Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lionsgate Home Entertainment I Am David, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Lionsgate Home Entertainment I Am David, DVD

I Am David is adapted from Anne Holm's internationally acclaimed novel North to Freedom. David is thrust into the free world for the first time in his young life as he travels across Europe. It is a spiritual voyage of discovery, where David slowly loses his instinctual mistrust of humanity and begins to smile, share, trust and ultimately, love. Rated PG. Approx. 90 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Commentary with Director, Paul Feig
  • Scene Index
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Discovering David Featurette
  • Spanish Subtitles
  • Closed Captioned
  • Widecreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Am David, DVD
Review 1 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great war movie

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah007
Location:Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moving story. Good production quality. Great acting. Secular movie but decent, clean family friendly. I've always had an interest in war movies and this is one of my favourites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Touching Story of Overcoming Fear and Loneliness

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
rbowler
Location:Victoria
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful film of a young boy given the chance to escape an eastern European work camp back in the Soviet era, embarking upon a journey of discovery that leads to a love he could hardly imagine. Although not overtly Christian, it is in fact a beautiful depiction of redemption. I find it very moving and warmly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A poignant 'coming-of-age' story.

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamh
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since first reading Anne Holm's "I Am David" in grade seven it has been considered a classic in our family (even into this second generation). Definitely not a big-budget film, Holm's book is nevertheless adapted beautifully to this medium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing movie.

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christie Brown
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband seldom makes it all the way through a movie. He was not only able to stay awake, but he loved it! Amazing movie, have some tissues ready.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent movie

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dougis
Location:Bradford, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I watched this online and thought it was so terrific that I bought a copy to donate to my church so other people can see it. Wonderful story and the ending was very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sad and moving film

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:Jerusalem - Israel
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Human sacrifice and human suffering are sometimes beyond understanding and so hard to grasp. Both topics are very well exposed in this film. The acting is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
mehahar
Location:Tasmania, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I AM DAVID" is a beautiful story brought to life in this well worth watching movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good film

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammy
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the novel better simply because it was well-written and included Psalm 23, which was a main theme in the book. Here, Psalm 23 is exchanged with a Catholic Saint. The parts with Jim Caviezel (who played Jesus in "The Passion of the Christ") are very inspiring. The first half can be a bit cheesy at parts (except with Caviezel) but the last half, with Sophie Plowright, are amazing and inspiring.
I heartily recommend the book and movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this movie, intense, heart warming, love

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
csdavis
Location:Wake Forest NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed this movie, intense, heart warming, love, hate, drama, tearful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK MOVIE

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Madelen Mclaughlin
Location:Missouri, USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is history to be learned in this movie. It is slow at times, but suitable for older children to watch. It is worth the $5.00 and is currently available in Red Box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shamoo
Location:Woodstock ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your thinking this is a Christian story with the gospel in it your wrong. However if you want an interesting story and with excitement it is a great family dvd. No cursing in it and modest dress. If you buy it I do not think you will be disappointed esp. at the price you can buy it for.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent movie for all ages. It keep my attention all through the movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was about a young boy who finds himself.

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joann Cervantes
Location:nebrasak
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this we sometimes forget what we have. I make me think that there are time in are lives we get lost within ourselves, we get busy, busy, busy, not even thinking about others, then we slow down and realize and discovery what life is truly about, people, everyone needs someone-- people need people.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie! Best I saw all year!

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
george
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great movie! I recommend it to anyone and everyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Intensely His
Location:Durango, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great movie to show how we listen to people or try to fix them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Demelfi
I loved this movie! The little boy did a great job in this film. It was sad, happy, funny and overwhelming at times. I only expected the last minute of the film to have more emotion. But, I am going to purchase it so all my friends and family can watch it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Am David, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monica Luse
A heart wrenching story of how a young boy learns to trust in himself and in others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.