Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson #1: Curse of the Spider King

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson #1: Curse of the Spider King

Oppressed by the evil Spider King, Allyra's inhabitants are near despair---until strange tidings arrive from faraway Earth. Could two adopted children, just approaching their 13th birthdays, be the long-lost descendents of Allyra's Elf Lords? If so, will they have the courage to accept their destiny---and save their people? Ages 8 to 12. 384 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Review 1 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Curse of the Spider King - 4.5 Stars

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
RAMH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was good. I really enjoyed the characters and the two authors, Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, know how to put a story together. Each character had their own battle they had to face which brought great examples of forgiveness, sacrifice, trust, and acceptance of one's self. An example of how anger and hate is a destroyer was also in the book. The characters learn about how to trust God even in the most desperate circumstance and that no matter what, no matter what anyone has ever called or treated you as, he loves you (something all of us should remember).The book is meant for those 12 and up and is an excellent book for anyone looking for a decent story for a young adult.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best christian Fantasy series EVER!!!!!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
JaydenCrow
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first picked up this book early in fifth grade I was immediately immersed deep in the story. The plot is about seven adopted teens who find out they are not what they seem. The plot starts out slow; lots of suspense, of course, but little action. This may deter some people but Batson and Hopper managed to hold my attention. After about 100 pages, the plot speeds up a lot with plenty of action, revelation, and more suspense. It ends with a exciting climax, which will leave you wanting to read more.
One thing that some readers may also have trouble with is following all seven characters. Most probably will not, for Batson and Hopper did an excellent job of making the characters very distinct.
Cons:
* The large cast may confuse some readers
* The plot starts out a little too slow for some people
Pros:
* Suspenseful and exiting Christ centered storyline
* LOTS of action that will entertain readers throughout the book
* EXTREME action packed climax and cliff hanger ending
Once again, Batson and Hopper have created a masterpiece of Christian literature that will leave readers gaping, anxiously awaiting to get the next book. Highly recommended!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!!!!!!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Belac
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing!!! He's done it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the BEST books I have read!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Winterbane
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The time has come. The pieces are set and The Spider King has waited ever so patiently for this opportune moment. He strikes and the Allyran Elves have no clue the magnitude of force that has been unleashed. What will become of the elves? Is their race doomed to become nothing more than a footnote in the rewrite history at the hands of The Spider King? Or will there one shred of hope in the Berinfell Prophecies come to pass. This adventurous tale is co-written by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. The Spider King is the first book of the Berinfell Prophecies and is full of great twists and turns, ups and downs, and leaves you wanting more! Authors Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper trigger the imagination to enter a new world of heroism and horrific evil.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cameron
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. Confuseing at first and a little scary but a good, christan book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A real page turner.

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
fanstyloverebel
Location:Minnesota
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great at making you wonder what is going to happen next. The authors take a good amount of time to really set the stage and tell about the chacters. When all the chacters came together I couldnt help but smile. The adventure will keep you on your toes for the whole series. Read and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Curse of the Spider King

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Manny
Location:Kansas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book deserves 100+ stars. Even though there are many points of view in this book, it is an easy follow, and you also get to know what every character is feeling (there are seven main characters!).
The title of this book might scare you away: Curse of the *Spider King*. That was me too. I didn't want to read it because of the spiders. I was surprised when I finally read the book. There weren't very many spiders in it at all!
You may hear that this book is written for the youth, but this book is an attention grabber for anyone: children, young adults, adults. I would very highly recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderfully Spun Tale

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vrenith Sylversmith
Location:KS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seven young teenagers discover something about their past that changes their lives forever. They are all Elves, the Seven Elf Lords, to be precise. All the Sentinels work to bring them back to their real world, back to their real people. But the Spiderking, who first kidnapped them, is out to kill them. He and his Drefids did not kill them before in fear of a curse that would only be broken when they reached the age of reckoning when they were around thirteen. Then, their powers would mature and become strong. You will devour this book as you watch in your mind’s eye the battles and struggles for justice and righteousness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danielle
I liked this book a lot, the only problem was that I didn't get intrigued by it until about a quarter way through the book. The reason is that it had a relatively slow start and then picked up the pace. It was pretty well written and in a few parts, like when the mysterious man starts appearing, i got really into it. It was also exciting when they were trying to get through the portal. I must say that the storyline of the book is very creative and adventurous, it just had a couple slow parts that I had a hard time getting past. But overall I thought it was good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth
Action, adventure, swords, bows, arrows, and ancient Elven mystery, the perfect attributes of a great fantasy novel. This book, the Curse of the Spider King is everything you could dream of when looking for a fantasy novel. It begins with a mysterious meeting with Elven warriors in another realm, Allyra. Then it goes on to explain how the seven Elven Lords were lost to the enemy years ago and transported to Earth to escape a curse at a very young age. Now that their powers have developed, the enemy and the Elven warriors seek out the Lords to kill them, or to bring them back to Allyra. Who will win? Well, that I cant tell you, youll have to read the book for yourself, but I think any person, young or old, will enjoy this thoroughly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teenage Writer
The Seven succeeding Elven Lords of Allyra were dead, lost in the Siege of Berinfell as babes. At least that's what everyone thought until tremors from a distant world known as Earth, revealed strange signs that Elven blood lived among its peoples. With a glimmer of hope in their hearts, sentinels are sent to see if the signs are true. But theirs is not a lone errand. The ruling warlord of Allyra, the Spider King, has sent his own scouts to hunt down the Seven and finish the job they failed to complete many ages ago. Now 13-year-olds on the brink of the Age of Reckoning when their Elven gifts will be manifest, discover the unthinkable truth that their adoptive families are not their only kin. With mysterious Sentinels revealing breathtaking secrets of the past, and dark strangers haunting their every move, will the young Elf Lords find the way back to the home of their birth? Worlds and races collide as the forces of good and evil battle. Will anyone escape the Curse of the Spider King? [Taken from heedtheprophecies.com:] This was actually the first book that I read by either Wayne Thomas Batson or Christopher Hopper, and it is one of the best. One of the things that was both good and bad was that there were seven protagonists. Seven. Quite a bit. But CH and WTB manage to pull it off masterfully. Mr. Batson's humor, seen often in his other books (like The Door Within), was also present. There was a particular paragraph about a cell phone (COTSK fans will know what I'm talking about) that literally made me laugh my head off. Mr. Hopper's description skills and other qualities shone through the pages of this excellent book as well. The character development could have been a bit better on a few select characters, but altogether, considering the enormous amount of characters, protagonists and other characters alike, the development was superb. The combination of these two authors was, to say the least, amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alastrina of SwiftStorm
Curse of the Spider King was a terrific book! It is so intense that you have to keep reading, even though the spiders are pretty creepy. I loved that there were so many characters; it really allows you to pick a character you like best, or one that may be like you, and follow that person around. The story itself is very fun; I was good for nothing while I was reading it. It is so hard to put down! Though, after reading it, I admit, I was thinking there were spiders following me around for two days! I was sad once I finished the book. It just cannot stop there! I want to read book two!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rushingwaters
The Curse of the Spider King by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper is an wonderful book for any age!. The Authors set up a wonderful beginning for a series and leave you wanting to read the next book, Venom and Song! This book is a high quality Christian novel, with absolutely NO bad language or inappropriate contents! The Curse of the Spider King is about seven teenagers who find out they are royalty from an elvish world. This book is very exciting and will appeal to both males and females. Fans of Wayne Thomas Baton, Christopher Hopper, Donita K. Paul, or J.R. Tolkien will love this new co-authored novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adele
The Curse of the Spider King has got to be one of THE BEST Young Adultbooks out there! When I read this book, I was very impressed by the way authors Wayne Thomas Batson & Christopher Hopper handled the characters; excellent, believable, and fun. Who would think of Kat, a girl who has 'poly'something that turns the skin blueas an elf from another world? How do yu describe the no-end of coolness of Jett, a young football dude, healing completely up after a 'fatal' crash on a dirt bike? Or his sudden discovery, shortly before the event, that his eyes have mysteriously turned violet? Well, he's an elf, and there you are ...But this book can be creepy too. I literally had NIGHTMARES after reading the part where young Tommy is going through an abandoned asylum for the 'criminally insane'too scaryyy!! Or when Kiri Lee, the talented young violinist, comes home to her apartment and finds her parents gone and 'wisps' in their place? That was pretty perilous ... So all in all, it's a great book, and besides the fact that the adopted non-elf parents of the kids should be much more involved, I think you will really find The Curse of the Spider King cool to the highest degree.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
While a little confusing of a read the first time around (there are a lot of characters) I really enjoyed Curse of the Spider King, and while I was a little sorry not to get the Allyra until the very end I look forward to it's sequel: Venom and Song. The story really begin 800 years ago in the Elven land of Allyra, where the children of the seven elven lords are kidnapped and sent to Earth. Skip ahead about 11 or 12 earth years as the elven lords reach the age of reckoning, and age where their hidden gifts and powers start showing themselves. Elven sentinels sent to earth to find and bring back the young lords but they are not the only ones searching, Drefids, dangerous minions of the Spider King r are also looking for them in order to finish the job they did not dare to do before. As the elves try to return to Allyra they encounter more and more resistance until it finally reaches a climactic battle in Scotland where remains the last open portal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
bunnylover03
If you think elves are Santa's little helpers, think again! In Curse of the Spider King a group of seven teenaged elven lords have been kidnapped and taken to our world. More elves must seek out the lords and take them back to the kingdom of Berinfell to save it before their adversaries, the ones who kidnapped them originally, get to them first and kill them. It was a very exciting read, and I cannot wait for the next installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barieah Hueenla
This book was a very entertaining read for me. The storyline was a tad forgettable (I say this because I have to really concentrate to remember what it was) but the concept was very intriguing, even if a bit clich. There was some great humor spread throughout the book, and the kids (elves) were very believable. Some moments in the book were very well done, and certainly memorable. Like the trap devised by the heroes of Allyra, the tree attacking an average school kid, and of course the party at the end. When I started the book I expecting there to be glaringly obvious changes in style every once in a while, seeing as its co-authored, but Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper did an amazing job blending their two unique voices into one. Itd take some pretty intense study to find out who wrote what, lol. Id certainly recommend this book for tweens especially, but other ages as well. Overall, the book felt like an intro to me . . . But a necessary one. I am certainly looking forward to see how this series progresses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christian Miles
Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper deliver a compelling tale in their first co-authored book of a new series, The Berinfell Prophecies.Seven teens learn a special secret about their ancestry that leads them into an action-filled series of events culminating in a high-stakes battle complete with warspiders, drefids, and, of course, elves.To tell you the truth, I was glued to this book by the time I hit Page 10. As I write this, the book sits next to me, begging to be read again. That's just the type of story it is, the kind that makes your palms itch for more.The craftsmanship could've been better. It was like the authors knew they only had so many pages they could write and thus didn't totally submerge themselves into their characters. And there were several characters. Between the 370 pages are 7 main protagonists, all teens, and each of them follow the same basic storyline. To truly do justice to the plot and characters, Curse of the Spider King would've had to have been 800 pages long.Nevertheless, I'm hooked. The next book, Venom & Song, can't come out fast enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan Paige Howard
What did I think of Curse of the Spider King? Will... I loved it. A whole new world, with great characters that you can relate too, the best and I mean best creepiest bad guys you could possibly think of... one being spiders, yikes, tons of action that easily plays out like a movie in your mind, and an intriguing story that I'm sure is going to get even more interesting as the series progresses ... need I say more?I was not confused with any of the characters... not once, which surprised me considering there were seven main characters and many others. I truly don't have anything bad to say about this book... really I don't... cant think of anything. It's a nice easy flowing read and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #1: Curse of the Spider King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Youth Bibliophile
Their human names are Jett Green, Tommy Bowman, Jimmy Greshem, Tommy Briarman, Autumn Briarman Kat Simonson and Kiri Lee Yuen.They are truly the seven great elven lords, taken from their home reality of Allyra to earth by the Drefids, servants of the evil Spider King. The elven sentinels must save them, but the young lords must be found from among billions. They will be recognized by their powers: mind reading, control of fire, future seeing to name a few. The Drefids, however, have a presence on earth, too and the portals to Allyra are closing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.