Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1

Tyndale House It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1

Word travels fast at Patsy Pringle's Just As I Am beauty shop. So when a simple homeless man appears on Steve and Brenda Hansen's doorstep during a thunderstorm, the entire town is set abuzz, especially when Brenda lets him sleep on their porch. But that's not all the neighbors are talking about. Spring may be blooming outdoors, but an icy chill has settled over the Hansens' marriage. Steve is keeping late hours with clients at the country club, and the usually upbeat Brenda is feeling the absence of her husband and her college-age kids.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Review 1 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!!!

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
maciemollysdad
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read. I was lucky to receive this book through the Tyndale Rewards program. I picked it because of Gary Chapman since I love his 5 Love Languages book and have found that Catherine Palmer is an excellent author too. This book was hard to put down. It read well & the characters were so relatable. In addition to the great story line you can see Gary Chapman's hints worked into the story line. I could easily see this book being made into a movie. I am starting the next book in this series (Summer Breeze) today
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth reading!

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an interesting book about a small community where everyone seems to know what is going on in everyone else's life but they do have genuine concern for each other. The authors did a wonderful job of helping us see both sides of a marriage. Both men and women would benefit from reading this book and learning from this couple. When faced with marriage problems we have two choices - walk away or get to the root of the problem and fix it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small town atmosphere with interesting characters

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was glued to the pages of this book from the start, yet the story moves along at a relaxing pace. The families are a part of a small community in Missouri town where golf carts can get you just about anywhere you want to go.
Brenda and Steve Hansen have been married for almost 25 years and have raised three children who are now on their own. Having an empty nest after so long, Brenda becomes depressed. With Steve being a successful real estate agent and away from home a lot, Brenda starts to feel lonely and resentful towards her husband.
Can living in a close-knit community help this couple, or make things worse with town gossip?
What about the stranger who shows up at the Hansen's door? Or, the handyman that does work on the Hansen's basement?
This is a well orchestrated story that brings to life some interesting characters. It focuses on the importance of marriage, friends and faith. I would recommend this book to anyone who is having difficulty in their relationship. If you like the laid back type of lifestyle or are a fan of Jan Karon, I believe you will enjoy this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Women all of ages and walks of life will enjoy!!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
4kidsathome
Location:Greeensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women all of ages and walks of life will enjoy reading this book AND be challenged to reach out to other women-whether in their church group or neighborhood. This story takes the lives of 4 women, all with their own problems, and shows how they encourage and help one another. It today's culture, we are often too busy and too embarrassed to ask for help or accept help.
Great plot, well developed characters, life-changing fiction--I definately recommend this book. Would be a great gift idea! WARNING: you will want to buy all 4!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ginny0228
Location:Stuart, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I have not read the 4 seasons of marriage, I totally enjoyed this book. I loved the characters as well as just being able to picture myself in that setting. I want to move there now. It was fast moving and very entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not wait to crack open this book and I was not disappointed when I did. This is a great story about Steve and Brenda Hansen who are struggling in their 25 year marriage now that the kids are gone. It gives a great perspective from both sides, so you can really feel how each of the characters are feeling and how they perceive the situation. It is set in a little town and you are introduced to some great side characters who each have their own personalities. Overall it is a great, easy, joyful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
abuela143
Location:Pleasantville, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book topics are up today things that are goning on today in a lot of peoples lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lessons we could all Learn!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cammiesue
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the new Marriage counseling books by Gary Chapman and believe this new series is an added bonus! I found that the characters are true to life, dealing with pain and joy all in different ways. It was challenging and thought provoking, while seeing a glimpse of myself in several parts of the book!
I will be recommending this series to all my friends and believe it to be a true asset, and enjoyable read. I do warn you though, if you start hating some of the characters, check yourself - you may be seeing something in that person that is a reflection of you!
Enjoy the Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
True Sayer
I just have to say that as a Christian woman who went through shockingly simlair circumstances as those in the book; the authors really nail the emotions that a marriage in crisis find themselves facing. It shows that Christians can find themselves questioning where God is in what you "thought" was a fantastic marriage; the anger, the frustration the tears upon tears, the sense of how in the world you can find the trust again, it's all there. I found myself rivited to how this couple would come out at the end of the book. I love the other characters that we will not doubt learn to love and learn from in later books as well. Someone made a comment that the book was "preachy" at times. I disagree, its a Christian book about a Christian marriage in crisis and a Christian Beauty Salon and Tea Room. I'm not sure how someone could think of a book in this genre as "preachy". I've read alot more books with a ton more scripture and what some may percieve as "preachy"ness (if there is such a word!). This is a book that will make you laugh at times yet make you think as well. And if you've ever gone through (or are going through) a tough time in your marriage and your walk with the Lord, this is a book that may help you to believe that someone understands; and the with God ALL things are possible. Thank you for a great book, can't wait for the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Grateful Gramma
First in a series of four novels, It Happens Every Spring by Gary Chapman and Catherine Palmer does a great job at illustrating the two sides of a marriage in trouble. Brenda feels lost, now that the children are gone and Steve has immersed himself in his new job. She needs to feel a part of something and she needs attention and support from Steve. Steve needs physical affection and attention from Brenda, to believe that she appreciates his efforts as breadwinner. But somehow their timing is all off, their needs no longer mesh, and the longer things go, the farther apart they grow. There was an old magazine series called "Can This Marriage Be Saved?"; we find ourselves wondering the same thing. A little preachy in a place or two but altogether a good story. Bits and pieces of other marriages in Tranquility peek through and we hope they'll be further developed in the other volumes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2007
I love Christian fiction because you can learn while being entertained. Based on concepts from his non-fiction book The Four Seasons of Marriage, Dr. Gary Chapman joins forces with CBA best-selling author Catherine Palmer to launch The Four Seasons series.Anyone who's been married or contemplates marriage will enjoy this first book. A page-turner, I read it in It Happens Every Spring in two sittings. An explosion of trouble in the opening sentence sets the stage in this fast-paced novel. Be ready for an emotional rollercoaster ride. You'll chew your nails, laugh out loud one minute and cry the next. You may also see your own marriage through new eyes. Chapman and Palmer hold nothing back in presenting a gut-wrenching story filled with all the temptations and problems of marriage. Be ready for some unexpected twists in this honest portrayal. Novel Reviews gives It Happens Every Spring a high recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara C
I loved this book! And I cannot wait to read the others. (Book 2 is due this summer). The series centers around a small community on Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri. The characters are just that.. characters... and yet very real life. Brenda Hansen is a 40-something mom with an empty nest and a career driven, super successful husband. She has a great house, plenty of money, friends etc. so why isn't she happy? Patsy Pringle runs the Just As I Am beauty salon and tearoom (don't you love that name!). She is resigned to being single. She loves the Lord and she loves her easy going life, that is until Pete Roberts moves in next door with his shop, Rods n Ends. The noise level shatters Patsy's peace and does strange things to her heart! Add to the mix newly married, young and way to naive Ashley, Esther and Charlie, the old married folks of the bunch, and a cast of other fun characters and you have a ball! There are a number of serious issues dealt with in It Happens, especially depression. I love how the authors show a "normal" person dealing with depression and that you see how easily and subtly you can slip into it. There is also a lot of focus on making a marriage work. It doesn't just happen.. it take efforts.. a bit of give and take.. commitment.. and yes love.Great book! A a fun, enjoyable and worthy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2007
Ah, marriage relationships. Seems like everyone is always talking about them. Maybe it's because I'm not married yet and don't have kids, but I personally felt that Brenda was mainly to fault with her and Steve's relationship. I might be wrong here, but she seemed really moody and just plain mean to him. He kept trying to talk to her and she would blow him off and then get mad at him for talking to her. No wonder why men can't figure women out. To be fair, Steve did seem more preoccupied with work, and it seemed that every time he did try to talk to Brenda at night it was so they could have sex. Not the best intentions it seems. I also felt that the Cody situations seemed a little forced. While I liked his character much better near the end, he originally came off as kind of annoying to me. Brenda seemed a little too trustworthy in letting a random man sleep on her porch and only did it to rebel against Steve. I mean, Cody could have been acting and then murdered her when no one was around. But that's the only complaints I have because I really really enjoyed this book. The characters are refreshingly real and relatable. I liked the other women in the town, especially the multi hairstyle Patsy and her beauty shop. If I visited the town I would definitely stop there to get my hair done. I'm also looking forward to reading more about Ashley because I'm hoping that she will put sense into her husband. Lots of funny tidbits in the book that will get you laughing too. The whole town would be a wonderful place to live/visit. Reading the book was like drinking a cold iced tea, refreshing. I really enjoyed this book. I love the cover too, it's really colorful and so detailed. I can't wait for "Summer" to get here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Happens Every Spring, Four Seasons Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Deepwater Cove is a small community overlooking the Lake of the Ozarks by Tranquility, Missouri. It is small town where everyone knows everyone else. Five women form the TLC club are there for one another especially with personal issues.Since the kids left, one of the TLC members Brenda Hansen suffers from empty nest syndrome as she feels she offers nothing to her community, her spouse or especially herself. Her husband Steve is a workaholic who comes home to eat and sleep, which adds to Brendas feelings of abandonment, isolation and loneliness; whereas Steve avoids Brenda because he finds her increasingly nasty and combative when hw is near.During a nasty storm, a stranger knocks on Brendas door saying he is Cody and asking for chocolate cake as that is the Christian way. Brenda initially fears this young man, but soon brings him in from the rain giving him his cake. Others also help the mentally challenged lad without understanding in his way he is assisting them much more as couples like Brenda and Steve try to renew the euphoria of their relationship.Using the spring of Dr. Chapman's THE FOUR SEASONS OF A MARRIAGE theory as the base for the first of a quartet of relationship dramas, IT HAPPENS EVERY SPRING is a delightful tale that introduces the audience to the TLC members and other folks, but focuses mostly on Brenda and Steve. Most fascinating is that the authors chose spring for the couple who is probably in early fall; however spring is the time of rebirth, which means that a pair must renew their relationship or it will atrophy and die prematurely. The opening Four Seasons saga is a warm story of the importance of relational rejuvenation.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.