Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7

Thomas Nelson Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7

Two new, fully-animated heart-warming stories and a fun sing-along song.

The White Lie: Sheila Walsh reminds little girls that it’s no fun getting in trouble. But when we do wrong and try to cover our sin, things only get worse and our hearts get heavy with guilt. But we have a God who knows our weaknesses and loves us anyway. Teaches the lesson of 1 John 1:8-9 "If we say we have no sin, we are fooling ourselves, and the truth is not in us. But if we confess our sins, he will forgive...and cleanse us from all the wrongs we have done." (ICB)

The Pink Surprise: Sheila Walsh says: "Isn’t it fun to be the first in line? When I was young, all the kids would run to get as close as possible to the front.  It’s a little like being the only child in a family-you get one hundred percent of your parents’ attention, and can sometimes even feel like the world revolves around you. But it turns out that there are other blessings in life besides being first, and Gigi has been blessed with an adventure that will last a lifetime." Teaches the lesson from Jesus’ prayer in Luke 10:21 "Father, you have hidden things from the people who are wise and smart... but shown them to those who are like little children." (ICB)

Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Review 1 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for the little princess in your life

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Keich
Location:Hillsboro, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My six year old granddaughter was glued to the DVD. Her folks appreciated that the subject was about telling the truth even when you are afraid of the circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves Gigi. She wanted this for Christmas. Can't wait to give it to her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Gigi, God's Little Princess, is a delightful animated little girl who learns lessons about life, God, and family in each book or movie. In Gigi's Big Break, Gigi learns what God has to say about honesty and about becoming a big sister. This DVD features two 30 minute animated movies, as well as bonus features. This DVD is intended for girls age 3 - 8 years old.My 4 year old loves Gigi! She enjoys learning about being God's Little Princess along with Gigi. The Gigi movies are refreshing, charming, and utterly feminine -- Gigi's Big Break is no exception. We first discovered Gigi when my 10 year old was young enough to still enjoy them. My 4 year old has grown up with the series, and always looks forward to receiving a new one. She loves being a Princess, alongside Gigi.Gigi's Big Break begins with "The White Lie" which really turns into more of a whopper than a little white lie. Gigi discovers how lies continue to build until they are totally out of control. Gigi also learns about God's forgiveness and how much better it is to be honest, even if we are in trouble.The second movie on Gigi's Big Break is "The Pink Surprise", where Gigi learns she's going to be a big sister. As usual, Gigi's imagination runs away with her and she develops misunderstandings about what a new baby will mean for her family. Gigi's parents help her understand what the coming changes will really mean for her.The animation of the Gigi movies are somewhat simplified, but that doesn't detract from their charm, or the stories. It also helps to keep the cost of the movies affordable. We definitely recommend Gigi's Big Break, and all the Gigi products, to Christian families with young girls. Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy
Book Sneeze has provided me with the pleasure to review the movie Gigis Big Break. Gigi is a little girl in a Christian family. The tag line to her movie series is Gigi, Gods little Princess. This DVD contains two stories, White Lie and Pink Surprise.White Lie is a story based on how a small lie can swell into something much larger. Gigi breaks a vase while dancing, and concocts this story about robbers and her next door neighbor. I love the way the parents handle Gigis story without putting her down, while still letting her know how bad lying is.Pink Surprise is a story where Gigi finds out her mother is expecting a baby! She is excited until she talks to her friends and finds out that babys poop, pee, and cry. Most importantly her friends tell her that they baby will take all the attention away so that her parents will no longer want her. So, she packs her bags and prepares to leave. The scene where her parents explain that she is always wanted and loved is just too cute.I really enjoyed these videos. They have wonderful stories attached to them, even if the animation isnt cutting edge. Leah really enjoyed watching Gigi Princess too, even though shes a bit young to fully grasp the morals of the stories. This DVD and even the series are perfect for little girls growing up in Christian families. I highly recommend Gigis Big Break!**I was provided with a copy of Gigis Big Break by Thomas Nelson to review this film**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Canaan Roling
Gracie and I watched Gigis Big Break and we both really liked it. Below is Gracies personal review of the two shows on the DVD.Show one is The White Lie and it discussed the importance of being honest. In it Gigi learns that no lies are white lies. She also learns that you get in less trouble when you fess up about something you did. Finally it taught Gracie that the reason we feel yucky when we tell a lie is because God speaks to our heart and lets us know we are wrong. Gracie really liked this story because she thought it was a fun and told the story using a little girl that was a lot like her.Show two was The Pink Surprise, and it talked about the experience of becoming an older sibling. She says it teaches that babies are always special, and when we are worried we can talk to God about it. I like the fact that the stories were easy to follow and fun. They also incorporated the scriptures that supported the lessons and were taught on a level that my 7 year old could understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle J
Very fun, easy to understand children's cartoon.All five of my children, including a young boy, were engaged with the movie.Gigi learns Biblical truth from her parents when she tells a lie and when a new baby joins the family.The cat offers comic relief for the parents.According to my daughter the animation reminded her of paper dolls. Disney it is not, but the content is so much better.My favorite part is the end where the review a verse. I'm certain my children will have these memorized in a few weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loni
The White Lie:Teaching a lesson from1 John 1:8-9 Gigi is so exited to practice her new dance moves, she stops off in the living room to show her cat... instead of going on to her room, like she told her mama she was going to do. She accidentally breaks a vase, passed on by her aunt. When her mother finds out, Gigi has an elaborate story for her... but it is a lie. Later when her daddy comes home, she wants to tell him the truth, but... she ends up telling him a different, yet, very elaborate story. At dinner her parents see that each one got a different story, and Gigi offers yet another even more detailed elaborate story. Finally she admits to the truth, though it was hard for her. Her parents go on to discuss the danger of lying, and discipline her for a week.The Pink Surprise: Teaching the lesson from Yeshua's prayer in Luke 10:21 Gigi's mother tells her she has a special surprise to tell her after dinner... and Gigi's imagination run wild... what could it be? Going on an ark, daddy becoming the president, moving to Mars... No, mommy and daddy are going to have another child! Gigi's friends have some big stories about having a new baby brother or sister... She could always take it back... she ends up packing and going to her best friends house. She thinks she should move out, so she will not be in the way when the new baby comes. Yet, her parents explain another child only adds more love. And mommy explains they will need Gigi's help to prepare for the new baby. This makes her feel better, and it is a wonderful surprise to meet her new baby sister ;D She goes on to share with her class about her baby sister, and the teacher closes in prayer.I also liked the trivia section which proved useful for further discussion at our house.These were cute little videos, on a young child's level. Although they entertained my 12 year old daughter, as well as my 5 & 7 year old sons :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
A charming DVD by Sheila Walsh starring God's Little Princess Gigi.Over the past week the twins and I reviewed Sheila Walsh's DVD, Gigi, God's Little Princess, titled Gigi's Big Break. The DVD consists two stories, a Singalong Song, Trivia, and DVD-ROm extras, regarding the importance of honesty & loving siblings. Although my two year old twins can not give me there full review of the movie, their actions of requesting more of Gigi, tells me that the movie entertained them. What a blessing for my children to request more of a cartoon that teaches them valuable life lessons along with biblical lessons based on 1 John 1:8-9 and Luke 10:21!I enjoyed watching the movie along with my children, it reminded me of an after school special on television. There is no fancy animation to this DVD, but the story line makes up for what the animation lacks. Sometimes it's nice to see just basic animation in a movie, because it doesn't take away from the important lessons of the story. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Troy
I love the lessons these stories have to share. It's excellent that the lessons incorporate so much more than the basic ideas. For example, in the first story, they didn't just deal with a lie and the importance of being honest. They addressed the concerns that go along with that. The fear of disappointment, the guilt and the freedom in forgiveness. It was a complete lesson, and not just a blanket lies are bad honesty is good story. Both my children picked up on the lessons right away. Their understanding were a bit on different scales but they picked out the aspects of love, forgiveness and the importance of doing the right things. Though both my children did enjoy the cartoon, and the story - it held my four year old's attention better than my 6 year old. Kaylin loves the story, she would love the books but the cartoon was a little young for her... or maybe just not her cup of tea.All in all these stories are great! The stories are well told and the lessons are well shared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
Gigi is a very cute and precocious little girl that gets herself mixed up in a problem like many kids do- she tells a white lie and everything backfires. She tells a lie so her mom wont know that she broke a vase, not just any vase, but one that was a wedding gift to her parents. Gigi knows that this vase is special to them, so she is afraid she will get in trouble for accidentally breaking it. To make matters worse, she broke the vase doing something she wasnt supposed to be doing- practicing her dancing in the living room. For all of these I shouldnt have done that reasons, Gigi tells some little white lies to cover up what she has done. As the lies get bigger, Gigi cant continue covering them up, so she finally tells the truth. She ends up learning the value of telling the truth and that even if you get into trouble it is best to do what is right and say what really happened.In the second story, The Pink Surprise, Gigi learns that her mom is going to have a baby. She has a tough time with this change in her life, she has always been the only child and the center of her parents attention and is worried that her parents wont love her and pay attention to her once the baby is born. When she finally discusses her fears with her parents, they explain that the new baby wont divide the love in her house but will multiply it instead. Gigi ends up being proud of her new baby sister and realizing that her parents were right. She realizes that sharing her parents love with a new blessing in her life will only give her more joy and happiness, not less.As a parent I really like that stories are not only entertaining, but also teach kids life lessons in a fun way. This is a great way for kids to learn lessons about honesty and loving siblings. Even though the Gigi character is very much aimed towards little girls, I think boys and girls both would be entertained.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Gigi's Big Break . It has two 2 stories in it. White Lies is about a lie Gigi told and how it grew and made her felt after each lie. This one was a little over Girlygirl's head and she didn't get that what Gigi was tell was a lie. The Pink Surprise talks about the good and bad parts of have a baby in your house. Girlygirl loved it she wants a baby bother or sister so bad. When the movie was over she said "Again! Again! That my favorite."I got the movie free to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
bonnie shapiro
"Gigis Big Break Sheila Walsh"Gigi's Big Break" is a two-story DVD about Gigi, the main character from Sheila Walsh's Children's books. In the first story, Gigi breaks a vase but blames it on her pet cat. When her mom doubts her story, Gigi embellishes it to convince her, but the lies continue to grow. Her parents help her see the damage that lying can do. Teaches the lesson of 1 John 1:8-9.The second story begins with Gigi learning that she is going to be a big sister. Gigi's first response is, "Why?" She's used to being the only child and the center of their world. Afraid that her parents will no longer love her when the baby arrives, she plans to run away and live with her best friend. But Mom and Dad reassure her their love for her will never change, and she soon discovers the joy of being a big sister. Teaches the lesson from Jesus prayer in Luke 10:21.This video held the attention of both my 5 year old son and 3 year old daughter. The lessons presented were easy for them both to grasp, while enabling them to identify with the main character. As an educator and Sunday School teacher, I was very pleased with Sheila Walshs delivery of the scripture messages. This video is not only entertaining and educational for home use, it is a must for lesson extensions at any Sunday School. I feel that this video can meet the needs of multi-aged groups and leads to open discussion about who Gigi came to apply the word of GOD in her life.After viewing this video, my children were able to give real life examples from their own experiences that reinforced the scripture presented. As a mom this enabled me to open up conversation with them as to how we can better apply what we know GOD wants us to do in our own lives. Our family highly recommends this video and suggests you add it to your own DVD library.Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this DVD.http:// bonnieashapiro.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan Flannagin
Gigi's big break is about honesty, and loving siblings. It has 2 stories in it (The White Lie and The Pink Suprise). You can find this DVD at Amazon for $14. It also has 5 special features. It is a little over a hour long. The storys are aprox. 30 minutes each. The White Lie, Gigi is reminded that it's no fun getting into trouble. That when we do wrong and try to cover our sin, things get worse and our hearts get heavy with guilt, but we have a God who knows our weakness and loves us anyway. Based on John 1:8-9.The Pink Suprise, teaches Gigi that there are other blessings in life other than being first. Join Gigi as she is blessed with an adventure that will last a lifetime. Find out what good thing comes wrapped up in a blanket and is often called "a bundle of joy". Based on Luke 10:21.In this DVD children will learn to be honest and love thier siblings. I think this is a very cute DVD and can relate to alot of things children face. Although this DVD is meant for children I think everyone can get something out of it. The stories are interesting enough that children will stay interested the whole time. I would recommend this to children of all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
I had a chance to view Gigi's Big Break by Sheila Walsh tonight. This is 2 fully animated Gigi videos on DVD. This was my first time hearing any of the Gigi stories. Sheila does a great job making the story true to life. In the first story, Gigi lies to hide a sin from her parents, and realizes that you can't hide anything from God, yet He loves us anyways. In the second story, Gigi learns about sharing and how her parents have enough love for her and her new sibling. Both stories end with a Bible verse to reinforce the storyline, much like the Veggie Tales stories. The animation is cute and colorful. I watched it with my 4 children-ages 11, 9, 6, and 4. Though the story is geared towards the younger two, my older two laughed at Gigi's antics and really liked the pets in the stories. There is also questions at the end that you can quiz yourself and your children about how well you learned from the stories. Sheila Walsh gets her point across to kids about honesty and loving your siblings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
M1ssDiagnosis
"Gigi's Big Break" is a two-story DVD about Gigi, the main character from Sheila Walsh's children's books. In the first story, Gigi breaks a vase but blames it on her pet cat. When her mom doubts her story, Gigi embellishes it to convince her, but the lies continue to grow until Gigi can no longer bear it and finally confesses. Her parents help her see the damage that lying can do. The second story begins with Gigi learning that she is going to be a big sister. Gigi's first response is, "Why?" She's used to being the only child and the center of their world. Afraid that her parents will no longer love her when the baby arrives, she plans to run away and live with her best friend. But Mom and Dad reassure her their love for her will never change, and she soon discovers the joy of being a big sister.I am an adult woman with no children, but I enjoy a lot of animated children's movies. This is also my first encounter with the Gigi series. Gigi is quite a self-centered "drama queen" with a vivid and outrageous imagination. But she is quick to learn from her mistakes and grasp the Bible lesson found in her experiences. Although the animation is certainly not the quality most children are used to seeing today, and the voice of Gigi is actually quite annoying, the bright colors and music, as well as the story itself is sure to capture the attention of young school-age children. And the biblical principles taught in the amusing stories are certainly valuable for character building. For those reasons, I would recommend this DVD to friends with young daughters.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gigi's Big Break: God's Little Princess DVD Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Johnston
accurate and speedy shipment-thanks, will order again Am sure my granddaughter will love it for her birthday
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.