Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson My Little Girl

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson My Little Girl

Katie is excited about spending a special day with her dad--just the two of them. He's promised it's going to be a spectacular day, so he must be planning something remarkable. But when he tells her that it's going to be a nothing-in-particular day, Katie is disappointed. What they do end up doing, however, makes the day very special indeed as father and daughter savor the simple joys of baby ducks, cloud gazing and swinging. As her dad tucks her into bed that night, Katie realizes that a nothing-in-particular day is the most spectacular kind of day when it's spent with someone you love. With exuberant illustrations, bursting with all the wonder and energy of a little girl, this book is a delightful reminder that fathers and daughters spending time together is what really matters since simple moments, laughter and knowing you are loved builds lasting relationships. Recommended for ages 3 to 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Little Girl
Review 1 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful illustration.

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
nonna
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for the perfect gift for a couple of special little girls when they come visit this summer in Texas. This is just what I was looking for! The pictures are wonderful and the story is short and sweet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tiera Aubrey
This book was SOOO cute. My husband read it outloud (we're still pregnant), so our little girl could hear daddy read to her early-on. We enjoyed the story but were surprised that it was more like a combination of little happenings in Katie's life than an actual typical story with a beginning, middle, and end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Jane Harris
My Little Girl, a picture book for girls, written by Tim Mc Graw and Tom Douglas, is a charming story, perfect for snuggling together with daddy at bedtime. It is about a special, nothing-in-particular, spectacular day with a dad, his daughter Katie and their dog Palio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
My Little Girl is the story of a little girl and her daddy and the wonderful day they share together enjoying each others company. Doing simple things such as watching animals or clouds can be special when you do them with someone you love. There are many illustrations; they are cute. I like the fact that this book promotes a loving relationship between dads and daughters which is really important. Dads must protect, provide for, instruct, discipline, and love their daughters. Daughters must embrace their dads protection, honor them, help them, further their vision, and love them. The dad-daughter relationship is sadly neglected nowadays. Daughters, it is great to confide in your mom but please, confide in your dad, too. Tell your dad what you appreciate about him; look for ways to help him. Do not worry about your dad not being perfect; you are not perfect, either. Your dad is unique; he will have different strengths and struggles than other men. Just as you have different abilities and weaknesses than other girls. Do not compare you dad to other dads. And do not forget how important it is to remember to say these three words sincerely: I love you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
southeastcountrywife
This is a beautiful book for little girls with a very positive family message. It is 'merely' the story of Katie spending a very ordinary day with her daddy as she discovers that a "nothing in particular day can still be "spectacular day" when you are spending it together with somebody that you love.The actual story seemed a little disjointed to me. It reads more like a two-page commentary on the particular illustrated activity Katie is doing rather than a day of flow-on events. However, I think that any little girl would love this book and would probably not notice in the least what felt disjointed to me.Regardless, it is beautifully illustrated and that alone makes it a delight to read. There are some lovely lines where Katie's daddy tells her how special she is to him and how much he loves her (and she loves him). It is a sweet book for daddies to read to their little girls and inspire some memory-making of their own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2008
This was such a delightful book. Father/Daughter relationship. What a day with dad can do to a little girl's spirit. Turning a nothing-in-particular day into an extraordinary-special day. the daughter is just happy spending the day with her dad.The illustrator, Julia Denos, did a fabulous job at depicting the scenes. The book is so girly: Pink. The pictures are as exuberant as the story, itself. It is a keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynnette Bonner
My Little Girl is about a little gal who is looking forward to spending the day with her daddy. They are going to have a wonderful, better than chocolate ice-cream with sprinkles kind of day. But when her dad tells her that they are going to do nothing in particular she is worried her day will be no fun.The story was very cute and had a wonderful message about just enjoying the small things of life with those precious to you; taking time out to find the special in the mundane and enjoy it. Ducks doing the samba, new-born bunnies, even brushing your teeth all have wonderful joyous potential when experienced with those we love. I especially appreciated the emphasis on fathers spending time with their little girls. There are not enough books about that out there.If you buy this book for no other reason, buy it for the pictures. They are wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carole Robinson
What a cute little book! The story is of a daddy & "his little girl" spending a day together. A Daddy-date! Though Katie expected something "spectacular" and prepared for it, the day was quite different than she imagined.This author (daddy, Country singer Super Star) could have written about any of the extraordinarily expensive days he most likely has spent on and with his daughter. But he chose simplicity to show the SPECTACULAR love he has for his daughter. And the love all daddy's (and mom's) can show to their children without breaking the bank!And the illustrations are adorable. Art gallery quality, with love.Another book worth placing on your bookshelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Penny Raine
If you have seen Flicka, you will recognize Katie, and of course Tim McGraw. This book is about a Daddy and his little girl. They spend the day together doing nothing special but the day itself becomes special. It is about relationship. It is about what families are supposed to be like. The message of the book and the story are very simple. Love one another. The story is cute, the illustrations are adorable, and the message is timeless. My take- Well, I really thought this would be a fun one. Our daughter Mercy is 6 and really loves to read with Daddy. Usually he is reading his bible and she is reading hers, but sometimes when they are done, he will read her one of her little people books. When I saw this book I thought they would both love it and boy was I right. Not only is it extremely cute and colorful but it is just everything a Daddy and daughter day should be. Shall I remind you again, our children want our time. It is more valuable than anything we can buy them. When this book came in the mail yesterday I immediately opened it and gave it to Mercy to see. She carried it around all day and showed everyone. It was a definite hit in this house. In fact Mercy now wants to write her own book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Little Girl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Desiree
Tim McGraw wrote a fun but simple story of a father and daughter spending the day with one another. They do nothing in particular, but the entire day is special to them. They look at animals, dance, swing, and look at the clouds. This book shows the great bond that a father and daughter have. Julia Denos has done a beautiful job with the illustrations. They are colorful and fun to look at. The end of the book has a page where a dad and daughter can write about their own special day. This book will be a favorite for little girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.