Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5

Tyndale House Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5

A new dictator arises in Iraq, China threatens Taiwan, Israel struggles to complete the Third Temple, war rages in the Middle East, and the U.S. is in the midst of a political campaign. Dead Heat is another political thriller in "The Last Jihad" series by bestselling author Joel Rosenberg. The book takes a close look at biblical prophecy - especially the role that the U.S. might play in the last days - in a fictional account that seems very much like the world around us.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Review 1 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoJo
Location:Treasure Island, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I read the whole series and it is excellent. I wasn't able to get anything else done around the house because it is so riviting. It seems so real, like it is happening right now. It gives us a good perspective about our lives, what's important and what is coming. Loved them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the whole series!

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
love2readinruskin
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I loved the whole series. I thought I'd be glad when I was done so I could get some sleep! They kept me up late because I couldn't put them down. Actually I was sad instead and can't wait for the next series to be out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oh Wow

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a phenomenal conclusion to the Last Jihad series! I brought this book with me everywhere....so hard was it to put down. I had a couple of audible gasps while reading it. If only one positive thing came from reading this series, it made me stop and take stock of the dark days we live in. Bravo, Joel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better Than Left Behind

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerry L Teets
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Left Behind Series begins after the Russian/Muslim War (Ezekiel 38 & 39) and just before the Rapture (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18). What was disappointing to me about this series is that neither the War nor the lives of the Christians was developed. LaHaye and Jenkins just jumped right in dealing with those left behind and an improbable scenario of miracle wheat as the trigger of events that lead to the Tribulation.
The Last Jihad series is better than the Left Behind series because you follow John Bennett as he meets Christians, Jews, Muslims whose religions (or lack thereof) effect how they deal with events that lead up to this final installment.
John is married to Erin and they decide to spend their honeymoon serving at a refugee camp to help the less fortunate. Unknown to John, world events are about to spin out of control. He will be swept up in the currents. Joel Rosenberg does not present John as a super saint who is strong in his faith. Rather his main character is like an average Christian man who is still maturing in his faith. He is tired and growing cynical. He admires his wife for her strong faith...and desires to be stronger than he is.
Then his life is turned upside down when Erin becomes sick and nearly dies. He feels help less as doctors fight to save her life. With his emotions rubbed raw...the United State is attacked and four cities are destroyed in a nuclear holocaust. John loses most of the friends he has come to trust. As evil grows, John's faith waivers and he begins to question God about what is going on.
This story builds at a fast pace and reaches a satisfying conclusion to both this story and the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent--great reading.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tiger
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent series by Joel.
I would highly recommend this series to anyone that may have doubts about the End Times. It helps to put things into perspective with the things that are happening around us today. PTL --- He is coming soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Class
Excellent series! Just purchased latest in series, Dead Heat and can't wait to dive in. Rosenberg's experience in politics, the Middle East and the Bible make his books dead on for accuracy. His writing style keeps you going page after page and his characters are very believable. I loved watching them develop over the series. Great series!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stella Leonard
Rosenburg did it again. A scary scenario put together well. I find his books compelling, thought provoking, and entertaining. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because my husband said it had more slow spots. I recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Nolen
Great conclusion to the exciting series. This one will make a Christian stop and pray for our nation and the world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Byrom
Dead Heat is like all of Joel Rosenberg's books of the series--thrillers to the very end...true page-turners. Dead Heat is a fitting end to the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Thomas
Amazing book, like the rest. I hope that Joel is wrong about some parts, but we won't know till the Lord reveals our future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura
Joel Rosenberg does not disappoint. As the story moves to different parts of the world and his depiction of polictical events, you can't help but wonder will any of it come true.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Heat, Last Jihad Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tommy Olmstead
This is an awesome book.... Rosenberg certainly has the gift of making you feel like it is happening!! The whole series was absolutely marvelous and sent me on a study of Ezekiel...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.