Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Veiled Freedom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Veiled Freedom

Naive and idealistic, relief worker Amy Mallory arrives in Kabul ready to change the world. She soon discovers that as a woman in Afghanistan, the challenges she faces are monumental. As the new security chief to the Minister of the Interior, former Special Forces veteran Steve Wilson is disillusioned to find that the country he fought to set free has fallen into its old habits of greed and corruption. Afghani native Jamil returns to his homeland seeking a job while his painful past continues to haunt him. All three search for truth...and freedom...but at what cost?
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Veiled Freedom
Review 1 for Veiled Freedom
This review is fromVeiled Freedom - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating read

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
orthodox1
Location:Cambridge England
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was an absorbing read giving insight into the situation there.Perhaps more could have been made of the difficulties Muslim converts face but even so this was a fair rendering.The book read smoothly and had sufficient action to hold ones attention.Definitely worth reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Veiled Freedom
This review is fromVeiled Freedom - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Sure Didn't Know

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
bjmadala
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I felt like I was there! This book opened my eyes to a world I know nothing about. I think this is a must for every military mom or wife to help us understand when we have loved ones deployed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Veiled Freedom
This review is fromVeiled Freedom - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is accurate and real to life.

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marion Jean Grant
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book because it is true to life and makes you more aware of the people and how to pray for them. Jeanette did a good job of describing life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Veiled Freedom
This review is fromVeiled Freedom - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gave me a different point of view.

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirl
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made me aware that if we are going to continue to do aid to far east countries, we need to police them to get them to the people and not those in power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Novel

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the Taliban was forced out of Afghanistan in 2001, Kabul was supposed to be free. For Jamil and many others, this freedom never came. Steve Wilson is a Special Forces vet who helped rid Kabul of the Taliban. Now working in private security, he finds himself back in Afghanistan, but he has become bitter and cynical watching corruption and violence overtake the country he fought to free. Amy Mallory, on the other hand, is out to change the world. Working for a mission-minded organization, she soon realizes she will face many challenges being not only woman in Afghanistan, but a Western woman. All three of these people are looking for the truth, striving to find something to believe in.
This book is amazing. The author takes care to fully flesh out these characters so that even when we get angry with them we still feel for them. What I loved about this book is that there is no primary villain. The story deals with people both as individuals and as a larger cultural group, which is a completely honest way of looking at the world. All characters have short-comings and faults as well as admirable qualities. The line has been so clearly drawn between Islam and Christianity in today’s world, and not without reason, but this novel treats both religions with understanding. It also struggles with a question I think a lot of people ask. If people don’t want to help themselves, why should we help them? Can we truly change the world for the better, or is the little we do to try all in vain? After reading this novel, I feel like I’ve gained a little more insight into a culture I’d only ever experienced through a news camera. The only problem I had with the book was that there was a lot of technichal talk about security and such. I’m sure many who read the book will find it enlightning, but I found myself just skimming through those bits to get to the good stuff. However, it wasn’t enough to distract me from the story. I look forward to reading the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Intricate Look at Afghanistan in Fiction

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Cool
Location:Ephrata, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of nonfiction, particularly in the social action/justice category, so when I get around to reading fiction I normally want something light with an assured happy ending (I feel the same way about my movies). So this book was a departure for me, part thriller, part war story, part political.
Having met the author, I thought I would give it a try, and I did have to talk myself into reading the first few pages, which begin in war. But then the characters got hold of me and wouldn't let go. Windle does a great job of revealing their own indecision and confusion in a world that is not black and white. She taught me much about the political situation in Afghanistan and the conundrums facing the aid community in such areas of the world, and yet it didn't feel pedantic. The story moves quickly once the characters are established, and you care what happens to them.
I understand there's a sequel on the way, and I am looking forward to it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story takes place in Afghanistan. It was hard for me to get into because of the military and Afghan words throughout the story.
This is not a book to just sit down and relax with. If you are looking for a fiction book with a deeper meaning you might enjoy the book.
The story follows Special Forces veteran Steve Wilson and relief worker Amy Mallory. How they interact and deal with the happenings in Afghanistan is the story. Their interaction is written well and how they deal with the Afghanistan people and culture is interesting.
Although it took me awhile to get into the book it was an enjoyable read.
I was given this book by christianreviewofbooks.com to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginny Komlos
I enjoyed reading Crossfire so much but disappointed with Veiled Freedom. I understand the circumstances happening in Kabul during the war but found it hard to make a real connection with the three main characters. The politics took center stage in the book that I felt that this book would have worked better in the non- fiction category. Kudos to Jeannette for her extensive knowledge and description of Afghanistan.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alisa Fulton
This is one of the best Fiction books I have read in years. It is well researched and well written. I found myself praying for the country in a new more insightful way. I fully recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara
I had difficulty getting into this book, and I'm really not sure why, because the opening chapter is captivating. From the beginning you see how deeply connected the lives of the three main characters are as the groundwork is laid for a riveting, twisting plot.Windle is an excellent writer, with extremely vivid descriptions. She sets up the perfect foil between optimistic, hopeful Amy and battle-scarred, skeptic Steve.The book is intensely political, and even though it is fiction, it proposes insight into the real workings in Afghanistan and offers suggestive answers to the question of why, after 8 years, the American forces are still needed in the country.At the heart of the book, the gaping contrast between Western freedom and Islamic fundamentalism is painted as clearly as the contrast between the personalities of Amy & Steve. But rather than set up glorification of Christianity and a bashing of Islam, Windle points out the good and the bad of both societies and how each could learn from each other. I thought this was an excellent exposition. I think so often we focus on what we dislike about the religion instead of focusing on the people who might be hurting under it.Several times I found myself grieving as I got to know more and more of the characters. It's definitely not a lighthearted read. I was in tears at the end, and I would call the ending bittersweet instead of happy.The only criticism I have of the book is that it's heavy on technical information, which really isn't my cup of tea. I am not military nor special ops, nor am I extremely close to anyone who is. A lot of the technical terms were overwhelming and confusing. A glossary or reader's guide at the end would have been nice. I think the amount of technical details was what overwhelmed me in the beginning. Then again, I am a woman, and I prefer my emotions to be engaged first when I read something.Overall 4.5 stars. Excellent book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Martha in Kalispell, if you really want to read more of J. Windle's books, do not forget to include Jana's journal (diary) I am not a teen etc. but that "diary" was a great read.Of course so are the three So.- American-set books, which I consider fingernail-biting-edge-of-the-seat-stuff. And best read them when you have more than a couple of hours.You'll want to finish; and they are not conducive to falling asleep!(: )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori
In 2001 Special Forces veteran Steve Wilson was in the group that helped Afghanistan gain freedom from the Taliban and helped Afghanistan celebrate its first election. Eight years later when he returns as a security chief to the Minister of Interior, he is appalled at the greed and corruption he found in the country he fought so hard for.Amy Mallory is a Christian relief worker who was recently hired to head to Afghanistan and begin helping women and children. Even with years of experience this is her first time beginning a charity from scratch. The doors open for her to provide a place for women and children after they are released from prison. What she did not plan on was falling in love with the Afghan people.Steve and Amys worlds collide after a suicide bombing. Steve opens Amys eyes to the possible danger and traps she could find herself in and Amy softens Steven heart toward idealistic charity people like Amy. Though they are very different their love for Christ forms a friendship between the two of them.You dont just read Windles books, you live them. Windle will not tickle your American ears, she will tell you like it is. I have to admit when I first read the prologue I wanted to toss the book across the room out of anger, fearing this was a book against our own American military. Instead Windle grabs your heart and gives you the truth; there are problems on both sides of the isle but she tells the story fairly. I encourage all women to read this book, if nothing else it will give you specifics on what to pray for concerning the Afghanistan women. Jeanette Windle has become a favorite author. I enjoy the depth and truth in her stories; you walk away with your heart changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patti
I loved this book! But I didn't get much sleep until I had finished reading it! Full of suspense, it gives you an education on Afghanistan and it's people and how the war has affected their daily lives. Jeanette manages to weave such a detailed picture that you feel like you are actually there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
I have to say right off that J.M. Windle has quickly, in the few books I have read of hers, become one of my favorite authors. She is now on that list where I will seek out and read everything she writes!! I loved and devoured this book! When I finished it, I felt like I had been to Afghanistan. The same with her other books I have read, they were so realistic and involved you in the story so much there was no setting this book down. I loved it! If you like adventure, but you want it to be realistic, pick up her books! Jeanette Windle is an excellent writer that will really get to you! I loved the little thing on the back of the book talking about the author. It says "Her detailed research and writing is realistic that it has prompted government agencies to question her to determine if she had received classified information..." It is so true too! Please read the first chapter and you will find yourself wanting more! This is one that I will remember! I will for sure be reading every one of this authors books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
jubilee
This kind of novel is not my usual reading fare, but I wanted to branch out a bit, so decided that Veiled Freedom looked like a good choice. I was not wrong. Nor was I disappointed.The novel is told from three distinct points of view, flowing nicely and not at all confusing. This gives the reader the chance to discover just who the main characters are and what motivates them. Though the identity of the third person is not revealed until well into the book, the reader does glean a good sense of who he might be.I have to admit to only a passing familiarity of Muslims and the Islamic faith, so this novel provided a bit of an education for me. And though I understand the author to be Christian, I didn't feel as though the Muslim faith was slighted, but rather explained. Perhaps revealed is an even better word. And I came away from this experience with more compassion toward the people of Islam than I had before reading Veiled Freedom.The book stands completely and confidently on it's own, but I can't help wishing that Veiled Freedom is the start of a series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachelle
This book gave me a lot to think about. It asked a lot of questions that I ask about my life and ministry (though the situations are vastly different).One of the tenants of the book that has stuck out to me is the truth that freedom must be chosen. This is one truth that can be hard to live with, especially when you see people choosing the deceit of the enemy that leads only to death. True freedom is found in choosing to bow the knee before the cross of Jesus Christ. True change can occur in peoples lives when you live out love the way that Christ loved.It was an interesting and thoughtful story. I recommend reading Veiled Freedom for the honest look at what is happening in Afghanistan today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
One of the best books i've read so far this summer!I was very impressed with the detail, the author has done a great amount of research. I never once felt like one of the three storylines was being overlooked. The author paid close attention to telling the whole story too. Jeanette is a very gifted writer and i'm excited to read her other books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendi
Perfect for : Personal reading, book club read In a nutshell: We are bombarded with news and other media from around the world, especially the Middle Eastern countries, and this novel provides readers with a more in depth look into Afghanistan than we get on tv. This is a wonderful new novel from Jeanette Windle that takes a look into modern-day Afghanistan, exploring various aspects of the culture, characters and spirituality. This wonderfully researched and detailed story will take you on a journey as you read about realistic characters in the guise of Amy, a relief worker, Steve, a member of the Special Forces who is protecting an Afghani leader, and Jamil, who works for Amy as an interpreter. If you participate in a book club, this book provides lots of great conversation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Veiled Freedom. Just the title is intriguing, isn't it? I traveled (virtually) with relief worker Amy Mallory as she bravely headed to Afghanistan, a passion for helping people strong in her heart. Though she's young, she's not (too) afraid, and steps out to help the women of Afghanistan who have no one to turn to. It's quite an undertaking, one not fully supported by the people of Afghanistan, and she finds more than a few obstacles before her. Throw in a good-looking but rough and not-so-well-mannered American soldier that doesn't believe people like Amy can make a difference in Afghanistan, but somehow can't manage to stay away from her... I was hooked!Veiled Freedom is full of excitement, political intrigue, and mystery. The culture and atmosphere of the Middle East is brought vividly to life on the page - at times I was just so thankful to be in America and not in a place like that... at other times the author made me feel like it's something I should see. Ms. Windle gave me some things to think about when it comes to the Muslim culture... one of the many struggles Amy faces involves sharing her faith with one of the Muslim workers - I really wanted to see how she dealt with it. It can be hard to share our hearts and Christ with people at times in our free United States, but imagine not feeling free to share your beliefs and faith with someone in another country for fear of what might happen to you!I found it hard to put down and the plot was very well-developed. This would make an AWESOME movie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Veiled Freedom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
Jeanette Windle does it again with a great book that is for today. With Windle's knowlege of Afganistan (or any country that she uses for a setting)the reader comes away with a different perspective, appreciation, and understanding when watcing the news. The best part is that I did not have to wait two or more years for another Windle book. I hope that I don't have a long wait for her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>