Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear

Thomas Nelson 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear

Plant the seeds of spiritual growth in the hearts of your little ones with this worship collection! Encouraging a lifelong conversation with God, engaging illustrations; classic, biblical, and topical prayers; Scripture memory verses; and new praise & worship songs help your children feel comfortable as they talk to their heavenly Father. 208 pages, hardcover with two CDs from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Review 1 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WAS EXPECTING SCRIPTURE

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WAS EXPECTING SCRIPTURE ON EVERY PRAYER PAGE BUT MAYBE LESS THAN A HANDFUL IN THE WHOLE BOOK. PRICE AND QUALITY GOOD BUT LACKING IN SCRIPTURES MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT...WOULD NOT RECOMEND TO FRIENDS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Series for Any Little One

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodsGirl74
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought the concept of this book series was great. A book about prayer followed by a music CD related to each story. My son is only 5 months old, but he loves it. I know it'll be one of his favorites as he grows. The only negative I find is its very difficult to play the music and read at the same time. I can't seem to coordinate the two. Maybe it'll be easier when I'm not juggling the basic needs of an infant and reading/playing music at the same time. Another suggestion I have for the author/publisher is to make the illustrations more diverse. We're a mixed race family and it would be great for our child to see characters of different races. All in all, I'd recommend this book and any other in the series. I plan on buying more for my son and our nieces & nephews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product.

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moks
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful for setting good values in children.I recommend this book for parents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne English
Location:Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children love this book and accompanying cd. It is a great way to pray and sing praises to God with your little ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nicest devotional for kids I've ever seen!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
pianogirl
Location:Holland, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a nice devotional for kids. Every day a devotional along with a prayer and a song. Music was "up-to-date" and so cute! Extremely good bargain price!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosemary
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have enjoyed this product! My daughter loves listening to the CDs and once she gets a little older we will read it together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Book

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brendann
Location:Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a beautiful little book, and my youngest granddaughter loves it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
danielle sample
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The music that comes with this book is so fun! I love playing it in my car and at home. The book is super cute and fits the music perfectly. Great Purchase!!! Totally Worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Birthday Gift

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ABKelly6
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book was given to my 4 year old son for his birthday from his grandma. I love it because its Christian based and a beginner for how & why to pray to God. My son LOVES it! He loves playing the music cd's at night. Since he shares a room with his two older siblings, they get to listen to the cd as well. So they all know the songs by heart. This was a wonderful gift and I plan to utilize its during our homeschool bible lessons. Thanks Grandma-Bamma for a great gift!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great introduction to prayer for kids

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book through Booksneeze’s book review program. The prayers in this book range from those taken from Scripture and well-known prayers (like “The Serenity Prayer) to new ones. It includes prayers for the numerous different situations your children experience, such as different times of day or year. For each prayer, the book provides some context for why it may be used, how you can apply the message to your own life, some food for thought, and which song corresponds to it. I love the variety among the types of prayers and the suggestions for application so your kids can see how they can apply it to their own lives. I must say I enjoy the book more the CD, whose songs are pretty cheesy and there’s no lyrics to help you learn the words. Overall, it’s a great introduction for your kids to prayer and its use in our lives, and I look forward to reading to my new little one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful prayer book for children!

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Elizabeth
Location:Louisburg, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lively, colorful, and whimsical illustrations are paired with beautifully crafted prayers and meditations just for children in this darling prayer book. Written especially for children to pray and reflect on God's beauty and grace in their lives, 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs is a heartfelt gift for any small child. Two CDs of praise songs accompany the text and are equally as gentle and delightful as the book! This prayer book is truly a treasure and a welcome addition to a child's religious book collection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marissa
My little ones love singing praise and Bible songs, so I thought this would be great for us! We usually listen to music just about everywhere, so we had lots of opportunities to try it out. The book is large and sturdy and colorful. I liked the prayers and the songs that were put together in bright, interesting ways. The book includes prayers for mealtimes and bedtime, the Lord's prayer, and many more.The musical cd is not what I was hoping for. It is very outdated and hard for me to listen to. My kids would not listen to it either. We all prefer to listen to the Wee Sing Bible Songs cds. They are excellent for young children. My 5 year old knows all of the books of the Bible thanks to those cds.The book is an enjoyable read, something that the kids like to read from at night before bed, but we won't be listening to the cds that accompany it. We received this book from Thomas Nelson at BookSneeze.com.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Laird
I am reviewing this book for Booksneeze.com. This book has 100 prayers for every situation for children. It has everything from thanking God for our food to daily prayers. It has 2 CDs with praise songs that go with each prayer. I requested this book to read with my children ages 5 years and 8 months. My 5 year old was really too old for this book but he really liked reading it to his baby sister. The words are simple, easy to read. The illustrations are kid friendly and the music is sung by children, thus making it more kid friendly. I really enjoy watching the two of them bond through reading together. I am also a preschool teacher in a church school and have used the CDs in my classroom. I teach 1 year old and they like to dance to the CD at times. I have read some of the prayers to them and they enjoy sitting in my lap looking at the pictures. I enjoyed this book. Below please find a link to additional information on this book.http://booksneeze.com/blogger/resources/9781400315499
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I love, love, loved this book for children! It is packed with 100 days of prayers; from scripture including David, Moses, and Jesus, from famous and well known people like Chales Wesley and Abraham Lincoln and beloved childrens prayers like Now I lay me down to sleep. Reading through this book will teach your young children how, what and when to pray while making praying fun.One of my favorite parts of the book is the, My Little Prayer Reminders at the end of each prayer with quotes or bible verses. These would be perfect for copy work for homeschool children to use, which we plan on doing. Also included is two cd's with 100 praise songs that kids will want to listen to over and over reinforcing the prayers in the book. All in all this is a simple little childrens book that is packed full with great little treasure you are sure to enjoy.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bess
Have you ever heard a small child pray out loud? As a preschool-age class teacher at my church, Ive heard many prayers lifted to the Father from tiny voices. These prayers have made me laugh, warmed my heart, made me sigh in disbelief, & even made me think. Prayer is a powerful tool, even in the hands of children. Through the Book Sneeze program I was offered a free copy of 100 Prayers God Loves to Hear/100 Praise Songs created by Stephen Elkins. In exchange for the book I am to provide an honest review. Heres what I have to say This book paired with its sweet prayers & illustrations is the perfect way to show the child in your life (Id say around age 3 4th or 5th grade) the significance of prayer. Not only are there 100 prayers included, but 100 praise songs (one paired to each prayer) on 2 CDs! This book is a wonderful value & would make an excellent devotional time for you & your child(ren). Each prayer in the book has a few sentences explaining the story behind it, an illustration, & a My Little Prayer Reminder which usually comes in the form of a Bible verse or quote. Some of the prayers are traditional ones that many will remember from childhood past, while others are more unique penned by various saints from Bible times up through today. I thoroughly enjoyed the book until the last prayer, which instructs children to pray Jesus into their hearts. Ive thought long about this, thinking maybe I was just nagging, but these Bible verses says otherwise: Acts 2:38-39, 41; John 3:5. I cant look over those verses or pick & choose what I want to from Gods Word so that it will fit my human desires. Until that last prayer I was truly pleased with the book, but what is said in the last few sentences is quite a big mistake. It is not myself that anyone should argue with, because its not my words, but Gods Word. So, if the last four sentences arent read, the book is well worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
HillaryM
This sturdy book has prayers quoted from Scripture and written by well-known people such as Billy Graham, John Bunyan, and Abraham Lincoln. There are also traditional children's prayers. Just as the title indicates, there are 100 prayers. Each prayer has a two-page spread including a short devotional type story on the left-hand page and an illustration and reminder on the right-hand page. Some of the reminders are quotes or scriptures. Also, the corresponding song and it's location are indicated with a disc graphic.As an example, pages 110-111 features a prayer titled "The Lord is Good to Me" attributed to Johnny Appleseed. The story shares that John Chapman aka Johnny Appleseed was a missionary. It also instructs to thank the Lord for simple things. The reminder states "Little prayers are like little seeds, once planted, they bring forth the fruit of blessing." The back of the book has two indices for searching by author or by the title of the prayer.This lovely little book has a pocket on each inside cover to hold the two CDs that accompany the prayers. Each disc has 50 songs and are referenced by disc number and song number. The music is typical children's music. Most of my children enjoyed it. It is not something I could listen to for any length.Since we cover Bible reading and prayer as part of our 'school' time, I plan to use this on the weekends. Each reading is just short enough to keep us in our daily routine of prayer and Bible time without interfering with any plans--even if we are out of town. These selections are not fluffy bits to pretend we are doing something meaningful, but great nuggets of truth and faith. Just right for little ones and great starters for something deeper for older children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff
I recently received the book '100 Prayers God Loves to Hear' from Thomas Nelson publishing in exchange for writing a review. This book is by Stephen Elkins, and also includes two music CDs with 100 praise songs. I really like this book and the CDs. It is a nice padded hardcover book, with bright color pictures. It would make a very nice gift for a child. The table of contents in the beginning is great as it matches each of the prayers with the appropriate song on the CD. At the front of the book is '10 Bible verses about prayer'. I thought this was a nice touch. The ten verses all have to do with prayer, and the words pray or prayer are highlighted in red. Within the 100 prayers in the book, here are prayers for a variety of things, such as 'A Prayer of Thanks for Our Food', which includes the traditional 'God is Great, God is Good' prayer but also explains what it means and that you should take time to thank God for the good things he gives you. There are also cute little prayer reminders with each prayer. I was excited to read this book to my 7 year old son, and he did enjoy it. I was concerned, however, that he might not like the music, thinking it was too 'babyish'. But he just loves it! He asks me to put the CD in every time we are in the car, and he is starting to memorize many of the songs. That just warms my heart, and makes me realize this book was a hit for our family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear By Stephen ElkinsThis book has traditional prayers that have been passed down from parents to children for years, but it also has the prayers of well-known people, including Abraham Lincoln. Each prayer has an introduction and a prayer reminder. While many of the prayers are great for very young children, there are those that are more for older children about 8 and up. The songs correspond with each prayer and include well-known songs, such as Hes Got the Whole World in His Hands.While I did enjoy this book, I noticed some of the prayers would conflict with certain denominations beliefs. This is a good book for parents to read with their children and build on what is in the book. Teaching children to pray their very own prayers and not rely upon someone elses prayer can be done while using this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Vokes
In our house we talk to God all throughout the day. 100 prayers God loves to Hear was such a great book to teach my children prayers for everthing th their life. .There are prayers of blessing, thankfulness, praise, comfort, prayers from scripture, and even Inspirational Prayers from a few famous people. We all enjoyed the 100 Praise songs that go along with every prayer. The colors in this book are bright and kept my children's attention. I found it not only an easy read, but also a book that will keep you coming back for guidence in everyday life. I want to share a prayer that my 13 year old loves from this book. It's a prayer for trust in Jesus: O Christ Jesus, when all is darknessand we feel our weakness and helplessness,give us the sense of Your presence,Your love, and Your strength.Help us to have perfect trust in Your protecting power, so that nothing may frighten or worry us, for living close to You, we shall see your hand, Your purpose, Your will through all thing. This book has helped me teach my little ones that God listens and answers our prayers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves to Hear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esther
This book was a answer to my prayer! Yes, my prayer was one that God loved to hear. I was praying for a book with verses and short prayers that i could read to my son before bedtime. I also wished for a CD with short, familiar christian songs that my son could listen and learn. My joy knew no bounds when i received this book from Thomas Nelson for review ! My son has even started calling this book "my book" !The author Stephen Elkins has done an excellent compilation of verses, prayers and small thoughts just apt for young minds. Each page has a theme followed by a prayer or a verse. It is filled with colorful pictures and also come with 2 audio CDs. Each CD has 50 melodious songs that can be easily learned by repetition. From cover to cover, this cute book will encourage children to pray and develop the habit of talking to God.I love to listen to these songs along with my son as it brings back memories of sunday school and VBS. You can make the investment on this book without second thoughts!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>