Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy

Tyndale House NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy

Large 12-point font in a personal size binding make this Bible easy to read and carry.

Deluxe features include:
  • Red letter
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Ribbon marker
  • Full-color maps
  • Presentation pages
  • Book introductions
  • Gilded page edges
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Review 1 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

small size but large print size & great price

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
theotherray
Location:Wixom, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a hard time reading normal print size bibles when lighting is weak. While this is not giant size, I have no problem reading it. If your eyesight is just weak and not really "bad", this is a good bible. I've kept the box and use it to protect the bible. The biggest advantage besides large print size is that the physical size of this bible is really small while still retaining the large print (thin pages). The pages are thick enough so that the opposite side print does not bleed through appreciably (you have to intentionally look real hard to notice). If you can read 10.9 point print size, this is a GREAT bible for you. I also find that the NLT has given me so much more bible insight and' it's a joy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Readable Font Is Much Appreciated

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
CrispinRobles
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn't easy finding a Bible with 11 point font. For me it is the perfect font, and in this Bible, the font is dark, so reading even the red-letter passages is easy. This particular edition is personal-sized, which makes the book handy and easy to carry from point A to point B and back. The binding is excellent. It is smyth-sewn and tight, allowing you to bend the Bible back on itself when reading in the beginning or final books.
Unfortunately the cover is a poorly executed bonded leather that doesn't look as if it will hold up very long. It is not soft and supple like more expensive covers, such as calfskin, goatskin or even some of the faux leathers. I will be sending this book out for rebinding in calfskin. The expense is worth it to me, as the binding really is superb and, as mentioned, 11 point font is a rare find. I plan to use this Bible for a long time.
One other problem is that the margins have been cut so narrow that the text often dives into the center of the binding, making it necessary to bend the both halves of the Bible back to expose it. Without these two relatively minor faults, and without the annoying red-letter text, I would have given this product five stars. I am ecstatic, however, that at least one Bible publisher was kind enough to use the eminently readable and almost universally loved 11 point font. Not too big and not too small. Just right.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to read, easy to 'tote'

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is very much worth its price; the print is dark, very easy on the eyes, and its size makes it easy to use. I enjoy the NLT version very much. I use this bible for devotions, out on my porch, with coffee; its not big, heavy and bulky like my study bibles. I recommend it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality materials.

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
pubadean
Location:Bremen, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having a Living Bible since 1971 the desire to have an updated Living Bible was intense. The first Living Bible was underlined and greatly used. This new Bible will be used and appreciated. Thank the Lord for modern day language so the younger generation can better understand our Lords words.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
duck
Location:Burnet, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i first started really reading the Bible when the Living Bible first came out. i now teach from the NLT and have ordered them for about half of my Bible class. to me it is the best translation ever. thanks.....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's even better than I thought because it has dark bold lettering. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Glad I Purchased This Bible!

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherry Watson
Location:Littleton NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great! The print size is wonderful and the quality overall is terrific. I highly recommend it for anyone, teen - senior adults. I recently purchased the Life Application Study Bible NLT for my Kindle, and I truly love that too, but my favorite thing now is to read the book version (which does not contain the study notes) and then when I've read a number of passages I turn to my Kindle and read through the study notes. The reason I like to do this is; the large print study bibles are so heavy and big. This way of studying utilizes the personal size bible and a Kindle. If you want a large print bible to read without the study notes then buy this one. You won't be sorry!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT - Easy to read and understand

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a old King James person and had a hard time transfering to NIV, to much missing, to much translated incorrectly or a little weak sounding to me. I tried the NLT after reading passages on biblegateway.com, I loved it so much I ordered my husband one too.
This is the 3rd one I've ordered for family memebers.
It is so easy to read, my husband loves his so much he doens't mind reading with me now and understanding the bible for the first time!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reads Nice

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
TLK1
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy reading this version of the Bible, it is very easy to understand and sometimes I can't put it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING FEATURES !

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
Location:Glendora, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OTHER BIBLE PUBLISHERS TAKE NOTE! This is, by far, the best compact Bible I've ever seen! Features include high quality bonded leather, LARGE DARK 12-POINT TYPE, very little bleed-thru on the pages, a 135 page concordance, etc., etc., & all in a very "easy-to-carry-around" size! Congrats, Tyndale! Chaplain Dan
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great Translation - horrible low quality binding

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missionary Joe
Location:South Carolina
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The New Living Translation is an excellent translation, and great for family reading and devotional time. However shame on Tyndale for using such a low quality Korean made binding. I bought 6 of these bibles and within months all 6 were falling apart. First the maps fall out and then pages throughout begin to fall out. I gave Tyndale the benefit of the doubt, that maybe I just got a bad batch and ordered several more... again they all fell apart. A quality translation like the NLT deserves a quality binding, sadly Tyndale isn't offering a quality binding. I've been using the same NIV and KJV bible for almost 30 years and though they are both badly worn from much use, they are still in one piece. I love the NLT, it is a highly readable quality translation, but be aware that if you actually read it on a regular basis, this bible will begin shedding pages real soon.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Martinez
I love this Bible. I'm glad I purchased it. Its beautifully crafted and the font is perfect for my eyes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Christiana
My wife loves the NLT! And the large print version at 12pt is perfect for her. The personalization initials were the best (birthday gift). Would like to see more maps, etc.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elena Mendoza
I really like this version of the bible and the large print is great. I wish the cover was more flexiable. Even some of the imitation covers are a bit more flexiable so I'm hoping it will stand up for a while with good use. But I really like the large print and the space sparation between the sentences. At this price it was a good purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianne Gerlick
This engraved copy was purchased as a gift, but I wanted to see it and wrap it myself. Not only was I impressed, but the recipient was too. The wording and size of print made it ideal for comfortable reading. In addition, the size, comfort of weight and balance, and elegance of the entire book, is like a tribute of love for our Lord. Plus, having the various study helps included makes for an ideal tool to help in our understanding and growth. Thank you! I appreciate that the price was geared to make it available to more of us!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Fuller
It was a gift for my husband, and he really enjoys reading the NLT Bible in the large print. It was a very good buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amanda
This Bible was a birthday gift that I am very thankful for. It features everything that is advertised and is just the one for me. The NLT translation is wonderful and much easier to understand than other translations. The large-print text is very clear and easy on the eyes. This Bible is a great size to hold and the paper, although thin, is of good quality. (I've seen Bibles with thinner paper). I will be ordering silver tabs and a Bible cover to compliment it. I am very pleased with this Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
This review is fromNLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Imitation Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky Marsland-hill
I am so glad that I chose this Bible for my husband, who is really enjoying it because he can understand it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah Mihalcoe
I love this NLT Personal Size Bible. I'm able to read the size. It is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Personal Size Bible - Large Print Bonded Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
This Bible is what I have been looking for. I am 67 years old and the large print is super for me. Also in bonded leather is great. Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>