Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover

Tyndale House The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover

A fascinating way to read through the Bible in one year—in only fifteen minutes per day!

Now you can gain a better understanding of the order of biblical events and the historical context in which they unfolded. The One Year Chronological Bible arranges the entire Bible text—books, chapters, and even verses—in the order the events actually happened.

In The One Year Chronological Bible, prophetic books are interwoven with the historical accounts they accompanied. Psalms follow the events about which they were written. Proverbs are placed in the time frame in which they were compiled. The life of Christ is woven into one moving story. And Paul’s letters to the young churches in the first century are integrated into the book of Acts.

The One Year Chronological Bible also has:
  • 365 daily readings to help you read the entire Bible chronologically in one year
  • Transition statements to help you understand why some Scripture portions appear where they do
  • Historical dates indicating when the events actually occurred
  • A general timeline of major events to give you a clear overview of Israel’s history
  • A Scripture index in canonical order to help you find your favorite passages quickly and easily
You do not have to be a Bible historian to appreciate the fascinating new perspective waiting for you in The One Year Chronological Bible. It’s like reading some of your favorite passages again for the very first time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Review 1 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleased in every respect

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennie Wren
Location:Royalton, MN
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a challenge from Proverbs 31 ministries that prompted me to purchase this Bible in 2009. My understanding of the Bible has grown by leaps and bounds by using a chronological Bible. Having events and stories arranged in the order they happened makes a lot more sense - must be my analytical nature. Also, the language in the New Living Translation strikes a chord in me more than any other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God given understanding

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Location:San Jose, Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had and read my copy of this Bible for two years and am still enjoying it. I bought four copies for gifts to each of the men in the family. Now I can only pray that they read them and gain as much as I have from them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
yvenieves
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my One Year Chronological Bible for some time now and love it. It's amazing to read scripture the way it actually occurred.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrammaArlene
Location:michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. The format is very good, it gives scripture texts for each section as you read so you know where to find it in the Bible that isn't in chronological order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excited to read!

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Location:Brampton, Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw that this type of bible existed I thought, "what a great way to read through the bible!" Since I have received it I read it one to two time a day! Easy to read and understand. I have always struggled to get throught the entire bible but now look forward to reading daily!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Gospels have expanded for me!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dick
Location:Mattawa, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the NLT for my personal study...I use HCSB at church because it is used in parallel in our "Quarterly's" with KJV which is the version our pastor preaches from. I have many other version bibles in my home as well as a great computer Bible program "Wordsearch 9" which makes many versions available to me.
This is the first time I have studied from a Chronological Bible and I really love it!!!>>>Dick
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Landy
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is more beautiful than I ever expected. Absolutely love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meets all my expectations.

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Bessemer, Al
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the chronological Bible. It makes a more continues story because all of the stories especially from the Old Testament are grouped together and you don't feel like you keep reading the same thing over and over as you progress through each book. I also love the NLT. It is an easy to read translation. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to complete a reading of the Bible in one year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Maine
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted! Thankful to finally have it! This will be very helpful to me in my personal bible study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bold print the "Books, chapter, and verse headings

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rlinwood
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The overall experience is great. Finding a Book, chapter and verse is a bit difficult at first. I would rather see a reverse, example: "Genesis 1:1-2:4a \ The Account of Creation."
Now being the first page that is easy, right? Now turn to 2 Samuel 13:23-39.... If the passage was bold print and first it would be easier and quicker to locate.. Now Go to John 3:16, it takes awhile doesn't it? It's on page 1316.
Again passage first and then title would be great. I would easily give all ratings an excellent.
Now look up John 8:32 put page number here____
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wish this started at an earlier time

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl D
Location:Meriden, CT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I received this I thought that there would be more about what happened before God created the earth with the angels in heaven and what happened before satan got thrown down to the earth.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy reading

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good reading, a little confusing after reading the regular bible. I find the book itself a little hard to handle, it is slippery. But am enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jayhawker
Location:central Illinois
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was glad to find this reasonable Chronological Bible set up devotionally to be read in a year. I really wanted something contemporary. I wish there was less gender bias, but it should service me well. I am very glad there is s good index, too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maria Bustamante
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! It just made so much sense to read it in the order that it happened.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy
Really enjoying this Bible. Helps to tie everything together by pulling passages together in chronological order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Austin
this is an excellent book and i would recommend anyone to get it, the stories are amazing and the knowledge is overwhelming. yes this is one to get
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This is a great Bible! I am so enjoying reading this Bible. I am retaining more and it is helping me put events in perspective!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randy Patton
Great way to read the Bible. I have recommended this Bible to family and friends. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Hill
I've wanted a chronological Bible for years. This one is perfect. I love that it is daily Bible reading and the price is right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacy Berger
I just began reading through my Chronological NLT Bible. Thus far, I am really enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.