Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Moon Shines Down

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The Moon Shines Down

The Moon Shines Down is a new bedtime picture book by renowned children's author Margaret Wise Brown. Based on the classic New England Sampler prayer, God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me, it uses poetic verses to follow a child praying for God's blessing on children in different parts of the world and themselves as the moon shines down on them all. Originally written many years ago, the manuscript was lost. When it was found, it was incomplete, but matching Margaret Wise Brown's distinctive writing style, it is now a complete bedtime picture book with a classical feel similar to the bestselling book Goodnight Moon. Recommended for ages 3 to 8.

The Story Behind the Lost Manuscript

The Moon Shines Down
from Margaret Wise Brown,
the Author of Goodnight Moon

The Moon Shines Down is being published for the first time fifty-six years after the death of the beloved children's author Margaret Wise Brown.

Amazingly, this unpublished manuscript lay forgotten in a cedar trunk in a Vermont barn. When it was discovered, the onionskin paper had yellowed and the paperclips that held the pages together had rusted.

Based on the New England sampler prayer, "God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me," this soon-to-be bedtime classic is a prayer for God's blessing on all the world's children. However, the manuscript was incomplete, too short for a standard size picture book. Children's book publisher, Laura Minchew, a longtime fan of Brown, took on the challenge to complete the work. Laura was able to match Margaret Wise Brown's writing style, capturing Brown's unique rhythms and rhyme schemes.

The wonderful result introduces a timeless Margaret Wise Brown book to delight a new generation of children the world over.

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Moon Shines Down
Review 1 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
sandra
I enjoyed reading the book and having it out for our grown daughters and their friends to pick up as they visit. We all agreed that you could tell which writing was the original and which was currently added - but the story line was still enjoyable. The illustrations are engaging and match the story line very well. (I personally love the Koala who travels through the book). I definitely would enjoy reading this book to any child who would come to my house, snuggle close and listen as we enjoy the rhythm of The Moon Shines Down. Although, I did not read the Good Night Moon often to my daughters, I plan to read this book to my future grandchildren. I know that we both will enjoy The Moon Shines Down, because it is just fun to read to a child. No matter what - I encourage you to take time, as often as possible, to read to your little ones and The Moon Shines Down is an good choice to include in your childrens book library.You may have tangible wealth untold. Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be - I had a mother who read to me. - Strickland Gillilan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Pollitt
The Moon Shines Down sang to our hearts as we cheerfully searched the pages for the traveling koala. My two young boys joined in by humming the tune as I sang the melodious words. With an ever-present moon on each page, a reminder of our Savior's continuous presence, we searched high and low in each country, for the koala in his hiding places. Each boy, rearing to turn the pages, loved jumping from one country to the next in this soon-to-be-cherished book from author Margaret Wise Brown.I highly recommend this book for kids, and parents, of any age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cherie Hill
I raised my two children on Goodnight Moon, so seeing the new book by Margaret Wise Brown, The Moon Shines Down, brought warm memories to my heart. I absolutely LOVED this book. I love the fantastic story at how this manuscript, fifty-six years after the death of Margaret Wise Brown, lay forgotten in a cedar trunk in a Vermont barn..the onionskin paper had yellowed and the paper clips that held the pages together had rusted. That is a story in itself.The thing I loved most about this book even more than Goodnight Moon, were the illustrations that will capture the hearts and minds of every child. The brilliant color and detail will give you a chance to spend hours with a child discovering all of the creative wonders on each page. The message is beautiful. No child will ever look at the moon the same. It really expands on the age-old song, Jesus loves the little children.all the children of the world. Children around the world will find comfort and peace as they read through each page, understanding that just as the moon looks down upon them, so does God, and He loves each and every one of them- no matter who they are or where they are in the world. If youre looking for a wonderful book to give a child, let this one be it-its sure to be a classic.if it isnt already!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
TerryAnn
In The Moon Shines Down, a koala bear looks at the moon and visualizes that the same moon he is watching is being watched all around the world, including France, Switzerland and Africa. As he thinks on the different ones looking up he asks God to bless them. The words are fun for a young child and the beautiful illustrations make the scene come to life. My 4 year old grandson enjoyed sharing this book with me. I recommend it for any parent or grandparent during that special story time. Talk about how God loves everyone, no matter where they live and how even if we don't see them, there are people all around the world. And even though we don't see Him, God is with us. Look at all the activity in each picture and discuss what you see; trees, animals, houses. A great book for quiet bonding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Greenacre
A child can travel the world in The Moon Shines Down. Based on the New England sampler prayer, God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me on the koala sees the moon and prays in a different part of the world. On each vibrantly, colorfully illustrated page the same moon looks down on the Dutch boy, in Swiss Country, in the far, far East, in Mexico, on the little French children, the Australian children, the English boys, the children in Zimbabwe, on Christmas night and the fishes of the deep; the koala prays, God bless the Moon and God bless me.It is a delightful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Margaret Wise Brown, beloved author of Goodnight Moon, passed away 56 years ago but not before she began writing a charming new story. The unpublished manuscript for The Moon Shines Down was found in an old trunk and completed by talented children's book publisher, Laura Minchew. Now this wonderful book is available to add to your collection and is sure to be a hit!The Moon Shines Down is based on the New England sampler prayer, God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me, which makes it even more of a special bedtime read for me and my daughter. The words are soothing and poetical and the whimsical paintings draw you in I felt compelled to take in every detail and enjoy the atmosphere of each picture.Upon opening The Moon Shines Down to the first page, I was greeted by a spotted cow happily munching on a red tulip in the moonlight. We can peer into a window, lace curtains brushed aside by the breeze, and spy a blond little boy peacefully sleeping in his bed, a half smile on his face. The scene is adorable, and so are the scenes that follow!In SwitzerlandWhere the cowbells ring,The Moon shines downAnd the Nightingales sing.The mountains riseInto moonlit skies,And the children dream of edelweiss.We continue along to visit children in the Swiss Country, the Far, Far East, Mexico, France, Australia, England, and all over the world, being reminded that the moon shines down on them as well as us, and even in the ocean deep.This timeless childrens story will definitely be a favorite in our family! Who wouldnt want to gently drift to sleep to these soothing words:I see the MoonAnd the Moon sees me.God bless the Moon.And God bless me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pam
The Moon Shines Down is a beautiful hardcover book, and I immediately was drawn to its familiar-looking illustrations, so similar to the classic we've loved forever and a day -- Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown.After reading it myself and then reading it to my children, I was pleasantly surprised with the story line and the feeling of revisiting an old favorite, rather than trying to embrace something new.This story is straightforward and simple, yet charming and engaging throughout. The illustrations are colorful and whimsical, incredibly pleasant and child-friendly. The reading is easy for an early reader to manage, but I would recommend cuddling up on the sofa and reading it together with your children in order to savor the story with them. The Moon Shines Down will certainly make a great gift for the preschool and elementary children on your Christmas list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Honestly, this is probably one of the best children's books I have ever had the privilege to read. It has a wonderful rhythm that is reminiscent of her most well known and loved book "Goodnight Moon". But this book is so much more than that. This story has longer stanzas per page and is perfect for a read-to or a learning-to-read story. It is short enough for nap or bedtime, and long enough to be a one book night and to cause conversations and questions. The moon shines down on all the world, and this book is an educational tool to teach about the people and some animals around all the world.For me this book is an absolute winner and I am so grateful that it was found and plan that my entire family should have a copy of their own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Horton
The illustrations are full colored, with vibrant backgrounds and lively children in the foreground. This book will be a treasured addition to your little ones collection. This is one of those books that your family will treasure for a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Desiree
Today, I read my children The moon shines down. My boys are 7 and 2. They were fascinated by it. The illustrations are colorful and fit the story perfectly. They had fun looking for the Koala on every page. There are a variety of animals for kids to look at. Some they had never heard of, and so we went online to look them up. As a mother, I appreciated the diversity of the children, and the different countries that are portrayed in the story. This of course led to a discussion about how God created the entire world. And I was able to show them where the countries are located on the globe. My favorite page was the Nativity Scene. The rhyme is repetitious, allowing children to read along. The book is very durable, allowing it to last for years to come. I believe Margaret Wise Brown, would be proud of the way her unfinished story has been completed. I plan on buying this book for my niece. It was beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tom Parsons
"The Moon Shines Down" is based on the New England sampler prayer God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me and evokes memories of the author's earlier works. The cadence of the rhymes brought back memories similar to reuniting with a long lost friend.Adding to the storys charm are the wonderful illustrations by Linda Bleck. Ms. Bleck weaves into her illustrations numerous elements from the story which add to the impact of the text. The illustrations are bold and use bright colors which are sure to be of tremendous appeal to younger readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky
Yesterday, I received the book The Moon Shines Down by Margaret Wise Brown to review. Beck is best known for her book Goodnight Moon, which is basically a bedtime or nap time story that is beloved by children and parents alike. The Moon Shines Down, which which is based on a New England Sampler prayer, "God bless the moon and God bless me," was found unfinished, tucked away in a trunk in a barn, long after Beck's death. Laura Minchew, a children's book publisher and Beck fan, decided to complete it.I liked the idea of the story. A little koala bear tours the world, commenting on the fact that God sees His children wherever they are. I loved Laura Bleck's illustrations, which are enough to catch the eye of younger and older readers alike. The approximate rhyme that is used in some of the verses bogs down the rhythm, though. The book is recommended for readers aged 3-8, and while I can see the younger readers being entranced by the illustrations if the book were read to them, I think older readers would lose interest because of the inconsistent nature of the rhyme. It lacks the soothing rhythm that is needed for early readers and for what obviously is intended as a bedtime book.If I were to purchase this book for my grandsons, who are 4 and 6, I would keep it at my house and read it to them before bed. At home, I think it would just sit on their shelves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peggy Erickson
The book is beautifully illustrated in bright colors and printed on high quality, heavy weight paper which should help it stand up to reading by children. The illustrations follow the flow of the text and one character, a koala, appears throughout the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
The Moon Shines Down is being published for the first time ever after being found deserted in a trunk! It was written by Margaret Wise Brown, the author of Goodnight Moon; my mom read that book to me many times when I was little kid. It is funny that both books had to do with the moon :). Laura Minchew finished the incomplete manuscript. This book is a cute story for children. The illustrations are very bright and colorful. The story is told in poetic form and it is told from the point of view of a little koala. The koala travels from the Australian outback to China to England to Mexico and onto other countries. I am sure the pictures of children and scenery from around the world will be appealing to children. The "theme" of the book is that the moon shines on everyone in the world...on children everywhere. It reminds me of a Bible verse. "He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous." Matthew 5:45 Do I like the book? Yes and no. I think the illustrations were nice and as I said, the story was cute but it is for young children. A verse from the book that sums this review up well is, "God Bless the Moon And God Bless me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
john umland
Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown is one of my favorite books to read to small children, especially at bedtime. My youngest just turned nine so those days are long gone in my household.Sigh.I enjoyed so much the rhythm, cadence, and meter of that book. It just rolled off the tongue. I recently received a lost book of Ms. Browns for review, titled The Moon Shines Down. The introduction states that this book is based on the New England sampler prayer,I see the moonand the moon sees meThe moon sees the somebody I'd like to see.God bless the moonand God bless meGod bless the somebody I'd like to see!Unfortunately, the publisher felt the manuscript was too short for a standard size picture book, so they asked a fan of Ms. Browns to fill it out. The introduction continues that the supplemental author, Laura Minchew, was able to capture Browns unique rhythms and rhyme schemes. Unique is an adequate euphemism, because the rhythms and schemes are wooden and out of sync or rhyme. One example of odd rhyme is And the Moon sees the kids in Mexico/.//And God bless the Toucan and her funny nose. That one hurts.The flow of the story is stilted. It seems to go from children in foreign countries, to animals in Australia, to Christmas, to the sea. I didnt see a progression. Perhaps there was a reason Ms. Brown "lost" the manuscript.The pictures are nice, and Im sure a small child would enjoy pointing at the creatures and people in the pictures, but the parent who has to read the same story over and over again will make sure this book finds an out of reach spot on the bookshelf.I have one offense with this book. The rhyme reads And all the children in every country / In Australia, Norway, and Italy,/ Africa,. Africa is a continent, not a country. We dont want our children someday to be accused of not knowing that important fact.Unfortunately, I have to give this book a thumbs down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Moon Shines Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Steve Pedersen
Buy this book! And give it to a child! What a delight for the eyes, ears and heart, "Moon Shines Down" is a thing of beauty in every sense - words, art, and message.Thomas Nelson has done a good deed in publishing this children's book. I was reading it right after I received it today and thought - I wish I were a grandpa! I would love to see the expressions and field the questions author, Margaret Wise Brown and illustrator, Linda Bleck would generate in the mind of a young child.You take a trip around the world asking God to bless children from diverse cultures. How necessary it is to help children expand their idea of the world they are a part of. And to learn that God cares for his beautiful and diverse creation as well!The illustrations are done in vibrant, rich color and jump right out at you. Yet, the detailing draws you further into the story. I really liked how the little koala bear travels form scene to scene, country to country and we can see the unique "landmarks" from each continent. This would be a great book for a Christmas present because it has toe pages devoted to Christmas and the Christ Child. The book is a blessing - God bless this book and God bless you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.