Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2

Tyndale House She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2

Jennifer Graham-mother, student, and embalmer's apprentice-could use a friend. She finds one in McLane Larson, a newcomer to Mt. Dora, and is delighted to learn that the young woman is expecting a baby. While McLane's soldier husband serves overseas, Jen promises to support McLane, then learns that her tie to this woman goes far deeper than friendship. When a difference of opinion threatens their relationship, Jennifer discovers weaknesses in her own character . . . and a faith far stronger than she had imagined.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Review 1 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

some really good twists

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cornerstone Chapel
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a good read. It had some unexpected twists to keep interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book in the series

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes I find that the second book in a series is not as good as the first, but that is NOT the case in the Fairlawn series. This second book is as good--if not better--than the first! I love how Angela Hunt throws in a curve. You think you have the story figured out and then you find out you really don't. Keeps me reading to the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read. Finished it in three days.

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Purple Lady
Location:Coram, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thorougly enjoy books by Angela Hunt. The Fairlawn Series is about everyday people and every situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doris Stanley
this was a fantastic book really enjoyes it. Can't wait for another one about this family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Neigh
I do trust she will continue the series. I really have enjoyed them. It dealt with a lot of issues that people might face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Howell
This was a good book. I didn't know that is was a sequel but it could be a stand alone read as well. It kept you interested with some themes that were fairly unusual. I would read the next book to see what happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patti Robb
This is a great book, full of drama, excitement and lots to make you think. I have been reading Angela Hunt for years and this is one of her best, always full of the gospel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Riley
I loved this book. There was a bit more of the mortician detail than I expected, but the story was great and I thought it was a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
I have had mixed opinions about Angela's books so far (The Novelist - didn't love / The Elevator - I liked but it was very cerebral / and now She Always Wore Red...) and so I was very glad that I enjoyed this book so much. It is book #2 in the Fairlawn series about a woman and her 2 sons that inherit a funeral home and move in. It is not macabre and actually is quite interesting and fun. Angela deals with some intense issues (racial issues, abortion, unknown siblings due to dad cheating on mom, etc...) and handles them expertly. I have not read book #1 in this series, but I would read it based on how I enjoyed #2. I have found that with Angela's books it is a book by book basis for me and this one is worth reading and enjoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Jennifer Graham is the owner of a funeral home, though she is still very new to the business. We have the delight of following her as she learns the ropes of dealing with the dead and their families; fascinating details are provided for those of us who are interested in human anatomy. We are able to meet the members of her family and see them move through challenging situations where faith in God carries them through.Hunt quickly endears these quirky individuals to us by including the miniscule details of their lives that make the book all the more realistic.It seems as though there is a rash of books in Christian womens fiction where the leading ladies are divorced, and then become entangled in romantic involvements, and even remarriage with other men. My mind was set at ease to learn that Jennifer, though she had been divorced, was now a widow. Now I could relax - even if romantic situations developed without worrying about sin on the main characters part, whew! Thankfully any potential romantic interest was also very subtle and free of sensual overtones.Hunt confronts controversial, contemporary social issues from a Christian viewpoint where the rubber hits the road - within the family. While dealing with the issues of peer pressure, abortion and racial prejudice the themes of Gods love, grace and sovereignty shine through. Hunt was extraordinarily successful at engaging my emotions - I gasped in joy as I rejoiced with them, and I wept with them in their times of sorrow and doubt.I have now been opened up to the possibility that well written Christian fiction can indeed, draw a believers heart closer to Christ, can lead them to examine themselves in the light of His love, can teach us how to relate to, and love each other. How could I ask for anything more? I look forward to reading more of Angela Hunts work now that I have discovered her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2008
Angela Hunt weaves a finely tangled plot with believable characters amidst an interesting career backdrop to paint a beautiful picture of love, forgiveness, friendship and family.She Always Wore Red is an incredible book! Angela Hunt is an engaging author who really does her research for a project. She had me completely riveted while she went through the embalming process. Yes, embalming.This is the story of Jennifer, a single mom and funeral director. As she lives life, encounters death, and makes friends, she is confronted with what is truly important in life. This touching novel made me laugh. It made me cry. It made me see where Ive faltered and made insignificant events too important. It also opened my eyes to where Ive treated certain occurrences too lightly. My life is richer for having read this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
This book is the second in a series and I found it better than the first in a series. It's fun to read and yet it will challenge the reader to think where they stand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Fairlawn Funeral Home is no longer a macabre, frightening place to live. For Jennifer Graham and her young sons it has become a home, haven and opened the door to a new career for Jennifer ~ funeral home director and mortuary assistant!Now attending mortuary school, Jennifer has put her squeamishness behind her along with any hope of a social life. Her schedule is overwhelming between her studies, mothering her boys and assisting Gerald, Fairlawn's embalmer, with his duties. Meeting McLane Larson and discovering her secret changes Jennifer's life, causing her to look beyond herself and reevaluate her beliefs, prejudices and theAngela Hunt's sequel to her innovative Doesn't She Look Natural affirms her exceptional abilities as a writer. Outstanding characterisation and an engaging story line continue to be a hallmark of this series. Tackling the issues of abortion, racial discrimination and God's sovereignty in a sensitive and perceptive manner, Angela delves deeply into the fears and frailty of humanity as seen through the eyes of Jennifer and McLane. There isn't as much levity in this tale as the first but rightly so, given the subject matter. The intricacies of the embalming process are revealed in a way that is intriguing rather than repugnant, a sure sign of Angela's talent and maturity as a wordsmith. I stated in my review of Doesn't She Look Natural that I couldn't wait to see where Angela planned to take this series, She Always Wore Red has ensured I am in for the long haul! Can't wait for book three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for She Always Wore Red, Fairlawn Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
When reading an Angela Hunt book, one must be prepared for two things. The first is that the reader will be entertained with quirky characters, intriguing plot lines and snappy dialogue. The second is that the reader will come away completely blown away by what they have just finished reading. Their thought process will have changed by the story and one starts seeing things in a whole different light. It's interesting to note that the publishers decided to change the covers of the series from a light, whimsical feel to a more serious, somber emotion. That's exactly how this second story comes off as compared to the first book in the series. There are so many topics dealt in this book that are still uncomfortable to discuss among Christians these days. Many of these topics we would rather not bring up, yet the author shows how they must be discussed and not hidden away. The scene that stuck out most to me in this story was during the meal where Jennifer and her mom realize that being "colorblind" is not necessarily the best way to be. This scene really made me think about that statement and what it truly means in today's world. However, while the overall tone of the book is serious, there are still rays of humor sprinkled throughout the book. The double funeral scene is a favorite. One is also allowed to still feel squeamish especially when Jennifer performs her embalming duties. It's a wonderfully written book that's just blends all of these elements together perfectly. This book is a keeper one that you can't put down.And so I declare this to be the best Angela Hunt book I have EVER read (and I've read them all!) I have high hopes for the third book in the series. VERY highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.