Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character

Focus on the Family Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character

One thing many of our nation's founders shared was a Christian worldview. Teach your students how beliefs influence actions, as demonstrated by Noah Webster, George Washington, Abigail Adams, Benjamin Franklin, and others. This 9-unit DVD-based cross-curricular supplement incorporates history, government, citizenship, culture, science, social studies, and technology. Features 10-minute "teaser" segments that introduce each lesson; and reproducible work sheets. 128 pages, softcover with DVD-ROM from Tyndale. Grades 6-12.

This kit includes: Nine video sessions with teacher's guide on DVD. Student textbook included.

This DVD is coded for all regions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Review 1 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not exactly what I expected

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Aberdeen, Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Drive thru History has been a favorite of our son for a few years now, so I ordered Drive thru History America as his history resource for sixth grade. I realize it was recommended for 6-12th grade levels, but our son is an avid reader, and I thought this would work. The DVD is great, of course, highly entertaining, but it does repeat some segments we already watched in other Drive Thru History videos (the first 4 about Pennsylvania, etc.) In all fairness, there is some new material too. I was very disappointed in the book that accompanied the video. There was some quality information it it, but it included some debate topics that I think are not age appropriate for sixth grade. It also seemed to lack a cohesive organization strategy, and I found it difficult to break the chapters into different days of assignments. I have just given up on trying to use the textbook that came in this set. It is just too difficult to use. However, we LOVE the Drive Thru History videos, and will probably order the series about the ancient times, recognizing that I will need to supplement them with some other written history resource.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MAMABEAR
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased w/ this product. Captures the attention of all age groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I really enjoy these DVD's

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mama C
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have several Drive Thru History DVD's. They help make history fun and memorable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
beardfamily5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for anyone wishing to learn more about American History
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Homeschooling Librarian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered for my library homeschool section. I like that the book comes with the CD. Would like it if they had some tests or quizzes with it too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
sugarmuck
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My children really enjoy this. It comes with a book that allows further information and activities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Randy Mcmain
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected. I have seen some other videos from Drive Thru History, and my kids and I are enjoying this one as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drive Through History is a great

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob R
Location:Yukon, Ok
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing wrong with Drive Through History is that it is to short. I will love a longer semester length course. The format keeps my son's attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun for the whole family!

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We watched the DVD as a family, fun, informative and a good discussion starter. The indepth study in the book for my homeschooler is excellent also. I just "stumbled" onto this and am thankful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Monica
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are so exited to use this for our homeschooling. My son reviewed it with me and we can't to start! It is amazing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy White
Love this! My kids are actually having fun learning about our great nation and I look forward to it too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maia Manson
Excellent! It really keeps the attention of the kids! The historical facts fill in the gaps from what was previously learned.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Johnson
Enjoyed the host of the dvd. He is very funny, but closed caption would be nice to have been included for the hearing impaired. Also would have been best suited for me to have a teaching text in my hands rather than on a PDF file. Printing pages is not convenient. The DVD info itself is great!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Timothy Peak
This is a GREAT Program. It inspires a patriotic attitude in children and adults. It shows great views and commentary of the historic sites of our Nation. I was inspired to do more to help preserve our freedoms and liberty because of what our Founding Fathers have done for us. No one will regret purchasing this GREAT DVD series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jackie Simmons
Interesting and entertaining. My grandson hasn't ever shown any interest in history and is now remembering what he's learning. I'm also more interested and love the DVD; it's a crack-up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Camelia Cristofaro
My son likes this very much, but I wish that will have some quizzes and tests attached to it.It will be very helpful tool for homeschooling, because it is entertaining and that is how you learn best.Because of no tests I will rated a 4.5, if they will provide that; it will be a 10 in my book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Gomez
We've gotten through Lesson 1 and my kids are excited abot History. This curriclum makes it fun and easy to learn. The kids love it. I have 2 high school students and 1 jr. high student and they are actually excited about writing reports and doing projects that are suggested at the end of the chapter. I've never seen my kids this interested in History with any other curriculum.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Acosta
Truly amazing!!! Parents learn so much too! The 'book' alone is a wonderful read with lots of down-to-earth accounts of the peoples history. You will be surprised how much was left out of your history classes! The DVD is cool and Scotts is so funny! Be sure to order the cheaper version...the other version is for unlimited licensing..that was the only confusing part about ordering. You will not regret this purchase for a second!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keri Miller
We love this program. Even the younger kids watch the DVD and learn from it. Wonderful for homeschool wish they would make more student books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drive Thru History America: Foundations of Character
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Abbott
My daughter watched her first lesson today. We were both impressed with Dave Stotts and his hummer. I expect a FUN year with US History and I am going to order another DVD set from DTHA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>