Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition

Thomas Nelson Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Review 1 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nolan
I have read all 3 of the books and find them to be very inspiring and inspirational to say the least but God given..what a wonderful and amazing young woman. When my heart aches for peace and encouragement i look forward to finding strength in the pages of this tremendous young lady.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
pinkgirl
this is an amazing book. very inspiring. it was amazing how rachel knew before that she was going to die. and the picture she drew of her eyes crying 13 tears that turned into drops of blood onto a rose was prophetic. 13 people died at the Columbine shooting. wow. very good book. i enjoyed reading the excerpts in this book from rachel's journals. also recommend the book "she said yes" about cassie burnall and the columbine tragedy that took her life as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this book. The first chapter told the story of how the events of April 20th 1999 enfolded from the parents' point of view, which was compelling to read and actually moved me to tears. But after that, a lot of the chapters simply recounted aspects of Rachel Scott's spiritual life. Although I was inspired by how strong her relationship with God was as well as her creativity in her drawings and poems, I felt that this got a little repetitive and I'm not quite sure how they spun this out for several chapters. Maybe others who aren't used to spiritual gifts and intense relationships with God would have found these chapters more interesting, but I began to skim-read when I realised that I was reading the same thing written with different words. I have a feeling that this book was written to convince the general public that Rachel Scott was not an angel, but simply a normal teenage girl. However, I was convinced as soon as the book told me that - I didn't need to read a hundred pages proving this! What did interest me, however, was the parents' explanations of the events of April 20th 1999, their opinions on why school shootings happen, and their comments on their daughter's murderers. I'm not saying that I wasn't inspired by Rachel Scott's life - just that I didn't need to read seven chapters about her relationship with God in order to be inspired. This is definitely a book for Christians, and I would recommend it to those who aren't used to having an intense relationship with God, or are "lukewarm" Christians. I think it would appeal more to this audience than people like me, who come from churches that hold Healing Outpouring meetings and have a Movement in Worship team. I also think that this book would appeal more to Christians. Although non-Christians might find the comments about the actual shooting interesting, I don't think many of them would care for the notes on Rachel Scott's spiritual life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristy
Rachel's Tears is the story of Rachel Scott, a seventeen-year-old victim of the Columbine school shooting in April 1999. Rachel's Tears was first written around a year after the shooting and this copy is a special edition marking the ten-year anniversary of the tragedy. Rachel, along with Cassie Bernall (She Said Yes) were two students that it seems were shot because of their faith in Jesus Christ while some other students were shot because they were athletes or a minority group.I read the first edition of the book probably within the first year or so after it's release. I remember being very impressed by the faith of Rachel, evidenced by her journal entries. I also bought the video "Untold Stories of Columbine" and both would have been on my "highly recommended" list. With this anniversary edition, it was interesting to read an update on her family ten years down the road.This time around, I still really enjoyed reading Rachel's journal entries but I didn't so much appreciate a lot of the commentary that went along with the book. Personally, I would rather just read Rachel's thoughts in her own words rather than additional outside commentary on them. But maybe that's just me!There were a few things I found mildly disturbing within the additional commentary but, all in all, it is well worth a read--particularly for young people. In light of my own journey, I found Rachel's refreshing honest journalling especially enjoyable and there is no doubt that her life touched many others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen
Can you believe it was 10 years ago today that we watched in horror as the tragedy at Columbine in Littleton, Colorado claimed the lives of 12 students and one teacher? I just finished reading Rachel's Tears, a book about Columbine victim, Rachel Scott, written by her parents.It is truly a fascinating book of a young woman who was not scared to stand up for her faith in her Savior, Jesus Christ. As you read the journal entries and see the drawings of this amazing young woman, you can't help to wonder if she walked in the gift of prophecy. Even the title of the book, Rachel's Tears, is based on a sketch she did the morning she was martyred for her faith. Her eyes, with 13 tears flowing down onto a flower. Thirteen people were killed that day before the shooters turned the guns on themselves.This book inspired and challenged me in many ways. Through the pages I saw weaved the importance of relationship versus religion. Rachel was able to reach out to so many people because she didn't shove religion down anyone's throat. She was very open about her love for Jesus, but she had an amazing love for people and reached out to them simply because she wanted to and because they had value. Isn't that what Jesus was about? In my own life, I don't want religion to get in the way of loving people.I would definitely recommend this book. I felt like I couldn't put it down. You will feel challenged in the way you interact with other people and to start "Rachel's chain reaction."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michele Phelps
It is an awesome book. When I read it, it really convicted me to look at my own relationship with God. Just to read about Rachel Scott's relationship with God makes me really admire her as a role model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Beckman
RACHELS TEARSBy Beth Nimmo & Darrell ScottWhat encouragement this book, Rachel's Tears, has been to me. Written by her parents, Beth Nimmo and Darrell Scott, after their daughter was one of the fatalities in the Columbine High School tragic shootings in Littleton, Colorado, on April 20, 1999.Interspersed throughout the book are excerpts from Rachel's journal. Rachel was a Christian; however, it was not until after her death when her parents read her journal did they truly realize the depth of Rachels personal relationship with God.Although Rachel experienced the normal peer pressure of a typical teenager, she did not try to hide her walk of faith. I felt extreme respect for Rachel and read in awe as her journal portrayed a young girl with compassion for others in the world students, adults, animals, plants everything that God made on this earth.At times I felt inferior to Rachel as she honestly and candidly journaled about her bold relationship with God. I have been a Christian for 25 years and my own walk with God is not as bold as this 17-year-old girls had been.Rachel was a God-centered girl, with an extremely intimate relationship with God. One of her philosophies was, Dont let your character change with your environment.She was a true, without-a-doubt martyr as evidenced by her response to the question asked by her shooter, Do you believe in God? Her reply was boldly stated, You know I do, immediately before she was shot in the head.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marti
On May 2nd, 1998, Rachel Joy Scott penned the following words:"This will be my last year, Lord. I have gotten what I can. Thank you."On April 20th, 1999, the United States was devastated by a school shooting in Columbine, CO; among the dead lay Rachel Scott. Though dead, this was not the end of her story. Her parents began reading her journals, which showed them her mistakes and shortcomings, her hopes and dreams, but most of all, her deeply rooted faith in her Creator. In 2000, Her parents published Rachel's Tears, a biography of sorts that chronicled her walk with God, complete with excerpts from her journal. This book has now been re-released by Thomas Nelson to remind a new generation of the frailty of life, but also to challenge them to a deeper walk with God. Reading through this book, we wonder how God could use such a tragedy for His glory. This is best explained at the end, where we realize the full meaning behind the title. Rachel shows through a drawing the impact that she would have on lives across the country through her and the 12 other students deaths. Through this book, her prophecy holds true as they continue to impact the lives of many, bring them to a deeper walk with God, as well as a greater understanding of God's infinite wisdom and strength. This book shows God's perfect strength in the face of tragedy, but also challenges you to re-examine your faith and give your all to Him to be used to impact the world. 5/5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Greenacre
How did Rachel Scott know she was going to die on April 20, 1999? There is no way she could have predicted her tragic death, but the evidence left in her journals tells us somehow, she knew. In one of many similar entries she says, This will be my last year Lord. I have gotten what I can. Thank you.With a great deal of transparency Rachels parents share excerpts from her life and theres during the time leading up to her murder at Columbine High School. Darrell Scott had been a pastor, but when Rachel was 7 he and his wife divorced; he no longer pastored. Even with that traumatic event Rachel developed a relationship with the Lord that her family didnt grasp until her death. As a reader you cant help but become introspective when you see so clearly her deep devotion to the Lord in every aspect of her life. Everything she did, she went to the Lord about and by the time of her death its apparent that her life was certainly orchestrated by God. You have to read it yourself for the impact of her final moments. She was prepared for it her whole life and she did the right thing. The meaning of Rachels tears doesnt come together until the end as an amazing prophecy of the thirteen killed that April Colorado day in 1999 was revealed in her own drawing. There can be no doubt to the doubter that there is a great God who will guide our lives if we just allow it. This book is a life changer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Rachels Tears is a must-read for parents of teenagers and those who work with themministers, educators, mentors, and such. Rachels father thinks of her life as an example of the amazing things that can happen when any of us, no matter how ordinary, open our hearts to Gods deep and boundless love (p. 69). In contrast, Rachels killers lives show what happens when people open their hearts to sin, bitterness, evil, and hate. The Columbine school shootings were truly a spiritual event, as Rachels father describes them, showing clearly the two paths that all people must choose between.This book is not the story of Columbine, but rather a look into the extraordinarily spiritual life of a young girl devoted to Christ. Even before the shooting, Rachel was not afraid to stand up for what she believed in, loving the outcast, facing rejection, serving Christ, and growing in His grace every day. Her life, brief as it was, is an example for us all. Im thankful that her parents were willing to share her story and excerpts from her journal to help us understandto show Gods work in her life and what He can do through ours when we surrender ourselves to Him.Rachels Tears is a story of hope, encouraging people to serve Christ wholeheartedly by serving one another in love that events like Columbine wont repeat themselves, that our teens will choose the brighter path and follow only God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Wilson
Ten years after the tragedy at Columbine, Rachel Scotts story of faith is revisited. In Rachels Tears, Beth Nimmo and Darrell Scott, Rachels parents, relate the days of their lives before, during and after the shooting at Columbine High School, which took their daughters life.They tell of personal struggles with their loss as well as struggles and blessings in the life of a Christian family. Through these stories and journal entries by their daughter, they give insight into Rachel Scotts hopes, beliefs and spiritual walk with God.I was particularly touched by one account of forgiveness, an echo of Gods perfect grace and the ability of those in pain to find light in the midst of darkness.The book had an enduring theme of triumph over tragedy but made the most impact through Rachels journal entries and her parents reflection of her time on Earth. A reminder to us that life can be a challenging but rewarding backdrop for us in which to grow closer to God and stand up for the truth and whats right.Though the story was difficult to read emotionally, the larger and more important impression was that God, even through one person, can leave an inspirational and encouraging legacy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Rachel Scott was one of the 13 people shot and killed in the Columbine High School shooting on April 20, 1999. This book was written by her parents to help the world know more about their daughter and her deep desire to live for the Lord.This was not a book for reading enjoyment, but a book to help open the readers eyes to Rachel's life here on earth. There are parts of this book that are hard to read. It is emotional and you can feel the pain of her parents. Their pain is real and raw and my heart ached for them as I read it. But most importantly you see the love they have for their daughter and the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
This is a book I can't read without crying. Everytime I read it, I think long and hard on what is most important in my life.You will walk away from this book with a renewed sense of God's amazing grace. This is a great book for someone who wants to know hope in a world that doesn't feel very hopeful. If you let it, your thoughts on life and death will be changed. I don't know of anyone whose heart and soul wouldn't be touched by Rachel's tears and her story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rachel's Tears: The Spiritual Journey of Columbine Martyr Rachel Scott, 10th Anniversary Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Rachels Tears, written by Darrell Scott and Beth Nimmo, tells the story of Rachel Scott, one of the students killed in the Columbine tragedy. Being able to read about this horrific day from the viewpoint of people directly affected and having their lives changed forever makes the incident more real and personal to the reader as this is an issue of great concern in todays society. Rachel, targeted for her Christian faith, stood for what she believed in and her physical life was taken although her eternal life could not be taken from her. This book is a powerful account of this tragedy from both of Rachels parents and interwoven throughout the book is sections of Rachels journal. This book is an encouragement for young people to stand for their faith in the midst of trials. School violence is constantly increasing and one must hope that something can be done about this. This is a great book for students to read along with parents and adults who not only work with students, but have the hope of school violence decreasing as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.