Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Freedom's Stand

Tyndale House Freedom's Stand

Jamil renounced a life of jihad when he encountered the life-changing message of Jesus Christ, but villagers and authorities in the hills of Afghanistan respond with skepticism . . . and even violence.

Relief worker Amy Mallory is shocked by the changes in her organization-changes with dire implications for the women and children under her care. And concern for her former assistant, Jamil, weighs heavily on her heart.

Former Special Forces veteran Steve Wilson faces off against the riots and corruption of Kabul's upcoming election. He's looking for something that will give his life purpose but is confident that he won't find it in Afghanistan.All three are searching for love and freedom in a country where political and religious injustice runs rampant. But when religious freedom becomes a matter of life and death, they discover that the cost of following Jesus may require the ultimate sacrifice.

Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Freedom's Stand
Review 1 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Way to start the morning!

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that when I began this book, I really was not sure what I would think. It was a different sort of book than I normally read. I generally do not read books that deal with the afterlife. It was a little different to have the main character spend most of his life in the book as a dead man.
As I continued to read the book, I was greatly impressed by the author's ability to tell a compelling story and create such intriguing characters. I cannot say that Daniel was someone I actually liked. I know a lot of reviewers felt sorry for him and grew to like him, but I cannot say I ever did. The end was actually a bit of a disappointment for me in that respect. I will say that the author minced no words when describing his depraved past.
The thing that disturbed me most about the book was that it took a different view of the afterlife than I believe. I was able to set all that aside, but I do not like the idea of someone getting a second chance after death to make everything right--especially a character like Daniel. In my opinion, all the pain and suffering he felt after death did not atone for the atrocities he did while alive. I would have much preferred having the story follow the line of thinking in "A Christmas Carol" or "It's a Wonderful Life." I prefer the idea of changing your life while still alive rather than waiting for death. It would have been nice for Daniel to wake up at the end and realize everything was a dream and that he still had a chance to right some wrongs while alive.
I realize that I come from the perspective of an evangelical Christian, and that could turn some people off to my review, and that is fine. The stories I mentioned are favorites of mine that deal with people coming back from the dead as angels or ghosts. Those stories can still be enjoyed by me in spite of my personal beliefs. Understand that my issues with the book were making things right while still alive instead of waiting until after death.
My only other complaint was the ending. I felt that the author somewhat rushed the last chapter or two, and I would have preferred a little more explanation at that point. But that is just my preference.
Would I recommend this book? I really depends on many things. If you are one who enjoys a well-written story about divine justice and the afterlife, this may very well be the book for you. I cannot fault the author for writing a book that embodied a clever tale with a variety of characters and situations. However, if you are like me and prefer to see people handle the issues of their lives before they die, this book may not be the one for you.
I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are one hundred percent my own.
flag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best novels since...Veiled Freedom!

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
Location:New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sequel to 'Veiled Freedom', 'Freedom's Stand' returns to Afghanistan to continue the stories of Jamil- former suicide bomber turned itinerant health worker and teacher of Isa Masih, Amy Mallory- humanitarian aid worker, and Steve Wilson- private security contractor who is looking for a mission to believe in. All three are searching for love and freedom. But in a country where political and religious injustice runs rampant, the cost of either may be higher than they realize...
After I read this book, it made the rounds of my sisters, cousins, aunts, uncles and assorted other friends and family. It's finally come back to me for another reading and I enjoyed it just as much the second and third times through. It is a delight to read a novel where the truth of Scripture is presented with such passion and accuracy! Jeanette Windle definitely knows her military, her Afghanistan, and her Bible. There is only one small complaint I would make, and that is that when I first discovered Windle's novels I was so thrilled that they were so long! Finally, a book that took more than an evening to read. But since Tyndale started publishing her books they seem to get shorter and shorter. Mrs. Windle, your fans in New Zealand say 'the longer the better!'
'Freedom's Stand' is no light-and-fluffy story to be read and forgotten, but a sobering and challenging account of the hardships that belivers in other nations face, and a reminder to pray for God's people who do not enjoy the same freedoms we do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Your Kind of Book?

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's a literary fiction/romance/chick lit/YA girl like me doing in an action-adventure place like this? That's what I wondered when I first opened FREEDOM'S STAND by Jeanette Windle. Its Aghanistan setting seemed as much out of my comfort zone as its characters' lives of intrigue and adventure.
In this sequel to Windle's Christy-nominated VEILED FREEDOM, Amy, a relief worker, returns to join forces with Steve, a former Special Forces officer, and Jamil, her former assistant and recent convert to Christianity. No, this didn't seem like my kind of book at all. But I kept reading. Why?
First, because the characters and I share a passion for people and for the cause of Christ. Second, because this story comes direct from both headlines and the prayer letters of friends who also work in NGOs (non-governmental organizations) in that part of the world. And third, because the author's careful descriptions, realistic dialogue, and powerful plotline compelled me. Windle pulled me into her story and never let me go.
Deception, suspense, imprisonment, and persecution amid inward and outward battles for faith and freedom--this book has it all. Read VEILED FREEDOM first, then hurry on into FREEDOM'S STAND. You'll be glad you did.
Even if it's not your kind of book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Freedom's Stand

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A novel about the plight of women and children in Afganistan and of the conditions to which they are subjected and religious persecution. From working as carpet weavers, illiteracy to young girls being given to men as wives that are not of the girls choosing. Encompasses the lives of Amy Mallory from New Hope Foundation (a safe haven for women and children), Jamil a healer, Farah a girl who is looking for more in life and other prominant characters. This book does tear at the heart and will make the reader reflect on the hardships these people face everyday. I am happy that I live in a free country and have the freedom of choice.
This book does have excellent character development and starts out well but however I did have trouble staying into the novel a little ways through and am not sure it can be a stand alone type being second in a series it definately needs to be read in order. Dialogue and scene works and it challenged me in my faith. I would recommend it but only after reading the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A realistic view of current events

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KLouie16
Location:Cedar Hill, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gave a realistic view of current events of Christians living in a Muslim country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
American aid worker Amy Mallory has returned to Afghanistan after a short trip home only to find that the new project director of New Hope has made, and allowed, several changes. Steve Wilson has returned to Afghanistan to fill in for his buddy Phil on a security detail while Phil deals with family issues at home. Jamil has become a preacher of sorts, using what medical training he has to travel the country as a healer and spreading the teachings of Isa Misah. The three come together again in this sequel when Jamil finds himself in serious trouble after he preaches of Isa and shows up a doctor who refuses to touch a female patient.
This is a wonderful story. An excellent sequel to “Veiled Freedom.” As with the previous novel, Windle stays true to her characters, allowing them to grow and change is a believable way. Since Steve’s security detail isn’t as important to the story here, there is less technical talk than the previous novel, which I liked. Unpredictable twists and turns will keep you glued to the page. This is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first J.M Windle book, but not the last!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sweet Diva
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this book, I did so as an opportunity to step out of my comfort zone of books that I am most likely choose and to broaden my horizons to explore different writers.
I was not disappointed.
Set in the country of Afghanistan, this fictional story uses the very real-life extremism, hatred and violence of a society in which I actually knew little about to spin a fast-paced tale, a page turner that was hard to put down. I found myself pulling for and intrigued by the characters, wanting so badly for the happy ending that I hoped would come. Although I'm ashamed to admit it, never before did I realize the depths of violence and corruption that exists in Afghan society. Never before did I realize the horrors that a woman and young girls face each day.....and have been made more thankful for the freedoms that I take for granted.
The author manages to take the horrid truths of day-to-day life that occurs for those women and for those who follow Christ and weaves a story that will soften your heart to the plight of these people and strengthen your resolve to fight to see that we never lose the freedoms we so flippantly possess. It also causes one to ponder their own devotion to Christ, to what lengths would we go to, what plights would we suffer, what dangers would we face, and what price would we pay to remain true to the One who gave His all for us?
My only regret is that I didn't read the prequel to this book, "Veiled Freedom", first. It will definitely not be long before I do. It is a very good thing to step out of that comfort zone once in a while.....I'm very glad that I did.
This book was provided by Tyndale House in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:June 15, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an intriguing book that was a page-turner! This is a book I would definitely recommend to others. It was also apparently nominated for the Golden Scroll Award. Freedom' Stand is a sequel to Veiled Freedom. It was fine to read without having read the first book, but I feel like I need to read the first one to gain a bit more understanding into this book.
Amy Mallory, an American relief worker, and Steve Wilson, a former U.S. soldier who is a private contractor are both working in Afghanistan. While there, they see and experience the horrid circumstances that many who chose to live for Christ in these Islamic areas often face.
This book included much about Afghanistan and the author made it feel like you were truly experiencing the same experiences that she was writing about, as well as seeing the same places as her. It is a romance book, but it is a thriller more than that. It's heart-breaking as you see the way the women are treated and the abuse that goes on for those who live for Christ.
I find this to be one of those books that is hard to sum up in such few words. Definitely a book that you should check out!
_________________
I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Important Book as well as Entertaining

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No wonder Freedom’s Stand has been nominated for the Golden Scroll Award. I’d like to give it 10 stars.
Freedom’s Stand catches up with American relief worker, Amy Mallory, and Steve Wilson, former US soldier now private security contractor in modern-day Afghanistan. Both Amy and Steve are torn in their hatred for what goes on in Afghanistan and their love for this beautiful culture and people.
From page 1 the reader is plunged into the reality of an extremist society. We see through the character Jamil what real people are living with—and dying from—when they choose to follow Christ in this closed-minded Islamic society.
The story also deals head-on with the issue of abuse toward women. We see this through the life of young Farah who is living in the New Hope Compound that Amy set up to provide refuge for Afghani women and children. It’s through Amy’s eyes and Farah’s life that we see the atrocious cruelty going on every day and which is hidden beneath the burqa.
But the author has managed to tell a very human story, weaving heart-rending issues with the fast pace of an action and political thriller as well as a romance.
As the story progresses, the stakes ratchet higher and higher until we are watching a modern-day Daniel in the lion’s den.
The author’s vast knowledge of Afghanistan is evident in each vivid scene so that the reader almost feels what it’s like to don a burqa and walk through the diesel-clouded streets of Kabul. You can hear the crack of a rifle shot, the sound of thousands of human voices raised in hatred. There were times as I read that the goose bumps were raised on my arms.
This is not a light-weight romance, but a fast-paced thriller that also contains the sweetness of love on so many levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can the Afghan People Ever Know True Freedom?

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aid worker Amy Mallory returns from a trip stateside to find overwhelming and seemingly negative changes to the New Hope Compound. The rescued women have been put to work doing the backbreaking job of carpet-making, the area she secured to give them more living space has been turned into a business, and most troubling to Amy, several of the women have been married off to strangers.
Jamil has found peace traveling the countryside, using his medical skills as a healer and sharing the teachings of Isa Masih (Jesus Christ). When he is unknowingly filmed by a journalist and his faith is broadcast on YouTube for all the world to see, he finds himself behind bars in one of the most notorious prisons in all of Afghanistan. He is accused of apostasy, and all Afghans know the penalty for apostasy is death.
Condor Security operative Steve Wilson thought he had seen the last of Afghanistan and is busy planning an extended tropical beach vacation. When the young son of the friend who took over his assignment is diagnosed with Leukemia and needs a bone marrow transplant Steve insists on filling in so the family can be together at this crucial time. If only Steve could find something to do that would fill his life with purpose...
The Afghan people still live without freedom ten years after the ousting of the Taliban. Regardless of outside intervention the country seems bent on destroying and imprisoning itself from within. Is there any real hope of freedom? Of love? Can anyone make a difference?
Freedom's Stand is the completion of the tale begun in Veiled Freedom. While it's possible to read the story alone, you will miss the depth of the story if you try to do so. This story is both riveting any meaningful. Many times you will find yourself on the edge of your seat, and yet you will also find your heart aching for the lives and love of the Afghan people. This is an important story that tells what life is like behind the news headlines.
The author, Jeanette Windle, has done her research well, including an under the radar trip to Afghanistan. In fact, her research is so detailed that it has prompted government agencies to question whether she has seen classified information. She brings this world of to life through her understanding of what it is like to work and live as a missionary in the "Hot Zones" of the world.
This book, and actually both books in this series, are five-star quality. I would highly recommend picking up a copy of both Veiled Freedom and Freedom's stand to add to your collection of fine literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story you won't soon forget.

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Glidden
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think my review of Jeanette Windle's two books set in Afghanistan can fully explain how good they really are and how much I learned and understand the inner struggles of the people and their lifestyle. Although you can read this book as a stand alone; I do not recommend doing it, because you will miss so much of what happened in book one, "Veiled Freedom". This story is also about Amy Mallory, a relief worker who is trying to make a difference in the lives of the women and children in Afghanistan. Then there is Steve Wilson, who is looking for something to believe in while he works for a security task force in Afghanistan. There is also Jamil, a man who has endured so much from his country and who has renounced his country's religion when he reads of the life-changing message of Jesus. All three of these characters are intertwined within this story. There is so much to learn while reading this story, and so many emotions that you will feel while reading; the culture, the lifestyles, the corruption, the tragedy, the hope and the love.
At the back of the book there is a conversation with the author and I think she summed up the overall theme of this book really good when she asked this question: "if trillions of dollars in aid, all the weapons the West can bring to bear, and a lot of genuine goodwill aren't enough to bring about lasting peace and democracy, then what is the true source of freedom? Can outsiders ever truly purchase freedom for another culture or people?" I think she answers these questions very well in these two books. I know I can't adequately express my appreciation after reading these stories, but I know I have come away with my eyes opened to a culture and a people that I feel I have gotten to know and can understand and pray for better. A special thanks goes to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great offering from Jeanette Windle!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathi Macias
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a time when Afghanistan is in the news almost daily, it is both refreshing and challenging to read a story of courage and candor, adventure and romance set among this ancient and passionate people. Only one with a love for the Afghanis and an understanding of their culture could bring such a story to life, and author J. M. Windle has done it. From the opening pages we are captured by the plight of a nearly invisible young girl whose life has been difficult beyond our imagining. Having lost everyone she’s ever loved, she now finds she is to be married off to a cruel master who will never give her the love she so desires. And so she gathers her courage and strikes out on her own, scarcely aware of what she seeks but knowing she cannot stay and face the fate that awaits her. Through endless intrigue and adventure, we are drawn into the lives of these Afghan people, as we learn their culture, fight their battles, dream their dreams…and ultimately travel with them as they discover the truth about the Prophet they know only as Isa. It is then that they must decide the price they are willing to pay to follow Him…or not. This book will do so much more than entertain us as readers, though it certainly does that. It will challenge us at the deepest level of our commitment and encourage us to stand for freedom…regardless of the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Freedom's Stand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freedom’s Stand is a fast-paced, gripping novel that paints a vivid picture of life in Afghanistan. It shows the challenges Amy and other missionaries face when ministering to women and children, who are considered nothing more than property in that culture. The book is filled with intrigue, a little romance, and incredible faith that results in an ultimate sacrifice. The end contains an interesting twist. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Freedom's Stand
This review is fromFreedom's Stand - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freedom's Stand. A Book Review. "Freedom's Stand" is a fast-paced novel that gives us a picture of life in Afghanistan. We see the challenges relief worker, Amy, and our missionaries face when ministering to women and children, who are nothing more than property in that culture. You'll get to know Amy, Jamil, and a young girl that grips your heart as they try to serve Jesus in this war torn land, a land where you can be put to death for your Christian beliefs. You'll see lives changed, faith grow, and the ultimate sacrifice for followers of Christ.
This book was a little hard to get into jumping from character to character but keep going, it's worth it!
I received this book from Tyndale Publishers as part of their bloggers review program. I was not required to give a positive review, just my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.