Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson #2: Venom and Song

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson #2: Venom and Song

Time is running out.

Trapped in the strange world of Allyra, the seven royal Elf lords struggle to control their new powers. With the Spider King chasing them and traitors in their midst, the young lords must unravel the mystery of the legendary Rainsong before the Elven race is destroyed forever. Standing in their way are peculiar and perilous creatures, a trap-filled fortress, and a dangerous secret.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: Venom and Song
Review 1 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Venom and Song - 4.5 Stars

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
RAMH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was good. I really enjoyed the characters and the two authors, Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, know how to put a story together. Each character had their own battle they had to face which brought great examples of forgiveness, sacrifice, trust, and acceptance of one's self. An example of how anger and hate is a destroyer was also in the book. The characters learn about how to trust God even in the most desperate circumstance and that no matter what, no matter what anyone has ever called or treated you as, he loves you (something all of us should remember).The book is meant for those 12 and up and is an excellent book for anyone looking for a decent story for a young adult.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for any Fantasy fan!!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
JaydenCrow
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first read this book in fifth grade, I honestly could not put it down!! The story starts off right where we left the seven main characters in the first book; a definite plus! Batson and Hopper waste no time to get back into the action. If you have not read the first book please read no further...but I would definitely get the first book Curse of the Spider Kind and read my review on that.
Then seven elven lords of Berinfell have made it back to the world of Allyra safely. They now are faced with a huge task; plan a rebellion against the tyrannical Spider King. First, they need training, and the only proper place to do it is in the abandoned Castle of Whitehall. To travel to Whitehall requires the elves to travel aboveground; such a small group could easily be overwhelmed by a Gwar patrol. Even worse, the young teens face one daunting question; are they on the wrong side?
Venom and Song is one of the best books you will ever read! It contains a rare fusion of action, mystery, suspense, and Christian principles. It also relates very well to the struggles of the average Christian teen, or even to the working adult. I would recommend this book to anyone ten or older, for it has some violence and scenes that may scare younger readers. This book is definitely worth the read!!!
Pros:
Great story!
Leaves off right where the first ended!
Good mixture of Christian principles, action, suspense, and mystery!
Cons:
None!!
5 Stars! Definitely a must read!!!
Make sure to read it before the third comes out in the spring!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!!!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Belac
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing!!! Can't wait for the next one!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a MUST read, for ALL ages!!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Winterbane
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can the Elves ever fight back or are they on razors edge of oblivion? The Spider King has grown more and more powerful with each passing day. However, with the return of the seven elf lords, the elves have new hope and they begin to stir. The seven elf lords have powers that could destroy the Spider King and his minions forever, but in knowing this, the Spider King has something that lies in wait for just such an occasion. Venom and Song is anther EPIC book by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. This is an action packed adventure with highs and lows, but never disappointing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Venom and Song

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Manny
Location:Kansas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an amazing book filled with twists and turns you wouldn't expect. Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper are piecing together an unimaginably great series of books. Filled with wisps, singing, secrets, darkness, memories, joy, gnomes, walking trees, ancient training, and much more. You don't want to wait to read this awesome book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
karen
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter cannot read these books fast enough. She loves all of the books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good job with 2nd book

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pingpong
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continuing on from book one of the Berinfell Prophecies series, Venom and Song continues the adventures of our intrepid seven heroes. I know how many series have seven heroes? This was a wise decision on the authors part because it allows our heroes to be “normal” with superpowers instead of being superpowers that occasionally are normal. As the heroes return to the elven nation they find that not only do they have enemies from without but opposition from within the nation as well. Fleeing from those who would seek to use them rashly they find solitude and hard work far away. But as the enemies close in, they choose a dangerous mission to find something that no one has ever seen but that they have been called to find. Completing the ancient prophecies seemed so simple and straightforward. Now realizing that things are not as they appear “evil has no race” and they seek to understand the truth about ancient history and this critical question: who and what they’re willing to fight for. This is a fun read and the truths interlaced into the book make it great for bringing the truths to some of the questions that we humans still struggle with. Enjoy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Check out this series

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
Just having arrived through the portal that transported them from Earth to Allyra, the seven elf lords must undergo training on how to fight and use their new powers before they will be ready to face the Spider King and his army. They also must learn how to use the Rainsong in order to save the Elven race.
Book two picks up where book one left off. The young Elven lords have arrived in Allyra and are being chased by the bad guys. There is a lot of action in this book to keep you turning the pages. The characters grow a lot as they spend more time together and learn to use their powers. I enjoyed Grimwarden and his tough training methods and how the teens interacted with each other.
Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper really know how to entertain. If you love teen fantasy novels, be sure to check out this series. It’s a lot of fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally Awesome

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vrenith Sylversmith
Location:KS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seven Elf Lords are now in Allyra, where they are to be trained to control and use their powers, as well as to work together. But when they go to find the Keystone, the fortress where they had been training is attacked. They press on, thinking that Grimwarden, Goldarrow, and the others are dead. Will teamwork and their powers be enough to stop the Spiderking? Will they be enough to go into battle against him? Only time will tell as they travel through perils most would not risk. But their whole kingdom is at stake, so the still-young Seven Elf Lords must do what they can to save it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is willing. Endurance and victory!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Sad to say, I could not get through this book. Nor did my daughter, who loves fantasy type books, would not read it. It was very confusing. There are too many characters and too much going on. We were hoping it would be more like Lord of the Rings or Narnia, but we did not find it that way. I know there are fans of this book series and they really get into it, they even have a forum. But for us, its just not for us. I think it would have been much easier to read if you have read the first in the series. The graphics were great and inticing on the cover. So it is presented very well. I am giving it 3 stars because from what I read, I did not find it to have errors or bad writing. I received this book from Thomas Nelson Booksneeze.com for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danielle
To be honest I didn't jump into the book like I have with some of the others that Mr. Batson has written. Nevertheless, this is still a great book that is full of action, adventure and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth
I noticed the writing flawed at the beginning. There were a few viewpoint shifts within scenes and the dialogue tags were off from the beginning to the end of the book. That doesnt matter much to me, even though I do notice it. The books plot was amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the world of Allyra and its history. There were a few typos that I found amusing, but didnt bother me at all. Such as a time when one of the characters ased a question. Of course, it was mean to be asked.The plot kept me on my toes and kept me turning the page and the ending was very satisfying, though it made me quite sad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jack
Just finished reading Venom and Song which is Book Two of the Berinfell Prophesies, by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. I received this book approximately two months ago and it took me quite awhile to get this book read and it is of my own accord as to why it took so long. I had not read the first in the series which made it very difficult to get into this book as I am guessing that the character development that took place in the first book would lend itself to easier reading.With this being said I am intrigued by the 7 main characters that lead the adventure through Allrya. Throughout the adventure they learn more about their individual powers and there is certainly a lot of suspense. The book is well written but I have to admit that I am not a huge fan of this type of literature as it becomes confusing to keep all the characters and adversaries straight. For the young adult that is looking for something to tide them over until the next Harry Potter type of series this would be one for their bookshelves though.I did receive this book from Thomas Nelson for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany Morford
Venom and Song is the latest book Ive been reading. It is the second book in the Berinfell Prophecies series by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. The book is published by Thomas Nelson Publishers and has 384 pages. It definitely captured my interest. At first when I received this book, I thought that it would be difficult to read because it is the second in the series. However, at the front of the book, there is a large glossary of cast and locations from the previous book. If you read that information, the book is easy to follow.This book is an exciting book full of action! I thoroughly enjoyed it. It reminded me of the Lord of the Rings series, but seemed to be written for a more modern audience of teens and young adults. The book includes strong character values such as love, forgiveness, truth, and teamwork. Venom and Song contains just enough romance to interest girls, but not so much to turn away boys. In the same way, it has a good amount of war scenes, but not so many that the entire book is about war. It was easy to read, and held my attention well. I would recommend this book to anyone, but particularly to those who like fantasy books.*** I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. Check it out and receive free books for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teenage Writer
WARNING; This book may just change your view of Christian Fantasy forever.Time is running out...Trapped in the strange world of Allyra, the seven royal Elf lords struggle to control their new powers. With the Spider King chasing them and traitors in their midst, the young lords must unravel the mystery of the legendary Rainsong before the Elven race is destroyed forever. Standing in their way are peculiar and perilous creatures, a trap-filled fortress, and a dangerous secret.Will the Prophecies come true? Or will the Spider King win again? [from the back cover]Amazing. Inspirational. Heart-wrenching. Spiritual. All of these things describe Venom and Song. If anything could be called epic, it would be this. The battles are breathtaking and detailed, but not so the reader would be grossed out. The plot is always twisting and turning. Every time I think the authors would do one thing, they do the opposite. Full of dangers, deception, hope, action, and mystery, Venom and Song is epic indeed.The Christian elements in this book are taken to a much higher level then in the previous book. Some of the complaints against the previous book, Curse of the Spider King, was that there was little mention or insight into Ellos (the God-figure in the Berinfell Prophecies.) There is a lot more about Ellos in Venom and Song, howeverOne of the possible cons was that there were seven protagonists, preventing character development. Let me tell you; this doesn't happen. The characters developed wonderfully, and I cared for each one of them--the ultimate character goal of each writer.The only cons in this excellent book is that it ended far too quickly. :)This book, Venom and Song, is number 8 on my Top Ten Fiction list. Seriously. I have read many books, but this one is one of the best.I recommend this to any fantasy lover (and even to those who aren't!). Rated 9.65 out of 10.Now, to endure the torture of waiting until the next book...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
I would say, in agreement with part of the other reviews, that you should read the first book before this one. However I disagree with the other reviews that say this story was just "okay". I love this series, and as and avid christian fantasy reader, I would say that it is one of the Wayne Batson's best books. I have just purchased Hopper's other books and have not read them yet so I can not speak for him. But I can say that this book is well worth buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
The Berinfell Prophecies, Book TwoVenom and SongBy Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher HopperVenom and Song begins the trials of the seven lords of Berinfell as they enter Allyra. Where yesterday these seven lords were average, everyday teenagers on earth, they have now crossed a portal into another world. This strange world is filled with elves and gwar, gnomes and raptors. Each of the seven lords has a special power that they must learn to control and then work together with the other lords if they are to save the Elven race in time. Guardmaster Grimwarden trains the lords both physically and mentally. However, the most important training is relying upon Ellos, the creator of Allyra. I consider this book a cross between Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. The storyline is very inventive and attention capturing. Though many of the non-human beings are the same as Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia, the book does not copy, but creates and new and page turning plot. I would definitely read this book a second time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Noah Arsenault
Now having returned to the unusual world of Allyra, the renowned Seven Elven Lords struggle to meet up with the expectations of their fellow Elves. They must train to fight in the elite Vexbane form while they can. Meanwhile, the Spider Kings forces rally to locate and exterminate the elves. When bad turns to worse, the Lords must be ready to thwart the Spider Kings plans and end his reign of terror. But who knows what horrors the Spider King has kept locked away.This fantasy fiction novel definitely has a feel of its own. It has a unique combination of story styles: medieval, other-worldly, and contemporary. It even throws in a little harmless romance. Its plot was well thought-out, despite a few minute details missed. Different from the previous novel, Curse of the Spider King, there were less main characters. What Mr. Batson and Mr. Hopper pulled off is that each of the 9 main characters individual characters were shown and developed well throughout. Most important were the storys themes, such as trusting God at all times and fellowshipping with believers. I recommend this book to anyone who sees it on a shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Young Wife
It's very difficult for me to give an honest review of this book, the second in The Berinfell Propheicies series. I have not read the first book, and so this one was difficult especially in the beginning. I tried to borrow a copy from my county library, but unfortunately they didn't have a copy. This book has a very large cast for a children's book. To make things more confusing, the seven teenagers have human and elf names. I guess I'd say don't read it unless you've read the first, but I can't recommend the first one because I haven't read it. The cover itself is probably very appealing to young people. It has three dimensional images that really jump out at you. As far as scary stuff, I'd say if a child can handle Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter, Venom and Song won't scare them. The teens' powers and how they must work together to use them makes for an interesting story. The battles are good. But does every fantasy story have to have a race of odd people who talk funny? (Thinking of Jar-Jar Binks me am. And Gollum, Hobbitses. Mustn't forget him.) The authors do a good job of making the middle schoolers talk like real thirteen year olds, which is annoying. Without giving anything away, I really liked the ending. Overall, it was an okay story, when I wasn't frustrated by not understanding something due to never having read the first story.Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers and Book Sneeze in exchange for writing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #2: Venom and Song
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
This is the second installment in The Berinfell Prophecies. The first book was rather disappointing. Several main characters were neglected. I had nearly forgotten about some of them by the time the narrative reached them again. And it felt like there was this great build up to... Guess what! The actual story doesn't start until book two! That's not the way to write a series. Each book in a series has to have its own conclusion, but still build up the anticipation for the next book. At least the second book picked up where the first one left off. I was rather bored while reading these two books. All the perspective switches were difficult to follow. The cast was just too large! I hate writing an unfavorable review, especially for a good writer like Wayne Thomas Batson. But this new series is not nearly as good as his previous books. I haven't read Christopher Hopper's books, so I can't say anything for him. Thomas Nelson Inc provided this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>