Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3

Tyndale House She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3

Jennifer Graham is struggling to make ends meet while running the Fairlawn Funeral Home, raising two children, and studying for her national board exam. Her work takes on a new dimension when Gerald Huffman, her assistant and mentor, reveals that he has a serious illness. When she learns that he and his daughter haven't spoken in years, Jen decides to help them reconcile . . . but things don't go exactly as she planned. Jennifer is longing for stability in her life . . . but she soon discovers that life isn't stagnant; it's always changing. Once again, the mortuary is a setting for lessons of laughter, love, and life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Review 1 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great ending to the series!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third and final book in the Fairlawn Series. I've read all three and I have to say, they seem to keep getting better and better. Angela Hunt does a great job of intertwining struggles that each of us face every day with occurrences that we don't face every day...like working in a funeral home and dealing with bodies. Don't let that scare you away from this book...it is a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I laughed and cried while reading this one.

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Purple Lady
Location:Coram, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book. Angela Hunt writes about everyday situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daphne Hvizdak
Loved the book as I have this whole series. I think she does a great job of infusing some good spiritual advice into her story. I like that she doesn't resolve every question too easily because life isn't like that. This series also tells a story of mortuary life that I think we need to understand to see what a service these people do. Thank you Angela Hunt, still one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
This Christian fiction novel is the last in the series, but you don't need to read the previous books to fully understand this one. The story is written in present tense instead of the more typical past tense. This sounds very odd to me, and I had a hard time settling into the story. The author skillfully wove in many details of the funeral industry without overloading on those details.The story is initially set up as a conflict between a man who needs to buy Jennifer's funeral home and Jennifer, who is having severe financial troubles. From this set-up, I expected the main story to be about the man trying to convince Jennifer to sell the funeral home while she painfully debates whether or not to sell while everything seems to go wrong. Shortly after this set-up, however, the plot threads are diverted and the book turns into a touching story about dealing with losing someone you love to terminal cancer. I even cried at the end. However, I would have liked it if the author had taken more time at the end to explain the motives behind the choices of a few of the secondary characters. Genre Reviews http://genrereviews.blogspot.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Great Book, really opened my eyes to the life of a funeral home...will definitely share this book with my other Christian novel reading friends. 4 Stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet
I am sorry this is the last book in the Fairlawn Series. I have fully enjoyed each book. Who would have thought that humor and grace could be found in the confines of a funeral home. I hesitated to begin the series because I feared it to be spooky and a little disrespectful of the dead, however it was anything but that. I highly recommend the entire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosa Boyer
I really enjoyed this series. A little humor along with everyday struggles. Definitely recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Myrna Blanding
This is the 3rd in the series and Angela Hunt has a wonderful way to making death funny, sad, and personal. The way she works in her Christian faith is low key and not in your face. When I pass my books on to my non-Christian friends, this is a real plus. I can't wait to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harold T Bogert
The best one yet from Jen's series. Highly recommended. It runs the gamut of emotions from sad to funny to sad again. I really enjoy her entire series of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for She's in a Better Place, Fairlawn Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
This was a book I did not want to begin reading because I KNEW that when I finished it, I'd feel bookless. As long as I put off starting it, I knew that I had a treasure waiting. I was correct. It's the third book in the Fairlawn series, and I loved it. Angela Hunt has the ability to write a trilogy so that each book can be read alone and understood perfectly; however, when all are read in order, a deeper experience awaits the reader. I've finished this third in the series now, and I feel like a spoiled child, stamping my feet. I don't want this series to finish--ever! I want to move to Mt. Dora and have lunch with Jen! I want to join the ladies and Joella at the Biddle House for a bit of talk; maybe I'll even put on a red hat! I want to watch Kristen grow into the woman God intends. In other words, the characters have come alive for me.This author teaches with her writing. There are so many details; her research amazes me. With this series, I have learned a good bit about the funeral industry, and gained a sense of appreciation for the work of people like Gerald and Jennifer. Angela Hunt aptly handles what could be a touchy subject and makes pleasurable reading. The story takes the reader along to a convention for people in the industry. All sorts of tips are given. Why, I even learned how to apply mascara!In addition to learning, this volume contains other things that appeal to readers. There's a need for tissues because of the tears. There's romance. There's humor. (The Living Funeral is hysterical.) I cannot recommend this series high enough. The author is at her peek!Although I have many other books waiting to be read, there are no more Angela Hunt books waiting for me. So I'm bookless. Now what?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.