Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1

Thomas Nelson Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1

Share the joy and wonder of God's Word with the children in your life.

Thirteen essential lessons of scripture starring the Bible's best-known characters. The Read And Share™ Bible on DVD combines an enchanting art style with a warm narrator and gentle musical underscore to transport kids back to Biblical times. The bite-size vignettes are perfect for the attention span of little ones, and give parents maximum flexibility to fit any time-frame. Approx. 60 minutes.

Stories include: "The Beginning", "Adam & Eve", "The Flood", "Abram", "Isaac & Rebekah", "Jacob & Esau", "Rachel", "Jacob & God", "John the Baptist", "Jesus is Born", "Jesus is Tempted", "Jesus Love Children", and "One Lost Sheep".

DVD Special Features:

  • Dolby 5.4 Surround Sound Stereo
  • Widescreen and Fullscreen Versions
  • Interviews with "real kids"
  • "Behind the Scenes"
  • Trailers
  • Coloring Pages
  • Auto-Start
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.659 out of 5
    4.7
     out of 
    5
    (44 Reviews) 44
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
    5 stars
    34
    4 stars
    7
    3 stars
    2
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    1
    2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 2 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Review 1 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Product is excellent.

    Date:November 9, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Dash
    Location:W. Kentucky
    Age:25-34
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I love it for teaching Children's Church. The kids love it too.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:November 12, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    storyteller
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    These were simple to understand and biblical. I purchased the series 1-4, for my Sunday School class for children ages 2-5 and they are working out well. The children do not have a long attention span, and they work because they are short vingettes.
    My 71/2 year old loved them, too!
    -4points
    0of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 3, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Tiffany Rule
    So pure and good. My boys are learning the scripture and getting the special treat of a video!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 14, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Melanie Mckay
    This series of Read and Share (volumes 1-4) is the BEST way to introduce Bible stories to young children. My twin girls are 15 months and they can sit and watch these DVD'S for hours!!! They are completely mesmerized with the colourful animation, beautiful music, and excellent story narrators. My husband and I have even learned more about the Bible watching these with them. Absolutely the best thing we've ever bought them, along with Max Lucado's Hermie & Friends series.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 7, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    TracyT
    My grandkids and Sunday School class LOVE this series! Awesome animation, well done. My 3 year old grandson amazes people with his Bible story knowledge because of these!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Yelena Reyes
    It is an excellent dvd, because it helps all ages to learn about the first stories from the bible. I love it!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 15, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Kristine Ahrens
    My children love it. ages 2 and 4. Every day they ask to watch it. My 4 yr. old is now Baptizing her dolls. I ordered the whole set and the book after watching the video. It really brings the bible to life for them.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 15, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Donna Wingard
    I have been using this DVD in my 4 & 5 year old church class. It has been a wonderful supplement to my teaching about Bible heroes. The children ask to see the stories over again because they enjoy them so much.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Micheline Theriault
    It's a very nice way for kids to hear about the bible stories. The characters are cute. I only wish it would be translated in french.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 14, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Arlene Young
    I had ordered the Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1 & #2 as a Christmas gift for our grandchildren, aged 4 & 18 months.They have both thoroughly enjoyed the DVD's.The stories are delightful vignettes of the bible stories, portrayed by an array of cute bible characters.The DVD's have definitely been worth the money invested, as our older grandson now asks questions regarding the stories, and even acts them out!We prefer to invest the Word of God into their lives, versus cable cartoons.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 27, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Jolene Allison
    Great! My husband and I used it in our toddler (2 and 3 yr old) Sunday school class for the first time for Christmas. The kids loved it. We read the story to them first, then played the 3 minute video. They were much more focused when watching the video with the cute graphics. It was just the right length of time to hold their attention. This will be a great tool to aid our lessons in the future. I would like to get the whole series.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 28, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Evelyn Brown
    I used this in my toddler. We purchased the Bible and the first 3 DVDs. We were studying Moses and I put it on the story we had covered. The kids sat and watched the rest of the DVD. They ask for it all the time.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 27, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Roanna Weilmeier
    Great little movies for our 6 year old! He enjoys watching these short stories more than any other children's videos that we have. Definitely worth the money, regardless of your child's age. My 12 year old niece enjoys them just as much as our son.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 20, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Andrew
    The Read and Share Bible DVD (Volume 1) tells thirteen Bible stories from the Old and New Testaments. The vignettes, each of which are about three minutes long, include the stories of creation, Adam and Eve, The Flood, Abram, Isaac and Rebekah, Jacob and Esau, Rachel (I almost had to explain polygamy to my four-year old), the birth of Jesus, John the Baptist and Jesus baptism, the temptation of Jesus, miracles of Jesus, and the parable of the Prodigal Son.The video is very well done. The animation style was interesting and colorful. The narration and background music was pleasant. I found the whole presentation peaceful, unlike so many of the loud and hyperactive cartoons common today. Even so, it did keep the attention of a two-year old, a three-year old (although he left about halfway through), a four-year old, and a six-year old. My twelve-year old even watched for a while.The stories are obviously abridged for time and age-appropriate content, but the basic information is there and can help make kids familiar with Bible characters.I reviewed this DVD as a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program. For more information visit brb.thomasnelson.com/.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 26, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Uncle Matt
    AWESOME! We purchased a DVD player just to show these short stories. A GREAT addition to compliment your lesson. The children are very attentive because of the simple detail of each stories presentation. Keep producing additional series and we'll definitely keep purchasing them. Thank you so much for your ability to reach children through a short video based on the B.I.B.L.E.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 14, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Nancy Mullins
    My grandchildren and my preschool class love this video! They ask to watch it all the time at home and at Sunday School. I use it in Sunday School to help the children understand the Bible Lesson for the day.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 8, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Cross Cultures Baptist Church
    This is a great product for young children. It's easily usable and adaptable for Bible studies and in home study. Our children love it and get so excited when we get it out.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 5, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Julie Hofer
    This DVD and the 2nd volume are great teaching tools for young children. The stories are simplified but the meaning is not lost.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 1, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Lisa Ho
    This set of DVD is so wonderful, our little ones love the smooth/slow picture moving and sound of reading. We set up for young kids' bible study time, but older kids were curious, and watched with us all the way to the end.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Read and Share DVD Bible Volume #1
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 1, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Christine Carra
    Excellent Video Series. I can't wait until they make more. I will definitely get them. These videos go great with the A Beka Home School Preschool (K4) Curriculum (the Bible portion).
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.