Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The New Strong-Willed Child

Tyndale House The New Strong-Willed Child

Children are going to challenge authority to see where their boundaries lie. But, for the strong-willed child especially, defining those boundaries can be a full-time, frustrating task for parents. Take heart - with over 2 million copies sold and even more updated advice with this recent printing, this book has become a liberating staple for exasperated parents. Full of the proven, practical advice of Dr. James C. Dobson, you'll find out what makes the strong-willed child tick, how you can shape their will without damaging their spirit, how to guide them successfully into adulthood and much, much more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New Strong-Willed Child
Review 1 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
klatchaw
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Dobson writes a practical guide to dealing with strong willed children. He creates the reason why a child is strong willed and stories from other parents who have come out the other side. Laced throughout the book is staggering and useful statistics that show what other parents are going through and the pattern that has developed. Chapter two is an encouragement to any mother facing a child who will not listen. The book takes the responsibility of child rearing squarely on the parents shoulders and keeps it there. Dr. James Dobson combats in several chapters the idea that corporal punishment is harmful to our children. I personally think that this book will help me raise my child and will help others. Authors often do not deal with ADHD children in their child rearing books, but Dr. Dobson faces it head on and with procession. The book includes help for all age children and a short guide to appropriate discipline for based off the age group. I would recommend this book for all parents even if you have a compliant child. I would not recommend this book for a parent who does not believe corporal punishment should never be used.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for all parents

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JGirl81
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children aren't as strong willed as the children described in the book, however, it is simply an excellent source for understanding your children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very useful

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool in sharpening parenting skills though better understanding of why kids are the way they are. It also helps the parent see strengths and weaknesses in the way they have been parenting, in what has and has not been working. This isen't a cure all, but is a great help, and confidence booster for the parent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
dtdewitt
Location:Belle Plaine, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first Dr. Dobson book and I really enjoyed it. So much of the book made sense and I agreed with.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shorty
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The New Strong Willed Child is a great book with lots of helpfull information. I would recomend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
California Christian
Location:Coachella, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 strong-willed children in my home, so when I heard about this book, I new I needed to read it. I regularly listen to Dr. James Dobson's sermons on the radio and hold a lot of respect for him, and I think that his book is very encouraging to other parents in my shoes. It is important to me that I deal with my children in a way that is encouraging to them and pleasing to God, and this book has given me a lot of inspring tools to do that.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book touches on every issue that we are dealing with in our oldest son. This is a very insightful book that I have recommended to several friends.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
gsage
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good advice with humor and above all compassion for parents and children. Specific advice for every age group from birth to adolescence. Enjoyed the real life stories and questions from other parents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hermineh Piranian
Excellent book, my daughter keeps on refering to the underlines she has made, good for Godly moms and even for not so Godly moms
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Donoho
I used this book on my children in the 70's and bought a couple of the new revisions for my children to use on their children and my daycare parents. It will be put to good use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carlton Jenkins
Someone needs to teach Mr. Dobson a lesson or two about child abuse. He believe that the will of a child must be broken and made to conform with the will of the parent. He recommends physical punishment "of sufficient magnitude to cause genuine tears." After this sadistic display of Christian manliness, he then recommends that you fold the child into your loving arms. This is psychopathology, not pedagogy.
-39points
5of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Billy Clyde Rockett
We gave this as a gift to our son and his wife. We have not read the book but our daughter (an English teacher) found it most valuable in rearing her son, now 11 years old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Satonya
This book helped me deal with my little boy who just has too many of his own thoughts. It helped me control him much more without breaking him in too much, just below the breaking point. Often I would find him asking disconcerting questions, some even concerning evil-ution of all things! I do my best to combat what the public school curriculum trys to smash in his fragile head with materials likes these. Thank you Dr. Dobson!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
JJ
This book a most valuable tool for raising children with hearts towards the Lord. The book talks about getting to the heart of the matter by understanding the condition of a child's heart instead of ONLY disciplining the child for their behavior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy D.
Dr. Dobson has brought to life the challenges my husband and I am dealing with with our little boy. He has helped us to gain more insight into his little personality and given us ways that we can help him to channel all of that energy and shape his will in a way that is positive for our son, pleasant for us, and pleasing to the Lord. I highly recommend Dr. Dobson's book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New Strong-Willed Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joy Jorgensen
The book is not only informative and very insightful, but also written according to God's word. It had me laughing and crying and laughing again. It is VERY well written.I now feel we have a very good guideline to help all of us through these difficult years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.