Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1

Tyndale House The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1

CIA operative David Shirazi's mission is to disrupt Iran's nuclear weapons program---without triggering a war. But when an obscure religious cleric is suddenly hailed as the Islamic messiah, Iran's military prepares to strike Israel. Can David save the world---even as a dark secret from his past threatens to change his life forever?
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 3597%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Review 1 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting read; Action, suspense, and insights

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joel has written a fast paced action pack novel about the Muslim life, the threat from Iran, the truth about the expecting coming of the Twelfth Imam in a novel about a CIA spy working to stop the Iranian threat while searching for his identity among a personal relationship he can't forget and a cultural background he must embrace in some ways to do his job. And in the midst of it all comes the salvation of Jesus Christ to some Muslims while the coming of the Imam is on the horizon. Of course, this is a series, so the story is incomplete and leaves you hanging for the next books, but that's ok, start this one and go along for the ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JaniceEB
Location:Alabama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thoroughly enjoyed experiencing Joel Rosenberg's adventure with David Shirazi and all the cast of characters in this series. From the very first sentence on the very first page of "The Twelfth Imam", throughout "The Tehran Initiative", to the very last sentence on the very last page of "The Damascus Countdown" I was captivated. Excellent, thought-provoking, captivating writing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unputdownable from the first to the last page! Also makes you become more aware of the what is going on in the Middle East at the moment despite being fiction. Brilliant novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Part of a great series

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hoff
Location:Mount Joy, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of a Trilogy by Joel Rosenberg that is the start of a riveting series of fiction mirroring reality. Really well done and exciting reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The story introduces an exciting end of the world.

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
JayW
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Opening portion of the book explained historical events then it moved into fiction. As a Christian I read about His part in a showdown coming between Christ and an Islam Messiah.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting story

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmank
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is movie material! If you like political thrillers with action and depth, this should satisfy you. I love how it draws in current events in history and prophecy.
Now - could we have the movie please?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holds my interest

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irish
Location:Kinderhook, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had other books to read before I started this one, so I
have not finished it. I find that now I have started it,
I find it hard to put down. It is written well and I can't wait
to see how it ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story telling

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace Katen
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel Rosenberg grabs your attention from the first sentence and doesn't let go until the end. This book is so relevant in today's political arena that I couldn't put it down. Would definitely recommend this series for the avid reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
linf
Location:Muswellbrook NSW Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed reading it, hated to put it down. Have since purchased the next in the series from one of the Christian Book shops in Sydney.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply a great novel in my opinion!

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:Chapin, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story...almost seems real when reading today's headlines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Twelfth Imam is a great book filled with lots of international intrigue. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, not wanting to put it down. (Though I had to because of chores, eating, and sleeping… don’t you hate it when life gets in the way of a good book?) I would definitely recommend it to anyone in need of a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chilling Fiction

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Location:Olivehurst, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Christians, we've heard about the second coming of Christ, the rapture, and the end of the age in our churches, on our podcasts, and in our reading materials often enough, we could probably quote it in our sleep.
Ever wonder what OTHERS think about the end of time? Ever wonder what MUSLIMS believe about the end of time? If not, you really, really should. And who best to tell you that an author I believe to be THE expert on the subject, Joel C. Rosenberg.
I think it's fitting that his latest novel releases so close to the anniversary of September 11, 2001. Joel's first work of fiction took those events into account, and that five-book series ended up on the New York Times Bestsellers list.
"The Twelfth Imam" is destined for that list as well. CIA operative David Shirazi has been preparing for this day his entire life, though he didn't know it at the time. The leaders of Iran are calling for an apocalypse, one so great it will usher in the twelfth, or hidden, imam.
In order to do so, Iran's nuclear weapons program must be on target, but figuratively and literally. It's CIA operative Shirazi's task to infiltrate that network of annihilation and derail their plans. But does David know what he is truly up against?
A mysterious cleric has appeared in Iran, claiming to be the prophesied Muslim messiah. Signs and wonders are popping up everywhere: healings, miracles, and unnatural events follow his path.
It would seem the Muslim prophecy has been fulfilled. What about Scripture? What about Jesus? How do all the pieces to this prophetic puzzle fit together, and what part does Iran's nuclear capabilities really play in it all?
Joel Rosenberg takes us back to the days of Ayatollah Khomeini, reminding us of the turmoil that took place in the late 1970's...then rapidly flashes us forward to the eve of 9/11 and the events that changed the lives of Americans...
...specifically David Shirazi and Marseille Harper.
We'll travel from Iran to the US and back again, meeting Najjar Malik, a brilliant scientist recruited to aid neighboring Iran...and see how his early days as a youth influence his life as an adult in a regime bent on destroying Israel and the United States.
Ultimately, it's like a cast of hundreds, with each playing a pivotal part in the events to come. So don't miss a name....pay close attention to every detail...
You'll learn more about the Muslim view of the end of the age than you'd ever glean from a thousand hours of CNN, FOX News, and network news combined...and you'll be able to bank on what you learn, because Joel Rosenberg views events through three lenses: economic, political, and Biblical.
The media had a field day with the WMD's of Iraq...you'll be fascinated by the realities of "The Twelfth Imam", seeing how it all fits together...even the faulty intelligence that led to the war in Iraq...or was it false?
Joel Rosenberg has spent countless hours, days, weeks and months interviewing both the famous, the infamous, and the unknown to glean information that will have the hair on the back of your neck standing at attention. With over 2 million copies of his books sold, I think you can be assured he knows what he's talking about.
But don't just take my word for it. Pick up a copy of "The Twelfth Imam", published by Tyndale (my thanks to them and Beverly for my advanced copy--which I DEVOURED in two days!) and releasing mid-October 2010.
In the meantime, "The Twelfth Imam" gets The Golden Bookmark from me for Overall Excellence and Relevance in Writing. Be warned: there's GOT to be a sequel! But if you've only got time to read ONE BOOK this Fall...
...read your Bible. If you've got time for two, make the second "The Twelfth Imam". You won't regret it.
At least, until you have to wait for the sequel! And what better way to honor the fallen of 9/11, by reading and understanding rather than burning and ranting?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!! Highly Recommended!!

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Twelth Imam by Joel C. Rosenberg is a book about Islam's coming Messiah. The central characters include David Shirazi a CIA NOC Agent and Dr Najjar Malik a physicist with the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran. This book is the first in a series and basically sets up the characters, their back stories and how the Twelth Imam, the Mahdi or Islam's Messiah comes to power.
I really enjoyed this book a lot. It is action-packed and well written. There are several incredibly violent scenes as well. The characters are all well developed and easy to connect to. I found myself unable to put this book down several times. I highly recommend reading this book and have already started the next one in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tom Clancy Look Out

Date:June 26, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two families are trapped in Iran during the Iranian Revolution in 1978. Their choice to escape the country has profound and far reaching changes, beginning in 1978 and reverberating through time to the present day.
Set in the near future, this book is a taut thriller centered on Islamic politics in the middle east and a possible nuclear armageddon, both of which continue to spin out of control and which may lead to devastating consequences across the world.
The writing style is crisp, clean, and enthralling. The author's command of intricate story lines and detail is amazing, very similar to Tom Clancy's political thrillers. The novel is long, but the reader is rewarded with a fascinating narrative.
There is no sex or language, but this book does depict plenty of violence, including shootings, beheadings, beatings, torture, disturbing behavior, burnings, a car wreck, and so on. The descriptions are not overtly graphic, and the scenes depicted are not extraneous but help drive the plot, often providing motives for the characters involved. In context, I did not find the violence to be overwhelmingly gory or gratuitous, but I'm pretty sure that at some point the main character would have begun suffering some pretty severe PTSD.
Religion is without a doubt the central theme of this book. A radical sect of Islam is pitted against Christians, Jews, and the world at large. While many characters believe fervently in one faith or another, two main characters begin as weak followers of their faiths and the plot line watches them progress towards different points. Strangely enough, I did not feel invited to analyze these characters and their beliefs, because these spiritual journeys are mostly subplots buried in the midst of the chaos erupting in the world around them.
Despite thoroughly enjoying this book, I wish that the author had been even more specific about how much of the Islamic mythology he invented and how much he sourced. The notes at the end of the book helped, but I was so intrigued by the ideas presented, I felt compelled to research more on my own - something that I both enjoyed doing and was annoyed that the story did not include enough sourcing to stand on its own.
I'd recommend this to anyone who gets a kick out of the thriller/spy genre, and who doesn't mind lugging around a heavy book for a while. It's quite a read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book Ripped from todays Headlines

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DarlaM
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Book ripped from todays headlines. Makes you think and want to know more about what is happening in this world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great new series

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. Joel Rosenberg really knows his stuff, and it comes through in this book. This isn't a light "fluff" novel... if you read this book, you will actually learn something - maybe a lot. I was pulled into the story as soon as I started reading it, and pretty much read it in one sitting. It is a very enjoyable read, but I also learned a lot about Islam and even about the CIA.
It is scary to realize how much Muslims hate us and the Jews, and although this book isn't a book to bash Islam, the reader can clearly see what is wrong with that religion.
This may be Rosenberg's best book yet. My only problem with the book is the ending is way too abrupt, but as I understand, there will be more to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book right out of today's headlines

Date:June 22, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An instant favorite. Awesome characters and story plot . I couldn't put it down till i finished it and am now ready to start the next in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great summer read

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
alfamania
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where the summer season typically heralds many action-packed movies in theaters for general consumption by the masses, The Twelfth Imam serves as a fantastic alternative to being spoon-fed a visual depiction of a thriller type of movie. The theater of the mind comes alive with Rosenberg's depictions of recent history interwoven with current events in the international vein, and this book begins a thrill ride that is worth taking. As with many of Rosenberg's books, the research is well done, and the themes in the story line could very well have come straight from the headlines of today's newspapers. As I read this book, I discovered the work of Rosenberg to grasp my attention and give me a sense of credibility that legitimizes his characters in their development and growth as the story progresses. This will attract readers who enjoy political intrigue stories laced with a touch of romance and real life circumstances. I am glad I discovered The Twelfth Imam, and I am ready for the sequel :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than Expected

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Little Man in China
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an age when particular sects of Islam certainly do seek to achieve the ultimate goal of world domination in the name of Allah, a book that seeks to understand the spiritual underbelly of such an event has hit the presses. I have been a fan of Joel Rosenberg for many years, and the fact that he saturates himself daily in the goings on of the Middle-Eastern world adds to the unintentionally prophetic plausibility of this, his most recent novel (check out his personal website sometime---the man is a genius).
Although Rosenberg himself is a born-again Christian, and all of his books angle from that direction, The Twelfth Imam does not even cover a thread of Christianity until the second half of the book. This fact alone drew me into the story, for Rosenberg displayed for me a glimpse of the Middle-Eastern world through the eyes of an Iranian Muslim. The action and intrigue of this CIA thriller held my interest until the very last page, and I cannot wait until Rosenberg releases Part Two.
As far as thrillers go, I think The Twelfth Imam is top notch. And as I have found in all of Rosenberg's novels, it is so refreshing to put up an action-packed novel that not only teaches us about life and faith, it does so without the filth fiction-lovers have come to expect.
© 2011 E.T.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Twelfth Imam, The Twelfth Imam Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of wonderful twists and turns

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
reed14013
Location:Everett, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very exciting story. Well written. Intriguing, inspiration and thought provoking...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>