Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover

Tyndale House The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover

A fascinating way to read through the Bible in one year . . . in only fifteen minutes per day!

Now you can gain a better understanding of the order of biblical events and the historical context in which they unfolded. The One Year Chronological Bible arranges the entire Bible text—books, chapters, and even verses—in the order the events actually happened.

In The One Year Chronological Bible, prophetic books are interwoven with the historical accounts they accompanied. Psalms follow the events about which they were written. Proverbs are placed in the time frame in which they were compiled. The life of Christ is woven into one moving story. And Paul’s letters to the young churches in the first century are integrated into the book of Acts.

The One Year Chronological Bible also has:

  • 365 daily readings to help you read the entire Bible chronologically in one year
  • Transition statements to help you understand why some Scripture portions appear where they do
  • Historical dates indicating when the events actually occurred
  • A general timeline of major events to give you a clear overview of Israel’s history
  • A Scripture index in canonical order to help you find your favorite passages quickly and easily

You do not have to be a Bible historian to appreciate the fascinating new perspective waiting for you in The One Year Chronological Bible. It’s like reading some of your favorite passages again for the very first time.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Review 1 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed in overall execution of format

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thisworldisnotmyhome
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User submitted photo
The index shows page numbers for the books but there are no actual numbers on the pages themselves. I got this Bible for my sister along with tabs to help her find the books as she follows along with messages, it's a next to impossible feat. While I understand it is designed as daily reading in chronological order, the index should reflect the context more accurately, or the pages should be numbered or tabbed. Very disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product for reading and reference.

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
annb
Location:Westville, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would have liked to have options on the color, but that's not a big deal. Really pleased with the Bible and the service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I wanted!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
tararea
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted to follow my church's "read through the bible in one year" plan. Good quality, easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to read the Bible

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
GarthNathaniel
Location:Redditch, Worcs, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a great way to read the scripture as the story unfolds. It is good to put psalms and prophetic occurences into their historical and chronological context, which does not immediately appear to the student and regular reader of the Bible. The good sized chunks work well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

overall pretty good

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
dave
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the language makes for an easy read that should appeal to most folks who aren't comfortable with King James......the daily readings seem well organized and being in chronological order should help piece together the story contained in the Bible.....this should help anyone who wants to get an overview of what's going on and how the books of the Bible fit together time-wise....we gave it to one of our kids so they could read the Bible through in a year with their 4 children.....i think it will work well for what we were trying to accomplish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courtney
Location:Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am looking forward to reading this bible. I like how related information is grouped together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Boulier
Very pleased with my Bible. Will be back to get some cd's and possibly a study guide about Heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorene Foreman
I have started to read and I am truly enjoying it! The first few days, I compared to the KJV for accuracy. I am happy to say that I am pleased. I would highly recomend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Larry Jackson
This Bible is a very good learning tool. It is laid out very well for a one (1) year reading plan, and yet it is formatted in a way that allows a person to take as long as they want to to go through this Bible. The historical value is beyond my description, it is just GREAT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Renee Peterson
It's definitely a format I will be reading daily. I like the layout. my one dissapoint is the binding. the pages seem short compared to the cover..so it doesn't lay flat..which doesn't lend for easy highlighting. maybe I shold have gone soft cover?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Webb
I Love this bible. It gives me a better understanding of the word and how and when the events took place. I can't help but to read more than one set day at a time, I just keep reading and it's hard to put down. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vanessa Flynn
I love this Bible! I got it so I could read aloud from it every day, more so my son would be exposed to the Word regularly. For this purpose, it's perfect--it's more like our normal every day language, so it reads more like a story. (I myself was curious about reading the Bible chronologically!) Without the cover, it's a rather plain looking Bible--like a stock Bible in a church or hotel, somewhere, but that's like the least important feature of a Bible, right? :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.