Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting novel on a controversial subject

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Successful Christian author and speaker Savannah Trover becomes very ill. She needs a heart transplant. Facing death, she realizes her own faith has been shallow and she renews her commitment to and relationship with Jesus.
But then comes the heart transplant and the awful realization that her faith in God is entirely gone. In its place is an intense hatred for God.
Savannah's husband and daughter struggle through the personality change. Savannah no longer has the desire to speak at conferences – she has nothing to say. The ministry that has supported the family falls apart. Then Savannah learns her husband has been taking money from the ministry and hiding it. The ministry is gone. The money is gone.
Savannah turns to an old friend running a support home for hurting Christians. Will Savannah be able to return to faith in God? Will she be able to restore the relationships in her family?
I was at first skeptical of Strobel's plot. Then I did a search and found some articles on the theory of cellular memory. While it is not recognized in the world of medicine, there is some anecdotal evidence of its reality.
Strobel has progressed a great deal in her writing skills since her debut novel. She has crafted a pretty good story about a controversial topic. I'm glad I read the book and feel like I have learned something in the process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mumsy
Location:Ridgewood, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so good and so real that stoped me from doing anything until I finished it. Just amazing book!!!! after i finish it, I bought two more books and pre-order the third one. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story speaks right to your heart!

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy Von
Location:Northern California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was previewing books for our book club. I came across
The Heart of Memory. I read it in a day, which is not my norm. The author made me feel from the heart for the characters and their struggles. As a mom, it helped me to see that my actions and comments can be taken in a hurtful way even when meant to be helpful. I loved the characters and the story and would hightly recommend this book to any book club or reader looking for great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing book

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mumsy
Location:Ridgewood, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Savannah Trover is a Christian writer/speaker, and a successful ministry. She has an wonderful family, but her daughter thinks taht she deserves more attention and her husband, Shaun is hidding a secret that can bring down the ministry.
After Savannah is forced to get a heart transplant the Trevor family's world will turn up-side-down-Savannah is losing her faith, her daughter is forced to give up her studies in college and Shaun believes that he will end up in jail... I love the way all the characters are developed and the way is written-"edgy"
This is an amazing book and after reading it, I went online and bought two other books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Walking away from God...

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monique
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You know, this book was very interesting. Savannah appears to be a person who has it all – a successful Christian ministry as a speaker and author, a good husband who runs her business, a daughter in college with a nice, Christian boyfriend, but things aren’t always as they appear.
While touring Savannah becomes ill with what she thinks is the flu, but when she doesn’t get better she seeks out the doctor. Ending up in the hospital and needed a heart transplant, Savannah turns to her faith to help her get through these trying times.
Luckily, Savannah receives a heart very quickly, but she doesn’t heal as quickly as most recipients. Part of the reason is Savannah, but another part isn’t. As a result, Savannah has lost her faith – in a huge way. She’s not just lost, she is completely faithless – an atheist.
Though the twists and turns of life, what most people would call coincidences, and what Savannah would no longer term “God’s will”, she is able to find a lifeline or two to save herself, her marriage, and her relationship with her daughter.
On the other hand, Savannah’s husband has a few secrets of his own – including the fact that the ministry is struggling to stay afloat. He’s got a few get rich quick schemes up his sleeve, but will they work, and work quickly?
For Savannah’s daughter, it’s a struggle always feel as if she’s in the shadow of her mother – a shadow that can be oppressing, especially when, to the world, her mother is the perfect Christian woman, wife, and mom, but to her she’s practically a stranger.
This book is dark. We’re watching someone struggle through the life they’ve chosen, and some illnesses they haven’t, and the consequences aren’t as pleasant as you’d expect. All 3 family members must come to terms with their perceptions of one another, their roles in their family and in life, and in how they want to move forward. It isn’t easy to change, and it isn’t easy to watch their struggles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOD can work through you always

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has changed how I feel as a Christian Women. I have been back slidden for alittle over a year now, Just recently I decided to talk with GOD again about life in general where HE wants me to go. Then I read The Heart of Memory and it has given me purpose again. The will honestly open you up to who you need to be spiritually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Emotional Ride- But a Good One

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An emotional roller-coaster ride! That is the easiest way to describe “The Heart of Memory”. The entire book was a ride through emotional highs and lows.
I was intrigued as I read this book and it grew as the plot developed. The book held my attention quite well, especially since the story was based mainly on what was happening within each of the characters. The story walks through the faith journey of Savannah primarily, but includes the struggles of her husband and daughter. The book had several surprising turns in the plot and several times I was quite shocked at the actions of Savannah (though given her circumstances they made sense.)
The book covered a lot of tough issues. Faith struggles, financial problems that are quickly falling apart, relationships, trust, throw in a heart transplant with miles of baggage and there are layers of tension riveting their way through the story.
I thought the ending was great closure for the book. With so much going on through the story, not every single thread was 100% sealed, but the closure of the story worked the best for the characters and their growth. I was satisfied.
I thought “The Heart of Memory” was a good story filled with many elements, but underlying messages that readers will easily relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heart of Memory: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Heart of Memory.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spellbinding!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Heart of Memory will linger in your memory long after you turn the last page. Alison Strobel plumbs the depths of lost faith and the loss of self in this amazing book. She exposes things about transplant recipients and cellular memory that were spellbinding. I couldn't put it down. Novel Journey and I highly recommend it. It's a 5-star read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.