Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life

Tyndale House The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life

Living with joy can be difficult. We live in a negative, conflict-ridden world. When there are so many things set up to steal your joy, how do you overcome? Newberry believes we must first start with our thoughts. Using Philippians 4:8 as a guide, he shows how you can shape your thoughts and thereby influence your attitudes and actions. Take a moment to learn "The 4:8 Principle." By thinking on what is true, noble, just, pure and lovely you too can experience the joy-filled life! 176 pages, hardcover from Tyndale House.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Review 1 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a home based business, and this is a great book about what we focus on! Our thought life is so important in determining our direction, and I recommend this to all of my girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome truth from our Lord and Savior.

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hank
Location:Afton, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The truths shared in this book are time tested and eternal.
Everyone should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

YUCK! Threw it away after the Oprah quote.

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Markham
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yuck! Threw it away after the Oprah quote. To much "word of faith" jargon.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an extraordinary book for all ages!

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
mpatters
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had checked this book out originally from the library and it was so good that I ordered 2 through Christianbook.com. My children are 12 and 17 and we are currently using it as a part of our Bible study with our familly. This book is all about the way you think and how to think God's way using Philippians 4:8 principles. When you study the Bible and see how your thoughts and words effect your present and future this book helps bring out and emphasize the importance of renewing the mind. All in all this is a great book to refer back to and to continually have the joy filled live God wants us to live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS PRODUCT IS EASY READ AND VERY PRACTICAL

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
PURPLE PASSION
Location:BUFFALO,NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK, EASY READ AND IT GIVES YOU PRACTICAL STEPS ON HOW TO EXPERIENCE REAL JOY. I'M A SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHER AND THIS BOOK WILL BE OUR TEXTBOOK FOR THE NEXT 2 QUARTERS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Anne Mackness
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book so encouraging and challenging that I purchased three to give to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my favorite books next to the Bible!

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
dawn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book does an excellent job of helping everyone discover the true source of joy. By giving practical, brilliant advice that lines up with scripture & truth, Tom Newberry lays out "the obvious" with wisdom. It's so easy to read, process, and apply! LOVE IT! I have recommended this book to my business associates, friends, and we are even reading it as a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book worth sharing!

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cleo W Preston
Location:Martinsville, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The principles illustrated in this book are straight from the Word of God. They are so simple yet so profound. The prayers at the end of each section are terrific jump starters for your own personal prayer life. I'm buying several books for Christmas presents. I have already shared the basic principle in the noonday prayer service at Church. We read Phil. 4:8 in nine different translations and by the time we finished all of us were bubbling over with the joy of the Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Heldstab
This is absolutely the most wonderful reading...EVER! In the first chapter alone, I almost used an entire PINK highlighter. It's all we know to be true, and it's written in a way that brings Christ front and center to our minds and those 50,000 thoughts we have in a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maureen Pelico
This is a great book. I did it as part of a women's bible study group and it is the best book I ever read. I bought it for my family for this holiday season to spread a joy-filled life onto them. I would highly recommend reading this and passing it on to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The 4:8 Principle--The Secret to a Joy-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joanne Christoffel
Thank you Tom Newberry for being obedient and writing this book. The 4:8 Principle has changed my mindset in business and in my personal life. I have recommended it to my family and friends and you can hear the joy in their voice as they receive it and begin to read it! It has helped me to succeed with some big goals in my business. Thank you again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.