Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD

Thomas Nelson Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD

This book and DVD combination offers two entertaining ways for children to begin learning about God and His Word. Inside you'll find:
  • 40 Bible stories
  • 60-minute DVD
  • Old and New Testament
  • Interactive learning suggestions
  • Colorful illustrations and animation
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Review 1 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
With The Read and Share Toddler Bible you can enjoy several classic bible stories from both the Old and New Testaments. Activity ideas are found inside Parent bubbles in each stories. Suggestions might include discussing "no-no's" at your house to cover disobedience and bring the sin of Adam and Eve to their level or something similar. The activity's center around parent guidance and don't really require a lot of preparation or time investment. This together time can really bring the stories to life though and it's a wonderful feature. The stories in the Read and Share Toddler Bible are very sweet and age appropriate, but it's the picture I can't take my eyes off of. I love the illustrations in this adorable toddler Bible.This book also includes the 60 minute animated DVD that coincides with the book.This is an exceptional value!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
zigfred
Great for kids and parents ! I highly recommend it. What I especially love about it most is the "application" portion at the end of each story. Kind of like a life application Bible for todlers.I just wished that all stories are complete in the DVD. My son complained to me that the last 3 stories didn't was not included in the DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy Odell
Very nice for the little ones. High quality pictures. Stories just the right length. Lots of good parent tips for crafts and talking about the story with your child. DVD animation is really good quality. Recommend it for family, as well as Church library resources.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry
Read and Share Toddler Bible (Stories retold by Gwen Ellis, Illustrations by Steve Smallman.This Bible is a great design for the toddler. As an adult I found the stories enabled the toddler to connect with a life application. The language is age-appropriate. The CD makes a great companion for the book. The illustrations are beautifully done. A favorite part of the book for me is the inserts for parents to reinforce the lesson to be learned from each story. I would recommend parents of toddlers to purchase the book and make it a part of their daily life to instill Christian values to the child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Are you looking for a great way to introduce your toddler to the truth of Gods Word? If so, then Thomas Nelsons, Read and Share Toddler Bible with Bonus DVD may be just what youre looking for. Not only are the simple Bible narratives engaging the illustrations will capture your toddlers attention as well. Add to that a brief animated Bible clip to correspond with the story, and you have the perfect first Bible instructional tool!The stories are retold by Gwen Ellis in such a way that easily holds the attention of my 16-month-old. The illustrations are fun and soft on the eyes. My favorite portion of this Bible storybook is the retelling of Gods creation of Adam. The illustration is precious, but the DVD is even more engaging. I kept watching it over and over, and I have yet to see another animated creation story that so beautifully portrays the creation of Adam. With all its glowing reviews, the only downside I see, since this is a Toddler Bible, is that of the pages. They are heavy duty, but I think a nice board quality book would be sturdier for 1-3 year-olds. This is my only complaint. Go out and buy one today for your toddler, or give it as a gift to a new mommy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Maritz
Esm (28 months) and I were in love with this Read and Share Toddler Bible (stories retold by Gwen Ellis; recommended audience ages 1-4) the moment we ripped open the package.The illustrations (by Steve Smallman) are perfect for capturing a toddler's attention. There are 40 Bible stories, each in a vocabulary Esm can easily follow, as well as an engaging style that gets the toddler involved. The lessons of Gods love are relevant and easy to understand.There are suggested activities following each story to reinforce it. For instance, in the story of Joseph, I can get out my emotions cards and have Esm identify the emotions of the various characters throughout the story. Or in the story of Abram's journey to Canaan, I can lead Esm on a "long" walk or journey, with a treat at the end.And the Bonus DVD that comes with it? Well, Esm had it ripped out of the cover of the book and into the DVD player before I finished opening up the rest of the mail. The 60-minute DVD is broken up into three-minute stories.This is the first Bible story DVD that really captured Esm's attention to the point that she preferred it over the other non-Bible DVDs we have. I was somewhat surprised, because the animation and story lines were quite simple, but she has requested what she calls the "God/Jesus/donkey" DVD over and over again as her first choice.Thanks to Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program (http://brb.thomasnelson.com/) for the review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
We found the pictures in this children's bible to be cute and colorful. The characters are a bit quirky with exaggerated noses and facial expressions. The illustrations proved to be a delightful way to draw our kids into the story, as well as encouraging them to think about how the biblical figures might be feeling about their story and circumstances.I enjoyed the use of onomatopoeia in most of the stories; it is engaging and sometimes silly. The accompanying activities and questions are age appropriate and realistic to implement with resources already available in our home.We were very pleased with The Read and Share Toddler Bible and anxious to see the kids learn all 40 stories and apply the biblical principles to their lives.Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for providing this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I was very excited to receive a copy of the Read and Share Toddler Bible by Gwen Ellis and Illustrations by Steve Smallman for review. I have a 1 year old daughter and thought it would be great to have a Bible we could share together.The Read and Share Toddler Bible is a 192 page, hardcover Bible. It consists of short versions of many of the stories of the Bible with lots of pictures. It also comes with a 60 minute DVD that animates some of the stories.Overall, I really liked the Bible. The stories are nice and short, so you can read as little or as long as you want to. The pictures are cute, bright and there are lots of them. My daughter loved looking at them. With every story, there is a suggestion for an interactive activity to do with your child based on the story. The ideas I read sounded very good. While the outside of the Bible is very durable and hardcovered, the pages are just heavy paper. This is a book you have to read with your toddler my daughter would be sure to destroy it on her own. The DVD was pretty basicand the narration a little monotone, but I think once my daughter really starts to watch a tv program, she might like it.I would recommend the Read and Share Toddler Bible to others as a good starting Bible to share and read together. Its simple, has bright pictures and nice interactive ideas in it.I am a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean
Nestled between the covers of this almost 200-page book are 40 Bible stories created especially for very young children. A 60-minute bonus DVD is included and features amplified animated versions of 14 stories from the book.This book is a great value for the $14.99 suggested retail price. Each story is very short to match a toddler's attention span. The vocabulary is simple, yet engaging. Steve Smallman's cartoon-like illustrations are colorful, fun and packed with plenty of details. There are several added features directed toward parents. A table of contents includes easy reference to scripture verses, and scripture references are also shown at the beginning of each story. The page numbers have colorful tabs making it easy to find a place in the book. Best of all, each story ends with a simple creative activity that parents and kids can do together.As I read the book, I discovered several flaws. Notably, the title is misleading. The Read and Share Toddler Bible is not a Bible, but instead a collection of Bible stories taken from the Old and New Testaments. This may be disappointing to some consumers who purchase the book sight unseen. There is no mention of the Ten Commandments or Psalms, for example, nor the Sermon on the Mount or the Last Supper. As a collection of Bible stories, the book is well done, but as a true first Bible, it falls short of the mark. The DVD is a nice bonus, although the narration moves slowly at times, and it might not interest young toddlers.Overall, The Read and Share Toddler Bible is worthy of a place on your child's bookshelf. You can view a flip book preview of the book on the Thomas Nelson web site:http://bit.ly/6gQ8V[Reviewer's note: I am pleased to be a Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger. http://brb.thomasnelson.com. Please visit my blog, God is in the Compost Pile at http://bit.ly/TOSYv]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lagean Ellis
I was totally amazed by this book. Never have I seen such a well written bible for children, nor have I seen one this well illustrated. As if that isn't enough, after each story, there's a note to parents about an activity to do with your child to teach them the lesson learned from the bible.I have to tell you, as I read this book, I enjoyed it and I was very excited to think that my niece would be getting this as a gift from me. Jazmine will be 3 in September and I know that she will have a much better understanding of God and the people of the Old and New Testament after being introduced to this Bible. The language and illustrations are perfect for a small child's comprehension level.The lessons are on a level for the child to grasp, too. I think that any family that is teaching their child/children about God should own this book. The book also has a bonus DVD that contains an hour of Bible stories and features. It also has a dedication page at the beginning, perfect for gift giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
The Read and Share Toddler Bible retells 25 Old Testament stories and 15 New Testament stories in a way young children can understand and will be interested. Each story has the Bible references the story is taken from at the beginning. Every story is very well illustrated with lots of bold colors to invite a child to linger over the pictures. There is also a DVD with one hour worth of Bible stories included in the front of The Read and Share Toddler Bible.This Bible is a great introduction for toddlers to begin learning Bible stories and the importance of reading the Bible. The colorful pictures allow the child to look through the stories and remember what has been read to them. The activities suggested to parents at the end of each story are also a great way to help your child learn and to open up discussions. The Read and Share Toddler Bible is a great first Bible for little ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
carolyn (openthebook)
Simple! Amazing! Perfect! This is not just another Bible for toddlers! As a parent, grandparent, Childrens Church and Christian preschool teacher, I sometimes felt the need for a more exciting way to present the Bible to children. Could a simple presentation of the same stories be told differently in toddler language and yet keep the integrity of details in the Word? Storyteller Gwen Ellis and artist Steve Smallman have accomplished this and more in the Read and Share Toddler Bible. Plus, there is the added bonus of a 60 minute DVD featuring the same artwork. Away flew the stone, Down went the giant. The effectiveness of vintage Dick and Jane readers is enjoyably revisited. Clearly marked scripture texts, effective sometimes poetic style and word sound-effects, sharing ideas, and detailed artwork make this book stand out in its difference. Pound! Pound! Saw! Saw! A table is built, a door is fixed, a carpenter is defined. Dynamic facial expressions bring characters to life. Biblical numbers in the pictures provide teachable math moments 10 camels, 12 sons of Jacob and all the sons of Jesse. Toddlers will not forget these beautiful Bible lessons, carefully selected for children and revealed in their simplicity. I am a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson (http:brb.thomasnelson.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Want a good book and DVD to reinforce the Bible stories your young toddler will be hearing for the rest of their lives? Then this is the book for you. This book is a nice size, just right for the toddler's little hand, soft hard cover. It comes with a DVD of 14 of the more popular stories, Creation, Noah, Abram, Joseph, David, Moses and Baby Jesus + more: Balaam and Lost Sheep. The DVD stories are short 3 minute colorful animated stories that will hold your toddler's attention. The book has 40 Bible stories with illustrations that just as colorful as the DVD and designed to keep the toddler interested. Each story has an interactive learning suggestion at the end for the parent to give them some parent/child time. These activities reinforced the Bible story you've just read. There are fun catchy words throughout the stories too such as: splish and splash, flop, clop, clop and whoosh to name a few. The activities include pictures and collages to create, songs to sing and move to, stories to act out or actions to preform. There are task charts to make for good obedience rewards (stickers) and discussions to bring out. Toddler/Pre-School age will love this interactive book and DVD. Why not put one under the Christmas tree this December for your favorite toddler or pre-schooler. Mine is going to go in my church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
"Crrrrrreak! Crrrrrreak! God shut the door of the boat. It started to rain. Pitter-patter. Pitter-patter. The wind blew. Oooo! Oooooo! Inside the boat, everyone was snug and safe." This quote is from the story "Noah and the Big Boat", one of the many wonderful stories you will find in Gwen Ellis' new Read and Share Toddler Bible.Toddlers will love spending hours upon hours of quality time with their parents while reading and participating in the parent-child interactive learning suggestions. As a special bonus, you will receive a 60-minute DVD fully animated with Bible characters that will most definitely capture your youngsters imagination.Previously, I reviewed the Read and Share DVD Bible Vol. 1 by Gwen Ellis and there are 13 stories from both the Old and New Testament. (3 minute bite-size vignettes) But the 60-minute DVD from the Read and Share Toddler Bible has many new stories included on it. One delightful story is that of Balaam's Donkey. My toddler loved it! She watched the whole DVD three times yesterday. She would chuckle every time the donkey talked and grimace every time Balaam would strike the donkey on the behind. This of course provoked many questions from her and that's a good thing!I highly recommend both the New Read and Share Toddler Bible along with the accompanying 60-minute DVD for any parent or grandparent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
s griffin
I really liked this book the minute i saw it but the true test would be if my LO liked and and she loved it! It is a wonderful book for toddlers or even young preschoolers!I love that each story is sweet and written for the young child to understand. At the end of each story is a activity to do with your child. It even comes with a dvd so your child can watch a bible story come to life! this is a great book and i'm so glad I got to review it as a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Read and Share Toddler Bible with DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trisha
This Bible covers a lot of the well known stories from the Bible from creation to Jesus' life. The stories are told in a way to keep smaller kids attention and give them the just of the story and the truth they can learn from it. My toddler adores her new Bible. I like that they also put where to find this story in the Bible. It also comes with a great dvd for the kids! I did really enjoy this Bible and am happy with it. Although I was slightly disappointed at how short the stories were. It was great for my 3 year old, but a little too young for my 5 year old (which was expected!) I do recommend this Bible, its not my favorite story Bible for children, but it does tell the stories well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.