Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2

Tyndale House Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2

With one solved case under her belt, PJ Sugar is ready to dive into her career as a private investigator. Or at least a PI's assistant until she can prove herself to Jeremy Kane, her new boss. Suddenly PJ's seeing crime everywhere. But is it just in her head, or can she trust her instincts? When she takes on her first official case-house-sitting for a witness in protective custody-Jeremy assures her there's no danger involved. But it soon becomes clear that there is someone after the witness . . . and now they're after PJ, too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Review 1 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
What is love? One thing PJ does discover is that love is more than a feeling! Susan May Warren has created a honest, humorous and smart heroine in PJ, who constantly seems to be tripping over her own feet and making promises that she can't keep. The sparks between PJ and Jeremy fly right off the page and will have readers just as torn between Boone and Jeremy as PJ is. PJ is out to prove she has what she can to become a real investigator. Shes determined to do whatever it takes to get the job done. I also enjoyed the fact that PJ really does want to do what God has asked her to do; she just isnt quite sure what that is. She seeks His help but cant seem to see herself or her situation the way God does. I can relate to PJ and enjoyed her. I found myself in stitches several times throughout this story. I really liked this novel, it was entertaining, but thought provoking, tender, but mysteriously deep. I like the spiritual thread and the struggle PJ encountered throughout the course of this book - to find out just what God had in store for her life. Its a struggle that most of us face and could relate to. I also enjoyed the fun cast-off zany characters and the mystery PJ tries to get to the bottom of. I'm very thankful that I received a review copy of this book and I have to say, I totally recommend both books in this series. Im looking forward to reading Licensed for Trouble, in stores soon. Nora St.LaurentThe Book Club Networkwww.bookfun.org
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
This has to be one of the best books I have read this year. And PJ Sugar is the perfect heroine!I just loved this novel, it was funny, charming, a neat love story and characters that quickly infuse themselves into your day. PJ Sugar wants to be a PI, but everywhere she turns trouble abounds, screaming chinchillas, a Russian in law involved in a car theft ring, and an attempted kidnapping involvingsmelly gym socks?? The dialogue in this book really keeps the reader riveted, its snazzy and to the point and occasionally laugh out loud funny! All of the scenes in the book are visual and gripping. I was brought right into the moment and never released for even a second. This book was very hard to put down!The love triangle between Boone, PJ and Jeremy is sizzling with unexpected turns and I seriously cannot wait for book three to find out how PJ makes her mind up. I hope we figure out her name too!All in all a stand up great book. With action, romance, laughter, the perfect heroine and a two heart stopping heros, this book is one of my all time favorites and I am looking forward to reading more about PJ in book three! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Boone's change in character from book one was interesting. Jeremy really nailed the ex-SEAL statuesque persona. PJ's indecision to marry based on her faith was very refreshing. Nice supporting cast, especially the Rockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
Susan May Warren is a prolific and talented writer. Her latest book, Double Trouble, is the second novel chronicling the life of PJ Sugar.PJ Sugar is a late-twenty-something lady who finds herself in the middle of all sorts of escapades. In this novel, she has just returned to her hometown of Kellogg, Minnesota, and is trying her hand at being a private investigator. She is working under the tutelage of Jeremy Kane, PI. Jeremy is charmed and fascinated by PJ as are most people with whom she comes into contact. As explained by Susan May Warren in the Authors Note:The PJ Sugar series is all about discovering that God has great plans for even messy girls like PJ, like me. He likes them! He made them that way, and He doesnt expect them to be perfect. (p. 334)Other characters in the novel are Detective Boone Buckam, her high school sweetheart, and PJs sister Connie, with whom she is living temporarily. Their mother, Elizabeth, also lives there, along with Connies four year old son Davy, her new Russian husband, Sergei, and his parents Boris and Vera. Despite missing a few details on what happened to PJ prior to the events of this novel, I still think this is a standalone novel; I had not read the first PJ Sugar novel, Nothing but Trouble. However, this one was so much fun that I think Id like to double back! The third PJ Sugar novel, tentatively titled Licensed for Trouble, will be out later this year. It will be fun to follow the adventures of Miss Sugar and see which gentleman she may end up with!This book was provided to me by Tyndale House Publishers in association with the LitFuse Publicity firm.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Double Trouble by Susan May Warren is the second title in the PJ Sugar series. PJ has embraced her new role as private detective, even if her boss Jeremy isn't trusting her the way she'd like and her ex-boyfriend and police officer Boone doesn't think she's up to the challenge. They both have to change their tune when PJ undertakes a case that forces her to impersonate a woman in the Witness Protection Program and is sure that her life in is danger. PJ embraces the challenge, despite the threat of exposure. Warren has created a humorous and smart heroine in PJ who constantly seems to be tripping over her own feet and making promises that she can't keep. The sparks between PJ and Jeremy fly right off the page and will have readers just as torn between Boone and Jeremy as PJ is. Warren's writing is never cliched and she delights in upending readers' expectations. This is one series that I hope lasts for twenty or more books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherrie Dykes
What can you say,Susan May Warren never disappoints. Double Trouble was fun and entertaining, with a good dose of just how very much God loves us, even with all our imperfections. One of those books where you can't wait to finish it but you don't want to see it end. Can't wait for the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirl Stroud
This is a great book. I am looking forward to book 3 in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathryn
I did enjoy the book. It was a bit slow to start, but then it really got going and kept you wrapped up in it till the end. An easy read, but definitely kept you thinking. I don't usually like mystery books, but this one was sort of mystery light and even I could think up a few outcomes that were valid, although Susan completely surprised me by the ending. Very good. I liked it. It also seemed that Susan had a realistic balance of God and life. I'm a pastors wife and some of the Christian fiction can go a bit heavy, even for me. I felt it was a good book to give to a searching friend. Overall I enjoyed the book and will continue to look for books written by Susan May Warren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Double Trouble, P.J. Sugar Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
KidsandCakes
The story is filled with all the things I loved about the first book: P.J. getting herself into dangerous situations that she thinks she can handle by herself, but never can; two guys fighting both to protect, and love her--one a former Navy SEAL, and her boss-- the other, her high school sweetheart and fellow trouble-maker turned police detective. Romance, mystery, and lots and lots of laugh-out-loud humor make this yet another of my favorite Susan May Warren books. It's a fun and entertaining read that holds your attention and leaves you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.