Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2

Zondervan Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2

Regina Beswick was born to be a princess.But she's content to be a small-town girl, running a classic auto restoration shop, unaware a secret destiny awaits her. One that will leap from the pages of her grandmother's hand-painted book of fairytales.Tanner Burkhardt is the stoic Minister of Culture for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg. When he is tasked to retrieve the long-lost princess, he must overcome his fear of failure in order to secure his nation's future---and his own.Yet lurking in the political shadows is a fierce opponent with sinister plans to abolish the throne forever.Overwhelmed with opposition, Regina must decide if she's destined to restore old cars or an ancient nation. Together---with a little divine intervention---Regina and Tanner discover the truth of her heritage and the healing power of true love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 3797%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Review 1 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A delightful entertaining read

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gazpacho
Location:Clare, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reggie Beswick, proud southern belle of Tallahassee, Florida, was not, on the surface, princess material. She was independent to a fault, honest and forthright. She didn't hold back if she had something on her mind. And more than anything besides her family, she loved antique cars. After a traditional college education and several years as a CPA at a local firm, she risked it all to begin her dream venture, opening a classic car renovation business with her friends Al, Wally and Rafe. Just as her first successful restoration project was accomplished, Tanner Burkhardt showed up and pulled the rug out from under her safe, happy world.
Tanner was the Minister of Culture of the tiny North Sea island nation of Hessenberg. He brought with him records and documents that he used to prove to her that Reggie's great grandmother, whom her family fondly called Gram, was none other than Princess Alice of the house of Augustine-Saxon, heir to the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg. Gram was a princess? How did the family not know that? Reggie had spent a lot of time with Gram as a little girl since her great-grandmother lived to nearly 100, while her grandmother and mother had died while she was still a young girl. Why hadn't she said anything about this?
This modern fairy tale was such a fun book to read. The differences between the down home Reggie and the straight-laced uptight Tanner made their growing attraction for each other amusing and endearing to watch. Sometimes the circumstances Reggie finds herself in seem a little far-fetched; but then, it is a fairy tale type story so it seems fitting although pretty much predictable.
Many of the supporting characters are heartwarming, especially Reggie's dad, her step-mom, and the co-owner of the renovation business, Al. This is the second book I've by this author in this series, and I believe Ms. Hauck has a talent for writing believable guiding lights that appear in the main characters' lives. Even Tanner's father fits into this category.
What the author does need to work on is dialogue, especially between the main characters. In some places the conversation becomes a bit forced, unnatural and a little off center. It's not very obvious unless you are looking for it. Sometimes I think it is difficult for authors to portray a character they have become fond of in their less than sterling qualities, even if it is for a short amount of time before that character begins their journey of maturity and growth.
However, overall, this book makes a delightful light read. I would recommend this to my friends.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary review copy of this book from NetGalley on behalf of Zondervan Fiction. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fills that romantic hole!

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a girl ever grow out of princess stories? I mean really...
Happily ever afters fill that big, dreamy, romantic hole in our book loving hearts, and yes it only lasts a short time, but it's so worth it! We all need a temporary vacation from the realities of everyday life.
Thank you Rachel Huack for filling that princess need that we bury deep inside ourselves. The characters were realistic, believable and yet I enjoyed getting to know them. Although I'd have to say I preferred "Once Upon A Prince", this book was still a delightful sequel and it kept me up into the early morning.
I'd recommend this, not for those looking for the next great classic, but for all you ladies who feel the need to immerse yourselves in castles, royalty, old cars, and charming men with blonde hair :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, love, love this modern-day fairy tale!

Date:March 11, 2014
Oh, I love this series so much! I adored Once Upon a Prince last year and have been anxiously waiting the release of Princess Ever After. I didn't think it was possible, but I loved this book even more!
While I always thought it would be amazing to be the queen (of what, I was never sure) when I was a kid, I'm not sure what I would do if I discovered that I was indeed a princess. This story explores what happens when an average, ordinary woman learns—quite unexpectedly—that she is royalty and the fate of her country rests squarely on her shoulders. While Princess Ever After is most definitely a modern-day fairy tale, Hauck weaves truths throughout that apply to all of us. How many times have I hesitated to take a leap of faith because I'm afraid? How many times have I relied on myself more than relying on the Lord? I loved that the underlying message was so strong.
In addition to having a great message, Princess Ever After was packed with romance! Regina and Tanner have such a fun relationship, and I loved watching their relationship progress. They were just so sweet and lovey, but without being too over the top. But the romance isn't the only thing happening in this book. Tanner and Regina have plenty of depth as well, and it felt as though they each had a story of their own in addition to the story of their relationship. This made for a very full and satisfying story.
Overall, I think it's safe to say that I LOVED Princess Ever After!!! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book two in the Royal Wedding series. I was looking forward to this book and was not disappointed.
What I liked: Regina goes from car restorer to princess overnight. I really enjoyed how Regina grew as a character. This book also had a good amount of laughs. Her driving away with Tanner who jumped into the car had me laughing out loud. Tanner also was a good character. I don’t want to give too much away about his story but I enjoyed it. I also found it interesting how we would jump back in time to Regina’s grandma’s diary entry’s and how they tied into the present story. Very well written.
What I did not like: There is not much I did not like in this book. The only thing was how easy and simple Tanners personal family issue was resolved it just seemed like thing worked out way to smoothly.
I enjoyed this book. Even though it was a fairy tale kind of story it had very real trials and problems and did not come across like a Disney movie. I thought the author did a great job of portraying how hard it could be to go from being an average citizen to a royal. It was not a walk in the park, add in the humor and this made for a very good read. I’m interested to see how this series will end. I highly recommend this book. One does not need to read the first book in the series to read this one but it’s just as good and it will explain how Regina came to be the princess in more detail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Princess, A Kingdom In Danger and Romance

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Hauck in her new book “Princess Ever After” Book Two in The Royal Wedding Series published by Zondervan takes us into the life of Regina Beswick.
From The Back Cover: Regina Beswick didn’t know she was born to be a princess.
She’s content to be a small-town girl, running a classic auto restoration shop, unaware a secret destiny awaits her. One that will leap from the pages of her grandmother’s hand-painted book of fairytales.
Tanner Burkhardt is the stoic Minister of Culture for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg. When he is tasked to retrieve the long-lost princess, he must overcome his fear of failure in order to secure his nation’s future—and his own.
Yet lurking in the political shadows is a fierce opponent with sinister plans to abolish the throne forever.
Overwhelmed with opposition, Regina must decide if she’s destined to restore old cars or an ancient nation. Together—with a little divine intervention—Regina and Tanner discover the truth of her heritage and the healing power of true love.
How do you go from running a classic auto restoration shop to being a princess of a small nation? Instead of restoring old cars how do you restore a nation to its former glory? These are just some of the questions that Regina has to deal with. Regina has to come to terms with her destiny-she was born to royalty and now has to deal, not only with ruling, but with her life under intense scrutiny. Tanner is the Minister that has to work alongside Regina to restore the kingdom. In addition he has to have his wounds healed and be restored himself. Ms. Hauck has given us wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages. ”Princess Ever After” is a marvelous story filled with great romance and political cutthroat. This book does not disappoint at all. I enjoyed it and I am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can a country girl really be a Princess?

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me just say, I LOVE this cover! I’m not wildly in love with the cover for the first book in this series because it gives the impression that the woman we see is undressed but everyone has different ideas of what is or is not appropriate so I can understand if I stand alone in that area.
But THIS COVER IS PERFECT! It just screams Princess! to me. LOVE IT!
Second let me say that I have gotten into an Amish obsession lately so I decided to branch out a bit and read some other Christian fiction.
And I’m so glad I did! WOW!
Rachel Hauck is an AMAZING author!
I really don’t know if I am even a good enough writer to do this review justice. I have no idea how to tell you just how amazing this book is without sounding like a silly fan-girl.
One thing I will say about “Princess Ever After” is what I said to mum while I was reading – I am terribly excited to see so many Christian authors stepping out in faith. Too many others are making money on stories about supernatural happenings that are clearly impossible, it’s high time we show the world just how SUPERNATURAL our AWESOME GOD is!
Rachel Hauck blends these wondrous occurrences into her stories so well, you might not even catch them the first time through…unless you’re looking for them or you are exceptionally close to God yourself but they’re in there.
In “Once Upon A Prince”, we read all about Suzanna giving herself over to God – to do with as He choses. This is a bit more of a struggle for the characters in “Princess Ever After” but they do finally manage to “let go and let God” and the story is so much better for it!
The characters grab your heart right away and will not let go! And the story is so intense, you can’t stand to put the book down for even a minute. I read this book faster than any book other book I’ve read in over a year!
Now I find myself rushing through the rest of my TBR pile so I can go back and read the other books of Rachel Hauck’s that I haven’t yet! And impatiently awaiting the next book in this series too!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Delightful Modern Day Fairy Tale

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Princess Ever After by Rachel Hauck is the second book in A Royal Wedding Book series. Even though I haven't read the first book in the series, Once Upon a Prince, I found that this book truly can be read as a stand alone.
Did you enjoy fairy tales when you were young? I did, in fact, I still do enjoy them at times. Princess Ever After is a delightful modern day fairy tale for grown-ups.
Regina Beswick lives in Tallahassee, Florida, and restores old cars. This is what she feels she was born to do and loves her job! Then one day, Tanner Burkhardt, Minister of Culture, from a tiny North Sea island called Hessenberg, shows up at her shop. He informs her she is the heir to the tiny kingdom and must come with him to Hessenberg in the next day or two. What is she to think? How can she just leave everybody and everything she knows to go off into an unknown future?
Watching Regina come to the realization that the information that Tanner brings is legitimate and that she is desperately needed in Hessenburg was enjoyable. I especially liked watching the relationship grow between them once Regina arrives in Hessenburg and begins learning about her heritage.
There are some interesting twists and turns and flash backs to journal entries written by Regina's grandmother, when she was a young lady, throughout the book, that enhances the story even more. Princess Ever After is a sweet and romantic fairy tale that was enjoyable to read.
Rachel Hauck created characters that are real and vibrant. She did this so well that, only a few pages into the book, I felt that I knew them intimately. I also enjoyed that Rachel's characters displayed their faith in God and relied on Him to make both small and big decisions.
**Princess Ever After by Rachel Hauck was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Fairy Tale Story!

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There has recently been a slew of books written about fairy tales and princesses. But I have to say, my favorite ones would be this series here by Rachel Hauck. I was able to review the first book last year and this one was actually my favorite out of the two. You just gotta love a southern Florida gal being whisked away and becoming a princess:)
Regina, or Reggie as she likes to be called, is at her best. She restores vintage classic cars with her buddies. Then enters Tanner. Ponytail and all:) He informs her that she is a long lost princess who needs to come restore her nation. I have to admit, this would be a tough decision. The known to the unknown. Her dream life to life in the spotlight. But she makes the decision she feels her grandmother would have and what God is telling her to do. So she flies across and takes in the sights, all the while trying to make the right choice. Needless to say, there are funny parts, awesome parts, and even some parts that will bring tears to your eyes. Tanner is a pretty good hero even with all his flaws. But my favorite person was Regina. I guess maybe I connected with her being a southern Florida gal myself. Oh, and if you have read the first book, you will recognize some of the characters from it.
Again, an excellent story that is humorous and thought provoking. I cannot wait to see what Rachel brings to her fans next!
I received a copy of this book for my review purposes. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Escapist Romance

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Regina Beswick (better known as Reggie) is a CPA from Tallahassee, Florida, who has thrown in accounting to build a business restoring classic cars. Tanner Burkhardt has been sent to Florida by the king to find Reggie, inform her of her ancestry, and persuade her to return and claim her role as Grand Duchess of Hessenberg, currently ruled by King Nathaniel II of Brighton but due to be returned to the heir of Princess Alice—Reggie is that heir.
There was some initial confusion in the early chapters, as it appears Brighton is a minor island kingdom located in the frigid North Sea, not the famous holiday spot on the south coast of England. I also found the start of the book, especially the second chapter, had far too many named characters and too much plot and history to keep straight. I had to read it twice to get everything (kind of) straight in my head, which is unusual for me (and annoying. It meant the story took too long to get going).
However, when the story did get going, I enjoyed it. Hauck has a lighthearted way with words, which makes reading Princess Ever After a pleasure, especially the scenes between Reggie and Tanner.
It seems that many of the novels I’ve been reading—all Christian novels—are stories of abuse and suffering. I don’t deny that abuse and suffering happen. I know they do, and these things affect Christians and non-Christians alike. But so many novels have this as their central them that it’s refreshing to read something lighter, something with some joy and gladness. Something that isn’t driven by Issues, with an emphasis on making sure the reader understands The Theme.
It’s not that Princess Ever After is without conflict, or that everything is rosy. It’s just that it’s a feel-good story, pure and simple. It’s the story to read if you feel everything is just getting a little much, and you’d like to escape into a fictional world where everyone lives happily ever after.
Having said that, it’s probably wise not to think too much about the story, as I suspect there are quite a few unanswered questions (like, why does the girl from Florida never complain about the frigid North Sea weather, and how discreet is it to fly on Royal Air Force One?). There were also a few unfortunate typos which will hopefully have been corrected in the final editon.
But I enjoyed it, once I’d worked out the details of the fantasy kingdom, and would recommend Princess Ever After to anyone looking for a little light relief (and perhaps a prince to love). Princess Ever After is the sequel to Once Upon a Prince (about King Nathaniel), but can be read as a standalone novel.
Thanks to Zondervan and Litfuse PR for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HOW TO BECOME A REAL PRINCESS.

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally, I have shied away from fairytales or anything fantasy like. I wasn’t entirely sure I wanted to read Princess Ever After, but determined that perhaps my scope of reading was stilted and needed some refreshing. Oh boy…did I ever get refreshed!! Congratulations to Rachel Hauck for taking me out of my doldrums and enlightening new genre interests of the unordinary. Another exception to reading this unlikely story is that I have little interest in restoring of old cars, antique, fancy, racing, or otherwise – although I realize significant history has taken automobiles far and beyond what my 75 year old mind can comprehend, when I finally grasped the importance of cars or a particular car to this story – my total perspective was changed.
Imagine young Reggie Beswick at work underneath a car getting covered with oil and grease when Tanner Burkhardt walked into Reggie’s business garage located in Florida and identified himself as the Minister of Culture for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg with shocking news that Reggie is the lost princess of Hessenberg. Yep, Reggie is actually Regina, a girl, not a boy as her name might have first suggested. Hold onto your tiaras from here on, readers, for as Forrest Gump told us, “life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.”
The story becomes more curious when we meet Reggie’s great-grandmother Alice in flashbacks to her life in Hessenberg before the war forced her and her family to flee. Alice writes lovingly of her family and country, with dreams of returning one day to Hessenburg. Reggie loved her Grandmother incessantly and remembers fondly the fairytale often read to her from a book actually written and artistically illustrated by Gram. Rachel Hauck obviously has done a great deal of research and used her information wisely and delightfully. Her characters and their roles add the interest of conflict, adoration, charm and a bit of evilness to the story typical of fairytales. I loved them all…well, almost all. They are very well assigned. Will Reggie find out what gram was telling her through the fairytale book – never audibly hearing it from her lips?
Rachel Hauck penned much humor and plight of mystery between the pages of Princess Ever After. Romance was on the minds of Reggie and Tanner from the beginning. Tanner is in for double trouble as the story proceeds. Will Princess Reggie be able to restore the precious duchy to this tiny island? One revelation to me is that fairytales can be likened to parables - good against evil as God wills. Faith and trust in God was so perceptive in the spirituality of Reggie, Tanner and all concerned, that I admire how subtly author Rachel Hauck wrote her deepest faith between the lines. The oil that covered Reggie’s face underneath the car in the beginning of this sweet story is truly symbolic of the warm holy oil essence that came over her understanding that she was who God meant her to be. What wonderful things I’ve learned from this fairytale and it certainly was not a fantasy. Thank you Rachel Hauck for this blessed lesson. I look forward excitedly to your next book. Now, reader, are you not curious as to what I have learned from Ms. Hauck? Well then….get your copy now!
I received a copy of Princess Ever After from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another winner by Hauck!

Date:February 26, 2014
But isn’t that what courage to step into your calling is all about? Discovering the truth and doing everything in your power to obtain it? To live it?
You know, I think it’s safe to say you’re never too old for fairy tales. Who wants to live in a world where that isn’t the case? One of my favorite cartoons to this day in Cinderella. “Cinderellle…Cinderelle, night and day for Cinderelle!” And Gus Gus? I want a chunky mouse that wears a pointy hat. Although, I can just get one for my cat (he isn’t known for being “fit”) and it’ll work out fine. :)
Back to fairy tales – there’s just something about them I can’t help but love. And Rachel Hauck is the one to go to if you’re looking for some modern day fairy tales. Princess Ever After was one of those books that kept me up past midnight and it was all worth it. Sleep, schmeep. I’ve got books to read Universe.
Not only is this book well-written, heart-warming and a fun read, Hauck brings to light important life lessons of who we are and what it means to have faith in a bigger/greater plan than what we might think is best. Trust me, thinking back when I was 19 or 20 and what I thought I wanted and planned for? Once again, let’s thank.the.Lord He didn’t listen to me and stuck with His plan ;). I’m so thankful the Lord likes to mix things up to show us a much more adventurous and beautiful story.
It isn’t always easy trusting the unknown horizon, but it’s always worth it.
Oh and did I mention it’s a really cute story, with fun twists, loveable characters and I’m hoping it’ll become a movie? It would be a fun one for the big screen. And just once in my life I want an excuse to dress up for a ball. Just sayin…
I definitely recommend this one – you’ll be entertained for sure! So what’s one of your favorite fairy tales? Oh and have you read Rachel Hauck before? If not, you are missing out!! You need to fix that.
(Thank you Litfuse and Zondervan for a copy in exchange for my honest opinion)
Originally posted at: http://booksandbeverages.org/2014/02/26/princess-ever-rachel-hauck/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely, wonderful story from Hauck!!
It should go without saying that I LOVED Once Upon a Prince. I have had to endure staring at Princess Ever After on my review stack for some time now, and I was so glad to slip into its pages. Once again I was completely wowed by Hauck on all the minor details used to make up the bigger picture. I can't imagine all the research she did on royals and such, but it made everything almost tangible.
Oh, Reggie is an amazing lead. She's down-to-earth, funny, and incredibly relatable. More than once I giggled and snorted at her remarks or inner thoughts. That being said, I wish the story was longer! I loved her faith, albeit shaky at times, and watching her find her place in the world was such a delight. In some ways, Reggie's story reminded me of The Princess Diaries movies. If I had to choose between the two, there's no competition. I prefer Princess Ever After hands down.
Tanner was an interesting lead. I liked that he wasn't portrayed as some perfect hero, but instead as a man with several blemishes in his past, and when his mistakes resurfaced, he didn't shirk from his responsibilities. I liked it when Reggie called him out on his tendency to beat himself up. If she hadn't, someone else would have!
This was such a lovely story to start out my week with. Romantics, fairy-tale lovers, and royalty admirers combined will enjoy this one and it's predecessor. I recommend this book to readers fifteen and older. :-)
I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Litfuse in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful read!

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed book 1 in Rachel Hauck`s Royal Weddings Series, but I loved Book 2!! Princess Ever After was amazing!
The second book in Rachel`s fairy tale, Royal Weddings Series is fantastic. Hauck goes deeper into the fictional story world of Hessenberg from the first book. This time, even the Prince Nathaniel and his blushing Bride Susanna enter the story line as all come together to convince this small-town, grease monkey to become a princess.
My favorite character by far was Tanner, the hero, Sir Blue Eyes. He is stoic and classy while also being down to earth and real. His interactions with Regina made for many laughs and smiles. His back story, which I won`t spoil for you was well-crafted and fit into the story line perfectly.
The intrigue that pushed the story forward was finding all the hints and clues left behind by the last Princess of Hessenberg, Regina`s Gran. Hauck kept the characters, and of course the readers running to catch them all in time for the book to end. A real page turner!
I believe book 2 can be a stand alone as far as the story line goes. My only concern would be the detailed information about the history of the fictional country. It is pivotal to the story. I found the history aspects much easier to follow in this book over the first one. That may (or may not) be related to the fact that I had some understanding of the situation going into Book 2. This is just a very mild warning.
Reading Group guide included as well.
It was a true delight to read and I recommend it to anyone.
Thanks to Booksneeze and Zondervan for the review copy. I received it free of charge in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For those who long to be a princess

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who doesn't want to be a princess or believe it could happen? Rachel Hauck's latest novel a Princess Ever After explores that idea. Regina Beswick doesn't understand who she really is...and that truth will transform her life. In the process she has to choose whether or not she's willing to accept who she truly is. I loved the story, the characters, the fun foray into what it would be like to be royal. The part of the story that will stay with me is the exploration of the challenges that confront our efforts to step into our true destinies -- the ones that God has for us. It's easy to stay where we are, but when we're willing to step out, God will meet us. And the result is exciting. This book is landing on my keeper shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Winner

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not every day a new fairy-tale is created. We've all heard or read the Grimm brothers or the Hans Christian Anderson stories. How Rumplestiltskin tried to trick the queen, how sleeping beauty was finally awakened out of her sleep, how Cinderella beat the odds and became a princess after all. I knew I had never fully outgrown those childhood tales that had danced in my head while I slept. My bookshelves can prove it. But never did I think I would come to love a new fairy tale written in contemporary times. I just didn't think there was an author that could do the genre justice. I was wrong. Ms. Hauck is a very gifted author and has crafted a story that is so perfectly balanced in its romantic elements, its government problems, and its coming to grips with who you really are issues and combined it all with her trademark hilarious wit and humor. Action? Check. Romance? Check. An intriguing puzzle? Check. A regular person who has been given the chance of a lifetime to change the course of history? Check. Regina Beswick charges onto the scene and captures not only your heart, but the heart of a nation as she learns step by scary step that God does indeed rule over the affairs of men and gives kingdoms to whosoever He will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modern day fairy tale

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who doesn't like a fairy tale? You know, one where a commoner finds out she is a princess!
Hauck has created a delightful modern day fairy tale. Regina Beswick is finally doing what she loves, restoring classic cars. She and her old friend Al have just finished their first one. What an accomplishment after those years spent in a dreary accounting office. There is no happier place for her than under a classic car, oil dripping on her face.
Or is there? The Grand Duchy of Hessenberg, an island kingdom in the North Sea, is coming to a crucial time in their history. A one hundred year entailment is about to end. For the country to return to its sovereign existence, a descendant of the royal family must be found. But the royal family had fled in the wake of World War I, after rule of the country was signed over to the neighboring nation.
Tanner Burkhardt, Minister of Culture, had been assigned the duty of finding the heir and then returning with her. When the line is traced to a woman in Tennessee, a partner in a car restoration business, Tanner sets off for America.
Not everyone in the kingdom wants the heir to return, however. There are some who think it is time for democracy, even if it means a temporarily dissolved government and anarchy. That would be a small price to pay for one man's power.
This is a delightful story. It is a wonderful modern day tale of commoner to princess. There is much to enjoy in this book. How can Reggie possibly adjust to being of a lineage she knew nothing about? How does a gal who wears jeans and boots even contemplate a royal role? How could she possibly leave all those she loves so dearly?
Put together a sweet romance, the hand of God on a down home American girl, a kingdom waiting to again believe in all they once held dear, add a little fairy tale magic, and you have a wonderful novel. Read it and enjoy.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through the Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another gem from her pen!

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sue from Midwest
Location:Midwest
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book from a great author! I thoroughly enjoyed Princess Ever After!!
It is a delightful story, of fairy tale style, but with real-life truths that I can use in my own life, reminding me that “fear is a blinder” and when we find ourselves in a situation we never expected, we do have the option to “start digging around in the rubble to find the gems.”
As with every good story, there are doubts, danger, unexpected enemies, good friends, and a happy ending. I love Hauck’s style, and this is another gem from her pen. This is one story you won’t want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Princess Ever After by Rachel Hauck

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunday, February 16, 2014
Princess Ever After by Rachel Hauck
Doesn't every little girl dream of being a princess someday- to wear a tiara, have a closet full of ballroom gowns, live in a castle, and run a country? Regina Beswick remembers her grandmother's fairy tale stories, but never imagined they were about a country named Hessenberg and she is the princess the country is looking for to end the 100 years entail. She is content living in Florida with her father and step-mom and busy starting her own classic auto restoration business. Then Tanner Burkhardt shows up on a mission for the Grand Duchy of Hessenberg. Although he has proof that she is the long-lost princess, Regina is unsure of her identity. She questions herself...how could she have lived for 25 years and not known her true identity? Add that to the fact that she has no idea how to run a country! Throw in a little political opposition from the governor who wants to rule the country himself and you have Rachel Hauck's latest novel in the Royal Wedding Series. I have read the first novel in the series and some reference is made to King Nathanial and his fiancée Susanna, but you don't have to be familiar with the first book to enjoy the second. There are references to history in the early 1900's, before World War I, in some of the letters that Regina finds from her grandmother, so it made the fairy tale story seem more real. And with all the interest in America of the royal family of England with Princess Kate and Prince William, Rachel Hauck portrays a modern day fairy tale that most American young women would enjoy! Zondervan provided me with a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
Posted by basketballorange301 at 12:09 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Fairly Tale

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love fairy tales...those stories that really let you "live the dream". Princess Ever After definitely fits into this category. It is the second book in the Royal Wedding series, however, it really can be read as a stand along book if you have not read the first book, Once Upon a Prince. I really enjoy reading books in a series, and would recommend that you read the first one if you can. It was one of my absolute favorite books last year and I have already re-read it a couple of times! It is just that good.
In Princess Ever After, we meet Tanner Burkholdt. He is the Minister of Culture of a small fictitious nation named Hessenburg. His task is to tell the recently located heir (a princess) that she is nobility and must return to Hessenburg to save their country. Tanner is such an interesting character. He has a great back story and is battling with some serious issues and doubts about his worth and about God's love.
Regina (Reggie) Beswick doesn't know she is a princess. Her ancestors fled Hessenburg in 1914 and she was never told of her heritage. Reggie is a fun character. She is definitely an everyday type of girl and is enjoying her life. She has made a career change and is now restoring classic cars. Life is enjoyable and she thinks she is where God wants her to be.
Watching Reggie come to the realization that the information that Tanner brings is legitimate and that she is desperately needed in Hessenburg was enjoyable. I especially liked watching the relationship grow between the two main characters once Reggie arrives in Hessenburg and begins learning about her heritage.
The romance does not seem quite as deep as in the first book, Once Upon a Prince, but these are different characters in a different story. They have their own story to tell and their own way of reacting to relationships. If every story was the same, how boring that would be! There are some interesting twists and turns and flash backs to journal entries written by Reggie's grandmother, when she was a young lady, throughout the book. All in all, a sweet and romantic fairy tale that left me happy at the end.
I received a complimentary ebook copy from Litfuse Publicity Group through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Princess Ever After, Royal Wedding Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never Wanted It To End

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk about a life changing moment! Living your whole life, and never knowing you are royalty!
This is what is about to happen to Regina [Reggie] Beswick. An educated CPA, turned auto restorer. As a little girl, like a lot of little girls, she played being a princess, and now??
I loved that most of the people in this story, lived their faith, and have a personal relationship with God. There is even a surprise, from the beginning of the book, that ends up at the end. Loved it!
Be ready for reading and feeling you are there in the picturesque country of Hessenberg. Look forward to some wild rides, and a bit of romance thrown in.
Can you imagine such a family secret? Also putting rare jewels in the attic, and not even knowing they are there? Also love the jetting around!! How about some high tea?
Such a sweet and enjoyable story, I hated for it to end. Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>