Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love Your Heart

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Love Your Heart

Tim McGraw and songwriter Tom Douglas once again join forces to write another book about the precocious Katie and her dad. Katie has many talents, but she wonders which one will win her schools talent show. With the help of Dad and her faithful dog Palio, and after several amusing mishaps, Katie finally chooses one talent that includes Palio. But at the talent show, she decides to drop out of the contest to help her friend, showing kindness is the best talent of all. Katies proud dad reassures her that she did the best thing and that while he loves many things about her, he loves her heart most of all.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Your Heart
Review 1 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Soulcat
Love Your Heart is a sweet and tender story of how being kind to others can bring the best kind of joy.The fun-loving Katie has to find an act for the upcoming school talent show. She is frustrated by all the possibilities and bounces ideas off of her dad for advice. He offers encouragement while keeping her more wild ideas grounded in reality, such as teaching her dog to juggle. Love Your Heart has an upbeat storyline until Katie encounters a friend in need. Katie is faced with sacrificing her dreams of performing in the talent show and her decision will demonstrate the development of her moral character.I would recommend Love Your Heart because it will help young readers learn about self sacrifice through friendship and love. I am impressed by the father and daughter dialogue for displaying parental encouragement and support along with measured flexible advice. It has very solid characters that relate to each others, something that is not often apparent in many storybooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Tim McGraw and Tim Douglas return with another story about the little girl Katie made popluar in the book, "My Little Girl." Katie in "Love Your Heart" learns an important lesson about talents and what she is really good at. Katie is involved in a talent show and has difficulty determining what talent she should use. This book is a great story to teach children that sometimes your talent and what really matters is what is on the inside and how you can help another person. Katie feels so good about herself when she helps a friend be happy! Her daddy confirms this by saying, "but most of all, I love your heart." I would recommend this book for children up to age 10. This book is a nice hardcover book with beautiful illustrations and easy words geared for children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
I just recieved this book from the People from Booksneeze! and Its great! I have two little girls (almost 4 and 6 years old) and they loved it! I loved the message of the book. Katie is looking to find a talent to do for her school talent show and in the end makes the decision to help a friend out with her talent rather than trying to win for herself. It is a great lesson for little girls all over about how some one is beautiful from the inside out! This is a must have book for parents with girls! I can't wait to read more of the books in this series! It was a fantastic read and a fantastic lesson!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel L. Richard
My first review for Book Sneeze came in the mail yesterday. I chose to start out with the childrens book Love Your Heart by By Tim McGraw with Tom Douglas. I have to admit that I was quite skeptical about a childrens book written by a singer/songwriter now turned actor. Really, we cant have our hand in every profession, can we? I mainly got the book because it looked exactly like something our daughter would squeal over. I was right. As soon as she saw the cover, I heard Mommy, read it!!! in a bouncy, excited voice.Love Your Heart is the second book in McGraws series, My Little Girl, and is a wonderful story of how one little girl named Katie shows a selfless act of kindness. Katie, like any other little kid, has many talents and cant decide which one she wants to do for the school talent show. She spends hours pining over which talent is her best. She finally chooses one that includes her dog, Palio. At the last minute, Katie decided to drop out of the contest in order to help her friend, Sophie. Katies fears shes disappointed her parents but her father reassures her that showing kindness is the best talent of all and out of all of Katies qualities, he loves her heart most of all.Id recommend this book for anyone who has a little girl. The artwork is beautiful and the story has a heartwarming lesson to share. At the end of reading it, our daughter loudly exclaimed Read it, again! and we did.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
AshleyJene
Love Your Heart is a great book that shows the bond between a father and a daughter. It also shows how a decision for the little girl, Katie, to put her friend before her own desires to help the friend is a great act of kindness. This book also had beautiful artwork and illustrations throughout. A very eye catching book that keeps in interest of even young chilren!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marissa
"But most of all, I love your heart." Katie is trying to decide which of her talents to perform in the school talent show. Her dad encourages her and reminds her that he is her biggest fan. Written by country music superstar Tim McGraw and songwriter Tom Douglas, this book "reminds us that the very best of you lies not in what you can do, but in who you are."I think my favorite line in the book is when Katie states that maybe she doesn't have as many talents as she thought she did. Her daddy says "God gave you lots of talents, Katie. Let's ask Him to help you find just the right one..." This is a cute story, with nice illustrations. It's shorter than I expected, but it has a great message. There is also a page at the front of the book for writing to/from/date if this book is a gift. My kids enjoyed the book as well. Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. Click on the BookSneeze.com to get more info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
"But most of all, I love your heart." is Daddy's response to Katie's selfless act of helping her friend at the school talent show. This is the second book by Tim McGraw about Katie, her Dad, and her dog named Palio. The illustrations are sweet and the story is tender with a Father's love and a young girl's desire to make her Daddy proud. I like this book even better than the first one because of it's simple, yet important message. I appreciate the encouragement that this story offers young girls and the picture of the unconditional love of a father. Most importantly I like the way this story promotes being kind to friends even at the cost of personal sacrifice. Love Your Heart is a wonderful book for any little girl ages 4 to 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy
Love Your Heart by Tim McGraw and Tom Douglas,Illustrations by Abigail MarbleI am blessed to be a Daddys girl myself, so reading Love your heart brings back sweet memories. Its a touching story, written from the perspective of a Daddy who makes time with his daughter a positive priority. The main character is the bright and enthusiastic Katie. She is trying to choose what fabulous talent she will perform to win her schools talent show. In the end she decides that there are more important things than winning. While it is a grown-up friendly book, it will relate especially well to ages 4 to 10.Though the expressive and cheerful illustrations revolve around a pink dress and frilly pajama wearing Katie, this story is certainly not just for girls. Mix in her dog Palio, a little mud and her childs heart for friendship and all readers can connect with its simple message of love and kindness. The authors make clear that Katies Daddy loves and supports her unconditionally, while encouraging her to love herself and others and look to God for help in making her decisions. This is just one of those books you can read with someone you love over and over and never lose your smile.Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy for participating with their book review site. Click on the BookSneeze icon to get more info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Katie McGraw is getting ready for her school talent show. Which of her many talents would best be suited for the show - and will her dog Palio agree to go along with her plans? Katie's daddy supports her every effort - funny and charming as they are. Who will win at the show - and is that what's most important?Little girls will love reading about the all of Katie's talents. Although quietly confident, efforts don't always proceed as planned, and readers will see that it's the heart - not the final outcome - that determines a winner. Readers will relate to Katie's diverse talents and laugh along with her struggle to find the perfect talent for the show.With short conversations on each page and very colorful illustrations, this book can be read to the very young toddler and taught to older elementary students. This book is definitely a winner!For more information about Love Your Heart, go to http://booksneeze.com/blogger/resources/9781400314737.A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
You and your princess are going to love this book "Love Your Heart" by Tim McGraw & Tom Douglas. It is set for the littlest princess in your life, anywhere from ages 3-6 or 7. She will love this book. The pictures bounce off the page as Katie bounces into your heart. Katie shows what it truly means to put others before yourself and gain great joy in your heart. She doesn't think of herself but of her friend, Sophie. Sophie and in they end they both win. What a true picture of friendship. Let Katie dance into your little ones life and she won't be the same. I give this book two smiley faces from ear to ear.A copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Your Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Thomas Nelson publishers have a new children's book available. It is called Love Your Heart, written by Tim McGraw and Tom Douglas. This is a perfect book for girls ages 4-10. It tells of a conversation with a young girl and her dad, much like a Butterfly kisses type story. Yet, this one goes further and tells of what is in the girl, Katie's heart. She willing puts others first in a true to like situation and the reader can easily see the love of God in her heart. Parents and girls alike will enjoy the colorful illustrations throughout the book. It was short enough to keep a 4 year olds attention, yet relevant to a school age girl too. A perfect story to give as a gift that will help a girl understand that God wants us to think of others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.