the Amish community and her faith in God.
In this book, Miriam Lapp left Gordonville, Pennsylvania because she felt that everyone hated her and felt she was abandoned. Then, she receives a phone call from her sister, Hannah, letting her know that her mother, Bertha Lapp has died. She, then rushes home for the funeral and in the meantime, her father, brother and younger sister abandon her. She feels crushed. She leaves Pennsylvania and goes back to Indiana. Then she receives a phone call from Hannah, her sister, letting her know that her father has had a stroke and he is wanting to talk with her. So, she goes back to Pennsylvania and decides to stay. Now, her former beau, Timothy has proposed marriage to someone else and she has to deal with this turn of events.
This book is Book 3 of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series by Amy Clipston. Amy Clipston is one of the Greatest authors who write about the Amish.
This is a Great Book, one that you will not want to put down. At least, I didn’t. My husband even told me to quit reading for a while due to my eye twitching. I stopped for a while and then picked the book back up. I know that you will enjoy this book, I would suggest this book to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Place of Peace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Place of Peace- Amy Clipston

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miriam Lapp had left the Amish community to study to be a nurse- she had the mistaken idea that her fiance- Timothy Kauffman had been seeing someone behind her back. Miriam gets a phone call that her mother has passed away- Miriam immediately went back to Lancaster, PA. Miriams dad Abraham is still hurting from his daughter leaving and refuses to let her in his house. Miriam then later returns to the english world- but gets a phone call from her sister that her dad has had a stroke and was asking for her!!! Miriam immediately went back to Lancaster to stay with her Dad.
Amongst all this Miriam see her ex-fiance- but he is now engaged to marry Naomi- another young Amish lady. When Timothy see Miriam again - he realizes he never stopped loving her- and Miriam KNOWS she never stopped loving him. But Timothy is engaged to get married and doesnt want to hurt Naomi!! Also Timothy had been told that Miriam had left Lancaster to move in with an english boyfriend (which was never true).
Finally Miriams father tells Miriam he loves her and wants her to come home- but will Timothy call off his marriage- especially when he finds out that Miriam's sister Lilly had been lying to both him and Miriam in an act of revenge. Then figure in that Zach another amish man thinks that Miriam is beautiful and wants the chance to court her. Then figure in that secretly Lilly- Miriams sister had a crush on Zach all along and was jealous was why she lied to both Miriam and Timothy.
Also Miriam's neice Lena Joy needs a liver transplant- but will she get the transplant in time??? Will Timothy and Miriam finally be together??? With a push from Miriam will Lilly finally have a chance for love with Zach???
Very intrigueing book from start to finish- and wonderfully wonderfully written!!! This is a book that Amy Clipston has outdone herself on- absolutely loved the book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>