Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lionsgate Home Entertainment Saint Peter DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Lionsgate Home Entertainment Saint Peter DVD

Follow in the footsteps of the Fisherman as he spreads the gospel! Determined to proclaim Jesus as Lord, Peter strives to stay ahead of those who would stop him. But when he meets a stranger on the road, he realizes that he'll have to make the ultimate sacrifice for the good of God's kingdom. Stars Omar Sharif. (PG-13.) Approx. 3.5 hours. Closed-captioned.
Average Customer Rating:
3.381 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
10 out of 1856%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saint Peter DVD
Review 1 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good video to introduce or reinforce the gospel message and learn about Peter's significant role in the early church. This video is portrayed at an adult level but is not inappropriate for older children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BroRood
Location:Ripley,WV
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please just stop selling this movie, its really that bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Omar Sharif

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Olivia Dugas
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do any of you realize that Omar Sharif is a Muslim? He is (or was) a fine old actor of the past. He truly respects all religions, and maybe he would even be open to conversion because of it. He was excellent as a Frenchman in a movie in the '90's called "Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris" and it was totally family oriented. I expect this to be the same... Respectful to Christianity and entertain without smarminess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

St Peter? - not really

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michi
Location:Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
With regards to quality this film was okay. However, in terms of content, it takes a lot of liberty. There were points during the film where I thought, hey, that is a distortion of the Bible! And, the agenda at the end is obvious when it actually shows Vatican City. There is a love story in the film which will appeal to women and the female actors are stunningly beautiful. However, as afilm that purports to tell the story of Peter it is off base and biblically distorted. I threw it out disappointed. Too bad there is not an actual film out there about Jesus' apostle, Peter. Frankly, I was surprised that it was being sold by a christian company.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
arkpoet
Location:Panama City
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bible story is one that everyone should grasp hold of because it is an important part of what Jesus came to earth for. The only reason for my low ratings is because of the DVD itself. It stops in many places and is grainy in parts and has sound issues. Maybe I just got a bad copy but I didn't enjoy it much.
Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Events do not follow biblical text

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
loureyes
Location:Massillon, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There seems to be a strong emphasis on how Peter was 'the chosen one' and the 'new leader' after the ascension of our Lord... (which is a very popular tradition in Roman Catholic circles - which is totally taken out of context). Even to the point that portrays Paul as 'clueless' about what to do and Peter helped out. However, the Word tells us how Paul received revelation not conferring with people; and also that the ministry to the gentiles was given to him, whereas the ministry to the jews to Peter, James, and John. Almost in every corner, highlighting the 'selection' of Peter and everybody else was solely reliant on him rather than the Holy Spirit.
Would not recommend it, unless you want to be filled with traditions.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bernadette Lazare
Location:Everett, MA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say that this movie is my all time favorite, and for one reason - The message in this movie is very powerful. It will help you question your relationship with God. I am more deeply touched from the message in this movie than I have ever been from anything I've ever watched before. I pray God will use it to touch many others and change lives. Thank you for making this movie! God bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tess
Location:Cove Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tape was way too long. Did not hold my interest, would have been better if it had stuck to the Bible story of St Peter.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastorole
Location:PORTLAND, OREGON
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD for the price. The writers did not stray too far from Scripture in giving us a fictional account of Peter's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biblically inacurate

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
QweenJaneen
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was horribly inacurate. It made Peter out to be more of a saviour than a disciple. Peter did not bring salvation to the gentiles Jesus did and that is clear in Acts. No one was turned away that wanted to get baptized and they were fully submerged including Jesus! They did not show the day of Pentecost and they lied regarding the disciples not believing that Jesus was going to rise. They were completely obedient and the only one that doubted the Lord was Thomas. Please read your Bible! It is not in the Bible that Jesus met Peter on his way from Rome. God Bless in Jesus Name
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good Biblical truths noted

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra Berry
Location:north central florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bringing the life of Peter after the cruxification, brought a mental picture to life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible Based Video

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Don R. Fauquier- D.d.
Location:Richardson TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The acting was supurb, however it was longer than I had thought. I suspected it to be about 2 hours, but it was considerably longer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative an accurate

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:Jerusalem - Israel
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well done and very accurate. I enjoyed it very much and deeply felt for Peter, so human and so chosen by God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Indeed

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
dennis dickinson
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The word "quality" should not be used to describe this film. Does not follow gospels, culture, or anything else. Overall simply poor.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a long movie but told the whole story- awesome

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
marygems
Location:new zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie told the whole story of Peter, and was very true to the biblical accounts.
It's a movie like Ben Hur, of The Ten Commandments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Catholic twist

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shell
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not bad, really has a Catholic twist to it. Good for building up a video library.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It met all my expectations and I enjoyed it very much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product is too "Catholic."

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Toby
Location:Boise, Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DVD has too much "Maryology" in it. It is much too "Catholic" to be an enjoyable experience. I am a Christian and not a Catholic. There is a huge difference.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dewayne Pattie
I will watch this movie again. It has accurately reflected the sentiment of the Gospel of Jesus (placing emphasis on love and faith). I was not fond of the angelic choir singing when ever Peter appeared on screen. And I found a few Biblical inaccuracies that were a bit distracting. But overall not a bad movie.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Saint Peter DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Selena Elliott
This is a wonderful movie! We watch it often. There is beautiful scenery. I have been to Israel, and the Sea of Galilee would have looked like this 2,000 years ago. Omar Shariff does a wonderful job portraying Peter. You have got to get this movie!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>